Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bernt Olaf Wolden Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1969
Creator: Wolden, Bernt Olaf (1886-1968)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0407
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Naturalist. Correspondence and notebooks of nature observations.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Bernt Olaf Wolden Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Bernt Olaf Wolden (1886-1968) of Estherville, Iowa, was a rural mail carrier for thirty-five years. However, he was also a writer, naturalist, and historian. He was an ornithologist and a charter member of the Iowa Bird Union. Wolden published many articles on plant studies, concentrating on the botany of Emmet County, Iowa. The Iowa Academy of Science honored his achievements at its 100th anniversary meeting in 1975.

The papers of B. O. Wolden consist primarily of correspondence that spans some sixty years. Wolden corresponded with some of the nation's most respected botanists including Henry S. Conard and R. I. Cratty. The remainder of the collection is comprised of Wolden's notebooks, in which he recorded such things as weather, appearances of birds, observations of flora, etc. He also kept notes about the history of Wallingford, Iowa.
B.O. Wolden's collection of vascular plants appears (see letter 18 in the 1940 -- 1969 file) to have been deposited in the Herbarium, Botany Department, Iowa; and

B.O. Wolden's collection of bryophyte (and lichen) specimens has been donated to the University of Iowa Botany Department. One packet of moss specimens was transferred to University of Iowa Botany Department for inclusion, at the discretion of the Department, in the B.O. Wolden collection of bryophytes.

I. From the Proceedings of the Iowa Academy of Science:

B.O. Wolden was first elected to membership (Associate) in 1909. His name did not appear in the membership roster in the years 1910 -- 1913 but reappeared in 1914. He was elected a Fellow of the Academy in 1917 and remained a member for the remainder of his life.

I have searched the author indexes (or equivalent) for all the years from 1909 to 1968 and believe that the following list of papers represents the total of Wolden's contributions to the Proceedings:

Wolden, B.O. 1916. "The White Admiral or banded purple butterfly in Iowa." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 23:269

Wolden, B.O. 1919. "The moss and lichen flora of western Emmet County (an annotated list of the bryophytes and lichens of the High Lake and Des Moines River region)." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 26:259 -- 267

Wolden, B.O. 1932. "The plants of Emmet County, Iowa." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 39:89 -- 132

Wolden, B.O. 1935. "Additions to the lichen flora of Emmet County." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 42:71

Wolden, B.O. 1956. "The flora of Emmet County, Iowa." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 63: 118 -- 156

II. Lawrence J. Eilers ("History of studies on Iowa vascular plants." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 82:59 -- 64, 1975) has listed the following two publications authored by Wolden:

Wolden, B.0. 1911. "Asters." American Botanist, 17:100 --102

Wolden, B.O. 1926. "A bog flora, of northern Iowa." American Botanist, 32:6 --10

III. B.O. Wolden was co-author of the following paper:

Conard, H., and Wolden, B.O. 1932. "A key to the mosses of the Okoboji Region." University of Iowa Studies. Studies in Natural History, Vol. XIV, No. 7

While searching for other materials I found that H.S. Conard had submitted one final manuscript by Wolden to the Iowa Academy of Science. This was published in 1971. We have the notebooks on which this study was based, I believe.

Wolden, B.O. 1971. "Flora of Island Grove and adjacent Iowa prairies before 1908." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings, 78:2 -- 8

