Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Arthur Francis Allen Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-1949
Creator: Allen, Arthur Francis (1867-1949)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0357
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor of the Sioux City Journal. Primarily correspondence, with speeches, clippings, and a scrapbook on Abraham Lincoln.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the School of Journalism in 1977.

Preferred Citation: Arthur Francis Allen Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Arthur Francis Allen (1867-1949) was born in Warren, Illinois. The family moved to Nebraska when Allen was fourteen years old. He attended the University of Nebraska for a year before quitting to learn the printers trade. He apprenticed with the Daily Herald in Fremont, Nebraska, and later with the Tribune. In 1885, Allen found work with the Cedar Rapids Daily Gazette as a typesetter. He was admitted to membership in the Typographical Union in Omaha at the age of nineteen, and from 1887 to 1890 he worked as a journeyman printer in Omaha and the surrounding area.
 
Allen first began working for the Sioux City Journal in 1889. He moved up the ladder through a number of positions including telegraph news editor, city editor, and managing editor. In 1914, Frank Allen became the paper's editor-in-chief. He remained in that position until his death at age eighty-one.
 
Although Allen's principal interest was always the newspaper business, he did serve in the army and was a member of the National Guard. Outside of his profession he was involved in amateur photography, music, travel, the outdoors, and birds. He studied and wrote about birds and was a member of the Sioux City Bird Club.

The papers of Arthur Francis Allen date from 1913 to 1949 and measure one linear foot. Most of the collection is made up of correspondence, including letters from John Carey, Cyrenus Cole, Jay N. Darling, Ross Hammond, G.M Hitchcock, and R.B. Wylie. There are manuscripts of his speeches, a travel diary, and an article by Allen titled, "Birds of Sioux City and Vicinity.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS PAPERS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • With Grace and Walter Marvin - 1917-1941
    5 folders
  • With Alex Smith - 1919-1933
  • Box 2:
  • With Alex Smith - 1934-1949
    3 folders
  • Three folders of general correspondence - 1913-1941
  • John Carey - 1918-1926
  • Cyrenus Cole (Iowa Congressman), November 30 - 1927
  • Jay "Ding" Darling (cartoonist) - 1913, 1919-1921, 1924-1930
  • Ross Hammond (Nebraska editor) - 1915, 1920-1923
  • G. M. Hitchcock (U. S. Senator, Nebraska), November 3 - 1925
  • Herbert Quick (author) - 1916, 1922-1923, 1925
    Photocopies
  • R. B. Wylie (Professor of Botany, University of Iowa) - 1922
    Trip to South Pacific
  • Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS PAPERS
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches and manuscripts - 1915-1939
  • "Birds of Sioux City and Vicinity" by A. F. Allen, read before the Academy of Science and Letters, March 11 - 1919
  • Scrapbook of articles published by A. F. Allen - 1919-1927
    Primarily editorials from Sioux City Journal, includes index
  • Diary of Summer Journey of A. F. Allen - 1928
    Trip to Washington, D. C., Philadelphia, and vicinites, with entries from July 9 to July 26
  • Lincoln scrapbook
    Oversize
  • Clippings scrapbook
    Oversize