Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Elmer Joseph Miller Concert and Theater Programs Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1872-1975
Creator: Miller, Elmer Joseph
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0363
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of concert and theater programs, 1872-1975.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1978 by Jack Miller, the brother of Elmer J. Miller.

Preferred Citation: Elmer Joseph Miller Collection of Concert and Theater Programs, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The collection is made up entirely of music programs, most dismantled and pasted onto paper that could be held by a three ring binder. The collection includes some articles and reviews about various stars and performances. Two metal index boxes accompany the collection, providing a chronological index to the concert programs and an alphabetical and chronological index for the theater programs. The numbers in parentheses after the folder titles in the container listing refer to the numbering systems of Mr. Miller's indexes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MUSIC PROGRAMS

  • Series 1: MUSIC PROGRAMS
  • Box 1:
  • Music programs (1)
  • Music programs (2)
  • Music programs (3)
  • Music programs (4)
  • Music programs (5)
  • Music programs (6)
  • Box 2:
  • Music programs (7)
  • Music programs (8)
  • Music programs (9)
  • Music programs (10)
  • Music programs (11)
  • Music programs (12)
  • Box 3:
  • Music programs (13)
  • Music programs (14)
  • Music programs (15)
  • Music programs (16)
  • Music programs (17)
  • Music programs (18)
  • Box 4:
  • Music programs (19)
  • Music programs (20)
  • Music programs (21)
  • Music programs (22)
  • Music programs (23)
  • Box 5:
  • Music programs (24)
  • Music programs (25)
  • Music programs (26)
  • Music programs (27)
  • Music programs (not included in index)
  • Theatre programs - 1924
  • Theatre programs (1) - 1924-1925
  • Box 6:
  • Theatre programs (2) - 1925-1926
  • Theatre programs (3) - 1926-1927
  • Theatre programs (4) - 1927-1928
  • Theatre programs (5) - 1928-1929
  • Theatre programs (6) - 1929-1930
  • Box 7:
  • Theatre programs (7) - 1930-1931
  • Theatre programs (8) - 1931-1932
  • Theatre programs (9) - 1932-1933
  • Theatre programs (10) - 1933-1935
  • Theatre programs (11) - 1935-1936
  • Box 8:
  • Theatre programs (12) - 1936-1938
  • Theatre programs (13) - 1938-1939
  • Theatre programs (14) - 1939-1941
  • Theatre programs (15) - 1941-1942
  • Theatre programs (16) - 1943-1944
  • Theatre programs (17) - 1944-1945
  • Theatre programs (18) - 1945-1946
  • Box 9:
  • Theatre programs (19) - 1946-1947
  • Theatre programs (20) - 1947-1948
  • Theatre programs (21) - 1948-1949
  • Theatre programs (22) - 1949-1950
  • Theatre programs (23) - 1950-1951
  • Box 10:
  • Theatre programs (24) - 1951-1952
  • Theatre programs (25) - 1952-1953
  • Theatre programs (26) - 1953-1954
  • Theatre programs (27)
  • Theatre programs (28)
  • Theatre programs (29)
  • Theatre programs (not included in index)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Miller, Elmer Joseph

Topics:
Concert programs
Theater programs
Theater programs

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Programs
Reviews (Document genre)
Souvenir programs