Finding Aid compiled by Jeffrey Dodd, February 2, 1982

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence 1909-1919
  • George F. Kay to Wolden, December 27 - 1909
    Notice of election to Iowa Academy of Science
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, January 16 - 1911
    Expressing willingness to identify Lichen specimens
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, February 20 - 1911
    Acknowledging receipt of Lichen specimens and giving instructions on proper form of labels
  • R.M. Barnes to Wolden, September 4 - 1911
    Concerning identity of a bird observed by Wolden
  • Thomas H. Macbride to Wolden, February 15 - 1912
    Acknowledging receipt of specimens sent by Wolden
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, April 17 - 1912
    Concerning Lichen specimens sent by Wolden
  • Frank C. Pellet to Wolden, December 5 - 1913
    Concerning birds
  • Frank C. Pellet to Wolden, February 24 - 1914
    Concerning mammals
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, May 25 - 1914
    Concerning Lichen specimens sent by Wolden for Identification
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, August 20 - 1914
    Concerning lichens
  • Mary F. Miller to Wolden, September 9 - 1914
    Concerning lichens
  • Edward B. Chamberlain to Wolden, October 5 - 1914
    Concerning an inquiry made by Wolden about articles in back issues of the Bryologist
  • Raymond L. Ditmars to Wolden, September 9 - 1915
    Concerning identity of a turtle seen by Wolden
  • George H. Conklin to Wolden, September 20 - 1915
    Concerning aquatic liverworts
  • James H. Lees to Wolden, December 2 - 1916
    Concerning vegetable matter observed by Wolden in glacial deposits
  • Johs Lid to Wolden, February 12 - 1917
    Personal and botanical Notes
  • C.H. Weller to Wolden, March 9 - 1917
    Identification of stone sent by Wolden
  • Arthur C. Trowbridge to Wolden, March 16 - 1917
    Providing further information about the specimen mentioned in letter 17
  • Johs Lid to Wolden, April 1 - 1917
    Written in the Norwegian language
  • A.O. Thomas to Wolden, May 16 - 1917
    Notification of election of Wolden to rank of Fellow in the Iowa Academy of Science
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, October 9 - 1917
    Identification of Moss specimens sent by Wolden
  • Edward B. Chamberlain to Wolden, December 16 - 1917
    Advising choices of literature for identifying lichens and mosses and requesting a copy of a floristic list made by Wolden
  • Edward B. Chamblerlain to Wolden, December 28 - 1917
    Concerning literature requested by Chamblerlain
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, January 7 - 1918
    Identification of mosses sent by Wolden
  • Caroline C. Haynes to Wolden, January 13 - 1918
    Concerning Identification of Liverworts
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, April 10 - 1919
    Reference to specimens sent by Wolden. Also comments refer to an (Emmet) County flora on which Wolden was evidently working on at the time and to a flora that Conard was working on
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, November 13 - 1919
    Concerning specimens
  • A.G. Newhall to H.S. Conard - 1919
    Note Concerning specimens referred to in item 27
  • Correspondence 1923-1929
  • Edward B. Chamberlain to Wolden, March 7 - 1923
    Request for a reprint of Wolden's list of bryophytes and lichens from western Emmet County
  • Edward B. Chamberlain to Wolden, March 16 - 1923
    Acknowledgement of receipt of reprint
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, April 13 - 1925
    Concerning vascular plant specimen sent by Wolden for Identification. The envelope contained as well a plant sample. The envelope has Notes written on it in a hand other than that of Cratty. The specimen was left in the envelope
  • George H. Conklin to Wolden, April 22 - 1925
    Identification of liverwort specimen sent by Wolden
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, May 7 - 1925
    Identification of Mosses sent by Wolden
  • J.E. Guthrie to Wolden, September 10 - 1925
    Identification of a snake observed by Wolden
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, October 1 - 1925
    Moss Identifications
  • Charles A. Weatherby to Wolden, December 11 - 1925
    Concerning Identification of vascular plant specimens sent by Wolden
  • C.R. Ball to R.I. Cratty, December 17 - 1926
    Concerning a specimen of Salix sent by Wolden to Cratty
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, December 20 - 1926
    Reference to the specimen noted in item 9 with further comments on the species in question
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, March 8 - 1927
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, April 21 - 1927
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, July 7 - 1927
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, December 28 - 1927
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, January 9 - 1928
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, February 9 - 1928
    Moss Identifications
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, March 5 - 1928
    Concerning vascular plants
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, March 20 - 1928
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, April 12 - 1928
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, April 26 - 1928
    Moss Identifications
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, April 4 - 1929
    Moss Identifications
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, October 11 - 1929
    Concerning vascular plants
  • Correspondence 1930-1939
