Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles Wood Irish Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1852-1927
Creator: Irish, Charles Wood (1834-1904)
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0362
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil engineer and surveyor. Diaries, surveyor notebooks, letterpress books, correspondence, postcards, terrain profiles, photographs, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 6, 7

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The C.W. Irish Papers include material bought at auction in Davenport, Iowa, in 1977 from the Charles Irish Preston Estate; and also material donated by the Division of the State Historical Society, Iowa State Historical Department. Materials, including the maps and many of the surveyor notebooks in the collection, were received in 2010 from the American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming.

Preferred Citation: Charles Wood Irish Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charles Wood Irish was born in New York City on February 11, 1834, the son of Frederick Macy Irish and Elizabeth Ann Robinson. He was raised and educated in Iowa. In 1855, he married Susannah Abigail Yarbrough. They had two daughters, Elizabeth and Ruth (Mrs. Charles H. Preston).

As an engineer and surveyor, Irish served in a number of capacities. He was a city engineer for Iowa City and the first county surveyor in Tama County. In addition, he was a chapter member of both Iowa Society of Civil Engineers and the Agassiz Society of Iowa City.

Irish was involved with the first attempt to build a railroad across Iowa in the 1850s. Later he worked as a surveyor in the West during the construction of such railroad lines as the Chicago-Northwestern and the Atchison, Topeka and Sante Fe. He was appointed United States Surveyor General for Nevada by President Cleveland in 1886 and in 1893 was called to Washington to head the Bureau of Irrigation and Inquiry. At the time of his death in 1904, he was serving as the Deputy Mining Surveyor of Nevada.

In addition to being both an engineer and surveyor, Irish was a noted botanist, geologist, and astronomer. His observations of the total eclipse of the sun in 1869 at Iowa City and Nevada in 1889 resulted in international recognition.

Charles Wood Irish died September 27, 1904, at Gold Creek, Nevada.

The Papers of Charles Wood Irish are arranged alphabetically by folder title and chronologically within each folder. Materials include correspondence, diaries, letterpress books, surveyor notebooks, and terrain profiles. These papers reflect various aspects of Irish's career, including early railroad surveying done in Iowa and the West during the 1850s to the 1880s; Bureau of Irrigation activity, 1893 -- 1896; western mining data, 1889 -- 1900; and correspondence 1852 -- 1904, including letters from Joaquin Miller and John P. Irish.
The Division of the State Historical Society, Iowa State Historical Department, has a collection of Irish-Preston Family Papers other than Charles Wood Irish. The Society also holds portraits of C.W. Irish and his wife by Isaac A. Wetherby.
Iowa Central Air Lines. Land Tract Ledger. xMs I6481la

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PUBLICATIONS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: DIARIES
Series 4: GENERAL
Series 5: SURVEYOR NOTEBOOKS
Series 6: TERRAIN PROFILES
Series 7: SURVEYS AND MAPS [FLAT]
Series 8: SURVEYS AND MAPS [ROLLED]
Series 9: 2013 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • An Account of the Detonating Meteor of February 12, 1875, by Charles Wood Irish
    3 copies
  • Biographical Information, Charles Wood Irish - 1834-1904
    5 items
  • Books belonging to Charles Wood Irish
    6 items
  • Publications, B-F
  • Burgoyne, Major-General Sir John. Rudimentary Treatise on Blasting and Quarrying Stone. London: John Weale - 1849
  • Burnell, G.R. The Rudiments of Hydraulic Engineering. London: John Weale - 1858
