Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sokol Shuttleworth Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1875-1982
Creator: Sokol Shuttleworth Family
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0395
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence and business records of family from Osceola County, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 4, 5, 6, 8, 10

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of the Sokol-Shuttleworth family were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by W.R. Shuttleworth and Howard N. Sokol over a period of years.

Preferred Citation: Sokol Shuttleworth Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth (1869-1957) was the daughter of Frank J. (1841-1921) and Anna Polveka Bezdichek Sokol (1851-1910). F.J. Sokol spent most of his life in Jones County, Iowa. He was a member of the County Board of Supervisors and served in the State Legislature for two terms, the 28th and 29th General Assemblies. Besides Blanche, there were three other children in the family: Emma Shimerda of Oxford Junction, Dr. J.M. Sokol of Spencer, and George F. Sokol of Sibley. There are letters from all of these individuals in the collection.
 
Blanche Sokol married W.D. Shuttleworth in 1896. Shuttleworth (1869-1941) was born at Fennimore, Grant County, Wisconsin. In 1890 he moved to Osceola County, Iowa, and later became the president of Shell Lumber Company and the vice-president of the Sibley Cement Company. Mr. and Mrs. Shuttleworth were the parents of two sons, Frank Kayley Shuttleworth (1899-1958) and Vivian Craven Shuttleworth (1900-1965). There are many letters and photographs of these two sons in the papers.
 
George F. Sokol (1880-1947) was married to Agnes Nisbet Sokol (daughter of James Nisbet and sister of Elizabeth Hawley), their son was Howard Nisbet Sokol. Father and son were also involved in the lumber and cement businesses in Sibley, Iowa.

