Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Earl M. Willits Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1979
Creator: Willits, Earl M. (1946-1990)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0390
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa State Legislator. Subject files and correspondence relating to his service in the legislature and in the Iowa Attorney General's office.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 7

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa by Mr. Willits in 1979.

Preferred Citation: Earl M. Willits Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Earl M. Willits (1946-1990), a graduate of Iowa State University and Drake University, was first elected to Iowa's House of Representatives at the age of twenty-four. He was elected to the State Senate in 1972, and later served as an assistant majority leader. Willits was known as an advocate for social justice, particularly for Iowa farmers. In 1976, he went to work for Iowa's Attorney General Tom Miller and was appointed Miller's top assistant in 1982. Willits later became the Deputy Attorney General for Administration. When he left public office, he practiced law in Des Moines. Earl Willits died in 1990 at the age of forty-three.

The papers of Earl M. Willits are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence. They relate to his service in the Iowa legislature and the State Attorney General's office. Approximately five boxes contain correspondence, and the remainder consists of subject files concerning legislative issues ranging from abortion to the Iowa Commission for the Blind.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Abortion Legislation - 1970-1971
  • Abortion Legislation correspondence, November-January - 1970-1971
  • Abortion Legislation correspondence, some n.d.; February - 1971
  • Abortion Legislation correspondence, some n.d.; January-February - 1973
  • Abortion Rights Action League [Iowa] - 1979
  • Campaign miscellaneous - 1978
  • Campaign position statements - 1978
  • Correspondence, June-March - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence, April - 1971
  • Correspondence, May-December - 1971
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, some n.d. - 1972
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1973
  • Correspondence, March-April - 1973
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; May-December - 1973
    including letters from Harold E. Hughes
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1974
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; March-December - 1974
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1975
  • Correspondence, April-May - 1975
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; June-December - 1975
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1976
  • Correspondence, March - 1976
  • Correspondence, April-May - 1976
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; June-December - 1976
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence, January - 1977
  • Correspondence, February 1-9 - 1977
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; February 10-28 - 1977
  • Correspondence, March - 1977
  • Correspondence, April-May - 1977
  • Correspondence, June-October - 1977
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; November-December - 1977
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1978
  • Correspondence, March - 1978
  • Correspondence, April 1-7 - 1978
  • Correspondence, April 8-May - 1978
  • Correspondence, June-September - 1978
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; December - 1978
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1979
    including a letter from John C. Culver
  • Correspondence, March - 1979
  • Correspondence, some n.d.; April-July - 1979
  • Correspondence, Form Letters - 1978
  • Invitations and Appointments, January-October - 1979
  • Iowa Commission for the Blind - 1972-1978
    2 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa Democrats Campaign Manual - 1978
  • Juvenile Justice Legislation - 1979
  • Newsletters, January-March - 1972
  • Newsletters, January-June - 1973
  • Newsletters, January-June - 1974-1975
  • Newsletters, some n.d.; January-May - 1977-1978
  • Newsletters, January-May - 1979
  • Obituary and eulogy - 1990
  • Photographs - 1978
  • Press Clippings - 1972-1978
  • Questionnaire responses and replies - 1972
  • Questionnaire responses and replies - 1975
  • Questionnaire responses and replies - 1977
  • Questionnaire responses - 1979
  • Scientific Creationism Legislation - 1979
  • Spouse Abuse Legislation - 1977-1978
  • Teacher Coaching Legislation - 1977-1978
  • Terrace Hill Society - 1979
  • Valley Bank Building - 1979

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Commission for the Blind

Topics:
Abortion

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa