Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lew Frank Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1968
Creator: Frank, Lew (1916-1970)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0369
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Speech writer for Henry A. Wallace. Primarily relates to his work for Wallace's presidential campaign on the Progressive Party ticket in 1948. With speeches Frank wrote for Wallace there are clippings, correspondence, campaign schedules, and Progressive Party news releases and pamphlets.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Frank's widow, Mrs. L.C. Frank, in the 1970s. An additional gift was given in 2010 by Patricia M. Franks.

Preferred Citation: Lew Frank Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lewis Crown Frank, Jr. (1916 -- 1970) was a staff writer for the New Republic. In 1948, he became the principal speech writer for Henry A. Wallace's presidential bid on the Progressive Party ticket. Frank advocated expanding the use of print and broadcast media over the rally type campaign strategy.

The papers of Lew Frank date from 1943 to 1968, but relate primarily to the Progressive Party and Henry A. Wallace's presidential campaign of 1948. A small collection, it is made up of two boxes of manuscript material and clippings. There are seven folders of speeches that Frank wrote for Henry A. Wallace, as well as correspondence, campaign schedules, clippings, Progressive Party news releases and pamphlets.
Henry A. Wallace Papers, 1934 -- 1944. 12 ft. Editor of Wallaces' Farmer 1921--1933; Secretary of Agriculture, 1933 --1940; Vice-President of the United States, 1941--1945; Secretary of Commerce, 1945 --1946. Photocopies of the microfilm edition of the original mss. in the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division. MsC177

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SPEECHES OF HENRY A. WALLACE
Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 4: PROGRESSIVE PARTY
Series 5: 2010 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: SPEECHES OF HENRY A. WALLACE
  • Box 1:
  • January-September - 1947
  • October-December - 1947
  • January-April - 1948
  • May-June - 1948
  • September-November - 1948
  • January-December - 1949
  • Undated
  • Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1943-1968
  • Foundation (charter, finances, issues, memoranda) - 1948-1949
  • Photographs
  • Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 2:
  • Daily Compass, August 15-November 2 - 1949
  • Detroit Free Press, October 10-August 25 - 1948-1949
  • Detroit News, May 2-October 1 - 1948-1949
  • New York Times, June 17-November 19 - 1947-1965
  • Miscellaneous clippings - 1948-1968
    Nation, Defender, Saturday Review, Manchester Guardian, Philadelphia Inquirer, I.F. Stone's Weekly, Mademoiselle, New York Star, Herald Tribune, unidentified and undated clippings, July 26, 1948-September 14, 1968
  • Series 4: PROGRESSIVE PARTY
  • Box 2:
  • Pamphlets published by Progressive Party
  • Non-Progressive Party publications
  • Progressive Party news releases - 1947-1948
  • Progressive Party news releases - 1949
  • Progressive Party news records - 1948
  • Progressive Party news records - 1949-1950
  • Campaign schedules, February-July - 1948
  • Campaign schedules, August-September - 1948
  • Campaign schedules, October - 1948
  • Campaign schedules, November - 1948
  • Series 5: 2010 ADDENDUM
  • Box 2:
  • Letters to his wife from the 1948 campaign trail
  • "The Population Factor," a paper presented for discussion at the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions, Santa Barbara, August 30, 1967 - 1967
    By Lewis C. Frank, Jr., Executive Director, Information Center of Population Problems
  • Remarks for American Association of Medical Writers, draft, September 22 - 1967
  • Remarks for Merrill-Palmer Conference, Detroit, November 16 - 1967
  • Speech, the Franklin Institution
  • Text of speech on the population explosion to be delivered by Lewis C. Frank, Jr. - 1969
    Executive Director of the Information Centre on Population Problems, New York, in the House of Commons, on Thursday, 19th June, 1969

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Wallace, Henry Agard, 1888-1965

Corporate Names:
Progressive Party (U.S. : 1948)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Speechwriters

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches