Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Seymour Krim Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-2012
Creator: Krim, Seymour (1922-1989)
Extent: 4.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0367
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journalist and essayist. Correspondence, typescripts, notes, reviews, published copies, etc. relating to his literary career and his contributions to beat literature and the new journalism movement.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 10; Video Material in Box 8; Ephemera in Boxes 7 and 8.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Seymour M. Krim Papers were purchased from Mr. Krim.

Preferred Citation: Seymour Krim Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Seymour M. Krim (1922- 1989) was born in New York City. He spent one year attending the University of North Carolina and then had a wartime job with the Office of War Information. He moved to Greenwich Village and began working as a writer. He edited Nugget magazine, was a reporter for the New York Herald Tribune and contributed essays and reviews to many publications, including the Village Voice. Krim was closely associated with the literary Beats. He is regarded as one of the fathers of "new journalism" or c"reative non-fiction". He taught at a number of institutions including the Iowa Writers' Workshop and Columbia University. In 1986, while teaching in Haifa, he suffered a major heart attack. On August 30, 1989, after becoming almost completely disabled, he ended his own life.

The Seymour Krim papers are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence. Included are drafts of his articles, essays, and reviews. There are also typescripts and reviews from his published collections, among which are: The Beats; Views of a Nearsighted Cannoneer; You and Me; Shake It for the World; Smartass; and others. His unfinished book, Chaos, is also represented. The collection contains over three boxes of correspondence arranged chronologically, including letters from Jim Burns, Malcolm Crowley, Charlotte Curtis, Fielding Dawson, James Dickey, Robert Duncan, Elinore Eisinger, Charlotte Gafford, Ralph Gleason, Irving Grossber, Pete Hamill, Daryl Hendersen, Milton Hindus, Richard Hugo, J.R. Humphreys, Alan Kapelner, William Kennedy, Milton Klonsky, Arthur Krim, Norman Mailer, W.H. Manville, David Markson, Harvey Matusow, John Nichols, Gerald Nicosia, Anthony Powell, Dan Propper, Dotson Rader, Dachine Rainier, Morris Renek, Alan Ross, Francis Schwartz, Michael Seide, Mark Schechner, C.P. Snow, Irving Stettner, Gay Talese, H.L. Van Brunt, Dan Wakefield, Richard Walton, Tom Wolfe, and Richard Yates. An index to the correspondence is available in the repository.

Series 13 contains an index to the correspondence in Series 1. The capital letters refer to the box numbers, small letters refer to the folder number, and arabic numbers in parentheses refer to the number of letters by a particular author in a particular folder.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: BOOKS BY KRIM
Series 3: ARTICLES AND STORIES BY KRIM
Series 4: REVIEWS BY KRIM
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS KRIM MATERIAL
Series 6: 1986 ADDENDUM
Series 7: 1989 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 1993 ADDENDUM
Series 9: 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 10: 2009 ADDENDUM
Series 11: 2010 ADDENDUM
Series 12: 2012 ADDENDUM
Series 13: INDEX TO THE CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1953-1959
  • Address books - 1960
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Correspondence - 1962
  • Correspondence - 1963
  • Correspondence - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1965
  • Correspondence - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1967
  • Correspondence - 1968
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Correspondence: January-April - 1971
  • Correspondence: May-September - 1971
  • Correspondence: October-December - 1971
  • Correspondence: January-June - 1972
  • Correspondence: July-December - 1972
  • Correspondence: January-May - 1973
  • Correspondence: June-December - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1974
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence: January-June - 1975
  • Correspondence: July-December - 1975
  • Correspondence: January-May - 1976
  • Correspondence: June-December - 1976
  • Correspondence - 1977-1978
  • Correspondence - 1979
  • Correspondence: January-June - 1980
  • Correspondence: July-December - 1980
  • Correspondence: January-March - 1981-1982
  • Correspondence: April-December - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Lists of Krim's correspondents and descriptions of drafts by Krim
  • Series 2: BOOKS BY KRIM
  • Sub-Series: The Beats
  • Box 3:
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Views of a Nearsighted Cannoneer
  • Box 3:
  • "Making It"
    two typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • "Anti-Jazz: Unless the Implications Are Faced"
    two typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • "Ask for a White Cadillac"
    two typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • "The Insanity Bit"
    two typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • Promotional material
  • Box 4:
  • Reviews
  • Miscellaneous related material
  • Sub-Series: You and Me
  • Box 4:
  • "A Moment of Your Timeā€¦"
    two early typescripts of the introduction with corrections and revisions
  • "Kerouac Dies for Me in Spain, with Wreath by Aronowitz"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Son of Laughing Boy"
    three typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • "Straight Talk to Kenneth H. Brown"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "What the Fabulous Dickie Boy has Really Wrought Late at Night"
    typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • "Two Hermit Gamblers: One who Scored (Puzo), One Who is Still Playing and Sort of Losing (Krim)"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Notes Towards My Death"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "What is that Smell of Formaldehyde Coming From Yaddo and MacDowell?"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Kiss the Blood Off My Commercial Realism"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "The One and Only Million-Dollar Jewboy Caper"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "For My Brothers and Sisters in the Failure Business"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Shake It For the World, Smartass
  • Box 4:
  • Early typescripts, incomplete with corrections. Includes letter to the editors, William Targ and Joyce [?]