  • Cain, William. Symbolic Algebra or the Algebra of Algebraic Numbers. New York: D. Van Nostrand - 1884
  • Corrections for Chaining on Slopes
  • Cross, C.S. Engineers Field Book. New York: Stephen Hallet - 1855
  • Flynn, P.J. Hydraulic Tables for the Calculation of the Discharge Through Sewers, Pipes and Conduits. New York: D. Van Nostrand - 1883
  • Publications, M-U
  • Morrison, R.S. and Emilio De Soto. Mining Rights in the Western States and Territories. Denver: Chain and Hardy - 1897
  • Proctor, Richard A. Half-Hours with the Telescope. London: Robert Harwicke - 1868
  • Trowbridge, W.P. Turbine Wheels. New York: D. Van Nostrand - 1879
  • United States, Office of U.S. Surveyor General. Instructions to United States Deputy Mineral Surveyors for the District of Idaho - 1888
  • United States, Office of U.S. Surveyor General, Irrigation and Water Storage in the Arid Regions - 1891
  • Box 2:
  • Business Cards, Charles Wood Irish
    11 items
  • Clippings, 33 items - 1904
    Including Charles Wood Irish obituaries and funeral notice
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • 57 items - 1852-1878
    Including from John P. Irish dated January 30 and March 25, 1868
  • Correspondence - 1879
  • 47 items - 1883-1886
    Including from John P. Irish dated August 10 1885
  • 29 items - 1887
    Including photocopies of Joaquin Miller correspondence dated January 10 and February 3
  • 12 items - 1888-1889
  • Box 3:
  • 35 items - 1890
    Including photocopy of Joaquin Miller correspondence dated April 10
  • 36 items - 1891-1892
  • 56 items - 1893
  • 31 items - 1894
  • 34 items - 1895
  • 47 items - 1896
    Including from John P. Irish dated November 12
  • 28 items - 1897-1898
  • 26 items - 1899-1900
  • 46 items - 1901-1902
    Including from John P. Irish dated May 6, 1902; September 19, 1902; October 24, 1902; November 22, 1902; December 14, 1902
  • 53 items - 1903
    Including from John P. Irish dated March 30; May 1; May 4; May 21
  • 66 items - 1904
    Including from John P. Irish dated February 18; March 7; March 27; June 26; October 10
  • 18 items - 1923-1926
    Concerning the estate of Charles Wood Irish
  • 65 items - 1927
    Concerning the estate of Charles Wood Irish
  • 9 items, n.d.
  • Box 4:
  • 46 items - 1901-1902
    Including from John P. Irish dated May 6, 1902; September 19, 1902; October 24, 1902; November 22, 1902; December 14, 1902
  • 53 items - 1903
    Including from John P. Irish dated March 30; May 1; May 4; May 21
  • 66 items - 1904
    Including from John P. Irish dated February 18; March 7; March 27; June 26; October 10
  • Concerning the estate of Charles Wood Irish 18 items - 1923-1926
  • Concerning the estate of Charles Wood Irish 65 items - 1927
  • 9 items, n.d.
  • Letters and index to correspondence, June-March - 1893-1896
  • Series 3: DIARIES
  • Box 5:
  • Diaries. 30 items dated 1854; 1857; 1865; 1868; 1871-1873; 1871-1873 & 1880; 1886-1888; 1890-1891; 1893-1904
  • Series 4: GENERAL
  • Box 6:
  • Division of Irrigation Inquiry
  • News and Reports - 1879-1894
  • Photographs of Western Farms Irrigation Systems - 1880-1896
  • Water Storage. Diagrams of Reservoir Dams in California - 1887
  • Iowa City Sewer Map, December 28 - 1885
    2 items
  • Irrigation - 1893-1894
    5 items
  • Letterpress Book, August 9-August 23 - 1893-1894
    1 item
  • Box 7:
  • Letterpress Book, August 9-January 3 - 1894-1896
    1 item
  • Mining (Nevada), Surveyor General Forms, Reports, and Sketches - 1889-1900
    9 items
  • Official Documents - 1883-1898
    10 items
  • Photographic Notes - 1889-1899
    4 items
  • Photographs
    68 items
  • Postal Cards, Concerning Iowa Survey - 1874-1876
    69 items
  • Preston, Charles Irish (grandson of Charles Wood Irish and Susannah Abigail Yarbrough Irish)
    2 clippings concerning his estate
  • Railroad Notes, Reports on Railroad Needs - 1846-1881
    12 Items
  • Receipts - 1886-1904
    14 items
  • Sales Receipt Pad, Elko-Tuscarora Mercantile Co.
