Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Keith/Albee Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1952
Creator: Keith-Albee
Extent: 52.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0356
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Vaudeville, theater, and movie business. Clipping books, managers' report books, scrapbooks, business records, cash books, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: The bulk of the collection is made up of 147 oversized scrapbooks (each about 16"Hx12"W and averaging over 250 pages). Photographs in Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: Please see Historical Note above.

Preferred Citation: Keith/Albee Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Historical Note
 
The history of this collection is not entirely recorded. It is said to have been discovered in the basement of The RKO Albee Theatre, Westminster Street, Providence, Rhode Island in the 1970s when this theater was being demolished. Richard Rand, a fire underwriter, found the records, took an interest in and acquired title to them either from the theater owners or the company tearing down the building. He moved them to a nearby warehouse. Some years later, Robert C. Allen, then a graduate student in The University of Iowa Speech and Dramatic Arts Department researching his dissertation on the relationship between vaudeville and film 1896-1915, learned of the records from a friend, sought out Rand while visiting Boston, and examined the records. Allen recalls that Rand planned to offer them piecemeal at auction but agreed to consider an offer from a library. On his return to Iowa City, Allen brought the collection to the attention of Frank Hanlin, then head of collection development in the Libraries. Hanlin, in turn, arranged to acquire the records in 1976. Acquisition records for purchased materials are generally destroyed after ten years, and that seems to have been the case here; we are not presently able to locate documentation for the purchase. Researchers owe Rand a generous round of thanks for preserving the records, however, and Allen and Hanlin a similar round for bringing them into the Libraries. We in turn thank Fred McLennan and Robert Allen for the information in this note.

Benjamin Franklin Keith and Edward Franklin Albee became partners in the late 1880s to promote "polite" vaudeville. They lavishly remodeled several theaters on the east coast and began producing a brand of "high class" vaudeville. Crude remarks and risque costumes were censored from performances, and they even attempted to prohibit rude behavior by audiences. Keith was the financial head of the circuit, while Albee was the general manager and owner of several theaters. In 1906, Keith and Albee established the United Booking Office. Every act that sought employment at any of the member theaters had to work through this central office, which in turn charged a five percent commission per act. Thus Keith and Albee expanded their power base. In the 1920s the Keith/Albee circuit merged with a western chain of vaudeville theaters to form the Keith-Albee-Orpheum Circuit. In 1928, $4,500,000 worth of stock was sold to Joseph P. Kennedy's Radio Corporation of America (RCA) establishing the Radio-Keith-Orpheum (RKO). After this merger, motion pictures became the primary form of entertainment, while vaudeville survived only as an accompaniment to the feature film.

The Keith/Albee collection primarily reports vaudeville programming in Rhode Island between 1894 and 1935, but it includes unique resources for studying vaudeville throughout the east coast and Ohio with a series of Managers' Reports spanning 1902-1923. The Keith/Albee circuit, as represented in these Reports, involves theaters in Providence, Pawtucket, and Woonsocket, Rhode Island; Boston and Webster, Massachusetts; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and Cleveland, Ohio. Theaters in Detroit, Washington, D.C., and New York City also appear with some regularity. The records of Keith/Albee chronicle the expansion of their circuit, changes in its leadership, and the eventual decline of vaudeville. Items dating as late as 1952 are as diverse as usher's manuals to building permits, air raid precautions to price schedules, and cash books to correspondence. The bulk of the collection is made up of 147 oversized scrapbooks (each about 16"Hx12"W and averaging over 250 pages).

Series I: These volumes contain weekly reports on the bills playing at theatres on the Keith/Albee circuit, arranged chronologically, September 1902- April 1923. Volumes 1-24. Information in the following list is arranged: volume #; starting Month/Day/Year; ending M/D/Y; number of pages. The number of report sheets/fragments is roughly twice the number of pages as most reports have two or more sheets. The books contain a total of 6056 pages.

Series II-III: These volumes contain an assortment of publicity materials regarding theater programing: advertising, newspaper articles, programs, etc. Most pieces include the date and newspaper name. Vaudeville, stock company, and motion pictures are represented, arranged chronologically by location and theatre. The number of pages per volume averages 250, although some books contain as many as 300 pages; there are 29,216 pages total. Series II is the longest series, 64 volumes, is for a theater in Providence, Rhode Island, which opened in 1894 as Keith's Opera House; renamed several times, the clipping book series for the RKO Albee Theatre, it last name, ends in 1941. Information under theater name is arranged: volume #; starting Month/Day/Year; ending M/D/Y.

Series IV: These scrapbooks contain clippings similar to the previous books but are not theatre specific.

Series VII: Subject Files, 1935-1952, bulk 1940-1948, mainly correspondence and records of George E. French, Manager of the RKO Allbee Theatre in Providence, RI, in a period when only film programs were offered. Testa, Richard Louis, Jr. Movie Exhibition Practices and Procedures During the Hollywood Studio Era in Providence, RI. (University of Maryland, PhD Dissertation, 1993), 372 pages. Testa made extensive use of the film-related materials in the collection.
For more information regarding the Keith/Albee Collection at The University of Iowa Libraries see M. Allison Kibler "The Keith/Albee Collection: The Vaudeville Industry, 1894-1935", Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992), pp. 7-24, and her 1994 Ph.D. dissertation from Iowa, Female varieties: gender and cultural hierarchy on the Keith vaudeville circuit, 1890-1925 (UI MAIN Library Thesis T1994 .K415), and its published version, Rank ladies: gender and cultural hierarchy in American vaudeville. Chapel Hill; London: University of North Carolina Press, c1999 (UI MAIN Library PN1968.U5 K53 1999).

Theater Programs and Playbills Collection (MsC 213)

Robert Clyde Allen. Vaudeville and film, 1895-1915; a study in media interaction. PhD dissertation, The University of Iowa. (UI MAIN library storage T1977.A428). Also Horrible prettiness: burlesque and American culture. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1991.(UI MAIN Library PN 1948.U6A45 1991).

