Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ottumwa Railway & Light Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1922
Creator:
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0366
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Street railroad, electric light and steam power business in Ottumwa, Iowa. Maps, legal documents, correspondence, and subject files.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased the University of Iowa Libraries in 1978.

Preferred Citation: Ottumwa Railway & Light Company Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: RECORDS

  • Series 1: RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Basis for conditioning tangent track and special work; appraisal of railway property - 1922
  • Correspondence, including letters from C. E. Fahrney - 1922
  • Going value as determined by the cost of reproducing the business - 1922
  • Lambert, August 31-September 1 - 1922
  • Legal documents - 1918-1922
  • Maps of Ottumwa showing railway lines
  • Power plant, June 30-August 16 - 1922
  • Pricing basis, June 30 - 1922
  • Replacement costs, June 30 - 1922
  • Track types
  • Various dated documents - 1915-1922
  • Various undated documents

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Ottumwa Railway & Light Company

Topics:
Electric utilities
Railroads

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Ottumwa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Documents
Maps
Records
Sources
Correspondence