Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harding Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1840-1975
Creator: Harding Family
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0383
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diaries, genealogical records, account and ledger books, correspondence, and reminiscences of three generations. Includes descriptions of Iowa City and the surrounding area in the 19th century.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 3.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Margery H. Harding in 1980.

Preferred Citation: Harding Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Margery Harding is the link between the Dennis and Heberling families. Byran and Agnes McConnell Dennis were her maternal grandparents. The Heberlings were related to her through her father. Andrew Heberling was her paternal grandfather and John Heberling was her great grandfather.

The approximately one linear foot of material is divided into three major groupings. The first section consists primarily of diaries kept by Mrs. Harding's maternal grandparents, Bryan and Agnes McConnel Dennis. These diaries include descriptions of Iowa City and the surrounding area in the nineteenth century. The next catagory concerns Mrs. Harding's parents and specifically her father's family, the Heberlings. Included here are such items as a ledger and biographical sketch of her grandfather Andrew Heberling, a record books kept by her great grandfather John Heberling, assorted genealogical records and a scrapbook. The last area includes correspondence and ephemera from the McConnell, Dennis, and Heberling families. These papers are open for research and information on literary rights is available in the repository.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DENNIS FAMILY
Series 2: HEBERLING FAMILY
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE AND EPHEMERA FROM THE MCCONNELL, DENNIS AND HEBERLING FAMILIES

  • Series 1: DENNIS FAMILY
  • Sub-Series: Agnes Jollly McConnell Dennis
  • Box 1:
  • Diaries
  • Original and transcript - 1864-1882
  • Original and transcript - 1883-1884
  • Transcript only - 1895-1897
  • Original and transcript - 1897-1900
  • Marriage license of Bryan Dennis and Agnes J. McConnell and the small purse in which it was found
    Includes a clipping from a newspaper with the announcement of the marriage; and a clipping of a poem, "Early and Late"
  • Sub-Series: Bryan Francis Dennis
  • Box 1:
  • Diaries
  • Transcript only - 1850
  • Three volumes and transcript - 1891-1894
  • Three volumes and transcript - 1896-1905
  • One volume - 1906
  • Reminiscences of Grandfather Dennis (Bryan Francis Dennis) - 1840-1841
  • Series 2: HEBERLING FAMILY
  • Sub-Series: Andrew Heberling
  • Box 2:
  • Biographical sketch by Henry E. Heberling (father of Margery Harding)
  • Ledger - 1865-1902
  • Sub-Series: John Heberling
  • Box 1:
  • Justice of the Peace recorods and account book, Cadiz, Harrison County, Ohio - 1825
  • Sub-Series: Heberling family records
  • Box 1:
  • Heberling family recordboks (primarily genealogical)
    Three books, including a book of Congressional autographs
  • Heberling family scrapbook
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE AND EPHEMERA FROM THE MCCONNELL, DENNIS AND HEBERLING FAMILIES
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1842-1916, 1975
  • Photographs
  • Secretary's minute book - 1851
    District meetings of school district #2, Johnson County, Iowa