Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joseph Franklin Culver Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1860-1900
Creator: Culver, Joseph Franklin (1834-1899)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0373
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier, lawyer, and banker. Letters about his military service with the Illinois 129th Infantry Regiment, and his life after the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978). er the war as a lawyer and banker in Illinois and Kansas . These letters were published as Leslie W. Dunlap, editor, Your Affectionate Husband, J.F. Culver: Letters Written During the Civil War (Friends of the University of Iowa Library, 1978).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Joseph Franklin Culver Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Joseph Franklin Culver (1834-1899) served with the Illinois 129th Infantry Regiment, Company A (August 1862-June 1865), first as a lieutenant and later as captain. Culver was engaged in banking, insurance, and the practice of law in Pontiac, Illinois, before the war. After his return he served two years as mayor of Pontiac and four years as county judge in Livingston County. In 1879, he moved his family to Emporia, Kansas, where he continued his career in banking and law.

The Joseph Franklin Culver Papers consist of approximately 408 items and date from March 1, 1860 to July 21, 1900. All the correspondence is arranged chronologically. The majority of letters were written by Joseph Culver to his wife, Mary Murphy Culver.
Related Works

Culver, Joseph Francis. "Your Affectionate Husband, J. F. Culver": Letters Written During the Civil War. Iowa City : Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries,1978.

MAIN Library E505.5 129th .C84

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Bollinger Lincoln Collection E505.5 129th .C84

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS University Archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1860-1862
    69 items
  • Correspondence - 1863
    98 items
  • Correspondence: January-April - 1864
    54 items
  • Correspondence: May-December - 1864
    72 items
  • Correspondence - 1865-1900
    55 items
  • Correspondence, undated
    9 items
  • Envelopes, undated
    51 items