The papers of the Sokol-Shuttleworth family consist of the personal papers of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth (such as diaries and correspondence), and the papers and business records of her brother George F. and his son Howard N. Sokol. The first five boxes of this collection are primarily the personal papers of Blanche (Sokol) Shuttleworth and consist of correspondence, diaries, photographs and other papers. The family correspondents include Blanche's husband W. D. Shuttleworth; and their children Frank Kayley Shuttleworth and Vivian Craven Shuttleworth There are also letters to her father, F.J. Sokol from a number of prominent Iowa political figures including A.B. Cummins, J.P. Dolliver, W.B. Allison, and G.W. Clarke. The next boxes were added to the collection in 1981 and are primarily comprised of the papers of George Frank Sokol, 1880-1947, and his son Howard Nisbet Sokol, 1912- . These include such items as lumber company records, diaries, and political correspondence with: Gerald Bogan, Norman Erbe, David M. Stanley, Wiley Mayne, Terry E. Branstad, Robert D. Ray, and James Leach.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1981 ADDENDUM
Series 3: JUNE 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 4: SEPTEMBER 2011 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Account ledger. Blanche Shuttleworth (Mrs. W.D.) - 1952-1957
  • Autobiographical material. W.D. and Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth
  • Bank book. W.D. Shuttleworth - 1934
  • Certificates and diplomas of Vivian Craven Shuttleworth - 1919-1924
  • Coat of Arms. Shuttleworth.
  • Correspondence - 1884-1896
  • Correspondence - 1897-1899
    Including a letter from A.B. Cummins
  • Correspondence - 1900-1902
    Including letters from: J.P. Dolliver, W.B. Allison, and G.W. Clarke
  • Correspondence - 1903-1910
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1911-1957
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Diaries of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth - 1920-1928
  • Diaries of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth - 1931-1937
  • Diaries of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth - 1938-1940
  • Box 3:
  • Diaries of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth - 1940-1957
    18 books
  • Box 4:
  • Farm and business records - 1878-1937
  • Letters about Vivian Craven Shuttleworth
  • Memo books
  • W.D. Shuttleworth - 1903
  • Frank Shuttleworth - 1919
  • Miscellaneous - 1891-1950
  • Newspaper clippings - 1903-1965
  • Photographs
    5 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Photographs
    5 folders
  • Photographs - negatives
    2 folders
  • School papers. Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth - 1887-1895
  • School themes. Ann Shuttleworth, daughter of V. Craven Shuttleworth - 1950
  • Series 2: 1981 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 6:
  • Biographical material and obituary for George Sokol - 1901-1947
  • Book of quotations. George Sokol - 1900-1903
  • Business record - 1891
    Framed
  • Citizenship papers, will, etc. James Nisbet - 1899-1953
  • Correspondence - 1907-1942
  • Certificate (Masonic). George Sokol - 1917
  • Diary of George Sokol - 1901
  • Financial and property account book of George and Agnes Sokol - 1916-1962
  • Income tax returns. Elizabeth Hawley - 1939-1951
  • Land development deed. George Sokol - 1918
  • Lumber yard, Onslow, Iowa - cash book - 1881-1889
  • Photographs, mostly of Shell Lumber Company
  • Rotary Club, Sibley, Iowa - 1925-1971
  • The Senate Club, Sibley, Iowa - 1913
  • Sub-Series: Shell Lumber Company
  • Box 6:
  • Corporate records - 1954-1965
  • Box 7:
  • Minutes and stock transfer accounts - 1906-1943
  • Minutes, receipts, and agreements - 1914-1954
  • Newspaper clippings - 1913-1954
  • Stock certificates - 1906-1949
  • Stock certificates - 1949-1953
  • Sub-Series: Sibley Cement Company, 1906-1947
  • Box 7:
  • Articles of incorporation and minutes - 1904-1945
  • Certificates of incorporation - 1924-1964
  • Minutes of special meetings of the board of directors - 1946-1957
  • Box 8:
  • Photographs
  • Price book - 1931-1956
  • Stock certificates - 1907-1957
  • Sibley Cement Co./American - Marietta Co.: Agreements and plans of reorganization - 1957
  • Sub-Series: Howard N. Sokol
  • Box 8:
  • American - Marietta Co. - 1957-1961
  • American Red Cross - 1940-1945
  • Baby book - 1912
  • Bank book - 1912-1931
  • Biographical material
  • Campaign - 1962
  • Campaign advertising - 1980
  • Box 9:
  • Campaign calendar - 1980
  • Campaign financial disclosures - 1962, 1964, 1980
  • Campaign issue material - 1980
  • Campaign organization - 1980
  • Campaign posters, buttons, brochures, etc. - 1964
  • Campaign questionnaires - 1980
  • Campaign tapes - 1964
    2 folders
  • Certificates - 1929-1982
  • Congressional apportionment, a paper for Political and Civil Rights Seminar (Mr. Bonfield) - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1935-1965
    Including letters from: Gerald Bogan, Norman Erbe, and David M. Stanley
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence - 1967-1980
    Including letters from: Wiley Mayne, Terry E. Branstad, Robert D. Ray, and James Leach
  • Diplomas: Iowa State University, B.S. - 1934
  • Diplomas: University of Iowa Law School - 1967
  • "Gibbs Phase Rule" - 1933
  • High School diploma, photographs, commencement program, banquet program, etc. - 1928-1929
  • Inaugural ceremonies - governor of Iowa - 1963, 1971
  • Mortgage - 1944
  • Newspaper clippings - 1962-1964
  • Newspaper clippings - 1966-1980
  • Newspaper clippings, obituary - 1998
  • Photographs
    Including photos of R. Nixon, B. Goldwater, C. Hoeven, and J. Leach. 2 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Proposed legislation - 1963
  • Republican district convention - 1964
    Program
  • Sixtieth General Assembly - ISEA Bulletin and Iowa Legislative
  • Ladies' League - 1963
  • Spancrete - Midwest Company - 1960
  • Series 3: JUNE 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 11:
  • Scrapbook of Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth
  • Series 4: SEPTEMBER 2011 ADDENDUM
  • Box 11:
  • Scrapbook of Frank K. Shuttleworth, compiled by Blanche Sokol Shuttleworth. Gift of Nancy Rust

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Shell Lumber Company
Sibley Cement Company

Topics:
Cement
Lumber trade

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Osceola County
United States -- Iowa -- Sibley

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries