Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John W. Tobin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1885-1980
Creator: Tobin, John W. (1895-1989)
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0387
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Judge, attorney, and environmentalist from Vinton, Iowa. Subject files, speeches, and correspondence relating to his law career, the Vinton community, and the Izaak Walton League of America.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1, 5, 7-9.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1980 by Judge Tobin.

Preferred Citation: John W. Tobin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John W. Tobin (1895-1989) was a life-long resident of Vinton, Iowa. The son of a lawyer, he joined his father and brothers' legal firm of Tobin, Tobin and Tobin in 1917. He served in the signal corps during WW I. Tobin was appointed district judge in 1954, for the counties of Benton, Marshall, and Tama. Judge Tobin remained on the bench until 1970 when he reached the mandatory retirement age. Always active in community affairs, Tobin helped organize the American Legion in Iowa and the Lions Club in Vinton. He was president of the State Bank of Vinton and active with the local library. An ardent conservationist, in 1952 he was elected national president of the Izaak Walton League of America and in 1974, he became a member of their Hall of Fame. In 1977 he and his wife donated their 68 acre Cedar River property to the Benton County Conservation Board. Judge Tobin died in Vinton, Iowa, at the age of 94.

The papers of John W. Tobin reflect his interests in the law, his community, and conservation. Arranged alphabetically by folder title, the collection includes subject files on such topics as the Izaak Walton League of America, Liberty Bond drives, and individual legal cases. There are trip diaries, material relating to his father's alma mater, Tilford Collegiate Academy, and speeches. Correspondence folders include letters from Orville Grahame, Dick Clark, Alden J. Erskine, John C. Culver, James Leach, Robert D.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Benton County Historical Society
  • Box 1:
  • February 11-January 27 - 1971-1978
    including a letter from Orville Grahame
  • Sub-Series: Bequia, St. Vincent, the Grenadines, correspondence, printed materials, photographs and newspaper clippings
  • Box 1:
  • January 1-November 10 - 1945-1978
    4 folders
  • Sub-Series: Bird Watching Journal
  • Box 1:
  • January 14-December 8 - 1940-1941
  • Sub-Series: Checks from M. J. Tobin
  • Box 1:
  • June, June - 1916, 1917
  • Sub-Series: Hawk Bilt Company
  • Box 1:
  • November 6-June 30 - 1959-1968
  • Sub-Series: High School Photographs
  • Box 1:
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Idaho Trip Diary
  • Box 1:
  • November - 1917
  • Sub-Series: Izaak Walton League of America
  • Box 2:
  • By-Laws Committee, January 31-February 27 - 1946-1962
  • Correspondence, July 9-September 12 - 1952-1979
    including letters from J.N. Darling, Dick Clark, Alden J. Erskine and Harold Hughes (3 folders)
  • Endowment, July 11-August 9 - 1968-1979
    including a letter from Alden J. Erskine
  • Box 3:
  • Hall of Fame, January 22-September 10 - 1973-1974
  • Iowa Division, April 15-December 7 - 1955-1971
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Iowa Division, March 7-October 25 - 1972-1977
    newspaper clippings (3 folders), including letters from John Culver, Alden J. Erskine, Jim Leach, Bruce Stiles, and Leonard G. Wolf
  • Iowa Division, Constitution and By-Laws Committee, June-August - 1952-1961
  • Iowa Historical Committee, February 20-May 25 - 1959-1962
  • National, June 21-June 13 - 1931-1975
    including a letter from Edward Mezvinsky (2 folders)
  • Box 5:
  • 1960 National Convention, January 29-September 28 - 1960
  • 1963 Resolutions Committee, December 11-June 12 - 1962-1963
  • 1974 National Convention, June-July - 1974
  • 1975 National Board of Directors Midwinter Meeting, June-March - 1974-1975
  • 1975 National Convention and Nominating Committee, May-June - 1975
  • 1977 National Convention, July 1-4 - 1977
  • Presidency, May-June - 1952-1953
    including newspaper clippings
  • Red Cedar Chapter, April 20-June 10 - 1943-1979
    including newspaper clippings and photographs
  • Box 6:
  • Tobin National Directors Achievement Award, October 9-April 18 - 1975-1979
  • Tobin State Directors Achievement Award, August 22-June 7 - 1974-1975
  • Wills and Bequests Committee, November 16-June 25 - 1942-1964
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Judicial Candidacy
  • Box 6:
  • January 7-April 25 - 1954-1955
  • Sub-Series: Juvenile Cases
  • Box 6:
  • August-December - 1964-1966
  • Indians, October-May - 1960-1969
  • Sub-Series: Judicial Retirement
  • Box 7:
  • June-December - 1969-1971
    including newspaper clippings and photographs and a letter from Robert D. Ray
  • Sub-Series: Liberty War Scrapbook
  • Box 7:
  • Book, June-June - 1918-1919
  • Folder, June-June - 1918-1919
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • Box 7:
  • December 31-October 22 - 1920-1979
    including letters from Michael Blouin, Dick Clark, John Culver, Jim Leach, and Hope Rogers
  • Sub-Series: Palimpsest
  • Box 7:
  • June 22-March 23 - 1970-1971
    including letters from Orville Grahame and Hope Rogers
  • Sub-Series: Rector v. Alcorn
  • Box 7:
  • August 17-May 6 - 1974-1976
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 8:
  • January-December - 1912-1976
    including newspaper clippings (4 folders)
  • Sub-Series: State Bank of Vinton
  • Box 8:
  • January-May 25 - 1941-1977
    including newspaper clippings (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: State Judicial Nominating Committee
  • Box 8:
  • July 19-October 4 - 1969-1976
    including letters from Robert D. Ray and Elizabeth Shaw (2 folders)
  • Sub-Series: State of Iowa v. William A. Holland
  • Box 8:
  • August 15-February 23 - 1958-1972
  • Sub-Series: State of Iowa v. Frank D. Pardue
  • Box 8:
  • October 25-January 30 - 1972-1973
    including photograph and newspaper clipping
  • Sub-Series: Tilford Collegiate Academy
  • Box 9:
  • January-February 3 - 1885-1980
  • Sub-Series: Tobin "Brighten the Corner Trust" Fund
  • Box 9:
  • February-March - 1971-1978
  • Sub-Series: Tobin Park
  • Box 9:
  • December 6-October 16 - 1930-1978
    including newspaper clippings
  • Sub-Series: With No Intention
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence, November 9-August 30 - 1977-1979
    including photographs
  • Manuscript
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: World War II Finance Committee
  • Box 9:
  • November 6-January 9 - 1942-1946
    including newspaper clippings (3 folders)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Izaak Walton League of America
Tilford Collegiate Academy

Topics:
World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1939-1945

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Benton County
United States -- Iowa -- Vinton

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives