Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Heath Row Amateur Press Association Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-2010
Creator: Row, Heath
Extent: .00 .
Collection Number: MSC0364
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Zine writer and editor, and member of multiple amateur press associations. Includes apa publications, apa official organs, and assorted loose ajay publications.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was initially donated by Heath Row in February 2010. Materials continue to be donated by Row periodically.

Preferred Citation: Heath Row Amateur Press Association Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Heath Row is a zine author, editor and reviewer living in Los Angeles, CA. He has participated in the world of zines and other DIY media since 1988. Over the years, he has published or contributed to zines such as No Drama, Blow, Fifth Man, Karma Lapel (and KL-chan), Media Diet, Hedge Trimmings, Stafficidal Tendencies, Raasochomix, Brooklyn!, and Flower. He also reviews zines for Zine World, as well as poetry for Small Press Review.

Row is also heavily involved in the amateur journalism community, and is a member of a number of different apas. These include Alarums and Excursions, the American Amateur Press Association (AAPA), The Conncection, ERBAPA, the Fantasy Amateur Press Association (FAPA), the National Amateur Press Association (NAPA), the Neffer Amateur Press Alliance (N'APA),and Slanapa. He is the current editor of .zap!!, the apa devoted to zines and DIY media.

The term apa refers to an Amateur Press Association. An amateur press association is a group of like-minded people, distributed across a wide geographical area, who join together to discuss common interests using the forum of a collated series (bundles) of individually printed publications. Apas originally came into existence in the late 19th century through the efforts of amateur journalists. However, starting in the early 20th century, apas came to be primarily associated with science fiction, fantasy, and other genre fans.

Publications in apas vary widely, and may include zines, flyers, handbills, advertisements, signs, broadsides, and virtually any other sort of printed publication one could imagine. Genre apas tend to focus more on zines. Apa members submit copies of their publications to the apa's Official Mailer (sometimes known as a Central Mailer or an Official Editor), a rotating, often elective position. The OM collates a copy of each publication - submitted at regular intervals - and sends the resulting bundles to every apa member.

Most apas require members to submit a minimum amount of material in a specified format to a specified number of mailings. This minimum activity (or minac) is usually specified by the OE and/or the established rules of the apa. Most apas also require each member to maintain a credit balance in a central funds account to cover common reproduction costs and postage.

Apas that require members to submit multiple copies of their contribution usually set a limit to the number of members and run a waiting list if necessary. In many cases people on the waiting list are permitted to contribute to mailings and may receive excess apazines provided by the members. Occasionally apas are formed by waiting list members who are tired of the wait.

Subjects

The apazines in the Heath Row Collection comprise a number of different topics, including general ajay as well as more specific genre topics. The subjects given below are sometimes, though not always, those with which the associated apa explicitly identified itself.

American Amateur Press Association: General interest ajay association. The AAPA's official organ is the American Amateur Journalist.

Alarums and Excursions: Role-playing games

The Connection: Science fiction

ERBAPA: The literary works of Edgar Rice Burroughs

National Amateur Press Association: General interest ajay association

N'APA: Science fiction (National Fantasy Fan Federation/Neffer Amateur Press Alliance)

Slanapa: Science fiction (Slanderous Amateur Press Association)

Stipple Apa: Science fiction

United Amateur Press Association of America : General interest ajay association. UAPA's official organ is the United Amateur.

.zap!!: Originally devoted to the alt.

This collection consists of a number of different materials relating to Heath Row's interests in amateur journalism ("ajay") and his membership in a number of amateur press associations ("apas").
 
Series I consists of amateur press association (apa) publication collations, or 'bundles' sent to apa members at regular intervals. In most apas, members submit copies of their publications to an Official Mailer (or Editor, who then collates the materials into 'bundles' and sends them to the membership so that each member has a copy of whatever publication the other members choose to print and distribute. The Row Collection organizes its bundles alphabetically by the name of the apa, and thereunder chronologically by the date sent. Oversize materials from each bundle have been unfolded and placed behind the smaller materials in the bundle - in folders that have bundles with oversize materials, these large and unfolded materials serve as the boundary between individual bundles.
 
The Row Collection contains bundles for several ajay apas - the American Amateur Press Association (AAPA) and the National Amateur Press Association (NAPA). There are also collated publications for a number of different genre apas.
 
Series II consists almost entirely of the official organizational publications issued by AAPA and UAPA (the United Amateur Press Association of America, another general interest ajay association).
 
Series III contains various ajay publications unattached to any particular bundle or collation. These items are arranged alphabetically by the title of the publication.
 
Series IV consists of correspondence sent to Row from ajay friends and colleagues, as well as any miscellaneous items that may not fit logically into one of the preceding series.
GERINGER, LAUREN, 1908-1992. Lauren Geringer Papers, 1919-1992. 1.75 ft.

Iowa City printer and author. The bulk of the collection is comprised of monthly bundles from amateur press associations during 1990 and 1991, including the Amalgamated Printers Association, the National Amateur Press Association, and Peat's press. Items from Geringer's Press, clippings about Geringer, a miscellaneous collection of samples of printing, and several editions of his small journal, People Watcher make up the remainderof the collection. MsC 847. (Finding Aid)

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Genre Apazines, 1943, 1945, 1958-2002.

A collection of science fiction, fantasy, mystery and other genre "apazines" (informal publications similar to newsletters or fanzines, and published by fan groups called Amateur Press Associations, or "apas"). MsC825. (Finding Aid)

MILLER, GUY. Guy Miller Amateur Printing Collection, 1934 - 1989. 0.8 ft.

Collection of amateur print publications, most dating from the early and mid 20th century. MsC 881. (Finding Aid)

RUBEN, ELLIOTT M., 1916-2009. Elliott M. Ruben Amateur Press Association Collection, 1926-2009. 30 ft.

Amateur journalist and member of a number of amateur press associations. Bundles of apa publications, apa official journals, correspondence, official apa documents, and Ruben's childhood efforts at printing. MsC336. (Finding Aid)

TURNEPSEED, WILLAMETTA, 1909-1989. Papers of Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed, 1941-1944. 0.8 ft.

Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944. MsC868. (Finding Aid)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: APAS
Series 2: OFFICIAL ORGANS
Series 3: ASSORTED PUBLICATIONS
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: APAS
  • Sub-Series: American Amateur Press Association (AAPA)
  • Box 1:
  • Bundles: March and April - 2009
  • Bundles: May and June - 2009
  • Bundle: July - 2009
  • Sub-Series: Alarums and Excursions
  • Box 1:
  • #400-403: January-April - 2009
  • #404-407: May-August - 2009
  • Sub-Series: Apa-L
  • Box 1:
  • #2276: December 25 - 2008
  • Sub-Series: Cartoon Loonacy
  • Box 1:
  • #94: Spring; #96: Fall - 2008?
  • Sub-Series: Comicopia
  • Box 1:
  • #76: April; #108: August - 2003, 2008
  • Sub-Series: The Connection
  • Box 1:
  • #306-310: November-June - 2008-2009
    [Erwin S. Strauss, ed.]
  • Sub-Series: Dapper
  • Box 1:
  • #103: January - 2009
  • Sub-Series: ERBAPA
  • Box 1:
  • #99: Autumn - 2008
  • #100: Winter - 2009
  • #101: Spring - 2009
  • Sub-Series: Interlac
  • Box 1:
  • #196: Winter - 2008?
  • Sub-Series: LASFAPA
  • Box 1:
  • #387: December 12 - 2008
  • Sub-Series: Marvel Zombie Society (MVS) APA
  • Box 1:
  • #245: November - 2008
  • Sub-Series: National Amateur Press Association (NAPA)
  • Box 1:
  • Bundles: January and February - 2009
  • Bundles: June, July and August - 2009
  • Bundles: June-August - 2009
    [Incomplete]
  • Bundles: September-November - 2009
  • Bundle: December - 2009
  • Bundles: September-December - 2009
    [Incomplete]
  • Bundles: August-September - 2010
  • Bundles: October-November - 2010
  • Box 2:
  • Bundle: December - 2010
  • Sub-Series: Meffer Amateur Press Alliance (N'APA)
  • Box 2:
  • #197: May - 2009
  • Sub-Series: Passions
  • Box 2:
  • #45: August - 2006
  • Sub-Series: Phoenix
  • Box 2:
  • #46: June; #48: December - 2008
  • Sub-Series: REHupa
  • Box 2:
  • #213: October - 2008
  • Sub-Series: Slanapa
  • Box 2:
  • #462: July - 2008
  • #469-472: February-May - 2009
  • #484: May; #489: October - 2010
  • Sub-Series: Stipple Apa
  • Box 2:
  • #243: January - 2009
  • Sub-Series: WAPA
  • Box 2:
  • #181: November - 2008
  • Sub-Series: .zap!!
  • Box 2:
  • #5-6: Spring-Summer - 2009
    #6 incomplete [Heath Row, ed.]
  • #7: Spring - 2010
    [Masters]
  • Series 2: OFFICIAL ORGANS
  • Sub-Series: American Amateur Journalist (American Amateur Press Association)
  • Box 2:
  • Vol. 1 #1: February; #3-4: August-October - 1937
  • Vol. 3 #1-3: January-May/June; #5-6: September/October-December - 1939
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • Except vol. 6 #4 - 1942
  • Only vol. 7 #4 - 1943
  • Except April - 1944
  • Except February - 1945
  • All issues - 1946-1948
  • All issues - 1949-1952
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • Except November - 1953
  • Except May - 1954
  • All issues - 1955-1956
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1957
  • May-September - 1958
  • May/June, November/December - 1959
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • July/August/September/October-November/December - 1960
  • Except January/February - 1961
  • January/February-March/April, November - 1962
  • All issues - 1963-1966
  • All issues - 1967-1970
  • All issues - 1971-1974
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1975
  • Except January, May - 1976
  • Except July-September - 1977
  • Except May - 1978
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1979
  • January, May, September - 1980
  • Except January - 1981
  • All issues - 1982
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1983-1984
  • Except January, September - 1985
  • Box 3:
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • Except January - 1986
  • All issues - 1987-1988
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1989-1990
  • Except May - 1991
  • All issues - 1992-1994
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1995-1996
  • Except September - 1997
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 1998-1999
  • Except January, May - 2000
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • All issues - 2001-2002
  • Except November - 2003
  • American Amateur Journalist
  • November - 2005
  • All issues - 2006-2007
  • Except November - 2008
  • Sub-Series: The Fossil (The Fossils, Inc.,: Historians of Amateur Journalism)
  • Box 3:
  • #337-339: July-January - 2008-2009
  • Sub-Series: United Amateur Journalist (United Amateur Press Association of America)
  • Box 3:
  • September-October, December, February - 1948, 1949
  • Sub-Series: United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America)
  • Box 3:
  • United Amateur
  • February, May - 1953
  • January/February, September/October-November/December - 1966
  • January/February-March/April, July/August-September - 1967
  • January/February-March/April - 1968
  • September/October - 1971
  • Series 3: ASSORTED PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 3:
  • The Boxwooder
    [Jake Warner, ed.]
  • #439: February - 2006
  • #479-180: June -July - 2009
  • #482-484: September-November - 2009
  • Boys' Chum: The Boys' Magazine of Tomorrow vol. 5 #35-40: May-March - 1934-1935
  • Boys' Chum: The Boys' Magazine of Tomorrow vol. 6 #42-46: July-March/April - 1935-1936
  • Boys' Chum: The Boys' Magazine of Tomorrow vol. 7 #1-9: June-February - 1936-1937
  • The Buck Creek Press #60-61: September-December - 2009
    [Dereck Williamson, ed.]
  • Camel Press Publications - 1988, 1993, 1999-2001
    [James Hedges, pub.]
  • impressions by Hal
  • #1: August - 2002
  • #12: October - 2003
  • #14: December - 2003
  • #20: June - 2004
  • #27: February - 2005
  • #34: September - 2005
  • #41: April - 2006
  • #58: November - 2007
  • #68: September - 2008
  • It Goes On The Shelf #30: November - 2008
    [Ned Brooks, ed.]
  • Ka-Pow! #101: Fall - 1994
    [Ken Davis, ed.]
  • Ka-Pow! and The Paperweight #102: Winter - 1995
    [Ken Davis, ed.]
  • Ka-Pow! and Ken's Paperweight #107: Fall - 1997
    [Ken Davis, ed.]
  • The Ken Chronicles #10: February - 2009
    [Ken Bausert, ed.]
  • Ken's Paperweight #103-104: Spring-Winter - 1995
    [Ken Davis, ed.]
  • The Kitchen Stove #103: December - 2009
    [Guy Miller, ed.]
  • Lake Effect #18: August - 2009
    [Arie C. Koelewyn, ed.]
  • Mambrino's Golden Helmet
    [Harold W. Chesney, Jr., ed.]
  • #21-27: October/November-October/November - 2007-2008
  • #34: December/January - 2009-2010
  • The New Port News #244: February - 2009
    [Ned Brooks, ed.]
  • The Offshoot #38-39: June-September - 2009
    [David L. Warner, ed.]
  • Ohkee-Doekee #46 and 48 - 2009
    [Dave Schwartz, ed.]
  • Opuntia
    [Dale Speirs, ed.]
  • #65.5: August - 2008
  • #67-67.1B: January-February - 2009
  • Pennant Bravo, December - 2009
    [John R. Lackey, auth.]
  • Squawks of Whizdom #49: November - 2009
    [Robert F. Nelson, ed.]
  • 3-5-0-0 #452: April - 2009
    [Jerry and Anita Lapidus, ed.]
  • Vanamonde
    [John Hertz, ed.]
  • #783-787: May 27-June 24 - 2008
  • #839: June 23 - 2009
  • Wingspread Mobile Home Park, assorted issues - 2008-2009
    [Kent Clair Chamberlain, ed.]
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 2009-2010
  • The Fossils By-Laws (Revised) - 2006
  • The 1997-1998 New Moon Directory #9: October - 2009
    [Eric L. Watts, ed.]

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Zines and the Amateur Press