Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Philip Hill Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-1979
Creator: Hill, Philip (1931-)
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0384
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his legislative career. Topics range from abortion to the courts and from child care to the Republican Party.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 19.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Philip B. Hill gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1980.

Preferred Citation: Philip Hill Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

West Virginia native, Philip B. Hill (1931 -- ) did not move to Iowa until the 1960s. He was educated at Princeton University receiving his A.B. degree in 1952 and at the West Virginia College of Law where he graduated in 1957. His first job out of law school was as an associate in the firm of Dayton, Campbell & Love in Charleston, West Virginia. In 1961, he became a partner in another Charleston law office. Hill moved to Iowa in 1965, where he joined Equitable of Iowa as Associate Counsel. He was promoted to Counsel in 1970. Hill served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1971 to 1974. He was an Iowa state senator from 1975 to 1979.

The papers of Philip B. Hill consist of nineteen boxes of manuscripts dating from 1967 to 1979. They are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence (with a small additional grouping at the end). These papers document Hill's legislative career with correspondence and subject files. There are approximately six boxes of correspondence, which include letters from: Charles Grassley, John C. McDonald, Arthur A. Neu, Robert D. Ray, and Neal Smith.

Subject files include items such as legislative council minutes, various study committee research and reports (including those concerning livestock laws, penal corrections systems, and land use), clippings, and house files. Some of the topics range from abortion to the courts and juvenile justice or from child care to education. Materials regarding the Republican party include newsletters, party platforms, and central committee papers. There are also records of his campaigns, such as expenditures and other financial disclosures.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Abortion - 1967-1973
    6 folders
  • Abortion laws study committee - 1975
  • Agriculture - 1971
  • Appropriations - 1971
  • Auditors' report - 1977-1978
  • Bar Association - 1971
  • Barbers -- Cosmetology - 1971
  • Box 2:
  • Bills sponsored by P. Hill - 1975-1976
  • Bottle bill -- Environment - 1971
  • Broadlawns Hospital - 1971
  • Campaign - 1972
  • Campaign - 1973
  • Campaign: Expenditures - 1970
  • Campaign: Finance and disclosure study committee - 1975
  • Capitol cafeteria study committee - 1975
  • Child Care - 1974-1976
  • Child Care: Centers - 1971-1974
  • Cities and towns - 1970-1971
  • Collective bargaining - 1972-1974
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Commerce - 1970-1976
    Including a letter from Robert D. Ray.
  • Conservation and recreation - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence - 1970
    Including a letter from Robert D. Blue.
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • Correspondence: January-February - 1972
  • Correspondence: March-December - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1973
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence: January-February - 1974
  • Correspondence: March-December - 1974
    Including a letter from Arthur A. Neu.
  • Correspondence: January-February - 1975
    Including a letter from Arthur A. Neu.
  • Correspondence: March 1-20 - 1975
  • Correspondence: March 21-31 - 1975
  • Correspondence: April 1-10 - 1975
    Including a letter from Charles E. Grassley.
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence: April 11-13 - 1975
  • Correspondence: May - 1975
    Including a letter from Charles E. Grassley.
  • Correspondence: June-December - 1975
  • Correspondence: January - 1976
  • Correspondence: February - 1976
  • Correspondence: March 1-19 - 1976
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence: March 22-31 - 1976
  • Correspondence: April - 1976
  • Correspondence: May-December - 1976
    Including letters from: William E. Gluba, John C. McDonald, and Tom Stoner.
  • Correspondence: January 1-February 10 - 1977
  • Correspondence: February 11-March 3 - 1977
  • Correspondence: March 4-28 - 1977
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence: March 29-April 14 - 1977
  • Correspondence: April 15-May 9 - 1977
  • Correspondence: May 10-December - 1977
  • Correspondence: January 1-25 - 1978
  • Correspondence: January 26-31 - 1978
  • Correspondence: February 1-14 - 1978
    Including a letter from Neal Smith.
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence: February 15-28 - 1978