Rick Altman. Silent Film Sound. New York: Columbia University Press, 2004. (UI MAIN Library PN 1995.75 .A44 2004).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MANAGERS' REPORT BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
Series 2: KEITH'S - ALBEE THEATRE, PROVIDENCE - CLIPPING BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
Series 3: OTHER RHODE ISLAND THEATERS - CLIPPINGS BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS CLIPPING BOOKS 1908-1923 (NOT IN BOXES)
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS RELATED MATERIALS (BOXED)
Series 6: FINANCIAL REOCRDS
Series 7: SUBJECT FILES
Series 8: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: MANAGERS' REPORT BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
  • Box 1:
  • 1 9/2/1902 - 9/3/1903  (340) 
    Restricted from reading room use but images are available digitally
  • 2 9/21/1903 - 3/14/1904  (224)
  • 3 3/14/1904 - 11/21/1904  (240)
  • 4 11/28/1904 - 8/28/1905  (237)
  • 5 9/4/1905 -  4/23/1906  (228)
  • 6 4/30/1906 – 2/4/1907  (253)
  • 7 2/4/1907 - 9/23/1907 (252)
  • 8 9/23/1907 - 3/12/1908  (252)
  • 9 3/9/1908 – 12/14/1908   (254)
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 10 12/28/1908 - 10/18/1909  (253) 
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 11 10/25/1909 – 5/3/1910  (253)
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 12 6/13/1910 – 2/20/1911  (253)
  • 13 2/27/1911 - 12/11/1911  (270)
  • 14 12/11/1911 - 9/9/1912  (270)
  • 15 9/9/1912 - 2/24/1913  (252)
  • 16 3/3/1913 - 11/3/1913  (268)
  • 17 10/27/1913 - 5/11/1914  (253)
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 18 5/11/1914 - 7/1/1915  (269)
  • 19 7/4/1915 - 11/13/1916  (268)
  • 20 11/13/1916 - 1/21/1918  (268)
  • 21 1/21/1918 - 5/19/1919  (252)
  • 22 6/30/1919 - 7/26/1920  (253)
  • 23 9/13/1920 - 12/8/1921  (257)
  • 24 12/5/1921 - 4/9/1923  (137)
  • Series 2: KEITH'S - ALBEE THEATRE, PROVIDENCE - CLIPPING BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
  • Sub-Series: Keith's Opera House
  • Box 1:
  • 25  7/15/1894 - 5/7/1895
  • 26  8/25/1895 - 5/18/1896
  • 27  8/22/1896 - 5/1//1897
  • Sub-Series: Keith's New Theatre
  • Box 1:
  • 28  5/12/1900 - 4/10/1901
  • 29  10/2/1901 - 3/26/1902
  • 30  4/10/1901 - 8/27/1901
  • 31  4/15/1902 - 917/1902
  • 32  9/12/1902 - 4/8/1903
  • 33  1/9/1903 -  9/27/1903
  • 34  8/30/1903 - 4/11/1904
  • 35  1/25/1904 - 9/13/1904
  • 36  8/21/1904 - 2/13/1905
  • 37  1/27/1905 - 9/4/1905
  • 38  6/7/1905 - 1/5/1906
  • 39  2/17/1906 - 11/25/1906
  • 40  11/25/1906 - 11/16/1907
  • 41  3/3/1906 - 8/28/1907
  • 42 11/16/1907 - 4/29/1908
  • 43  2/25/1908 - 2/19/1909 
  • 44  2/20/1909 - 11/15/1909
  • 45  11/16/1909 - 5/27/1910
  • 46   5/28/1910 - 3/17/1911
  • 47   3/17/1911 - 1/28/1912
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 48   1/28/1912 - 12/29/1912
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 49   12/29/1912 - 12/7/1913
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 50   12/8/1913 - 10/24/1914
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 51   10/25/1914 - 8/9/1915
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 52   8/8/1915 - 5/14/1916
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 53   5/15/1916 - 1/15/1917
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 54   9/7/1917 - 3/3/1918
  • 55   4/1/1918 - 12/14/1918
  • Sub-Series: E.F. Albee Theatre
  • Box 1:
  • 77  7/13/1919 - 3/3/1320
  • 78  3/6/1920 - 11/11/1920
  • 79  11/13/1920 - 7/5/1921
  • 80  7/5/1921 - 2/20/1922
  • 81  2/20/1922 - 10/21/1922
  • 82  10/2/1922 - 4/15/1923
  • 83  4/25/1923 - 11/3/1923
  • 84  11/4/1923 - 3/18/1924
  • 85  3/9/1924 - 9/13/1924
  • 86  9/15/1924 - 3/6/1925
  • 87  4/7/1925 - 9/22/1925
  • 88  9/23/1925 - 4/11/1926
  • 89  4/11/1926 - 11/17/1926
  • 90  11/18/1926 - 5/10/1927
  • 91  5/11/1927 - 12/4/1927
  • 92  12/5/1927 - 5/28/1928
  • 93  5/29/1928 - 11/3/1928
  • 94  11/3/1928 - 4/20/1929
  • 95  4/20/1929 - 9/29/1929