  • Two incomplete typescripts
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Xerox typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Box 5:
  • Xerox typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Printer's copy with corrections and revisions
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Chaos
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript of 61 pp. of work-in-progress
  • Material concerning early readings of Chaos
  • Guggenheim Fellowship material, including a copy of a statement by Norman Mailer about Krim's work
  • Sub-Series: Shroud for a Journey
  • Box 5:
  • Incomplete typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Series 3: ARTICLES AND STORIES BY KRIM
  • Box 5:
  • "After the Orange Sherbet," Family Weekly. April 13 - 1958
  • "All that Cellar -- Deep Jazz," Commentary. October - 1961
  • "Author Michael Seide Snubs Time as He Readies 28-Year Novel for Pub," New York Smith. Summer - 1974
  • "A Backward Glance Oe'r Beatnik Roads," The Little Magazine in America. Fall - 1978
    Typescript of article
  • "The Begin Image," New York Times. July 15 - 1977
    Typescript of article with corrections and revisions
  • "Big Drug Stud Krim from Malaga," New York Element. February-March - 1970
  • "Black English"
    typescript draft of an unfinished article with corrections and revisions
  • "Brother Dave at 38," New York Element. June 26 - 1968
  • "Can Literature be Oral?," New York Times. July-August - 1972
  • "City of Children: Christmas on the Avenue Juarez," The Record. December 26 - 1980
  • "Diary," Evergreen Review. January - 1970
    Typescript with revisions
  • "Diversity! Ain't it Grand?" The Record. March 10 - 1980
  • "Dreiser and His Critics," The Commonweal. June 1 - 1956
  • "Enchantment and Disenchantment in Dublin"
  • "An Enemy of the Novel," The Iowa Review. Winter - 1972
  • "Ernest Hemingway: Valor and Defeat," The Commonweal. September 19 - 1952
  • "Exit Mr. Cool," New York Times. November 18 - 1974
  • "The Eyes Have It"
    typescript draft with corrections
  • "Facing Up to Mr. Fulford," Exchange. February-March - 1962
  • "Final Tribute, the Eternal American Soldier," New Times. June 10 - 1977
  • "Fonda, My Buddy," Evergreen Review. February - 1971
  • "Frank Harris: The First Hipster," The Best. Fall - 1964
    entire issue
  • "Getting Wired," Soho Weekly News. September 10 - 1980
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "The Glory that was Rome"
    typescript draft of story
  • "The Great Village Typewriter Man," Soho Weekly News. January 31 - 1980
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Greenwich Village by Night"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "The Hand of God"
    typescript with corrections
  • Box 6:
  • "Harlem ist ein Anachronismus," Merian. September 9 - 1970
  • "Harlem ist ein Anachronismus," Der Weite Raum. August - 1972
  • "Have you Heard About the Death of the World?" Vogue. October 1 - 1971
  • "He Writes Like a Girl," Changes. September - 1974
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Hipster Digs Dylan Thomas in Semi-Hip Downtown Bar," Village Voice. November 7 - 1956
  • "Homecoming Week End," Family Weekly. November 10 - 1957
  • "How Try to Finish Book Crazy N. Y. Eight Years Too Fucking Impossible But: 10 Tracks from a Record," Evergreen Review. March - 1970
  • "I Carry the Istanbul Fire-Easter with me to the Iowa Plains"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "I Saw a Great Man Once"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "In the New Fatherland"
    two typescripts with revisions
  • "James T. Farrell Remembered," Soho Weekly News. August 30 - 1979
  • "Jesse Frank"
    Typescript with revisions
  • "Judge, I'm a New Man"
    typescript draft
  • "Kicks"
    typescript draft
  • "King of Beasts," The Commonweal. January 2 - 1959
  • "Literary Shootout at 3,500 Miles: New York to Malaga," The Unspeakable Visions of the Individual. April - 1972
    entire issue
  • "Maugham the Artist," The Commonweal. December 10 - 1954
  • "Mauled in the Lyons Den," Soho Weekly News. May 14 - 1980
    two typescripts with revisions
  • "Media," Changes - 1975
  • "My Flag is Up," Gent - 1959
  • "My Sister, Joyce Brothers," Soho Weekly News. April 9 - 1980
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "The Netherworld of Henry Miller," The Commonweal. October 24 - 1952
  • "New York 22"
    Galley proof with corrections
  • "The Old Party Watches America," The Record. June 2 - 1980
  • "On Being an Anglo," Stroker. January - 1978
    Including related correspondence
  • "Originality and Insanity"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Remembering Harold Rosenberg." Commentary. November - 1978
  • "Roman Stairs Have Story on Each Step," The Bergen Record. June 15 - 1980
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Say Bye-Bye to the Nice Intellectual-Sounding Man, Virginia, and Hello to the Rough Tough Free-Lance Writer"
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Say Something." Magpie, vol. 23, no. 1
  • "Shaw: the Man Behind the Mask," The Commonweal. November 6 - 1953
  • "Short Stories by Six," Hudson Review. Winter - 1951
  • "Sid, Get Your Ass Out to the Sacred Mountain and Live Like an Existential Eagle," News Act. August - 1978
    Typescript with revisions and related correspondence
  • "Sitting Shiva for Henry," Village Voice. June 23 - 1980
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Somerset Maugham," The Commonweal. December 3 - 1954
  • "Springtime for Vinnie Is Not What It Is for You and Me," Soho Weekly News. May 23 - 1974
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Ted Solotaraff -- They Call Him the Ox," Soho Weekly News. July 9 - 1980
    Typescript with revisions
  • "There Is No American Jewish Community," The Record. January 31 - 1980
  • "Through a Kid's Fearful Eyes," Provincetown Review. Winter - 1963
    entire issue
  • "Walt Whitman at Home," The Commonweal. January 7 - 1955
  • "What It Means to Be Mex," Village Voice. May 27-June 2 - 1981
  • "What's This Cat's Story?" The Noble Savage. - 1961
    entire issue
  • "Whitman and His Critics," The Hudson Review. Spring - 1956
  • "Wolfe, the Critics, and the People," The Commonweal. September 4 - 1953
  • Series 4: REVIEWS BY KRIM
  • Box 6:
  • About the New Yorker and Me, E. J. Kah. Village Voice. July 22 - 1981
    Typescript with revisions
  • An American Procession, Alfred Kazin. Newsday. May 6 - 1984
  • Billy Graham -- A Parable of American Righteousness, Marshall Frady. Chicago Tribune. June 3 - 1979
  • Blood and Money, Thomas Thompson. Bookletter. December 20 - 1976
  • The Boys of Summer, Roger Kahn. Sun Times. March 5 - 1972
    Typescript draft
  • Breakfast of Champions, Kurt Vonnegut. Newsday. May 20 - 1973
  • Breaking Ranks, Norman Podhoretz. Washington Post. November 4 - 1979
  • Breaktime: Living Without Work in a Nine to Five World, Bernard Lefkowitz. Newsday. July 15 - 1979
  • The Breast, Philip Roth. Chicago Sun-Times. September 17 - 1972
  • By Reason of Insanity, Shane Stevens. Chicago Tribune. March 11 - 1979
  • "Celebrity Booklist," Soho Weekly News. March 19 - 1980
  • Chez Joey: The World of Joe Flaherty, Joe Flaherty. Chicago Sun-Times. May 12 - 1974
  • Cities of the Red Night, William S. Burroughs. Washington Post. March 1 - 1981
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Classics and Commercialism, Edmund Wilson. Hudson Review. Spring - 1951
  • The Common Thread, Michael Seide. New York Smith. Summer - 1974
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • The Dream of the Golden Mountains, Malcolm Cowley. Detroit New. April 6 - 1980
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Dreaming of Babylon, Richard Brautigan. Chicago Tribune. September 25 - 1977
  • 1876, Gore Vidal. Newsday. March 14 - 1976
  • Box 7:
  • Ernest Hemingway: Selected Letters 1917 -- 1961, Carlos Baker. Village Voice. November 19 - 1979
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Eskimos, Chicanos, Indians and Privileged Ones, Robert Coles. Newsday. January 15 - 1978
  • Essays of E. B. White, E. B. White. Newsday. September 18 - 1977
  • The Executioner's Song, Norman Mailer. Newsday. October 7 - 1979
    Typescript with revisions
  • Faggots, Larry Kramer. Chicago Tribune. November 26 - 1978
  • Familiar Poems, Annotated, Isaac Asimov. Bookletter. February 14 - 1977
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Hunter S. Thompson. Chicago Sun-Times. June 25 - 1972
  • The Fight, Norman Mailer
    Galley proof
  • For a New Novel, Alain Robbe-Grillet. News Art. August - 1979
  • Fortunes Child, Lewis H. Lapham. Chicago Tribune. March 16 - 1980
  • Franny and Zooey, J. D. Salinger
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Genius and Lust: A Journey Through the Major Writings of Henry Miller, Norman Mailer. Chicago Sun-Times. November 7 - 1976
  • The Glory and the Dream, William Manchester. Newsday. November 10 - 1974
  • Good as Gold, Joseph Heller. Newsday. March 11 - 1979
    Including related correspondence
  • Great Photographic Essays from Life, Maitland Edey. Newsday. December 10 - 1979
  • Hermann Hesse: Pilgrim of Crisis, Ralph Freedman. Village Voice. February 19 - 1979
    Incomplete typescript with revisions
  • The Holy Barbarians, Lawrence Lipton. Evergreen Review - 1959
  • Homosexuality and American Psychiatry, Ronald Bayer and On the Line, Ian Young. The Nation. May 16 - 1981
  • If Mountains Die: A New Mexico Memoir, John Nichols. Village Voice. July 30 - 1979
  • In Hiding: the Life of Manuel Cortes, Ronald Fraser. Los Angeles Times Calendar. July 30 - 1972
  • In the Belly of the Beast: Letters from Prison, Jack Henry Abbott. Newsday. August 16 - 1981
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Jack's Book -- An Oral Biography of Jack Kerouac, Barry Gifford and Lawrence Lee. Chicago Tribune. August 20 - 1978
  • Jailbird, Kurt Vonnegut. Village Voice. August 20 - 1979
  • James Jones: A Friendship, Willie Morris. The Nation. October 28 - 1978
  • Joey, Donald Goddard. Chicago Sun-Times. June 2 - 1974
  • Journals: Early Fifties Early Sixties, Allen Ginsberg. Village Voice. September 26 - 1977
  • The Letters of Thomas Wolfe, Elizabeth Nowell
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • The Life of John O'Hara, Frank MacShane. Harpers. February - 1981
    Typescript with revisions
  • A Little Original Sin: the Life and Work of Jane Bowles, Millicent Dillon. Washington Post. August 2 - 1981
    Typescript with revisions
  • The Literary Politicians, Mitchell S. Ross. Chicago Tribune. January 8 - 1978
  • Live at the Village Vanguard, Max Gordon. Village Voice. February 28 - 1981
  • Love and Napalm: Export U.S.A., J.G. Ballard. Chicago Sun-Times. December 24 - 1972
  • Maugham, Ted Morgan. Village Voice. March 24 - 1980
  • Memoirs, Pablo Neruda. Newsday. January 23 - 1977
  • Memoirs of a Not Altogether Shy Pornographer, Bernard Wolfe. Chicago Sun-Times. October 29 - 1972
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Modern Science Fiction: Its Meaning and Its Future, Reginald Bretnor. Perspectives. Summer - 1954
    entire issue
  • Music for Chameleons, Truman Capote. Village Voice. August 12 - 1980
    Typescript with revisions
  • My Green Age, Edward Weeks. Chicago Sun-Times. February 17 - 1974
  • My Life as a Man, Philip Roth. Newsday. June 2 - 1974
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • The New Emily Post's Etiquette, Elizabeth L. Post. Newsday. April 13 - 1975
  • Of Outlaws, Con Men, Whores, Politicians and Other Artists, Larry L. King and Off Center, Barbara Grizzuti Harrison. Chicago Tribune. June 1 - 1980
  • The Old Man and Lesser Mortals, Larry L. King. Village Voice. April 18 - 1974
  • Requiem for a Dream, Hubert Selby, Jr. Chicago Tribune. October 15 - 1978
  • The Right Stuff, Thomas Wolfe. Chicago Tribune. September 9 - 1979
  • Rowing Toward Eden, Ted Morgan. Chicago Tribune. February 15 - 1981
  • "Saloon Society," record by Bill Manville. Village Voice. June 15 - 1961
  • The 60's Report, Toby Thompson and Fire in the Streets, Milton Viorst. Newsday. January 27 - 1980
  • Still Life with Woodpecker, Tom Robbins and The Tokyo -- Montana Express, Richard Brautigan. Newsday. September 1 - 1980
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • The Strength of Fields, James Dickey. Village Voice. February 4 - 1980
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Talking to myself: A Memoir of My Times, Studs Terkel. Newsday. April 17 - 1977
  • Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese. Detroit New. April 27 - 1980
  • To Be Preserved Forever, Lev Kopelev. Newsday. July 31 - 1977
    Typescript with revisions
  • Topology of a Phantom City, Alain Robbe-Grillet
    Typescript with revisions
  • A Transit to Narcissus, Norman Mailer. Chicago Tribune. March 26 - 1978
    Typescript with revisions
  • Under the Sign of Saturn, Susan Sontag. Chicago Tribune. October 19 - 1980
  • Vegas. A Memoir of a Dark Season, John Gregory. Changes. June - 1974
    typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Walt Whitman: A Life, Justin Kaplan. Village Voice. October 22-28 - 1980
    Typescript draft
  • Whistle, James Jones. Village Voice. March 6 - 1978
  • With William Burroughs: A Report from the Bunker, Victor Bockris and With Brendan Behan: A Personal Memoir, Peter Arthurs. Chicago Tribune. August 9 - 1981
    Typescript with revisions
  • The World of Lawrence, Henry Miller. Detroit News. June 15 - 1980
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS KRIM MATERIAL
  • Box 7:
  • Advertisements placed by Krim
  • Articles about or mentioning Krim
  • Introduction by Krim in This Way to the Apocalypse by Sidney Bernard
  • Letters to the editor by Krim
  • Parody of Jimmy Cannon -- Nobody Asked Me, But Who Cares?
    Three typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • Play program. "The Green Room," Kenneth H. Brown
  • Playlet. Too Much!
    Typescript with revisions
  • Series 6: 1986 ADDENDUM
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
    Letters from Garald Nicosia, Richard Yates, Raymond Abbott, Elizabeth Hardwick, Chuck Wachtel, Ted Morgan, Chandler Brossard, Kenneth H. Brown, Phyllis Raphael, Catherine Carver, V.J. Eaton, Peter Rand, George Stade, John Nichols, James Dickey, Joyce Elbert, Michael Seide, John Leggett, Milton Hindus, John Tytell, Richard Kostelanetz, Peter Manso, Gay Talese, John Blades, Phil Mushnick, Robert Cowley, Michael Burke, Millicent Dillon, James Wolcott, Alfred Kazin, Fred W. McDarrah, Paul Pines, Calder Willingham, Morris Renek, Patricia Bosworth, Robert Cowley, and Charles Simmons.
  • Series 7: 1989 ADDENDUM
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1962, 1980, 1986-1988
    Letters from Gregory Corso, Lionel H. Mitchell, Alan Ross, Robert Friend, Allen Ginsberg, V.J. Eaton, Joel Conarroe, Waiter Abish, Gerald Nicosia, Barbara Stacy, Leslie Garrett, James Wolcott, Dan Cordtz, Larry Rivers, Michael C.D. MacDonald, John Nichols, Eric Bentley, Myna Sklarew, John Simon, Avery Corman, Kurt Vonnegut, Michael Grieg, Catharine Carver, James Dickey, Anne Kostick, Gerald Nicosia, Jim Wolcott, John Nichols, and Aram Saroyan.
  • Series 8: 1993 ADDENDUM
  • Box 8:
  • "Seymour Krim: Making Every Word Count" by Gerald Nicosia. Washington Post. Sunday, October 29 - 1989
  • Seymour Krim Memorial Service, January 14 - 1990
    Videotapes and program
  • Series 9: 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 8:
  • From [Adam?], July 20 - 1988
  • From [Fielding Dawson], September 26 - 1984
    Consists only of a photocopy of a review of Dawson's Tiger Lilies: An American Childhood. Accompanied by an envelope with Dawson's return address. Date from postmark.
