Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Newcomers Christian Fellowship Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1941-1965
Creator:
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0358
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

This collection was donated by George W. Forell in August of 1994.

Preferred Citation: Newcomers Christian Fellowship Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Davis, Mary F. Transforming suffering into love: the first ten years of the Newcomers Christian Fellowship. [New York] 1977. Thesis (Master of Divinity) -- Union Theological Seminary. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS x-Collection FOLIO BV935.N4 D3
 
Newcomers Christian Fellowship Bulletin xBR 1N4

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CHECKING ACCOUNT RECORDS
Series 2: RECEIPTS AND EXPENSES RECORDS
Series 3: NEWCOMERS CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP
Series 4: EMERGENCY COMMITTEE FOR GERMAN PROTESTANTISM, INC.
Series 5: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CHECKING ACCOUNT RECORDS
  • Sub-Series: Monthly statements
  • Box 1:
  • Newcomers Christian Fellowship (N.C.F.) c/o Fritz Deutsch, January-December - 1957-1961
  • Newcomers Christian Fellowship c/o Madeleine Forell, January-April - 1959-1965
  • Emergency Committee for German Protestantism, Inc. (E.C.G.P.), January-February - 1959-1965
  • Frederick J. and Madeleine Forell, January-April - 1959-1965
  • Sub-Series: Checkbooks, with record of checks issued
  • Box 1:
  • Newcomers Christian Fellowship, c/o Madeleine Forell, June-November - 1958-1964
    11 volumes
  • Emergency Committee for German Protestantism, Inc., November-April - 1953-1965
    2 volumes
  • Frederick J. and Madeleine Forell, December-December - 1958-1963
    36 volumes
  • Audit notices for N.C.F., c/o M. Forell and for F.J. and M. Forell - 1956-1963
  • Deposit tickets for E.C.G.P. - 1963
  • Series 2: RECEIPTS AND EXPENSES RECORDS
  • Box 2:
  • Newcomers Christian Fellowship - 1953-1961, 1958-1960, 1960-1962
    3 volumes
  • Emergency Committee for German Protestantism, Inc. - 1957-1960, 1959-1965, 1960-1964, 1964-1965
    4 volumes
  • Joint and/or Unidentified: Series 1 - 1956-1959, 1957-1960, 1957-1960, 1959-1961, 1960-1961, 1962-1964
    6 volumes
  • Joint and/or Unidentified: Series 2 - 1957-1959, 1961-1964, 1963-1965
    3 volumes
  • Box 3:
  • Joint and/or Unidentified: Series 3 - 1955-1960, 1957-1959, 1959-1962, 1961-1965, 1963-1965
    5 volumes
  • Joint and/or Unidentified: Series 4: Budgets - 1956-1965
  • Miscellaneous bills and receipts - 1957-1964
    (5 folders)
  • Series 3: NEWCOMERS CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP
  • Box 3:
  • Budgets and financial reports - 1944-1964
  • Fund drive records - 1953-1958
  • Fundraising letters - 1946-1962
  • Insurance policies and correspondence - 1945-1964
  • Minutes - 1942-1964
  • Tax records, state and federal - 1946-1964
    including Social Security (2 folders)
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence
    includes letters from Thomas Mann, Hermann Rauschning, Dorothy Thompson, Bishop George Bell (Bishop of Chichester, U.K.), Alexander Roda Roda, Paul Tillich, Eugene Kozon, and Billy Graham
  • N.C.F. and Havens Relief Fund Society, reports and correspondence - 1947-1964
  • N.C.F. miscellaneous documents and correspondence - 1941-1964
  • Series 4: EMERGENCY COMMITTEE FOR GERMAN PROTESTANTISM, INC.
  • Box 4:
  • Budgets and financial reports - 1951-1961
  • Miscellaneous documents and correspondence - 1947-1959
  • Tax forms - 1947-1953
  • Lectures and radio sermons by F.J. Forell - 1944-1954
  • Miscellaneous documents and correspondence - 1942-1964
    NOTE: The Newcomers Christian Fellowship Bulletin was removed from the records and cataloged and classified for the "x" collection [xBR 1N4] in the Special Collections Department of the University Libraries. A few duplicate copies can be found in Box 4, "Miscellaneous documents and correspondence."
  • Swedish correspondence - 1942-1946
  • Series 5: GENERAL
  • Box 4:
  • File Box
  • Card file of names and addresses
  • Miscellaneous, including obituaries

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Emergency Committee for German Protestantism, Inc.
Newcomers Christian Fellowship

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Financial records
Account books
Sermons
Correspondence