Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank Louis Nemec Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1907-1943
Creator: Nemec, Frank Louis
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0359
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Engineer. Correspondence, postcards, and photographs relating to the building of the Panama Canal.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Nemec's granddaughter in 1977.

Preferred Citation: Frank Louis Nemec Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DOCUMENTS
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: DOCUMENTS
  • Box 1:
  • Personal documents and correspondence - 1907-1943
    Including documents and correspondence concerning his employment with the Isthmian Canal Commission, 1909-1911
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Picture post cards (50) and pictures (2) of Panama - 1910
    Most identified and two with written messages
  • Pictures of construction projects of Fegles Construction Company, Ltd., of Minneapolis, Minnesota and Fort William, Ontario - 1916-1928
    Twenty-eight in booklet form and identified; six as picture post cards and unidentified
  • Panorama pictures (2) of the construction of the Panama Canal - 1910

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Nemec, Frank Louis

Corporate Names:
Isthmian Canal Commission (U.S.)

Topics:
Canals

Geographic Names:
Panama -- Panamá

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives
Postcards
Panoramas
Photographic postcards
Sources
Correspondence