  • From [Gil?] March 4 - 1987
    Postmarked March 16
  • SK to Gregg, December 13 - 1977
  • From [John Hutchens], October 19 - 1966
  • From [John?], April 30 - 1987
  • SK to Adam Schoenbrun, August 1
    Returned to SK. No year.
  • Correspondence between Margaret Harrell, Mark Shechner, and Frederick Morgan about the introduction Shechner wrote for A Discourse on Hip.
    Photocopies
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 8:
  • List of books donated to the libraries by Donald Krim from his father's library
  • Materials on the friendship between Seymour Krim and Milton Klonsky
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Essays
  • Box 8:
  • [from Chaos]. Stroker, 16
    pages 40-43
  • [from Book of Fame]. Stroker, 18
    pages 27-34
  • [from Book of Fame]. Stroker, 25
    pages 23-26
  • [from Book of Fame]. Stroker, 26-27
    pages 54-59
  • "Krim on Miller on Lawrence." Stroker, 17
    pages 23-25
  • "On Being an Anglo," Stroker, 7
    pages 8-11
  • "This Hot Sauce Sermonette." Swank, Vol. 26: No.1: January - 1976
    pages 32-36, 80-81, 106
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Poems
  • Box 8:
  • "It Hurts." Stroker, 1
    page 1
  • "Start of a Big Book." Stroker, 22
    page 22
  • Series 10: 2009 ADDENDUM
  • Box 9:
  • Biographical material, including an audiocassette of an NPR program "Fresh Air," and The American Audio Prose Library interview with Seymour Krim
  • Correspondence
    Note: This addendum was donated by Krim's brother Norman and Norman's children, Arthur and Don. Therefore, most of the correspondence is directed to Norman. Most of the correspondence is from Seymour, but not all of it is; however, Seymour is the topic of most of the correspondence not from him. This addendum consists mostly of appearances in the press of items by or about Seymour Krim
  • Correspondence regarding the collection at the University of Iowa
  • Box 10:
  • Death of Seymour Krim
  • Guggenheim Fellowship
  • Miscellaneous
  • Photographs
  • Writings: Book reviews
  • Writings: Essays
  • Writings: Letters to the Editor
  • Writings: Poetry. Includes an audiocassette of Krim reading from his prose poem "Siege"
  • Writings: Quotes from Krim
  • Writings: Short stories
  • Writings: Publicity
  • Writings: Reviews of Krim's work
  • Writings: Items about or mentioning Krim
  • Series 11: 2010 ADDENDUM
  • Box 10:
  • Essay on Krim by Raymond Abbott. Letters to Abbott from Krim.
    Gift of Raymond Abbott
  • Series 12: 2012 ADDENDUM
  • Box 10:
  • Harrell, Margaret A. Keep This Quiet! A Memoir. My Relationship with Hunter S. Thompson, Milton Klonsky, and Jan Mensaert. Raleigh, North Carolina: Saeculum University Press USA Romania - 2011
    Gift of the author
  • Two letters to Raymond Abbott, one dated October 6, in which he discussed his (Krim's) novel Chaos; and one dated May 4, in which he discusses an unnamed novel by Abbott. - 1978, 1979
    Gift of Raymond Abbott
  • Series 13: INDEX TO THE CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Abbey, Edward III, v
  • Abbot, Ray III, iii
  • Abel, Bob III, i
  • Allen, Don I, iii
  • Alley, Edwin R. II, iii
  • Amidon, Bill III, iii
  • Amram, David I, x
  • Anderson. Elliot II, vi
  • Anderson, Rodney III, v
  • Andreasen, Nancy II, vi
  • Aronowitz, Alfred I, v
  • Atchley, John Adams II, vii
  • Atlas, James III, v
  • Ayden. Erje II, vi; II, vii; II, viii; III, ii
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Baker. Carlos III, ix (2)
  • Baker, Russel III, ix
  • Balaban, John II, ix; III, ix
  • Baldwin, James Ill, x
  • Ballard, J. G. II, vi
  • Barthelme, Donald II, v
  • Bazelon, David III, ix
  • Bell, Daniel I, vii
  • Bellow, Saul I, ii; I, vii
  • Bentley, Eric III, viii
  • Bernard, Sidney I, xi; II, i; III,v
  • Berrigan, Ted III, x
  • Berton, Ralph III, iii; III, x
  • Blaine, Nell III, vi; III, x
  • Blecher, George II, ii; III, ix
  • Bockris, Victor III, xi
  • Bolender, Bill III, viii
  • Bosco, Dominick lI, vi
  • Bosworth, Patricia III, x (3)
  • Bourjaily, Vance I, vii; II, vii; III, iv; III, vi
  • Bowering, George II, ii
  • Boyt, John III, ii
  • Bremser, Ray I, ii; I, iii
  • Breslin, Jimmy lI, i
  • Brinnin, John Malcolm III, ix
  • Britton, Burt II, ix
  • Britton, Coby II, viii (3)
  • Brooks, John Benson I, viii; II, i; III, v: III,
  • Brooks, Marshall III, ix
  • Brooks, Peggy III, ix
  • Brossard, Chandler III, ix (2); III, xi
  • Brown, Cecil III, x
  • Brown, Kenneth II, ix
  • Burger, Knox III, viii
  • Burns, Jim II, iii (2); II, viii (2); III, iv
  • Burroughs, William II, v
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Capote, Truman III, vi; III, vii
  • Carruth, Hayden III, vii (2)
  • Carson, David II, viii
  • Carver, Catherine I, i; I, vii; III, vi
  • Chayefsky, Paddy I, i; I, iv; II, ix; III, vi
  • Clemens, Cyril I, i
  • Clurman, Richard M, III, x
  • Cook, Bruce III, iv; III, v
  • Core, Jesse III, x
  • Corso, Gregory I, iv; I, vi (2); I, x
  • Cowley, Malcom III, ii (4); III, iii; III,v; III, vii; III, x
  • Craven, Tim II, ix
  • Crawford, Stanley III, v; III, vi
  • Cremer, Jan III, iv
  • Crow, Pat III, x (2)
  • Currier, Joan III, x
  • Curtis, Charlotte I, x; II, ix (3); III,vi
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Dabney, Dick II, vi
  • Davis, Hope Cairns III, vi
  • Davis, Robert Gorham III, vii; III, x
  • Dawson, Fielding II, iv (3); II, v (3); ii: III, ii; III; iii
  • Decter, Midge II; i
  • Dickey, James III, vii (2); I, v; III, ix (5); III, x (4)
  • Diehl, Digby II, vi
  • Dillion, Millicent III, ix
  • Duncan Robert I, i (5); I, ii
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Eberhart, Richard I, viii
  • Ebert, Roger III, x
  • Eder, Richard III, vii
  • Eisinger, Elinore I, ii (2); 1, iv (2 & 1 photo); I, v,(2 & 2 photos); I, vi (2) Elbert, Joyce III, vi (2); III, x
  • Elliot, Dean Osborn III, x
  • Elliot, George P, II, viii
  • Elman, Richard I, vi: 111, vi
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Farnham, Marynia I, x
  • Farrell, James T. I, i (2); I, vi
  • Farrington, Grace II, viii
  • Feiffer, Jules I,v
  • Ferlinghetti, Lawrence I, iii
  • Fessenden, Anne II, iii; II, iv
  • Fiedler, Leslie A. I, iii; II, ix
  • Fletcher, Ken II, vi; II, viii
  • Flint, Roland III, iv
  • Freedgood, Morton I, iv; I, vii
  • Freedman, James O. III,x
  • Fremont-Smith, Eliot I,vii; I,x (3)
  • French, Warren I, iv (2)
  • Friedenberg, Dan I, vii
  • Friedman, Stanley I, vii; II, i
  • Friedrich, Otto III, i: III, iii (2)
  • Fuhrman, Jim II, iii
  • Fulford, Robert I, iii
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Gafford, Charlotte II, vii; II, viii; II, ix: III, i (2); III, ii; III, v: III, ix
  • Gallagher, Michael I, xi
  • Gallagher, Thomas III, i (2); III, v
  • Gambini, William II, v
  • Garrett, Leslie I, x; III, ix
  • Gehman, Richard II, i; II, x
  • Gerald, John Hart II, ii: II, ix
  • Gifford, J, Nebraska III, viii
  • Gill, Brendan III vii; III, v
  • Gingrich, Arnold I, vi
  • Gingrich, Jane I, vi
  • Ginsberg, Allen II, i; III, (2)
  • Giovanelli, Felix I, i
  • Gleason, Ralph I, iii; I, vii (2); I,xi; III, i (2)
  • Goff, Eleanor I, viii
  • Gold, Herbert I, vii
  • Goldring, Paul II, vii
  • Goodman, Walter III, x
  • Gordon, Max III, x
  • Greenberg, Clement I, ii
  • Grieg, Michael III, ix (2)
  • Grossberg, Irving (also Elmer and Al) II, vi; II, viii; II,ix (2); III, i
  • Grunwald, Henry II, ii
  • Gulman, Richard III, x
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Halberstam, David III, vi (2)
  • Hallinan, Nancy III, ii (2)
  • Hamill, Pete II, vii; III, v; III, x (5)
  • Hanscom, Leslie III, ii
  • Harriman, Jack I, ix
  • Hart, A,L, II, ii (3)
  • Hart, Howard I, iii
  • Holmes, John Clellen I, iv
  • Holsaert, James I, xi (2); II, i (2)
  • Holtzman, Jerome III, iii
  • Honan, Bill I, ix (2)
  • Hopkins, George II, ii (3)
  • Horowitz, Michael II, vi
  • Houston, Gary III, v
  • Howe, John II, ix
  • Howell, Mark II, ix
  • Howard, Richard II, v
  • Huett, Richard II, i; II, ii
  • Hugo, Richard II, iii (2); II, v (2); II, ix; III, i; III, ii III, iv: III, viii: III,xi
  • Hulme, J.C. I, iii
  • Humphreys, J.R. I, x; III, v (3); III, viii; III, x
  • Hutter, Donald II, ix; III, v
  • Haves, Harold III, i
  • Hemesath, Jim III, ii
  • Hendersen, Daryl III, iii (4); II, iv
  • Hentoff, Nat I, iii: I, viii
  • Hill, Nellie III, iii
  • Hills, Rust I, I; I, xi; III, i
  • Hindus, Milton III, viii (4); III,
  • Hodges, LeRoy, Jr. III, vi
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Isaacs, Stan I, iii
  • Israel, Peter I, xi
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jackson, Jon III, vi
  • Jacobsen, Mini I, v (3)
  • Jennings, Mike III, ii
  • Jeans, Ted I, v; I, vi; II, iv
  • Johnson, Kari III, vii
  • Jones, Don III, iv (2)
  • Jones, Gloria III, v
  • Jones, James I, iii (2); I, Ix; I, x
  • Jones, Thom II, vi
  • Jong, Erica III, viii
  • Joth, Jerry II, ii
  • Jordon, Fred III, x
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Kahn, E.J. III, ix (2)
  • Kahn, Roger I, iii: II, iii: III v
  • Kapelner, Alan I, iv (2); I, ix; I, x; II, ii; II, iv; II, v; II, vi; II, vii: II, viii; III, I; III, ix; III, x
  • Katz, Irwin III, x
  • Kazin, Alfred III, v (2); III, viii, III,x
  • Keepnews, Peter III, i
  • Kempton, Murray II, i
  • Kendall, Harry III, ii
  • Kennedy, William II, iv; III, i (2); III, ii, III, iii
  • Kent, Valerie III, ix
  • Kerouac, Edith III, ix
  • Kerouac, Jack I, iv; I, vii
  • Kidder, Tracy II, ix
  • Kinell, Galway III, x
  • Kirsch, Robert II, ix(2)
  • Klass, Phil (William Tenn) II, i
  • Klonsky, Milton I, iv (9); I, v (2); I, ix (2); I, x; I xi
  • Kluger, Dick III, x (3)
  • Koch, Steve II, ix
  • Koenigswarter, Nica de III, ix
  • Kosove, Tony I, iii
  • Kosztelantez, Richard II, v (4)
  • Kotlowitz, Robert III, vii
  • Krim, Arthur I, i (3); I, xi; II, ix
  • Krim, Seymour, to
  • Atlas, James III, v
  • Blaine, Nell III, vi
  • Capote, Truman III, vi
  • Ettenson, Paul II, vi
  • Fine, Don III, x
  • Halberstam, David III, vi
  • Heller, Joseph III, vi
  • Hills, Rust I, i
  • Hedges, LeRoy, Jr. III, vi
  • Kazin, Alfred III, x
  • Krukowski, Nancy III, vi
  • Nason, Richard III, vi
  • Nichols, John III, vi
  • Renek, Morris I, xi
  • Shechner, Mark III, vi
  • Whelton, Clark III, i
  • Krukowski, Nancy III, vi
  • Kuehl, Linda II, vi
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Landesman, Fran II, i
  • Landesman, Jay I, iv
  • Laughlin, James II, ix; III, ix
  • Lawrence, Seymour III, ix
  • Lazere, Donald I, iii
  • Leary, Timothy I, ix
  • Lees, Gene I. viii; I, ix
  • Leggett, John II, ix (2)
  • Lerner, Max III, ix (3)
  • Leslie, Alfred I, i
  • Lester, Julius II, ix
  • Levertov, Denise I, ii
  • Levine, Naomi I, ii
  • Lindbergh, Kristina R. III, x
  • Lish, Gordon III, x (2)
  • Lombardi, John III III, v
  • Long, Barbara III, ii
  • Longo, Lucas II, i
  • Lurie, Boris II, v; II, ix
  • Lyons, Leonard I, v
  • Sub-Series: M
  • McClure, Michael I, vii
  • McDarrah, Fred W. III, v (2)
  • MacDonald, John D. I, I; I, ii (2)
  • MacDonald, Nancy G, III, iii, III, x
  • McDonough, James II, ix
  • MacGregor, Scottie I, i; I, xi
  • MacShane, Frank III, viii; III, x
  • Mailer, Norman I, i; I, iv; II, vi; III, ii; III, iii; III, x
  • Maloff, Gaul I, vii
  • Manville, W. H. I, xi; III, ii (2); III, iii (2)
  • Markfield Wallace I, vii
  • Markson, David III, is III, v; III, vi (3)
  • Marowitz, Charles I, iv; I, v
  • Marshall, Marjorie II, viii
  • Martin, John III, x
  • Mason, Harry I, ix
  • Matusow, Harvey I, xi (2); II, i (2); II, ii; II, iii; II, vii
  • Merril, Judith II, ii (2); III, viii, III, ix
  • Metcalfe, John III, ix
  • Meyer Kenneth III, ix
  • Michalson, Greg III, x
  • Micheline, Jack I, ii; I, iii; III, vi
  • Miller, Henry III, v
  • Mitchell, Lionel III, vi
  • Mitzel, S. III, ix
  • Moe, Henry Allen I, x
  • Morgan, Frederick I, i
  • Morgan, Ted III, ix
  • Morris, Willie III, vi
  • Myers, Jack II, iii
  • Mason, Richard III, vi
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nebel, Long John I, viii
  • Nesbit, Lynn I, iii; I, iv (2)
  • Newfield, Jack I, x
  • Nichols, John III, vi (2); III, viii (2l; III, ix, III, x (2)
  • Nicosia, Gerald III, ix (2) III, x (5)
  • Norman, Geoffrey III, iii
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Oates, Joyce Carol II, v
  • Oatman, Eric II, ii (2); 111
  • O'Connor, Philip III, iii
  • O'Doherty, Brian II, ii
  • Offit, Sidney III,i
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Painter, Charlotte II, I; III, iv
  • Parker, Frankie Edith Kerouac III, viii; III, x