  • Will of Mary E. Mitchell Ede - 1901-1902
    Charles Wood Irish was heir and devisee
  • Series 5: SURVEYOR NOTEBOOKS
  • Box 8:
  • Albuquerque [New Mexico] - 1878
  • Bad River [Dakota Territory] - 1880
    3 books
  • Bad River [Dakota Territory], Peg Book - 1880-1881
  • Bridges
  • Dakota Central Railway: Dry Run Line. Transit Notes - 1880
  • Embankment Tables, n.d.
  • Expenses - 1868-1871
  • Field Notes 1855-1858; 1886-1887; 1889-1895; some n.d.
    11 books
  • Box 9:
  • Forks Cheyenne - 1880
    2 books
  • Fort George [Dakota Territory], Peg Book - 1880
  • Geometric Notes - 1858
  • Grand Junction, Peg Book - 1873
  • Iowa, 1852-1886; 1860-1863; 1864
    3 books
  • Iowa, 1867; 1869
    3 books
  • Iowa, 1870-1871 1873
    3 books
  • Iowa, 1876; 1879-1882; 1886
    3 books
  • Box 10:
  • Iowa, n.d.
    4 books
  • Iowa City, Peg Book - 1875
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway - 1904
    Books 1-3
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway - 1904
    Books 4-6
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway, Peg Books 1 and 3 - 1904
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway, Topography Books 1, 3-4 - 1904
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway, Topography Books 5-7 - 1904
  • Box 11:
  • Iowa City, Rochester and Davenport Electric Railway, Transit Books, 1-2 - 1904
  • James River [Dakota Territory] - 1879
    4 books
  • James River [Dakota Territory] - 1879
    4 books
  • James River [Dakota Territory] - 1880
    2 books
  • James River [Dakota Territory], some n.d. - 1892
    2 books
  • James River [Dakota Territory], n.d.
    2 books
  • Box 12:
  • Level Notes, some n.d. - 1879-1880
    4 books
  • Mining Claims, n.d.
    2 books
  • New Mexico and Southern Pacific Railroad, n.d.
  • Peg Books - 1879-1880
    3 books
  • Peg Books - 1880
    2 books
  • Pierre City [Dakota Territory] - 1880
    Level Notes
  • Princeton and Western Railway - 1883
    2 books
  • Box 13:
  • Railroads (various), 1868, 1871, 1883, some n.d.
    5 books
  • Redwood Falls - 1881
    2 books
  • Reno [Nevada], 1887-1888, 1890-1893
    3 books
  • South of Missouri River - 1880
  • Surveyor Handbook - 1880
  • Surveyor Notebook, Location Unknown, n.d.
    Includes Index to Irish's books and journals
  • Tipton-Iowa City Line/Davenport Junction Line - 1906-1907
    3 books
  • Box 14:
  • Tipton-Iowa City Line/Davenport Junction Line - 1907
    3 books
  • Tipton-Iowa City Line/Davenport Junction Line - 1907
    2 books
  • Transit Books, 1867, 1879, some n.d.
    4 books
  • West of Missouri River - 1880
    3 books
  • West of Missouri River - 1880
    3 books
  • West of Missouri River - 1880
    2 books
  • Surveyor Notebooks not by Charles Irish
  • Rock Island Railroad from Chicago to Council Bluffs, by Fred Lundahl - 1906
  • Box 15:
  • Surveyor Notes - 1888-1895
  • Surveyor Notes: Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad- Missouri River/Iowa River Divide Data, n.d.
  • U.S. Surveyor General [State of Nevada]
  • Applications and Forms - 1880-1889
  • Citizens' Petition to Confirm Irish's Appointment as Surveyor - 1886
  • Surveying Notes and Activities - 1886
  • Series 6: TERRAIN PROFILES
  • Box 15:
  • Iowa: De Witt, Huron, Iowa City (3), Johnson County, Rapid Creek, Tipton
    8 rolled items
  • Box 16:
  • Dakota Territory. Bad River to Forks of Big Cheyenne - 1880
  • Dakota Central Railway. Big Sioux to Tracy, n.d.
  • Dakota Central Railway. James River to Sioux, n.d.
  • Dakota Territory. Head of Willis Creek to Forks of Big Cheyenne - 1880
  • Dakota Territory. Summit Below James River to Medicine Creek - 1880
  • Iowa. Clinton to Station #2460 - 1872
  • Iowa. Clinton to Tipton, n.d.
