Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Susan Hill Fanzine Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1986-2009
Creator: Hill, Susan
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0401
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Science fiction fan and fanzine collector. Collection of fanzines - mostly works of fan fiction, with particular emphasis on multimedia anthologies and on the British science fiction TV show Blake's 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was donated by Susan Hill, in cooperation with the Organization for Transformative Works, in August 2009. It was processed in August 2009.

Preferred Citation: Susan Hill Fanzine Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists of assorted fanzines - primarily pieces of fan fiction - collected by Champaign, IL-based fan Susan Hill. A number of different fandoms are represented in the collection, and a significant number of publications are devoted to the British science fiction television show Blake's 7. There is also a large number of multimedia anthologies, which contain stories from many different media fandoms. Also present in the collection are a few program books from different science fiction conventions.

Most of the items are pieces of fan fiction. Fan fiction is defined as stories, novellas, novels, or poems written by fans about the characters, situations or general universe of the original work.
For other fannish collections, many of which contain materials relating to the same media fandoms chronicled in this collection, please consult the Fandom-Related Collections subject page, at http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/resources/fandomresources/.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BLAKE'S 7
Series 2: CROSSOVER
Series 3: DOCTOR WHO
Series 4: FIREFLY
Series 5: GENZINES
Series 6: HIGHLANDER: THE SERIES
Series 7: LADYHAWKE
Series 8: THE LORD OF THE RINGS
Series 9: THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E.
Series 10: MULTIMEDIA
Series 11: THE PROFESSIONALS
Series 12: THE SANDBAGGERS
Series 13: THE SENTINEL
Series 14: SPACE: ABOVE AND BEYOND
Series 15: CONVENTION MATERIALS
Series 16: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: BLAKE'S 7
  • Box 1:
  • Avon 1: Aftermath, undated
  • Avon 2: Nemesis - 1992
  • Avon 3 - 1992
  • Avon: The Paul Darrow Society 42-53, January-October - 1991-1993
  • The Best of Take One - 1992
  • Blake's Seven: The True Story, undated
  • Blythe Spirits - 1990
  • Cephalon One, July - 1984
  • Circles - 1990
  • Dandruff Droppings, v.2 no.10-12, October-December - 1992
  • Dead End, October - 1981
  • Delta Blues - 1993
  • Dr. Bellfriar's Memorial Journal 2-4 - 1989-1990
  • E-Man-Uelle 4-6, 8, "Short Stories," undated
  • Fantasia, January - 1988
  • Forever Live and Die, 5th season episode 1 - 1989
  • Fragments From a Shattered Life, August - 1990
  • From the Other Side 1, April - 1981
  • Heart of Stone, undated
  • Horizon Letterzine 1-1 - 1992-1994
  • IMHO: A Blake's 7 Review Zine 1, November - 1994
  • Input: An International Blake's 7 Fanzine 1-4, February-November - 1998-1990
  • Islands - 1989
  • Liberation, Ltd., vol. 3 no. 6-12, June-December, vol. 4 no.1-2, March-June - 1991-1992
  • Live To Tell, 5th Season Episode 2 - 1990
  • The Mendaris Connection 1-2, May - 1991
  • The Neutral Arbiter 1-7, May-January - 1991-1993
  • Paul Darrow - 1986
  • Perihelion 2 - 1989
  • Rebel 1-6 - 1988-1989
  • Rebel 7-15, March-October - 1990-1992
  • The Revel Times, vol. 6 no.2, February, vol. 7 no.5A, May - 1993-1994
  • The Seven Live On 1-3, April-January - 1988-1990
  • The Seven Live On 4-6, July-May - 1990-1992