  • Sub-Series: RKO Albee Theatre
  • Box 1:
  • 96    9/30/1929 - 2/6/1930
  • 97    2/7/1930 - 6/17/1930
  • 98    6/18/1930 - 12/12/1930
  • 99    12/12/1930 - 7/17/1931
  • 100  7/17/1931 -  3/11/1932
  • 101  3/5/1932 - 12/29/1932
  • 102  12/30/1932 - 1/28/1934
  • 103  1/29/1934 - 3/27/1935
  • 104  9/5/1935 - 3/12/1936
  • 105  10/26/1937 - 10/5/1938
  • 106  12/2/1939 - 6/12/1940
  • 107  8/18/1940 - 10/19/1940
  • 108  10/20/1940 - 5/21/1941
  • 109  7/27/1941 - 2/26/1941
  • Series 3: OTHER RHODE ISLAND THEATERS - CLIPPINGS BOOKS (NOT IN BOXES)
  • Sub-Series: Empire - Providence, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 110  8/27/1911 – 3/24/1914
  • 111  10/22/1915 – 1/3/1918
  • 112  2/6/1918 – 2/8/1920
  • 113  2/9/1920 – 1/28/1923
  • 114  1/28/1923 - 8/18/1924
  • 115  8/20/1924 – 12/4/1925
  • 116  12/5/1925 - 5/27/1927 
  • 117  8/11/1927 - 5/23/1929
  • Sub-Series: Nickel - Providence, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 118  3/15/1906 – 3/27/1910
  • Sub-Series: Nickel and Bijou - Providence, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 119  3/29/1910 – 1/4/1914
  • 120  1/4/1914 - 5/23/1915
  • 121  5/24/1915 – 12/12/1916
  • Sub-Series: Keith's - Pawtucket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 122  10/4/1903 - 2/21/1905
  • 123  2/25/1905 – 12/30/1910
  • Sub-Series: Music Hall & Scenic - Pawtucket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 124  12/21/1910 - 4/15/1917
  • 125  4/15/1917 – 4/27/1921
  • 126  4/30/1921 – 5/31/1924
  • Sub-Series: Keith's (Stock Co.) - Pawtucket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 127  8/18/1906 – 3/8/1909
  • Sub-Series: Bijou (formerly Keith's) - Pawtucket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 128  3/1/1909 - 9/28/1912
  • Sub-Series: Bijou & Star - Pawtucket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 129  9/25/1912 - 8/2/1918
  • 130  8/3/1918 - 6/21/1923
  • Sub-Series: Bijou Theatre - Woonsocket, RI
  • Box 1:
  • 71  8/16/1913 - 10/28/1914
  • 72  9/9/1922 - 3/1/1924
  • 73  3/2/1924 - 9/18/1925
  • 74  9/22/1925 - 12/18/1926
  • 75  12/24/1926 -5/25/1927
  • 76  5/31/1927 - 8/11/1928
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS CLIPPING BOOKS 1908-1923 (NOT IN BOXES)
  • Sub-Series: Local Plays
  • Box 1:
  • 131  0/0/1910 - 0/0/1916
  • 132  3/29/1916 - 9/13/1921 
  • 133 10/2/1921 - 4/24/1923
  • Sub-Series: Publicity records for traveling companies assembled by Charles Lovenberg (long-time manager of Keith's Theatre)
  • Box 1:
  • 134  The Tuscany Troubadours - 1908-1909
  • 135   La Petite Revue - 1908-1910
  • 136   Operatic Festival - 1909-1911
  • 137   College Life - 1910-1911
  • 138   Cast lists and report sheets, 8/31/1903-10/10/1910
  • 139   Director's reports, ephemera, 8/2/1909-10/30/1918
    Fragile: currently unavailable
  • 140   Caricatures of vaudeville performers, ca. 1908-1915
  • 141-145   New acts, pages mainly from Variety and Dramatic Mirrow columns. Undated to approximately 1922.
    5 volumes
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS RELATED MATERIALS (BOXED)
  • Box 1:
  • "Bookings, Keith's Theatre, Providence." Books listing the acts, specialties, coded salary, number of shows and sometimes more information for vaudeville acts booked at Keith's Theatre, Providence, RI, arranged chronologically - 1900-1910
    Eight folders
  • "Cuts" - 1900-1925
    Record of printing blocks of performer portraits and other illustrations apparently ordered and held in stock for repeated use; with notes on use.
  • Box 2:
  • Bijou Theatre, New York - 1891, 1902
    Two programs
  • Boston Museum Program - 1894?
  • Broadway Theatre Clippings - 1901-1902
  • Criterion Theatre Program, London
  • Edward F. Albee Stock Co. Clippings - 1902-1904
  • Imperial Theatre, Providence, RI Clippings - 1904
  • Keith's Theatre, Providence, RI - 1902-1911
    Two programs
  • Playbills and Programs - 1890-1923
  • Providence Opera House Clippings - 1890-1913
  • Series 6: FINANCIAL REOCRDS