    Including a letter from Neal Smith.
  • Correspondence: March 1-14 - 1978
  • Correspondence: March 15-31 - 1978
    Including letters from: Berkley Bedell and Charles E. Grassley.
  • Correspondence: April 1-12 - 1978
    Including letters from: Jim Leach, Neal Smith, and John C. Culver.
  • Correspondence: April 13-28 - 1978
  • Correspondence: May-July - 1978
    Including letters from: Tom Harkin, Charles E. Grassley, and Bass Van Gilst.
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence: August-November - 1978
  • Correspondence: Undated
  • County government - 1971
  • Drug bill -- Judiciary - 1971
  • Education - 1970-1975
    3 folders
  • Eminent domain study committee - 1975
  • Environmental preservation - 1969-1971
  • Governor's economic committee - 1971
    Including a letter from Robert D. Ray.
  • Higher education - 1971
  • House file #92 - 1970-1971
  • Box 10:
  • House file #654 - 1971
  • Human resources - 1975
    2 folders
  • Human resources: Deaf-Commission - 1973-1974
  • Iowa Educational Broadcasting Network - 1971
  • Joint subcommittee on apportionment of judges and magistrates - 1975
  • Joint subcommittee on mechanic's lien laws and landlord - tenant law - 1975
  • Judiciary - 1972-1973
  • Judiciary - 1974-1976
    Including a letter from Tom Riley.
  • Juvenile justice: January 1-September 11 - 1973-1975
  • Box 11:
  • Juvenile justice: September 17-December - 1975
  • Juvenile justice: January-April - 1976
  • Juvenile justice: August-September - 1976
  • Juvenile justice
  • January-December - 1977
  • Undated
  • Newspaper clippings - 1974-1978
  • Juvenile services subcommittee - 1975-1979
    2 folders
  • Land use policy - 1974
  • Land use policy: Study committee - 1975
  • Box 12:
  • Law enforcement - 1971-1974
  • Legislative action -- 66th General Assembly - 1975
  • Legislative campaign committee - 1975
  • Legislative council: July-September - 1977
  • Legislative council: October-April - 1977-1978
  • Legislative council: June-December - 1978
  • Legislative council
  • December - 1978
  • Undated
  • Legislative council: Correspondence - 1977-1979
  • Box 13:
  • Legislative council: Membership - 1977-1979
  • Legislative council: Minutes - 1977-1979
    2 folders
  • Legislative council: Rules and authorization - 1977-1979
  • Legislative reports and research - 1970-1971
  • Livestock laws study committee - 1975
  • Lobbyists' reports - 1975-1976
  • Locks and Dam 26 -- National committee, March-November - 1976
    3 folders
  • Mental health and juvenile institutions study committee - 1975
  • Subcommittee on commitment laws - 1975
  • Motor vehicle licensing subcommittee - 1975
  • Natural resources - 1974
  • Box 14:
  • Newsletters - 1975-1976
  • Penal and correctional systems study committee - 1975
  • Pensions and retirement programs study committee - 1975
  • Physician's assistants program - 1971-1973
    2 folders
  • Postsecondary education funding study committee - 1975
  • Privacy seminar - 1974
  • Problems of the elderly and handicapped study committee - 1975
  • Professional and occupational licensing study committee - 1975
  • Reapportionment - 1969
  • Regional government concepts - 1971
  • Republican newsletters and special reports - 1975-1976
    2 folders
  • Box 15:
  • Republican Party - 1975-1976
  • Republican Party: Platform - 1970-1974
    Including a letter from John C. McDonald
  • Republican Party: State Central Committee - 1976
  • School funding subcommittee - 1975
  • Security and privacy legislation - 1974-1975
  • Senate ethics report - 1975-1978
  • Senate reports - 1977-1978
  • Social services - 1969-1978
    2 folders
  • State government - 1971
  • Box 16:
  • State government - 1974
  • State representative campaign '70 - 1969-1970
    2 folders
  • Supreme Court study committee - 1971-1972
    3 folders
  • Taxation subcommittee - 1975
  • Traffic records and criminal justice information system (TRACIS) committee - 1971-1974
  • Transportation - 1971
  • Venereal disease task force - 1973-1974
  • Ways and means committee - 1971
  • Box 17:
  • Ways and means committee - 1973-1976
    3 folders
  • Inheritance tax - 1974
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence, April 10-December 8 - 1972
    Including letters from: David W. Belin, Roger C. Jepsen, Jean Lloyd-Jones, Wiley Mayne, John C. McDonald, and Robert D. Ray
  • Campaign papers and documents, April 4-December 6 - 1972
    2 folders
  • Clippings - 1972
  • Correspondence, January 4-January 20 - 1974-1975
    Including letters from: George Gallup, John C. McDonald, Arthur A. Neu, W. Robert Parks, and Robert D. Ray. (2 folders)
  • Box 19:
  • Campaign papers and documents, October 11-December 31 - 1973-1974
    2 folders
  • Photographs. (2)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Republican Party (Iowa)

Topics:
Abortion
Child care
Courts
Education
Juvenile courts
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa