Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John C. Pryor Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1976
Creator: Pryor, John C. (1883-1979)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0377
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer in Burlington, Iowa. Correspondence and subject files relating primarily to the Iowa Bar Association and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 7.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Betty L. Hacker in 1981.

Preferred Citation: John C. Pryor Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John C. Pryor (1883-1979) was born in Abindon, Virginia. When he was five years old his family moved to Council Bluffs, Iowa. There he attended public schools and worked at a number of odd jobs as a teenager. Pryor graduated from Simpson College in Indianola, Iowa, in 1907, and the following year earned his law degree from the University of Chicago. Returning to Council Bluffs to begin his legal career, he remained there until 1922 when he relocated his law practice to Burlington, Iowa.

In 1916 Pryor was the Democratic candidate for Congress from Iowa's 9th District. From 1915 to 1921, he was a member of the Council Bluffs Board of Education and from 1926 to 1931 he was a member of the Board of Education in Burlington. In the 1930s, he was state administrator of the Iowa State Emergency Relief Administration, assistant general council of the Farm Credit Administration, president of the Iowa State Bar Association, a member of the Iowa Commission on Uniform State Laws, and the general council for the Federal Land Bank of Omaha. During World War II, Pryor was chief council of the Preclusive Operations Division, Office of Imports, Board of Economic Welfare, legal advisor to the Economic Welfare Division of the American Embassy in London, and president of the National Conference on Uniform Law.

The papers of John C. Pryor are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence. These papers primarily consist of correspondence with some subject files relating to the Iowa State Bar Association and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. Also included are Pryor's speeches and a manuscript draft of his autobiography. There are five boxes of correspondence with letters from Guy M. Gillette, Clyde L. Herring, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Mason Ladd, Thomas E. Martin, Elizabeth Smith Pryor, Wiley Rutledge, and George A. Wilson.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF COMMISSIONERS ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS
Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 5: SPEECHES AND ARTICLES

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • American Law Institute - 1942
  • Autobiography, J.C. Pryor. Including a letter from Philip D. Jordan
  • Civil Service. Board of Legal Examiners. Including letters from Mason Ladd - 1942
  • Including letters from John Hammill, Smith W. Brookhart, Claude R. Porter, and William G. McAdoo - 1920-1932
  • Including letters from Louis Murphy, Clyde L. Herring, and Edward C. Eicher - 1933-1935
  • Including letters from Harry Hopkins, Clyde L. Herring, Mason Ladd, Seth Thomas, Nelson J. Kraschel, Wiley Rutledge, and William F. Rile - 1936-1937
  • Including letters from Clyde L. Herring, Wiley Rutledge, and William F. Riley, January-May - 1938
  • Box 2:
  • Including letters from Nelson G. Kraschel, Clyde L. Herring, Fred Biermann, Guy M. Gillette, and Thomas E. Martin (June-August) - 1938
  • Including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Clyde L. Herring, James A. Farley, Guy M. Gillette, John H. Mitchell, and Nelson G. Kraschel, September-December - 1938
  • Including letters from Clyde L. Herring, Mason Ladd, Wiley Rutledge, and Guy M. Gillette (January-February) - 1939
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge and Clyde L. Herring, March-June - 1939
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge, July-December - 1939
  • Including letters from Mason Ladd, Thomas E. Martin, and Wiley Rutledge, January-March - 1940
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge, Fred Biermann, Guy M. Gillette, Oscar Hale, Clyde L. Herring, Mason Ladd, E.A. Gilmore, and S.J. Galvin, April-May - 1940
  • Box 3:
  • Including letters from Clyde L. Herring, Wiley Rutledge, Guy M. Gillette, and Mason Ladd, June-December - 1940
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge, Guy M. Gillette, George A. Wilson, and Clyde L. Herring, January-June - 1941
  • Including letters from Clyde L. Herring, Mason Ladd, Wiley Rutledge, and Henry N. Graven, July-December - 1941
    Interesting letter regarding Henry A. Wallace on August 8, 1941
  • Including letters from Clyde L. Herring, Wiley Rutledge, and Otha D. Wearin, January-May - 1942
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge, Guy M. Gillette, Mason Ladd, Clyde L. Herring, and William F. Riley, June-December - 1942
  • Including letters from Mason Ladd, Wiley Rutledge, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, T. Henry Foster, and Clarence W. Moody - 1943
  • Including letters from Wiley Rutledge, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, and W. Earl Hall - 1944
  • Box 4:
  • Including letters from George A. Wilson, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Wiley Rutledge, and W.D. Jamieson - 1945
  • Including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Jake More, and W.D. Jamieson - 1946
  • Including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Robert D. Blue, Mason Ladd, David M. Stanley, and Jo Stong - 1947
  • Including a letter from Earl Warren - 1949-1969
  • Including a letter from Roy L. Stephenson - 1970-1971
  • Including letters from Harold E. Hughes, Robert D. Ray [photocopy], and Edward Mezvinsky - 1972-1976
  • Personal correspondence, May-July - 1943
  • Box 5:
  • Personal correspondence, August-September - 1943
  • Personal correspondence, October-December - 1943
    Including a copy of As I Saw It
  • Personal correspondence, n.d.
    Including letters from Wiley Rutledge and W. Earl Hall
  • Personal correspondence. Elizabeth Pryor - 1941-1952
    Including letters from Wiley Rutledge and Adlai E. Stevenson
  • Council of State Governments - 1940-1943
  • Iowa State Bar Association
  • Correspondence - 1937-1958
    Including a letter from Mason Ladd
  • Correspondence - 1959-1961
    Including a letter from Mason Ladd
  • Correspondence - 1962-1971
    Including a letter from Mason Ladd
  • Series 2: NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF COMMISSIONERS ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, September - 1938-1939
    Including letters from Wiley Rutledge and Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1939
  • Correspondence, January-June - 1940
  • Correspondence, July-September - 1940
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1940
    Including a letter from Wiley Rutledge
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1941
    Including a letter from George A. Wilson
  • Correspondence, April-August - 1941
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence, September-December - 1941
  • Correspondence, January-June - 1942
  • Correspondence, July-December - 1942
  • General correspondence - 1943
  • Correspondence, n.d.
  • Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 7:
  • September-November - 1927-1956
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 7:
  • Three photographs at events; Democratic Congressional Committee stationery bearing Pryor's image
  • Series 5: SPEECHES AND ARTICLES
  • Box 7:
  • Including radio transcript; memorial banquet; Kiwanis Club address; Journal of Business (some n.d.) - 1930-1943