  • Box 1:
  • E. F. Albee Theatre, Providence. Treasurer's statement book, Scrapbook 146 - 1919-1920
  • Cash book, 10/25/1919-5/14/1921. List weekly receipts and expenditures with totals.
  • Checkstubs, advance sales account. - 1925-1926
  • Checkstubs, account with Industrial Trust Company. - 1926
  • Cash book, Daily income by time-of-day screening, - 1926-1941
  • RKO Albee. Salaries for staff of Albee and Victory Theatre - 1930
  • Cash book, Records sale of thrift books. - 1932
  • Misc. cash book, Notes Wrigley coupons, gift books sales, war bonds, etc. - 1933-1943
  • Ticket sales by day of week and showing (e.g., one column for all Monday matinees, etc.) - 1935-1937
  • Columbus Theatre, Inc., cash book, 11/7/1926-12/18/1926.  Theater was closed 12/18/1926.
  • Providence Theatre Co., 8/20/1927-1/13/1929.
  • Box 2:
  • Providence Theatre Co., cash book, 1/20/1929-12/13/1929.
  • Salary book, 3/12/1927-12/6/1929.
  • Tenant accounts, 10/1921-9/1926.
  • Providence Victory Corp., cash book, 3/12/1927-12-5-1929.
  • Victory Theatre, cash accounts - 1919
  • Albee/Victory Theatres, employee salaries - 1929-1931
  • Albee/Victory cash book - 1931-1937
  • Box 3:
  • Bijou Theatre, Woonsocket, RI, cash book, 6/5/1920-3/25/1922.
  • Salary sheets for weekly vaudeville bill, 1/10/1921-3/27/1922 (incomplete).
  • Star Theatre, Pawtucket, RI, cash book, 12/9/1911-10/18/1913.
  • Salary sheets for weekly vaudeville bill, 1/5/1920 [1921?], 1/10/1921-10/24/1921 (incomplete).
  • Information returns to government, calendar years 1925 and 1926
    Payment of salaries, wages, rents, royalties for Keith*Albee Interests in Rhode Island; with associated materials for 1926.
  • Weekly receipts, disbursements, profit and loss. E. F. Albee, Victory, Empire, and Woonsocket Theatres, C. Lovenberg - 1923-1926
  • Abda Corp., Pawtucket, RI, ledgers, 3 volumes in phase box. Scrapbooks 148-150. - 1920-1921
  • 148 2/7/1920-10/16/1920
  • 149 10/23/1920-7/2/1921
  • 150 7/9/1921-10/29/1921
  • Series 7: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Accident reports - patrons - 1940-1941
  • Ads - "Redheads and Blondes" - 1936
    Clippngs for an all-girl revue
  • Ads - RKO Albee, Providence, RI 10/1937-5/1938
    Two folders
  • Advertising companies
  • Advertising Accessories, Inc., - 1941-1942
  • Advertising Correspondence - 1941-1943
  • Advertising Schedule - 1948-1949
  • Air raid instructions, precautions, Civil Defense, - 1942-1943
  • Allen, Richard D., school census - 1941
  • Alperson, E. L., RKO Film Book Corp. - 1942
  • American Red Cross - 1940-1942
  • Ancess, Lou - 1941
  • Auction sale bill, Albee Theatre, Providence, RI  - 1960s?
  • Billing - Procedures and Correspondence - 1941-1943
  • Bondy, Al O. - 1942
  • Bookings - 1940-1941
  • Booking Sheets - 1942-1943
  • Boyar, Ben A. - 1941
  • Brink's Armored Truck - 1941-1942
  • Bryant College - 1941-1942
  • Budget - Real Estate Maintenance - 1941-1943
  • Building Permits - 1934, 1949
  • Calvin, A.S., RKO Service Corporation - 1940-1942
  • Cash Book 8/17/1939-1943
    Notes - attendance and ticket sales income
  • Box 2:
  • Chamber of Commerce - 1943
  • Christmas Seals - 1943
  • Claxton, Allen E. - 1941
  • Coal and coal burning boiler - 1942
  • Congratulations - 1941
  • Contests, "Design a Dress for Peggy Ryan" - 1942
  • Cropper, R.C. - 1941-1942
  • Cummins, David - 1941
  • Dolan, James - 1941
  • Domingo, Ben - 1941, 1948
  • Downing, John - 1941-1942
  • A. Dubois and Son, Inc. Uniforms - 1942-1943
  • Employees - 1941-1943
  • England, W.B. - 1941-1943
  • Farnum, Royal B. - Rhode Island School of Design - 1941
  • Fay, Edward - 1942-1943
  • Fellerman, Max - 1941-1943
  • Film Exchange Transfer Co. - 1941-1945
    Two folders
  • Fogarty, John E., member of Congress - 1943
  • Foote, Cone & Belding Advertising Co. - 1943
  • French, George Emerson - 1941-1943
  • Frentz, C.S. - 1941-1942
  • Graham, W.A. - 1941-1943
  • Greek War Effort Drive - 1941
  • Hastings, W.T. - 1941