  • Iowa. Iowa City to Oskaloosa and Sigourney, n.d.
  • Series 7: SURVEYS AND MAPS [FLAT]
  • Sub-Series: Irrigation/Water Resources, Nevada
  • Box 17:
  • Humboldt River Drainage Basin and Canal Survey - 1891
  • Truckee River - 1891
  • Truckee River Dam - 1891
    5 sheets
  • Sub-Series: Mining Claims, Nevada
  • Box 17:
  • Adelphi, General Washington, Gore, Kit Carson and Maria Mines, n.d.
    Plat of survey
  • Alpha Consolidated Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1869
    Plat
  • Antelope, Apex, Bangor, Defiance, Glory, Homestate, Last Chance Sapphire, Western Soldier Mines - 1888
    Plat of surveys Nos. 43 & 59
  • Bacon Mill and Mining Company's Claims on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1869
    Plats of 2 claims
  • Burke and Hamilton Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1868
    Plat
  • Cariocer & Peerless-Cortez Mines, New York Canon, n.d.
    Plat
  • Challenge Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County
    Plat
  • Claim of Daniel Bonelli - 1887
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of Daniel Bonelli, North Division Mormon Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1887
    3 sheets: field notes, plat of claim and plat of survey
  • Claims of Daniel Bonelli, Virgin Queen Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1887
    Plats of 2 claims
  • Claim of Jacob J. Rauer, Leo Lode, Columbus Mining District, Esmeralda County - 1887
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of Jacob J. Rauer, Secretary Lode, Columbus Mining District, Esmeralda County - 1887
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of O.F. Matthiessen & L.B. Ward, Copper Knob Lode, Hot Creek Mining District, Nye County - 1889
    Plat and blueprint of claim
  • Claim of O.F. Matthiessen & L.B. Ward, Ophir Lode, Hot Creek Mining District, Nye County - 1889
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of O.F. Matthiessen & L.B. Ward, Phenix Lode, Hot Creek Mining District, Nye County - 1889
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of P.E. Shannon, Galena Bill Lode, Galena Mining District, Washoe County - 1890
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of South Western Mining Company, Colorado Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1886
    2 sheets: plat of claim and plat of survey
  • Claims of South Western Mining Company, South Division Mormon Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1877
    Plats of 3 claims
  • Claim of South Western Mining Company, South Division Mormon Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1887
    Plat of claim
  • Claim of Starr Grove S.M. Company, Henry Logan Lode, Lewis Mining District, Lander County - 1881
    Plat of claim
  • Comstock Lode, Longitudinal Section - 1874
    2 sheets
  • Confidence Silver Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1869
    Plat
  • Eclipse Mill and Mining Company's Claim upon the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1868
    Plat
  • Empire North Mill and Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1869
    Plat
  • Empire South Mill and Mining Company's Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1869
    Plat
  • Juniata Mine and Milling Company, Juniata Lode, Esmeralda Mining District, Esmeralda County - 1872
    Plat
  • Lot 40, Oceola Mining District, White Pine County - 1889
    Plat of lot and letter from T.C. Bailey
  • Lot 75, Overland Lode, n.d.
    Plat of lot
  • Lot 76, Herschell Lode with two letters to Irish from Tho. J. Read, Napa - 1889
    Plat of lot
  • Newburg Claim, Cortez Mining District, Eureka County, n.d.
    Map of conflict survey
  • Reese River Mining District, Lander County (2 sheets); Table Mountain Mining District, n.d.
  • Trench Mining Claim upon the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1868
    Plat
  • Umatilla Mining Claim, n.d.
  • Union Mining District, n.d.
  • U.S. Survey No. 37a, South Division Mormon Lode, St. Thomas Mining District, Lincoln County - 1887
    2 sheets: field notes and plat
  • U.S. Survey No. 83, Mt. Diablo Meridian, Diablo Lode, Secret Canon Mining District, Eureka County, n.d.
