Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas John Bright Robinson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1905-1957
Creator: Robinson, Thomas John Bright (1868-1958)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0375
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: President of the Citizens National Bank of Hampton, Iowa, U.S. Representative, real estate and investment business. Correspondence, bank record book, and campaign materials documenting his career.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1979 by Frank R. Thornton.

Preferred Citation: Thomas John Bright Robinson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Thomas John Bright Robinson (1868-1958) moved from Wisconsin to Iowa with his parents when he was only two years old. They settled in Hampton, Franklin County, Iowa. He attended public schools and Hampton High School. He was involved in agricultural pursuits for awhile before entering the banking business. Robinson was president of the Citizens National Bank of Hampton from 1907 to 1923. He also took part in community affairs, he was a member of both the city council and the board of education. He was also active in the Methodist Church and was a delegate to many conferences here and abroad.
 
Robinson was elected as a Republican to the state senate and served from 1913 to 1917. He was also a delegate to numerous Republican state conventions. During World War I, Robinson was the chairman of Franklin County's war activities. In 1923, he was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. He was a five term Congressman, losing his bid for re-election in 1932. Robinson was in the real estate and investment business from 1933 until his death in 1958.

The papers of Thomas J.B. Robinson are comprised of 163 items dating from 1905 to 1957. Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence this small collection includes subject files, speeches, and correspondence. The subject files include materials concerning his 1928 political campaign, a record book from the Citizens National Bank of Hampton dating 1905-1918, and a file regarding the Methodist Episcopal Church in Iowa. Correspondents include Guy M. Gillette, Hugh C. Gruwell, and William F. Kopp.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign literature - 1928
  • The Citizens National Bank of Hampton, Iowa, record book - 1905-1918
  • Correspondence - 1926-1957
    Including letters from Guy Mark Gillette, Hugh Clifton Gruwell, and William Frederick Kopp
  • Methodist Episcopal Church in Iowa - 1905-1957
  • Speeches - 1918-1933
  • Speeches, undated