Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Donovan F. Ward Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1980
Creator: Ward, Donovan F. (1904-1998)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0397
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Dubuque, Iowa, surgeon. Subject files, articles, and speeches relating in great part to his term as president of the American Medical Association.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Dr. Ward gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1980.

Preferred Citation: Donovan F. Ward Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A native of Dubuque, Iowa, Donovan Frederick Ward was born in 1904. He was a student at the University of Dubuque from 1923 to 1925, and he graduated with his medical degree from the University of Iowa in 1930. After his internship at St. Mary's Hospital in Detroit was completed in 1931, Dr. Ward returned to Dubuque. There he began his career in medicine, specializing in surgery. Dr. Ward was very active in his professional organizations at both the state and national levels. He was president of the Dubuque County Medical Society as well as the Iowa Clinical Surgeons Society. Dr. Ward was also president of the American Medical Association from 1963 through 1964. He was also involved in community affairs, local businesses, and the University of Iowa Alumni Association. Dr. Ward died in 1998.

The papers of Donovan F. Ward consist of more than three linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1929 to 1980. There are six boxes of articles by and about Dr. Ward, subject files, correspondence, and speeches. The subject files include topics ranging from class reunions to the Medical Speakers Bureau. Correspondence files date from 1944 to 1964 and include letters from Henry O. Talle, Guy M. Gillette, and Bourke B. Hickenlooper. There are nearly four boxes of speeches given by Dr. Ward, spanning a period of some thirty-five years. There are also scrapbooks, videotapes, and audiotapes included in the papers. Much of the material in this collection relates to his presidency of the American Medical Association.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ARTICLES ABOUT DR. WARD
Series 2: ARTICLES BY DR. WARD
Series 3: SUBJECT FILES I
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: SUBJECT FILES II
Series 6: SPEECHES BY DR. WARD
Series 7: SUBJECT FILES III
Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 9: VIDEOTAPES/FILMS
Series 10: CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX OF SPEECHES GIVEN BY DR. DONOVAN F. WARD

  • Series 1: ARTICLES ABOUT DR. WARD
  • Box 1:
  • "Congratulations to Dr. Ward," August - 1964
  • "AMA's Donovan Ward: New Man in a Tough job," December 4 - 1964
  • "Honor for Dubuque Doctor," September 3 - 1984
  • Series 2: ARTICLES BY DR. WARD
  • Box 1:
  • "Penicillin in the Treatment of Osteomyelitis of the Mandible" - 1944
  • "Benign Lesions of the Colon," November - 1963
  • "Four Horsemen of Quackery: Fear, Gullibility, Deceit, and Deadliness," January - 1965
  • "More Doctors Needed?" June 12 - 1965
  • "Professionalism: What It Is - And How To Achieve It," July-August - 1965
  • "Presentation Remarks," November 15 - 1965
  • "Letters to the Editor," October 7 - 1966
  • "Appendicitis-appendiceal Lesions" - 1966
  • "Why Drug Names Concern the Doctor," May 5 - 1967
  • "The Eagle and the Arrow," February 1 - 1972
    Includes typescript, galley proofs, and published journal
  • Series 3: SUBJECT FILES I
  • Box 1:
  • Audio Tape: "Mobilizing Mental Health Resources at the Community Level," November - 1964
  • Biographical Material: Donovan F. Ward
  • Certificates - 1960-1965
  • 1930 Class Reunion - 1979-1980
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1944-1963
    Including letters from Henry O. Talle, Guy M. Gillette, and Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Correspondence, January-May - 1964
  • Correspondence, June - 1964
  • Correspondence, July 1-9 - 1964
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, July 10-31 - 1964
    Including a letter from Harold E. Hughes
  • Correspondence, August-December - 1964
    Including a letter from Harold E. Hughes
  • Correspondence - 1965-1968