    Plat of survey
  • U.S. Survey No. 291, Killington Lode, Secret Canon Mining District, Eureka County - 1889
    2 sheets: plat and blueprint
  • Winnemucca Mine in Winnemucca Peak, Humboldt County - 1888
  • Winnemucca Mining Company, Tunnels in Winnemucca Peak, Humboldt County - 1888
  • W. Sharon's Mining Claim on the Comstock Lode, Gold Hill Mining District, Storey County - 1870
    Plat
  • Sub-Series: California
  • Box 17:
  • Land Near Squaw Valley, n.d.
    Plat
  • (Sierra) Nevada Mountains, includes 'Three Brothers' Formation in Yosemite, n.d.
    Survey
  • Sub-Series: Dakota territory
  • Box 17:
  • Dakota Mountains, n.d. Note: Extremely fragile, in two Mylar sleeves, top half and bottom half
  • Dakota Survey General Maps along Lake Thompson - 1879
    15 sheets
  • Sub-Series: Nevada
  • Box 17:
  • Reno Electric Light & Power Company Building, Alhambra Mine, Silver City - 1889
    Floor plans
  • Stampede Ranche, Humboldt Land and Cattle Company, Elko County - 1891
    Map
  • Town of Lovelock, n.d.
  • Town of Verdi, Washoe County, n.d.
    Plan, 2 copies
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway
  • Box 17:
  • Dakota Territory. Proposed Change near Lonetree, n.d.
    Survey
  • Dakota Territory. Topographical Map of the Region About the Mouth of the Bad River, Chicago & North-Western Railway Company - 1880
  • Iowa. Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Northern Railway (B.C.R. & N. Rwy) Crossings at Iowa City, West Branch, Tipton and Sunbury - 1905
    Situation plans
  • Nevada. Route Changes shown on a map of the Union Canal Company's Canal Survey along the Humboldt River - 1891
    Drawing
  • Nevada. Route of the Central Pacific Railroad from the Big Bend of the Truckee River to the Humboldt Wells, n.d.
    Map
  • South Carolina. Map Showing Newington Tract, Colleton County; the Public and Plantation Roads Leading to the Town of Summerville; the So.C.A.R.R. and Station and the Configuration of the Country Between the R.R. Station and the Old Settlement (map and accompanying letter from the city engineer) - 1881
  • Series 8: SURVEYS AND MAPS [ROLLED]
  • Sub-Series: Irrigation/Water resources
  • Box 18:
  • California. Canal System and Lands of the Colorado River Irrigation Company, n.d.
  • California. Canal Systems, Glenn and Colusa Counties, n.d.
  • Box 19:
  • California. Colorado River Basin, San Diego County - 1889
    2 sheets
  • California. Gage Canal System, Riverside, n.d.
  • California. A Portion of San Diego County Showing Sources of Water Supply, n.d.
  • Box 20:
  • Dakota Territory and Nebraska. Artesian Wells and Waters, The Dakotas with Parts of Nebraska, Wyoming, Kansas and Colorado - 1890
    2 sheets
  • Dakota Territory and Nebraska. Farmers' and Merchants' Irrigation System, Dawson County, Nebraska, n.d.
  • Box 21:
  • Nevada. Humboldt Canal and Mill Sites - 1867
  • Nevada. Water District No. 1, near Reno, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Mining claims
  • Box 22:
  • Nevada. Alpha and Silver Bell Mines, Echo Canon Mining District, Humboldt County - 1893
  • Box 23:
  • Nevada. Pyramid Lake, n.d.
  • Box 24:
  • Illinois. Beardstown with Illinois River, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Other
  • Box 25:
  • Iowa City, Iowa: Irish Property; St. Mary's Catholic Church Cemetery Plan - 1872; 1869
  • Box 26:
  • Nevada. Theo Winters Ranch and Water Rights, n.d.
  • Box 27:
  • Post Route Maps. California and Nevada - 1893
  • Box 28:
  • Post Route Maps. Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah, New Mexico & Arizona - 1893
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway, Dakota territory
  • Box 29:
  • Bad River [North Fork] to Gap Creek, n.d.
  • DeSmet to James River and Camp Leighton, undated Up Bad River, n.d.
    Location, east end #8D
  • Box 30:
  • Dirt Lodge line, n.d.
  • Short Spur Line Across Ft. George Island, n.d.
  • Station 6709 to Dirt Lodges, n.d.
  • Box 31:
  • Fort Pierre at Mouth of Bad River to Forks of the Cheyenne - 1880
    Profile, no. 6
  • Gap Creek to North Fork of Bad River - 1880
    Profile, no. 7, west end
  • James River to Wessington Hills, n.d.
  • James River to Wessington Hills - 1879
    Profile, no. 5, section no. 1, east end, preliminary
  • Box 32:
  • Gap Creek to the Forks of the Cheyenne - 1880
    Profile, no. 6
  • Box 33:
  • George Island (topographical surveys), Medicine Creek (locations) and West of Missouri River (preliminary, no. 11 A), n.d.
  • Box 34:
  • James River to Mouth of Medicine Creek, n.d.
  • Box 35:
  • Across Missouri River at Ft. George Island, n.d.
    Profile, no. 13
  • Lake Preston (preliminary line), n.d.
  • Medicine Creek to George Island and Ft. Pierre with Sections of the Missouri River - 1879
    Profile, no. 5, east end, section 4
  • Pawnee Creek, n.d.
    Profile, no. 10J
  • Box 36:
  • Lonetree to George Island, n.d.
  • Box 37:
  • Medicine Creek from Lonetree to George Island, Showing the Triangulation to Big Weed Hill across the Missouri River at Ft. George, n.d.
    Scout map
  • Box 38:
  • Medicine Creek to Pierre (location); Pierre (new line, west end), n.d.
  • Box 39:
  • Pawnee Creek to McNeil's Creek, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway, Iowa
  • Box 40:
  • Bridge Drawing, Iowa City to Davenport and Tipton Railroad, n.d.
  • Buck Creek to Middle Creek, n.d.
    Ridge line, south end
  • Buffalo Fork of Buck Creek line, n.d.
  • Cedar Rapids and Chicago Railway #1 - 1886
  • Cedar Rapids and Chicago Railway #2 - 1886
  • Cedar Rapids and Chicago Railway #3 - 1886
  • Box 41:
  • Cedar Rapids to Vinton, B.C.R. & M., n.d.
  • Cedar River Bank, n.d.
    Topographical map
  • Box 42:
  • Coal Mine to Oskaloosa, n.d.
  • Box 43:
  • Davenport to Iowa City and Tipton Electric Railroad - 1907
    Map and survey, 18 sheets
  • Box 44:
  • Davenport to Springdale, n.d.
  • Deloraine, Manitoba, Canada to Sioux City, Iowa, n.d.
    Profile of line showing elevations, depths of wells and water bearing strata
  • Box 45:
  • Ewart Down Divide Between Moon and Buck Creeks, n.d.
  • Ewart to Muchakianoe Coal Mines and Map of Surveys for Chicago & Northwestern Railway, Iowa City to Cedar Rapids via Rapid Creek, n.d. - 1867
  • Middle Creek, Near Ewart, n.d.
    Level lines
  • Box 46:
  • Iowa City to Tipton Interurban Railroad - 1904
  • Box 47:
  • Iowa City via Ralston and Rapid Creek to Solon, n.d.
  • Box 48:
  • C. C. & W. Through Iowa City, n.d.
  • Iowa City and Vicinity, n.d.
    Continuation of profile to Sigourney
  • Iowa River, 8 Miles Above Cones Dame, n.d.
  • Iowa River and Hendrick's Mill to Hoosier Creek, n.d.
  • Box 49:
  • Iowa River and Richland Creek, n.d.
    Random lines
  • Johnson County via Western, n.d.
    North line
  • Lenox to Iowa City, C. C. & W., n.d.
    Location profile
  • Mahaska County. Wilson's Survey, n.d.
    Continuous profile
  • Box 50:
  • Moon Creek, n.d.
  • Moon Creek to Tama City, Tama County - Chicago & Northwestern Railway, n.d.
  • Moon Creek via Malcom to Head of Moose (line); undated Mount Pleasant to Crawfordsville (located line); Okoboji Creek, line, no.2, n.d. - 1880
  • Box 51:
  • East of Oskaloosa (line), n.d.
  • East of Oskaloosa (line, south end), n.d.
  • Spindlers to the North Line, Johnson County (profile of line), n.d.
  • Station 2460 to Iowa City (west end). With Full Report of Sea Levels and Connections to Other Lines, 1867 Summit at Head of Mud Creek, 4
  • Miles South of Tama, n.d.
  • Tama City to Middle Creek - North English via Montezuma to Middle Creek, Moon Creek and South Skunk (north end, no. 2), n.d.
  • Box 52:
  • Tama City to Oskaloosa and Much-a-kianoe Coal Mines for the Chicago and Northwestern Railway - 1881-1882
    Map of surveys, 2 copies
  • Box 53:
  • Tama City to Oskaloosa, Chicago and Northwestern Railway, n.d.
  • Tama City via Malior, Montezuma and Moon Creek to Middle Creek, undated
  • Tama to Oskaloosa (central slough line, north end), Chicago and Northwestern Railway, n.d.
  • Washington County, Iowa to Oskaloosa, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway, Minnesota
  • Box 54:
  • Lake Benton to Big Sioux - 1879
    Location, east end
  • Redwood Falls, June-July - 1881
    Location profile
  • Redwood Falls, n.d.
    South line, east end
  • Redwood Falls, n.d.
    West line, Redwood end
  • Box 55:
  • Tracy to Black Hills (South Dakota), n.d.
    Profile of line, showing elevations, depths of wells, and water-bearing strata
  • Tracy to Lake Benton (Location no. 1); Tracy to Sioux River (profile) - 1879
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway, Nevada
  • Box 56:
  • Township No. 28, North Range No. 32 East, Mount Diablo Meridian, n.d.
  • Township No. 27, North Range No. 31 East, Mount Diablo Meridian, n.d.
  • Young's Tunnel and Ditch, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Railroad/Railway, Wisconsin
  • Box 57:
  • Bark River North to Fond du Lac via Hustisford, n.d.
  • Belvide North to Bark River, n.d.
  • Main Divide to Westfield, various lines - 1883
  • Main Divide to Westfield, west end - 1883
  • Necedah West (tracing of line), n.d.
  • Box 58:
  • Necedah Town Plat, n.d.
    2 sheets
  • Box 59:
  • Westfield (line), n.d.
  • Box 60:
  • Westfield, n.d.
  • Wisconsin, n.d.
  • Wisconsin River between Necedah and Friendship (triangulation) - 1883
  • Wisconsin Valley Junction to Princeton and Fond du Lac, Chicago & North Western Railway, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Surveys and maps in barrels
  • Box 61: Barrel #1
  • Head of Willow Creek to Survey of 1880 to the Forks of the Big Cheyenne
  • Map of Survey from Fort Pierre to Forks of Cheyenne River
  • Rly sents [Railway Sections?] in Dakota - 1880
  • Davenport to Iowa City and Tipton Electric Railorad, map and survey, March - 1907
    18 sheets, blueprints
  • Lines, locations, and preliminary, n.d.
  • Davenport to Iowa City and Tipton Electric Railroad, map and survey, March - 1907
    18 sheets, blueprints
  • Box 62: Barrel #2
  • Dakota RR profiles and McAdam Plans
  • Dakota Territory
  • Head of the Lemonweir River to Owatonna, Minnesota
  • Sheyboygan to Head of the Lemonweir
  • Profile from L. Michigan to Fork Cheyenne
  • Wessington Hills Survey
  • Box 63: Barrel #3
  • Map of Tracy Extension for Tracy to Sioux River, n.d.
  • Box 64: Barrel #4
  • Johnson County [Iowa] From North Line to South Line
  • Surveys and maps stored on top of Map Case 3:
  • Mouth of Big Cheyenne to Fork of the Big Cheyenne, n.d.
    Rolled
  • Iowa City - Bridge Plans - 1876
    Drawings stored flat
  • Exploring map from Iowa City to Sigourney [rolled]
  • Series 9: 2013 ADDENDUM
  • Box 65:
  • Maps apparently owned by Charles Irish
    Gift of Putnam Museum, Davenport, Iowa