  • Box 2:
  • The Seven Live On 7-8 - 1993-1995
  • 7th Sector 1:Velvet and Thorns, undated
  • 7th Sector 2, Underworld, undated
  • Shadow 2, April - 1986
  • SHADOW: Imagining 1-2, January - 1988
  • Something, Unfriendly 1-2, May - 1988-1990
    Vol. 2 undated
  • Spacefall 1, 3, 5, undated
  • Spacefall 11-12, Bumper Issue, undated
  • Spirits in the Material World, 5th Season Episode 3 - 1991
  • Standard By Seven 4, 6, undated, 9, March - 1981
  • Stormwarning 1-3, undated
  • Tales from New Wales - 1986
  • Visions in Blue, 5th Season Episode 4 - 1992
  • The Zylanorr 1-2, March - 1990
  • Series 2: CROSSOVER
  • Box 2:
  • A.K.A. Adam Pierson, November - 1996
    Highlander: The Series/Multiple Fandoms
  • The Circles of Time, March - 1989
    Blake's 7/The Master
  • Flight Into Slavery, undated
    Blake's 7/Battlestar Galactica
  • The Night Shadows - 1996
    Multiple Fandoms
  • Scotch Doubles, October - 1993
    The Professionals/The Champions
  • Series 3: DOCTOR WHO
  • Box 2:
  • Time Winds 18 September, 20 May - 1987-1988
  • Series 4: FIREFLY
  • Box 2:
  • Coat Tales, October - 2005
  • War Stories, October - 2005
  • Series 5: GENZINES
  • Box 2:
  • Datazine 63, March-April - 1991
  • Galatic Federation, Summer - 1991
  • Series 6: HIGHLANDER: THE SERIES
  • Box 2:
  • A Kindness of Ravens - 2007
  • Series 7: LADYHAWKE
  • Box 2:
  • Ladyhawke: A Medieval Journal - 1987, 1989
    Two "Best Of" issues
  • Series 8: THE LORD OF THE RINGS
  • Box 2:
  • Misfit in Middle-earth - 2008
  • Nienna's Gift, Spring - 2005
  • The Scepter of Annuminas, March - 2008
  • Series 9: THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E.
  • Box 3:
  • The Generic "/" Man From U.N.C.L.E. Fanzine 1, undated
  • A Matter of Trust, undated
  • Series 10: MULTIMEDIA
  • Box 3:
  • Chronicle 1-4, December-March - 1987-1990
  • Cohorts 1 - 1995
  • Compounded Interest 4.5 - 1996
  • Crossroads 2-3 - 1991-1993
  • Dark Fantasies 1-2 - 1983-1994
  • Dark Fantasies 4-5, July-March - 1996-1997
  • Diverse Doings 2-4 - 1988-1999
  • Diverse Doings 5-7 - 2000-2001
  • Diverse Doings 8-9, November-May - 2001-2002
  • Frisky: Above and Beyond, May - 1996
  • Frisky Mountain High, May - 1996
  • The Garden Spot of Ceti Alpha V - 1988
  • Going All The Way 1 - 1988
  • Imagine That - 1992
  • Integrity 1, undated
  • It's Greek To Me - 1992
    Olyve Press, publisher
  • Just Another Frisky, May - 1997
  • Liaisons 1-2, May-February - 1991-1993
  • Multiverse 20-23, February-July - 1989-1991
  • Box 4:
  • Portals, v. 2 no.2, 6-7 - 1987-1990
  • Remote Control 11-12, 14 - 1998-2000
  • Southern Lights 3-4 - 1987-1988
  • Synergy 1-3, May-April - 1987-1988
  • Synergy 4-5, January-February - 1989-1991
  • Uncharted Waters 2, reprinted March - 1992
  • Series 11: THE PROFESSIONALS
  • Box 4:
  • Coming From Behind, undated
  • Down Under Express 6, February - 1995
  • Mad Cow Disease On Rise - 1993
  • Mates 1 - 1992
  • Scars, undated
  • Suffer Little Children - 1995
  • Series 12: THE SANDBAGGERS
  • Box 4:
  • First Principles 2-3 - 1992-1993
  • S.I.S. 1-5, unnumbered issue - 1992-1993
  • Series 13: THE SENTINEL
  • Box 4:
  • Extra Touchy Frisky 1-2, January-May - 1997
  • A Sentinel's Guide 1-2, May - 1997
  • Series 14: SPACE: ABOVE AND BEYOND
  • Box 4:
  • Incoming! 9, March - 1999
  • Series 15: CONVENTION MATERIALS
  • Box 4:
  • InConJunction 27: Program, Indianapolis - 2007
  • MediaWest Con 12: Program Book, Lansing, Michigan - 1992
  • MediaWest Con 29: Program, Lansing, Michigan - 2009
  • Series 16: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 4:
  • Assorted Zine Flyers and Fan Information Sheets - 1991-2000