    Including a letter from Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Series 5: SUBJECT FILES II
  • Box 2:
  • Greeting cards - 1964
  • Inaugural Newsfilm and Tape Usage - 1964
  • Introduction to Clinical Medicine - 1964-1965
  • Lists of Hospitalized Cases and Major Surgery Cases - 1944-1947
  • Medical Speakers Bureau - 1964
  • Medicate Controversy - 1964-1965
  • Miscellaneous - 1957-1965
  • Notebooks: Dermatology (from the lectures of Dr. Kessler) - 1929-1930
  • Notebooks: Medicine (from the lectures of Dr. E.P. Scarlett) - 1930
  • Notebooks: Pathology (from the lectures of Dr. G.H. Hansman) - 1927
  • Phonograph Record, November 30 - 1964
  • Photographs - 1945-1958
  • Series 6: SPEECHES BY DR. WARD
  • Sub-Series: Index of speeches
  • Box 3:
  • Index
  • Sub-Series: 1946-February 19, 1965
  • Box 3:
  • "The General Treatment of a Patient with a Severe Burn" - 1946
  • "Cancer Education," April 1 - 1952
  • "Mason's-Miners Lodge #273 Centennial Address," November 21 - 1958
  • "The Eleventh Hour," June 13 - 1960
  • "Medicare," July 16 - 1962
  • "Fifty Years with Finley Alumni Address," August 3 - 1963
  • "The Four Horsemen of Quackery," March 12 - 1964
  • "Voluntary vs. Compulsory Health Insurance," April 24 - 1964
  • "Memorial Day - 1964 - Platteville, Wisconsin," May 30 - 1964
  • "Something Worth Keeping: The American Way," June 9 - 1964
  • "Address to Junior Class, Wartburg Theological Seminary," September 9 - 1964
  • "A Look at Some AMA Activities," September 13 - 1964
  • "What to Do About Aging," September 15 - 1964
  • "Vital Interprofessional Relations," October 6 - 1964
  • "Panel Presentation," October 14 - 1964
  • "What the AMA Is-And Isn't," October 16 - 1964
  • "A Great New Story to Sell," October 16 - 1964
  • "We Need Your Help to Help Our Patients," October 17 - 1964
  • "Four Goals for Medicine," October 20 - 1964
  • "The Bright Road of Modern Medicine," October 21 - 1964
  • "We Can Lose Only Once," October 22 - 1964
  • "Medicine Looks at Religion," October 26 - 1964
  • "Keynote Address," October 30 - 1964
  • "Why This Forum," November 1 - 1964
  • "The AMA Looks at '65," November 4 - 1964
  • "Address of Welcome," November 6 - 1964
  • "Disaster Medical Care: A Team Effort," November 8 - 1964
  • "Remarks Before the House of Delegates," November 30 - 1964
  • "The Role of the Physician in Physical Fitness and Its Allied Area," December 4 - 1964
  • "1965: A Year for Medical Unity," December 10 - 1964
  • "AMA Educational Campaign Conference," December 13 - 1964
  • "President's Address to the House of Delegates," December 14 - 1964
  • "Diverticulitis and Diverticulosis" - 1964
  • "Teamwork," January 4 - 1965
  • "Welcome Remarks," January 9 - 1965
  • "Medical Science in This Country," January 12 - 1965
  • "What's Best for Our Elderly," January 26 - 1965
  • "Draft-Strand," January - 1965
  • "Presentation Remarks," February 7 - 1965
  • "Statement of the AMA Re: H.R. 1, 89th Congress: Hospital Insurance, Social Security, and Public Assistance Amendments of 1965," February 8 - 1965
  • "American Medicine's Stake in Expanded Mental Health Services," February 19 - 1965
  • Sub-Series: February 21-November 17, 1965
  • Box 4:
  • "The Will To Win," February 21 - 1965
  • "The AMA : What, Why and How," February 25 - 1965
  • "Let's Be Fair About It," March 2 - 1965
  • "The AMA," March 8 - 1965
  • "Symposium on Medical Education," March 10 - 1965
  • "You Deserve the Best: Get It," March 15 - 1965
  • "United We Can Do the Job," March 20 - 1965
  • "Success: Motion Plus Direction," March 24 - 1965
  • "James S. McLester Memorial Lecture," March 29 - 1965
  • "A New Environment for American Medicine," March - 1965
  • "A Help to Few, Unfair to Many," April 5 - 1965
  • "How Can the Medical Profession Best Meet the Needs of the American Public for Comprehensive Medical Care?" April 9 - 1965
  • "Why the AMA Speaks Out on the Health Care Issue," April 10 - 1965
  • "What Doctors Prescribe," April 12 - 1965
  • "The AMA," April 20 - 1965
  • "Proposed Medical Legislation," April 21 - 1965
  • "Welcome Remarks," April 26 - 1965
  • "What's Inside the Medicake?" April 27 - 1965
  • "Dynamic Years Ahead for Medicine," May 9 - 1965