  • Henry, A.S. - 1941-1943
  • Hinkes, H.W. - 1941-1942
  • Hortsman, Charles F., sound and projection - 1940-1943
  • Horton, H.N. - 1941
  • Hub Film Exchange, Jack Meyers - 1942
  • Invitations - 1941
  • Jewish Community Center - 1941
  • Johnson, Howard F., Welfare Fund - 1943
  • Junior League - 1941
  • Kingsberg, Malcom - 1943
  • Kirwain, A.J. - 1941-1943
  • Knight, J.H. - 1942
  • Knights of Columbus
  • Koerner, C.W. - 1941-1942
  • Box 3:
  • Lakeman, F.H. - 1941-1942
  • Lamont, Jack - 1943
  • Lamp stocks used and on hand - 1940-1943
    Notebook recording use of projector lamps
  • Leasing of the building - 1942
  • Legitimate stage productions - 1941
  • Levy, Charles - 1941
  • Levy, Williams - 1942
  • Liberman Productions, Advertising - 1948
  • Liberman Flag and Valance Co. - 1941
  • "Life with Father" - 1941
  • Livingston, Blanche F. - 1943
  • Lloyds Film Storage Corporation - 1941
  • Lord & Thomas Advertising - 1941
  • Lowenthal, Ruth - 1943
  • McGerigle, C.A. - 1940-1942
  • McMahon, O.R. - 1942
  • Maier, Milton L. - 1941-1943
  • Maintenance and Construction - 1941-1943
  • Managers Monthly Inspection Report - 1940-1941
  • Mandel, Harry, advertising and publicity - 1940-1948
    Three folders
  • March of Time - 1942
  • Master Motion Picture Co. - 1942
  • Meyers, Fred - 1941
  • Box 4:
  • Mirisch, Harold J., bookings - 1942-1943
  • Miscellaneous materials including draft information - 1941-1943
  • Morgan, Donald - 1941-1942
  • Morton, Bill - 1942-1948
  • Motion Picture Herald - 1941
  • Motion Picture Lists - 1943-1944
  • Mowry, Russell L., mortages - 1946-1947
  • Narragansett Electric Co. - 1941-1943
  • Nash, Otto J. - 1941
  • National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis - 1943
  • National Screen Service Corporation - 1941-1943
  • National Theatre Supply Co. - 1941-1942
    Including parts book and price list for Simplex Projectors
  • Newspaper Radio Budget - 1946
  • Northeastern Film Co. - 1941
  • O'Connor, J.J. - 1941
  • Other RKO theatres and their people - 1941-1942
  • Otis Elevator Corporation - 1934-1941
  • Outside use of the theatre - 1941-1942
  • Paramount Film Distributing Corporation - 1942
  • Passes and pass lists - 1940-1942
  • Patrons - comments - 1940-1942
  • Patrons - injuries and complaints - 1941-1942
  • Patrons - lost items - 1941-1942
  • People, miscellaneous - 1941-1943
  • Photographs
    Two of lobby; two of Elke Sommers and Dick Van Dyke
  • Playwrights Co. - 1941
  • Plunkett Chemical Co. - 1941
  • Polish mailing list
  • Polon, Matthew, Booking, RKO Film Booking Corporation - 1941
  • Price Schedule - 1941
  • Program time schedule - 1941-1942
  • Providence Public Library - 1943
  • Providence theatre floor plans, Providence, Rhode Island
  • Purchasing - 1941
  • RCA Photophone inspection sheets - 1941-1943
  • Box 5:
  • RKO Albee Daily Book Report - 1941-1942
    Four folders
  • RKO Albee Theatre, Providence, RI, seating plan - 1940, 1952
    See also oversize materials
  • RKO Keith's Memorial Theatre, Boston, Massachusetts - 1944-1946
    Two folders
  • RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., mainly bookings by C.R. McGergle - 1942-1943
  • RKO Theatre Service Manuals
    Barkers and Walkmen, cashiers, doormen and ticket takers, ushers
  • Religion, churches - 1941-1943
  • Roach, Alex E. - 1943
  • Rhode Island Association for the Blind - 1941
  • Rhode Island State Council of Defense, Fuel Commission - 1941
  • Rhode Island Unemployment Compensation Board - 1941
  • Schwartz, Sol A. - 1942-1943
  • Sears, Roebuck and Co. - 1941
  • Social Security Board - 1939-1941
  • Spiwak, A. - 1941-1942
  • State Board of Examiners of Electricians - 1944
  • State Council of Defense, E. Gardner Jacobs - 1942-1943
  • Stewart, John L. - 1942
  • Supplies - 1940-1943
  • Telephone numbers
    This is a looseleaf book
  • Thompson (J. Walter) Co. - 1942
  • Thompson, Major L.E. - 1941
  • Box 6:
  • Transportatino Advertising Co. - 1942-1943
