Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Eugene Mannheimer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-1951
Creator: Mannheimer, Eugene (1905-1952)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0386
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Rabbi and civic leader of Des Moines, Iowa. Reminiscences.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Robert E. Mannheimer in January 1980.

Preferred Citation: Eugene Mannheimer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Eugene Max Mannheimer was a Jewish Rabbi at Temple B'nai Jeshurun in Des Moines, Iowa, from May 1905 to October 1943. Mannheimer was born in Rochester, New York, on November 3, 1880. After eight years of study at the high school and college levels, he graduated from Hebrew Union College, in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1902. Mannheimer's father was an instructor in the Hebrew language and in the Bible at that college, beginning in 1884. After graduation, Mannheimer served as a Rabbi in Sioux City, Iowa, and in 1905 he moved to Des Moines, Iowa, to serve the congregation at Temple B'nai Jeshurun. He met Irma Shloss in Des Moines and the couple married on April 17, 1917. They had two sons, Robert and Richard.

As a representative of the Jewish religion, Mannheimer was invited to attend a meeting at the State University of Iowa on May 12, 1925, to establish the School of Religion. Later that month he was appointed to the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the School of Religion. Mannheimer was elected as first vice president of the School of Religion in May 1949.

During 1941, Mannheimer suffered two heart attacks. In April 1943 he requested to retire and he was elected Rabbi Emeritus on October 1, 1943. Eugene Mannheimer died of a heart attack on September 8, 1952.

The Eugene Max Mannheimer Papers consist of his unpublished manuscript, Reminiscences of My Three Score Years and Nine, concerning American-Jewish life in America during the first half of the twentieth century. The manuscript is nearly 1,000 typed pages written by Rabbi Mannheimer between 1949 and 1951 and is based on his personal notebooks while serving as Rabbi. Also included is an alphabetical index, a page index, and a calendar of Mannheimer's meetings and sermons dated from 1905 to 1950. The page index contains reprinted paragraphs from the manuscript to aid in locating specific subjects. A memorial booklet is filed in the first folder.
Mannheimer, Eugene. "Notes on the History of the School of Religion at the University of Iowa and its Jewish Department." Historical Papers Collection in Archives (RG01.0001.003). Records of the Department of Religious Studies (RG06.0032.001) Iowa Women's Archives Shloss and Mannheimer Families Papers, 1896-1986

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WRITINGS
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Memory booklet
  • Reminiscences of My Three Score Years and Nine
  • Volume I, pp. 1-144
  • Volume II, pp. 145-278
  • Volume III, pp. 279-414
  • Volume IV, pp. 415-552
  • Volume V, pp. 553-702
  • Volume VI, pp. 703-812; 905-916
  • Box 2:
  • Reminiscences of My Three Score Years and Nine, continued
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • Calendar - 1905-1950
  • Alphabetical index
  • Page index

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.