Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sean Stewart Zines

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1986-2009
Creator: Stewart, Sean
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0353
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of zines dealing with a wide variety of subjects, themes, and creative styles, collected by a Baltimore-based zine writer, editor and reviewer.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated by Sean Stewart, of Baltimore, MD, in December 2009.

Preferred Citation: Sean Stewart Zine Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Sean Stewart is a Baltimore, MD-based librarian and zine writer/editor. In 1996 he began publishing his perzine Thoughtworm (which continues today), and also started collecting and trading zines at that time. In addition to writing and collecting, he is also active as a zine reviewer. He has written reviews for Zine World, Best Zine Ever, and Zine Guide. He served as the monthly review columnist for the NewPages Zine Rack on NewPages.com (which is still accessible) from 2002-2007. Currently he reviews zines and books for Razorcake Magazine.

Zines (originally called fanzines) are amateur, DIY (Do-It-Yourself) publications produced non-commercially, designed to circulate among a small number of people sharing similar cultural or social interests. Generally speaking, zines are produced by a single individual - in a cut-and-paste fashion and photocopied - and distributed informally by hand or at concerts, zine fests, bookstores, music stores and other locations, or sent through the mail at low cost.

Zines are important methods of communication among members of distinct subcultures or social communities traditionally underrepresented by the societal mainstream. In the modern era, zines became popular during the emergence of science fiction fandom starting in the 1930s. SF fans created zines, which evolved out of the letter columns from SF literary magazines such as Astounding Stories, in order to communicate with each other and provide forums in which fans could express their own personal opinions about the genre and its media products. Zines fairly quickly became a distinct feature of SF fandom and remain so to this day.

Zines were taken up by other distinct cultural movements, including beat literature in the 1950s, underground comics in the 1960, punk music

in the 1970s, and the feminist riot grrl movement in the 1990s. As methods of cheap photocopying and, later, the personal computer, became more widely available in the 1980s and 1990s the number and variations of zines exploded. With the advent of the Internet and the introduction of blogging as a tool of personal and creative expression, the number of print zines began declining, although the zine remains popular among particular subcultures as a tool of personal and creative expression and as a way of exchanging thoughts, ideas and opinions.

The zines in the Stewart Collection constitute a wide variety of subjects and concerns, Many are perzines, that is,"personal" zines that describe the author's own experiences, thoughts and feelings. Others consist of comic or other types of art, and still other zines are designed as outlets for political or social expression. Many zines encompass more than one type or style, reflecting the fluidity of the zine as a product of creative endeavor.

Also included are issues of several publications dedicated to the review of other zines, including Zine World and Best Zine Ever.

Zines (originally called fanzines) are amateur, DIY (Do-It-Yourself) publications produced non-commercially, designed to circulate among a small number of people sharing similar cultural or social interests. Generally speaking, zines are produced by a single individual - in a cut-and-paste fashion and photocopied - and distributed informally by hand or at concerts, zine fests, bookstores, music stores and other locations, or sent through the mail at low cost..

Zines are important methods of communication among members of distinct subcultures or social communities traditionally underrepresented by the societal mainstream. In the modern era, zines became popular during the emergence of science fiction fandom starting in the 1930s. SF fans created zines, which evolved out of the letter columns from SF literary magazines such as Astounding Stories, in order to communicate with each other and provide forums in which fans could express their own personal opinions about the genre and its media products. Zines fairly quickly became a distinct feature of SF fandom and remain so to this day.

Zines were taken up by other distinct cultural movements, including beat literature in the 1950s, underground comics in the 1960, punk music in the 1970s, and the feminist riot grrl movement in the 1990s. As methods of cheap photocopying and, later, the personal computer, became more widely available in the 1980s and 1990s the number and variations of zines exploded. With the advent of the Internet and the introduction of blogging as a tool of personal and creative expression, the number of print zines began declining, although the zine remains popular among particular subcultures as a tool of personal and creative expression and as a way of exchanging thoughts, ideas and opinions.
ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection. Bulk dates: 1960 - 1980. 75+ ft.

This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion. MsC779.

BERGUS, NICK AND LAURA. Bergus Zine Collection, 1978-2002. 13.5 ft.

Zines collected by Nick and Laura Bergus documenting avant garde and popular music in the 1980s and 1990s. MsC834.

JOHNSON, BRENT. The Brent Johnson Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop Collection, 1990-2005. 5.5 ft.

Collection of zines and other small press publications assembled by Johnson, an Iowa City native who operated the Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop in Iowa City. MsC 319.

PUBLIC SPACE ONE. Public Space ONE Zine Collection, 1977-2008. 2.2. ft.