  • "Statement of the AMA Re: H.R. 6675, Social Security Amendments of 1965. Before the Committee on Finance U.S. Senate," May 11 - 1965
  • "The Relationships Between Religion and Medical Practice," May 15 - 1965
  • "Charge!" May 22 - 1965
  • "A Tribute to Excellence," May 22 - 1965
  • "Any Questions that the Committee May Have," May 24 - 1965
  • "Why, What and How?" May 25 - 1965
  • "Professionalism: What Is It And How Do You Achieve It?" June 1 - 1965
  • "How to Build Your Family's Health," June 2 - 1965
  • "Be Wisely Selfish," June 3 - 1965
  • "Address of Welcome," June 20 - 1965
  • "Every Caesar Has His Brutus," June 22 - 1965
  • "Remarks of the President," June - 1965
  • "Executive Health," July 27 - 1965
  • "Truth or Myths," September 12 - 1965
  • "Medicine, Government, and the Future," October 23 - 1965
  • "How Do They Read You," October 24 - 1965
  • "The Executive Syndrome," November 4 - 1965
  • "Tomorrow: The Great Illusion," November 11 - 1965
  • "You and Your Practice Under Medicare," November 17 - 1965
  • Sub-Series: 1965-May 17, 1975
  • Box 5:
  • "Why a Dues Increase is Necessary" - 1965
  • "Commencement Address" - 1965
  • "The AMA" - 1965
  • "Today is Yesterday's Tomorrow," January 17 - 1966
  • "Dues Increase," February - 1966
  • "Be Wisely Selfish," April 12 - 1966
  • "Welcome Address," April 14 - 1966
  • "Medicare," April 17 - 1966
  • "A Doctor's Doctor," April 23 - 1966
  • "You and the Practicing M.D.," April - 1966
  • "The Effect of Medicare on Physicians," May 25 - 1966
  • "You Deserve the Best: Get It!" July 11 - 1966
  • "Do It Now," September 10 - 1966
  • "The AMA in the USA," September 17 - 1966
  • "Happenings on the Hill," November 15 - 1966
  • "Denver Medical Society Address," March 7 - 1967
  • "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Medicare," March 7 - 1967
  • "How the AMA Views Governmental Medical Care," April 14 - 1967
  • "Governmental Medical Care," May 9 - 1967
  • "Dyersville Community Hospital Ground Breaking Ceremony," August 20 - 1967
  • "Physical Education in the Eyes of the Physician," October 20 - 1967
  • "Medicare Bill" - 1967
  • "A Look at the Cost of Health Care," January 16 - 1968
  • "Medicine and the Free Enterprise System," March 6 - 1968
  • "Your Hospital and Its Dedication," July 26 - 1969
  • "Medicine and Religion," February - 1970
  • "Dr. Burtis E. Montgomery Night," September 19 - 1970
  • "National Health Insurance," January 27 - 1971
  • "Tell Him Now," December 8 - 1971
  • "Should Peer Review Be Structured by Legislation?" - 1971
  • "Physical Therapists," April - 1972
  • "Finley X-ray Technicians," May 9 - 1972
  • "Medicredit as an Alteration to National Health Policy," April 17 - 1974
  • "The Sick and the Bedfast," July 31 - 1974
  • "University of Iowa Health Sciences Library Dedication Ceremony," September 27 - 1974
  • "Armed Forces Day," May 17 - 1975
  • Sub-Series: June 13, 1975-June 7, 1980
  • Box 6:
  • "Graduation Address: Finley Hospital School of Radiologic Technology," June 13 - 1975
  • "Masonic Temple Installation," January 7 - 1978
  • "People Caring for People," April 30 - 1978
  • "What If There Were No AMA?" August 2 - 1978
  • "Accentuate the Positive," January - 1979
  • "The National AMA Scene," June 7 - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Speeches by Dr. Ward, undated
  • Box 6:
  • "America and Medicine"
  • "Cancer of the Distal Colon"
  • "Cancer of the Proximal Colon"
  • "Cancer of the Rectosigmoid and Rectum"
  • "Control of Cancer"
  • "Diagnosis and Treatment of Intestinal Obstructions"
  • "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Medicare"
  • "Dubuque County Rural Forum"
  • "Fellow Nebraskans"
  • "General Considerations of Maxillofacial Surgery"
  • "Governmental Medical Care"
  • "How Do They Read You?"
  • "Indications for Splenectomy"
  • "Infections of the Kidney-Non-Tuberculous"
  • "Is It Too Late?"
  • "Legislative Issues Facing Medicine in the Congress"
  • "Plastic Surgery"
  • "Public Medical Education"
  • "Remarks of the President"
  • "Renal Infections"
  • "Socialized America"
  • "Steps Necessary to Develop Press-Radio-Medical Relations"
  • "Tell the Story"
  • "What to Do About the Elderly"
  • "What's In It For You?"
