Guide to the Mead Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1929
Creator: Mead Family
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0372
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War correspondence and pension records of an Iowa County family. Some of the topics of correspondence include the Battle of Corinth, Copperheads in Iowa, Black troops, and farm life in Iowa.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Mead Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

James H. Mead (1839-1904) joined the army in 1862, serving in Company E, Regiment 24, Iowa Infantry Volunteers. He later became an officer of the 62nd Regiment of the U.S. Colored Volunteer Infantry, in Companies B, E, H, and K. He was a 2nd Lt. in Company B when discharged from the army in the spring of 1866.
 
Ellen Kepner Mead and James H. Mead were married July 4, 1866. Ellen Mead (b. 1842) is addressed variously as Elizabeth, Nell, Nellie, Nettie, Ellie, and E.E. throughout the correspondence.
 
Robert M. Kepner (1838-1929) was the brother of Ellen Mead. Kepner served with Company G, 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry Volunteers,
 
1861-1864. He was wounded twice in the Battle of Corinth, 1862.
 
The last major correspondent was Adda Mead Bradford. She was the sister of James H. Mead. In 1864 she married Matt Bradford.


Content Description

The Mead papers are composed primarily of correspondence, with a small number of pension records. All material is arranged chronologically. The major correspondents are James H. Mead, Ellen Kepner Mead, Robert M. Kepner, and Adda Mead Bradford. There is a handwritten index of the letters in the departmental file.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Colored Infantry Regiment, 62nd
United States Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 24th (1862-1865), Company E
United States Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 7th (1861-1865), Company G

Topics:
African Americans
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Copperhead (Nickname)
Corinth, Battle of, Corinth, Miss., 1862
Farm life

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa County
United States -- Iowa -- Koszta
United States -- Iowa -- Marengo

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War