Collection of zines donated by Iowa City-based art and performance venue Public Space ONE. Many zines relate to anarchist or radical politics, and many zines are from Iowa City-area authors. MsC370.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Special Collections Floating Zine Collection, 1998-2010. 1.0 ft

Collection of assorted zines not tied to any particular donor or other collection. MsC331.

WOLFE, SARAH AND JEN. Sarah and Jen Wolfe Collection of Riot Grrrl and Underground Music Zines, 1991-1998, 2003. 6 ft.

Collection of amateur publications arising primarily from the feminist riot grrrl movement of the 1990s, together with numerous zines documenting various independent/underground music scenes. MsC 878.

ZINE MACHINE. Zine Machine Collection, 2001-2009. 0.8 ft.

Collection of zines taken from the Zine Machine, a repurposed vending machine in the University of Iowa Main Library that distributes zines to interested parties. Many of the zines are local to Iowa City in origin. MsC885.

For more random-related collections, see http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/resources/fandomresources/.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Abort! #20-21: August-July - 2008-2009
    [Jonathan Spies, auth.]
  • Ain't Nothin' Like Fuckin' Moonshine #14: Summer - 2000
    [Green Hut Corp., publ.]
  • AIR/Waves (The /Wave Project #2), undated
    [DL Frederick, auth.]
  • All the Action - 2004
  • America? #13-15, undated
    [Travis ____, auth.]
  • Anarchy: An Anarchist Primer, undated
  • Ayaje's Wives - 2003
    [Matt Wiegle, auth.]
  • The Beasts of Ball Point - 2005
    [Suzanne Baumann, auth.]
  • Beer Frame: The Journal of Inconspicuous Consumption #2 undated, #7-10 - 1997-2000
    [Paul Lukas, auth.]
  • Best Zine Ever! #4 - 2005
    [Greg Beans, ed.]
  • Big Fucking Deal #1-3: January-March - 2007
    [Marc Parker, auth.]
  • Big Hands #1-2, #7, undated
    [Aaron L. Smith, auth.]
  • Black Carrot #12: The Jewish Issue, undated
  • Bonuscupped #1, undated
  • Boxcutter #9: Summer - 2005
    [Tomas, auth.]
  • brainscan #23 undated; #19: December - 2002
    [Alex Wrekk, auth.]
  • Broken Records: The Memoir of a Record Store Clerk, May - 2005
  • Brooklyn! #35 - 2002
    [Fred Argoff, auth.]
  • Bruce's Zine #2: October - 2007
    [Bruce, auth.]
  • Call & Response #1-2: Spring-Summer - 2004-2006
    [Gianni Simone, auth.]
  • The Carbon Based Mistake #10 - 2003
    [Marc Calvay, auth.]
  • Chiaro/scuro, undated
    [Jacqui Rae, auth.]
  • Child That Mind #3, undated
    [Moira, auth.]
  • Choose the World, Not the Bank! undated
    [Rob Augman, auth.]
  • The CIA Makes Science Fiction Unexciting #3-4 - 2005
    [Abner Smith, auth.]
  • The Coffee Story - 2003
    [Mark McMurray, auth.]
  • Connected ("Boston", "Portland"), undated
    [Roger Whiting, auth.]
  • Consent or Coercion 2nd printing, October - 1996
    [Ed Stamin, ed.]
  • Conveyor #1: Summer - 2006
    [Josef Reyes, ed.]
  • Dagger #33-34:Fall-Spring - 2003-2004
    [Tim Hinely, ed.]
  • Dear Jen: Letters From a Delayed Adolescence - 2008
    [Chris Dodge, auth.]
  • The Detroit Project May - 2007
    [Maria Almaguer, auth.]
  • Die Trying #2 undated
    [Robert Newsome, auth.]
  • Dirt and Sky - 2002
    [Mark Hain, auth.]
  • Driving Blind #3: Summer - 2005
    [Erin H., auth.]
  • Dudes Magazine #13 - 2009
    [Jason Stuhlman, ed.]
  • Dumb Jersey White Boy #2 - 2005
    [Mark McMurray, auth.]
  • The Duplex Planet #79, #81-82, #86, #94, #99, #102 - 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989
    [David B. Greenberger, ed.]
  • The Duplex Planet #108, #112-113, #117-120 - 1990, 1991, 1991-1992
    [David B. Greenberger, ed.]
  • The Duplex Planet #122, #128, #130-131, #136, #143 - 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996
    [David B. Greenberger, ed.]