  • Turner, Terry - 1942
  • Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation - 1942
  • USO
  • United Artists Corporation - 1942
  • United Jewish Appeal Campaign - 1943
  • U.S. Sanitary Specialties Corporation - 1941
  • United War Fund of 1942
  • Universal Film Exchange Inc. - 1941-1943
  • Universal Pictures - 1941
  • Vitagraph, Inc. - 1941
  • Walters, J. Henry - 1943
  • War Activities Committee. Motion Picture Industry. New England Theatres Division - 1942-1943
  • War bonds and stamps - 1942-1943
  • War efforts - 1943
  • War industry coordination, William E. Spragg - 1942-1943
  • War priority regulations and applications - 1942
  • War Production Board - 1943
  • Waxberg, E. - 1941
  • What Cheer Printing Co. - 1942
  • Winner, Howard - 1941
  • Yerasian, J.S. - 1941
  • Series 8: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Sub-Series: Signs
  • Box 1:
  • Price Signs
    Eight plastic signs with adult prices ranging from 44 cents to 85 cents and children's prices ranging from 25 cents to 35 cents.
  • Sub-Series: Oversized Materials
    Located in map case 2:12
  • Box 1:
  • E.F. Albee Theatre Seating Diagram. Mounted on heavy board and worn in way that suggests this was copy used by patrons to locate their seats.
  • Empire Theatre, New Bedford, MA. Lobby poster for Those Wonderful Days of Burlesque, starring live and on stage Hope Diamond, the Gem of the Exotics. 11x17"
    Three copies
  • Drawing of orchestra floor of the theatre. 2 blueprint copies black on white paper. 14x17".
  • Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Star Power 1932 Lobby card with pasted on photos of Ramon Novarro, Marie Dressler, Wallace Beery, Clark Gable, Helen Hayes, Buster Keaton, William Haines, and Norma Shearer.12x16"
  • State Theatre, Webster, MA. Lobby poster,Wednesday, May 27, [1936]: "on the stage Loretta Grey and her 1936 Revue." 14x22".
    Two copies
  • Tuesday, August 18, [1936]: "on the stage Marie Purl presents Say It With Ladies featuring Julian Stanley's Collegians. 14x22"
  • 1936 lobby posters for week beginning Saturday, with week following and some coming attractions, printed black on colored backgrounds (blue, pink, yellow, orange); 18x28". Printed by Walsh Show Print, Southbridge, MA:
  • May 16: Moonlight Murder and The Singing Coyboy. With week following These Three, The Undguarded Hour, Big Brown Eyes, and Till We Meet Again.
  • May 23: The Leathernecks Have Landed and Times Square Playboy. With week following Till We Meet Again, Absolute Quiet, The Law in Her Hands, and Robin Hood of el Dorado
  • September 19: The Cowboy and the Kid and Kelly the Second. With week following The Great ZiegfieldThe Road to Glory and Swing Time
  • September 26: The Arizona Raidersand Girl's Dormitory. With week following Swing Time, One Rainy Afternoon, Mary of Scotland, and Ramona.
  • 1937 lobby posters as above
  • March 20:  Women of Glamour and Trapped. With week following The Last of Mrs. Cheney, The Plough and the Stars with Career Woman, Outcast, and Green Light.
    Two copies
  • March 27: Conflict and Charlie Chan at the Opera. With week following Green Light, The Holy Terror with Once a Doctor, Swing High - Swing Low, and Maytime.
    Five copies
  • April 3: Isle of Fury and Murder Goes to College. With week following Maytime, You Only Live Once, and A Family Affair.
  • April 10: Smart Blonde and Espionage. With week following The King and the Chorus Girl, The Crime Nobody Saw with Time Out for Romance, Love Is News with Mysterious Crossing, and Personal Property.
    Two copies
  • April 9: Overland Express and Bulldog Drummond's Peril. With week following Bluebeard's Eighth Wife, The Stand-In, Romance in the Dark, and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. - 1938
    Three copies
  • [Theater not named]: Boys and Girls Cartoon Show... Bugs Bunny, Popeye, Woody Woodpecker, Terrytoons, Tom & Jerry, Little Rascals, Three Stooges.
    Undated poster printed blue on white paper. 28x41".