  • "Why Executives Drop Dead"
  • Series 7: SUBJECT FILES III
  • Box 6:
  • Telegrams - 1964-1965
  • Testimonial Dinner, April 14 - 1965
    Program and Tape
  • Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 6:
  • Scrapbooks - 1963-1965
    4 volumes
  • Series 9: VIDEOTAPES/FILMS
  • Box 6:
  • "Are 200,000 Doctors Wrong?" - 1964-1965
    2 tapes
  • "Community Health Services" - 1965
  • "Health Care at the Crossroads" - 1965
  • Series 10: CHRONOLOGICAL INDEX OF SPEECHES GIVEN BY DR. DONOVAN F. WARD
  • "The General Treatment of a Patient with a Severe Burn" 1946
  • "Cancer Education" April 1, 1952
  • "Mason's-Miners Lodge #273 Centennial Address" November 21, 1958
  • "The Eleventh Hour" June 13, 1960
  • "Medicare" July 16, 1962
  • "Fifty Years with Finley Alumni Address" August 3, 1963
  • "The Four Horsemen of Quackery" March 12, 1964
  • Voluntary vs. Compulsory Health Insurance" April 24, 1964
  • "Memorial Day - 1964 - Platteville, Wisconsin" May 30, 1964
  • "Something Worth Keeping-The American Way" June 9, 1964
  • "Address to Junior Class, Wartburg Theological Seminary" September 9, 1964
  • "A Look at Some AMA Activities" September 13, 1964
  • "What to Do About Aging" September 15, 1964
  • "Vital Interprofessional Relations" October 6, 1964
  • "Panel Presentation" October 14, 1964
  • "What the AMA Is-And Isn't" October 16, 1964
  • "A Great New Story to Sell" October 16, 1964
  • "We Need Your Help to Help Our Patients" October 17, 1964
  • "Four Goals for Medicine" October 20, 1964
  • "The Bright Road of Modern Medicine" October 21, 1964
  • "We Can Lose Only Once" October 22, 1964
  • "Medicine Looks at Religion" October 26, 1964
  • "Keynote Address" October 30, 1964
  • "Why This Forum" November 1, 1964
  • "The AMA Looks at '65" November 4, 1964
  • "Address of Welcome" November 6, 1964
  • "Disaster Medical Care-A Team Effort" November 8, 1964
  • "Remarks Before the House of Delegates" November 30, 1964
  • "The Role of the Physician in Physical Fitness and Its Allied Area" December 4, 1964
  • "1965-A Year for Medical Unity" December 10, 1964
  • "AMA Educational Campaign Conference" December 13, 1964
  • "President's Address to the House of Delegates" December 14, 1964
  • "Diverticulitis and Diverticulosis" 1964
  • "Teamwork" January 4, 1965
  • "Welcome Remarks" January 9, 1965
  • "Medical Science in This Country" January 12, 1965
  • "What's Best for Our Elderly" January 26, 1965
  • "Draft-Strand" January 1965
  • "Presentation Remarks" February 7, 1965
  • "Statement of the AMA Re: H.R. 1, 89th Congress-Hospital Isurance, Social Security,and Public Assistance Amendments of 1965" February 8, 1965
  • "American Medicine's Stake in Expanded Mental Health Services" February 19, 1965
  • "The Will to Win" February 21, 1965
  • "The AMA-What, Why and How" February 25, 1965
  • "Let's Be Fair About It" March 2, 1965
  • "The AMA" March 8, 1965
  • "Symposium on Medical Education" March 10, 1965
  • "You Deserve the Best: Get It" March 15, 1965
  • "United We Can Do the Job" March 20, 1965
  • "Success-Motion Plus Direction" March 24, 1965
  • "James S. McLester Memorial Lecture" March 29, 1965
  • "A New Environment for American Medicine" March 1965
  • "A Help to Few-Unfair to Many" April 5, 1965
  • "How Can the Medical Profession Best Meet the Needs of the American Public for¬†Comprehensive Medical Care?" April 9, 1965
  • "Why the AMA Speaks Out on the Health Care Issue" April 10, 1965
  • "What Doctors Prescribe" April 12, 1965
  • "The AMA" April 20, 1965
  • "Proposed Medical Legislation" April 21, 1965
  • "Welcome Remarks" April 26, 1965
  • "What's Inside the Medicake?" April 27, 1965
  • "Dynamic Years Ahead for Medicine" May 9, 1965
  • "Statement of the AMA Re: H.R. 6675, Social Security Amendments of 1965. Before
  • ‚ÄúThe Committee on Finance U.S. Senate" May 11, 1965
  • "The Relationships Between Religion and Medical Practice" May 15, 1965
  • "Charge!" May 22, 1965
  • "A Tribute to Excellence" May 22, 1965
  • "Any Questions that the Committee May Have" May 24, 1965"Why, What, and How?" May 25, 1965
  • "Professionalism: What Is It and How Do You Achieve It?" June 1, 1965
  • "How to Build Your Family's Health" June 2, 1965
  • "Be Wisely Selfish" June 3, 1965
  • "Address of Welcome" June 20, 1965
  • "Every Caesar Has His Brutus" June 22, 1965
  • "Remarks of the President" June 1965
  • "Executive Health" July 27, 1965
  • "Truth or Myths" September 12, 1965
  • "Medicine, Government-and the Future" October 23, 1965
  • "How Do They Read You" October 24, 1965
  • "The Executive Syndrome" November 4, 1965
  • "Tomorrow --The Great Illusion" November 11, 1965
  • "You and Your Practice Under Medicare" November 17, 1965
  • "Why a Dues Increase is Necessary" 1965
  • "Commencement Address" 1965
  • "The AMA" 1965?