  • George B. Kaiser to Wolden, March 20 - 1930
    Moss Identifications
  • George Neville Jones to Henry S. Conard, May 3 - 1930
    Concerning Identification of a Moss species collected by Wolden
  • Elizabeth Blagg to Wolden, May 7 - 1930
    Concerning item 2
  • Elizabeth Blagg to Wolden, August 11 - 1930
    Note and attached species list [perhaps annotated by Wolden]
  • Edwin B. Bartram to Wolden, October 16 - 1930
    Moss Identifications
  • George N. Jones to Wolden, November 23 - 1930
    Concerning plant specimens
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, 17 - 1930
    Concerning plant specimens December
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, December 22 - 1930
    Concerning specimens
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, July 5 - 1931
    Concerning vascular plants
  • R.I. Cratty to Wolden, July 21 - 1931
    Concerning vascular plants
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, September 5 - 1931
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, September 9 - 1931
    Conard letting Wolden know that (Wolden) is to be named as joint author of the forthcoming paper on the mosses of the Okoboji region
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, October 13 - 1931
    More remarks Concerning the paper mentioned in item 12
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, October 16 - 1931
    Concerning specimens
  • R.S. WIlliams to Wolden, November 14 - 1931
    Concerning mosses
  • F.L.R. Roberts to Wolden, December 8 - 1931
    Concerning birds
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, December 24 - 1931
    Concerning mosses
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, January 10 - 1932
    Reference to mistakes made by other experts in identification of Wolden's specimens
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, February 15 - 1932
    Concerning specimens and the Okoboji mosses paper
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, February 20 - 1932
    Concerning specimens and manuscript of paper
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, February 20 - 1932
    Concerning specimens
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, March 1 - 1932
    Moss and lichen problems
  • Postcard. Henry S. Conard to Wolden, March 25 - 1932
  • Postcard. R.I. Cratty to Wolden, December 11 - 1932
  • Postcard. "Doc R." (F.L.R. Roberts) to Wolden, December 22 - 1932
  • Henry S. Conard to Miss Ida Iverson, January 16 - 1933
    Concerning moss specimens
  • Carl Stenholm to Wolden, February 5 - 1933
    Acknowledgement of receipt of moss specimens
  • Bennett to Wolden, April 26 - 1934
    Concerning birds
  • H.S. Conard to Wolden, May 9 - 1934
    Concerning moss specimens
  • Elizabeth Blagg to Wolden, August 19 - 1934
  • Winona H. Welch to Wolden, October 13 - 1934
    Concerning mosses
  • Walter W. Bennett to Wolden, October - 1934
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, May - 1934
    Concerning mosses [same envelope as item 29]
  • Correspondence 1940-1969
  • Henry S. Conard to Mr. and Mrs. Wolden, December 19 - 1940
    Containing remarks on misidentifications by experts (including Conard) of materials in Wolden's collection
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, November 28 - 1944
    Concerning mosses
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, December 15 - 1944
    Concerning mosses
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, December 19 - 1944
    Request for specimens
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, January 5 - 1945
    Various matters. Reference to Ida [wife of B.O. Wolden, possibly the former Miss Ida Iversen]
  • Henry S. Conard to Wolden, March 3 - 1945
  • Henry S. Conard to Mr. and Mrs. B.O. Wolden, August 18 - 1945
  • Rhoda Thomas to Mr. and Mrs. Wolden, July 8 - 1952
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, December 22 - 1954
    Concerning publishing of Emmet County flora in the Iowa Academy of Science proceedings
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, February 27 - 1955
    More Reference to Wolden's Emmet County flora
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, March 13 - 1955
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, March 28 - 1955
    Concerning Emmet County flora
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, June 23 - 1955
    Concerning publication of floras in Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings 14
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, November 27 - 1955
  • Robert F, Thorne to Wolden, January 15 - 1956
    Botanical matters
  • David G. Mobberley to Wolden, April 7 - 1956
    Announcing that Wolden's Emmet County flora would appear in the 1956 Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings
  • Robert F. Thorne to Wolden, June 20 - 1956
    Botanical matters
  • William S. Blagen to Mrs. B.O. Wolden, September 2 - 1969
    This letter concerns the deposit of Wolden's collection in the Iowa State University herbarium. There are handwritten notes (evidently by Mrs. Wolden) agreeing to do so and giving the date on which it was done. Reference to Ada Hayden
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Memorials for Henry S. Conard and Robert I. Cratty - 1971; 1940
  • Notebooks
  • 17 notebooks
  • Print Materials
  • Conrad, H. S. and B. O. Wolden, A Key to the Mosses of the Okoboji Region. University of Iowa Studies. Studies in Natural History. Vol. 14: No. 7, November 1 - 1932

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Botany

Occupations:
Naturalists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Emmet County
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa