Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Stetson Kennedy Progressive Party Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1945-1952
Creator: Kennedy, Stetson (1916-2011)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0376
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of Progressive Party materials.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated by Stetson Kennedy to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1979.

Preferred Citation: Stetson Kennedy Progressive Party Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Writer and political activist Stetson Kennedy was born in Florida in 1916. He graduated from Lee High School and attended the University of Florida. One of his first jobs after college was as the state editor for the WPA Florida Writers Project. In 1941, Kennedy published his first book, Palmetto County. In the 1940s he infiltrated the Ku Klux Klan, out of which came his book Southern Exposure. During World War II, he was director of intelligence for the Anti-Nazi League. He was active in pre- and post-war peace movements and was a delegate to the World Peace Conference. In 1950, Stetson Kennedy ran for the U.S. Senate from Florida as an Independent. He was endorsed by the Progressive Voters League but received only 914 votes. Kennedy has worked as a newspaper writer and columnist for papers such as the New York Times and the New York Post. Most of his papers are deposited at the Southern Labor Archives at Georgia State University.

Kennedy died August 27, 2011.

The Stetson Kennedy Collection of Progressive Party Materials consists of 118 items. Founded in 1948, the Progressive Party's first presidential candidate was Henry A. Wallace. The party (which continued until 1954) opposed the bipartisan Cold War policy, advocated civil rights, and wanted an extension of New Deal policies. This small collection includes correspondence, speeches, flyers, and advertising relating to the Henry A. Wallace campaign and southern strategy. It also contains clippings and folders concerning the Progressive Citizens of America and the National Council of the Arts, Sciences, and Professions.
MsC177 The Papers of Henry A. Wallace.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Glass, Horace. "Humanity's Advocate Stetson Kennedy: Literary Crusader." Mandarin Weekly Advertiser vol. 4, no. 1: 9-25. March 2 - 1981
  • National Council of the Arts, Sciences, and Professions - 1947-1951
  • Progressive Citizens of America - 1947-1948
  • Progressive Party - 1945-1952
    Including "Wallace Campaign Materials" and a southern strategy letter from Morton Bloom
  • Progressive Party. Newspaper clippings - 1948-1949
    Including from York, PA, The Gazette and Daily

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Progressive Citizens of America
Progressive Party (U.S. : 1948)

Geographic Names:
United States -- Florida