  • "Today Is Yesterday's Tomorrow" January 17, 1966
  • "Dues Increase" February 1966
  • "Be Wisely Selfish" April 12, 1966
  • "Welcome Address" April 14, 1966
  • "Medicare" April 17, 1966
  • "A Doctor's Doctor" April 23, 1966
  • "You and the Practicing M.D." April 1966
  • "The Effect of Medicare on Physicians" May 25, 1966
  • "You Deserve the Best: Get It!" July 11, 1966
  • "Do It Now" September 10, 1966
  • "The AMA in the USA" September 17, 1966
  • "Happenings on the Hill" November 15, 1966
  • "Denver Medical Society Address" March 7, 1967
  • "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Medicare" March 7, 1967
  • "How the AMA Views Governmental Medical Care" April 14, 1967
  • "Governmental Medical Care" May 9, 1967
  • "Dyersville Community Hospital Ground Breaking Ceremony" August 20, 1967
  • "Physical Education in the Eyes of the Physician" October 20, 1967
  • "Medicare Bill" 1967
  • "A Look at the Cost of Health Care" January 16, 1968
  • "Medicine and the Free Enterprise System" March 6, 1968
  • "Your Hospital and Its Dedication" July 26, 1969
  • "Medicine and Religion" February 1970
  • "Dr. Burtis E. Montgomery Night" September 19, 1970
  • "National Health Insurance" January 27, 1971
  • "Tell Him Now" December 8, 1971
  • "Should Peer Review Be Structured by Legislation?" 1971
  • "Physical Therapists" April 1972
  • "Finley X-ray Technicians" May 9, 1972
  • "Medicredit as an Alteration to National Health Policy" April 17, 1974
  • "The Sick and the Bedfast" July 31, 1974
  • "University of Iowa Health Sciences Library Dedication Ceremony" September 27, 1974
  • "Armed Forces Day" May 17, 1975
  • "Graduation Address-Finley Hospital School of Radiologic Technology" June 13, 1975
  • "Masonic Temple Installation" January 7, 1978
  • "People Caring for People" April 30, 1978
  • "What If There Were No AMA?" August 2, 1978
  • "Accentuate the Positive" January 1979
  • "The National AMA Scene" June 7, 1980
  • "America and Medicine"
  • "Cancer of the Distal Colon"
  • "Cancer of the Proximal Colon"
  • "Cancer of the Rectosigmoid and Rectum"
  • "Control of Cancer"
  • "Diagnosis and Treatment of Intestinal Obstructions"
  • "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Medicare"
  • "Dubuque County" Rural Forum"
  • "Fellow Nebraskans"
  • "General Considerations of Maxillofacial Surgery"
  • "Governmental Medical Care"
  • "How Do They Read You?"
  • "Indications for Splenectomy"
  • "Infections of the Kidney-Non-Tuberculous"
  • "Is It Too Late?"
  • "Legislative Issues Facing Medicine in the Congress"
  • "Plastic Surgery"
  • "Public Medical Education"
  • "Remarks of the President"
  • "Renal Infections"
  • "Socialized America"
  • "Steps Necessary to Develop Press-Radio-Medical Relations"
  • "Tell the Story"
  • "What to Do About the Elderly"
  • "What's In It For You?"
  • "Why Executives Drop Dead"