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Albee, Edward Franklin, 1857-1930
Keith, B. F. (Benjamin Franklin), 1846-1914
Albee, Edward Franklin, 1857-1930
Keith, B. F. (Benjamin Franklin), 1846-1914

Corporate Names:
B.F. Keith (Firm)
RKO Radio Pictures
United Booking Offices of America (Organization)
B.F. Keith (Firm)
B.F. Keith (Firm)
RKO Radio Pictures
United Booking Offices of America (Organization)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Motion picture industry
Theater
Theater management
Vaudeville
Theater
Theater
Theater management
Vaudeville

Occupations:
Entertainers
Entertainers
Theater managers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Rhode Island
United States -- Massachusetts -- Boston
United States -- Ohio -- Cleveland
United States -- Michigan -- Detroit
United States -- New York -- New York City
United States -- Rhode Island -- Pawtucket
United States -- Rhode Island -- Providence
United States -- District of Columbia -- Washington
United States -- Massachusetts -- Webster
United States -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia
United States -- Rhode Island -- Woonsocket
United States -- Massachusetts -- Boston
United States -- Ohio -- Cleveland
United States -- Michigan -- Detroit
United States -- New York -- New York City
United States -- Rhode Island -- Pawtucket
United States -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia
United States -- Rhode Island -- Providence
United States -- Rhode Island -- Providence
United States -- Rhode Island
United States -- District of Columbia -- Washington
United States -- Massachusetts -- Webster
United States -- Rhode Island -- Woonsocket

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Motion pictures
Playbills
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Film & Television Writing and Directing
Study of Theatre Arts and Popular Culture
Businessmen and Businesses