  • Paulsen, Pat I, x; II, iv
  • Peck, Sy II, vi; II, viii
  • Perkins, Michael II; ii
  • Pesta, Ben II, ix
  • Pines, Paul III, x, (2)
  • Plimpton, George III, ix
  • Plummer, William H. III, ix
  • Podhoretz, Norman I, i
  • Powell, Anthony I, iii; I, ix (3); II, i (3); II, iii; III,x
  • Preston, George I, ii
  • Pritchard, William II, ix
  • Prokosch, Frederic III, x
  • Propper,,Dan I, iii (2); I, ix (3); II, iii (2); II, vi; II, vii; II, ix (2); III, v
  • Puzo, Mario II, vi (2)
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Rader, Dotson II, ii; II, vii (2); II, vii (2); II, ix
  • Radgett, Ron III, x
  • Rainier, Dachine I, i (11); I, xi; III, ix; III, x
  • Rechy, John I, v (2)
  • Reed, Blake I, iii
  • Reeves, Dick I, viii
  • Reisner, Bob I,xi
  • Renek, Morris I, xi (4); II, i (2); II, vi (to Sidney Bernard); II, vi; II, ix; III, i (2); III, iv; III, vii; III, x
  • Rensberger, Lois II, vii
  • Richards, Janet III, viii, III, x (2)
  • Ridley, Clifford A. III, ix
  • Robinson, Leonard Wallace I, i
  • Rodman, Maia I, v
  • Rosenbaum, Jonathan III, viii
  • Rosenberg, Harold I, ii
  • Rosenthal, A. M. I, viii
  • Ross, Alan II, vii; III, v (2); III, x; III, xi
  • Ross, Lillian I, iv
  • Ross, Mitchell S. III, v
  • Rosset, Barney I, ii
  • Roth, Jerry see Joth, Jerry
  • Roth, Philip II, vii
  • Ryan, William II, iv
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Saroyan, William I, x (3)
  • Schubert, Pat II; iii
  • Schwartz, Francis III, i (4); III, ii; III, iii
  • Schwartz, Therese II, I; II, ii
  • Scott, Tony I, ii
  • Seide, Michael I, iv (2); I, v (2);I, x (2); II, v (2); II, vi; II, vii; III, viii(2); III, ix (5); III, x (5)
  • Selby, Hubert
  • Selz, Thalia I, x
  • Shafir, Fran II, vii
  • Shawn, William III, vi
  • Schechner, Mark III, vi (3); III, vii; III, viii (2)
  • Sheaffer, Louis III, x (3)
  • Sherman, Robert B, III, viii
  • Simmons, Charles I, vi
  • Simon, John I, vii
  • Simpson, Eileen III, x (2)
  • Skinner, David II, viii; II, ix
  • Smith, John II, ix
  • Snow, C. F. II, i; III, ii; III, ii; III, vii (2)
  • Snow, Philip III, ix (3); III, x
  • Sohmers, Harriet I, i
  • Solotaroff, Ted II, ix
  • Sorrentino, Gilbert II, v; II, vi (2)
  • Spatz, Ronald II, vi
  • Spectorsky, A. C. I,x
  • Starr, Frances I, ix
  • Steingroot, Ira II, viii
  • Stephens, Michael G. III, v
  • Stettner, Irving II, ix (3); III, ii (2)
  • Stevens, Michael I, i
  • Styron, William I, iii; I,x
  • Sukenick, Ron III, iv; III, x (2)
  • Suwa, Yu I, iii (2)
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Talbot, Dan I, iii
  • Talese, Gay II, vi (2); II, viii; II, ix; III, vii (2)
  • Targ, William I, ix
  • Tebbel, John I, v
  • Tenn, William (Phil Klass) II, i
  • Thompson, Toby III, vii (2)
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Underhill, Connie II, viii
  • Underhill, Harold N. I, vii
  • Ungaro, Sue Graham II, viii (2)
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Van Brunt, H. L. II, ii (2); II, iv; III, ii; III, iii (2); III, v; III, ix; III, x
  • Vaughan, Samuel S. III, x
  • Vidal, Gore I, iii; III, xi
  • Vonnegut, Kurt III, i
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Wakefield, Dan I, viii (2); II, iv; II, vi (3)
  • Walker, Pam III, i; III, ii; III, v
  • Walker, Ron III, ii; III, iii
  • Walrich, Larry II, vi
  • Walton, Richard J. I, iii; II, vii; II, viii; II, ix; III, ix (2)
  • Watts, Richard I, x (2)
  • Weiss, Murray M, I, xi (2)
  • Weldon, Jill II, iii
  • West, Paul II, ix; III, v
  • Whelton, Clark II, iii; III, i
  • Wicker, Randolfe I, vii
  • Wilcox, Fred II, v; II, vi, III, x
  • Wilentz, Ted I, vii: II, ix; 111, x
  • Williams, F, Gregory II, ix
  • Willingham, Calder III, I; III, iv; III, v
  • Wolf, Dan I, ix; III, v
  • Wolfe, Tom I, ix; II, i; II, v; II, vi; II, viii; III, i; III, iv; III, v (2); III, vi
  • Woods, William Crawford II, vi; II, vii
  • Sub-Series: Y
  • Yardley, Jonathan III, x
  • Yates, Richard I, ix (3); III, iv; III v (2)
  • Yehuda II,iii
  • [Y/Z?]:impel, Lloyd I, v
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Zollo, Richard II,vii; III, ix
  • Zwerin, Michael II, iii; II, vi
  • Zwerling, Harriet III,v; III, xi