  • The Duplex Planet #148, #150, #153, #157 - 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
    [David B. Greenberger, ed.]
  • The Duplex Planet #159, #163, #166, #168-169 - 2001, 2002, 2003
    [David B. Greenberger, ed.]
  • Dwan #31 undated, #33, #36, #44 undated - 2002, 2003
    [Donny Smith, auth.]
  • The East Village Inky #11, #13: October - 2001
    [Ayun Halliday, auth.]
  • Eaves of Ass #3 undated
    [Craven Rock, auth.]
  • Emergency #5: The Ocean and the Hills, undated
    [Ammi Emergency, auth.]
  • Etiquette - 2006
    [Lacey Prpic Hedtke, auth.]
  • Extranjero #1-2: Spring-Summer - 2004
    [Kris and Lola, auth.]
  • The F-Word #1: Spring - 2006
    [Melody, ed.]
  • Fag School #2 - 2006
    [Brontez, ed.]
  • The Family Geek #2: July/August - 2004
    [Dan Murphy, auth.]
  • Family Reunion - 2004
    [Sean Stewart and Steve Lieber, auth.]
  • Farm Pulp #24: May/June, #31: May/June, #34: August/September, #37: October/November, #39: August/September - 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
    [Greg Hischak, ed.]
  • Fathers Day - 2002
    [Robert Newsome, auth.]
  • Fifth Grade - 2006
    [Ben Frazier, auth.]
  • Fish With Legs #3-12 - 1999-2008
    [Eric Lyden, auth.]
  • Fish with Legs "Special Edition", undated; "Bootleg Edition" - 2003?
    [Eric Lyden, auth.]
  • For the Clerisy/Good Words for Readers #58-59: November-January, WWP One-Shot: June - 2004-2005, 2006
    [Brent Kresovich, auth.]
  • Fun Facts #2 undated
    [Eric Lyden, auth.]
  • Fuzzy Lunchbox #6: January - 2004
    [Laura Nadel, ed.]
  • Genetic Disorder #18 - 2005?
    [Larry, ed.]
  • Get Off My Lawn! #21 undated, #22 - 2007
    [John Gabriel, auth.]
  • The Ghost, undated
    [Matt Wiegle, auth.]
  • Glossolalia #4, #6: August - 2004, 2005
    [Sarah Contrary, auth.]
  • Go By Bicycle #1 -3 - 2004
    [Scott Larkin, auth.]
  • Go Metric #21 undated
    [Mike Faloon, ed.]
  • Greasy Spoon #16/17: Winter - 2004
    [Dirk Burhan, ed.]
  • Greenzine, undated
    [Christy C. Road, auth.]
  • The Good Samaritan - 2004
    [Shawn Chang, auth.]
  • Hard As Nails: The Tough Girl Compilation Zine - 2000?
    [Lauren Martin, ed.]
  • Hell Is Real, Friendly Reminders: My Personal Conflicts with Evil, undated
    [Marissa, auth.]
  • How2 Zine #1-2 undated
    [Kyle Bravo, ed.]
  • i defy #10-10.5 - 2001
    [Casey, auth.]
  • I Hate This Part of Texas #5: January - 2006
    [John Gerken, auth.]
  • I Hear The Windmills Calling, undated
    [Bruce, auth.]
  • Is This Love? #2 undated
    [Tommy Duncan, auth.]
  • It's Fuchi, No? - 2008
  • The Juniper #3: January/February - 2005
    [Dan Murphy, auth.]
  • Kairan #8 - 2004
    [Gianni Simone, auth.]
  • Keep Fighting Texas #7 - 2006?
    [John Gerken and Hope, auth.]
  • Kimosabe #1-2 - 2004
    [Marc Parker, auth.]
  • The Lamb Shall Peacefully Dwell With The Lion, undated
    [Sabby Darling, auth.]
  • Lazybones (formerly Kimosabe) #3 - 2004
    [Marc Parker, auth.]
  • Box 2:
  • Leeking Ink #20-24: June-July, #26: October, #28-30: January-January - 1999-2001, 2002, 2004-2006
    [Davida Gypsy Breier, auth.]
  • Lower East Side Librarian Winter Solstice Shout Out - 2005, 2006, 2007
    [Jenna Freedman, auth.]
  • Lower East Side Librarian Reading Log: December - 2008
    [Jenna Freedman, auth.]
  • Lululand #3-4 undated
    [Amy Adoyzie, auth.]
  • Mala #1/I'm Not an Angry Mexican But I Play One on TV, undated
    [Bianca Ortiz, auth.]
  • Mass Movement #23: December - 2008
    [Tim Mass Movement, ed.]
  • Me Want Banana! Summer - 2008
  • Meniscus #13: November - 2004
    [Matt Fagan, auth.]
  • Merge #1: Summer, #3-4: Summer - 2003, 2004
    [Don Baker, auth.]
  • Mine: An Anthology of Women's Choices, May - 2002
    [Merrydeath, ed.]
  • Miranda: Motherhood and Other Adventures #6: June, #9-10: December-July, #12-18: September-November - 2001, 2002-2003, 2004-2008
    [Kate Haas, auth.]
  • Mishap #24 - 2008
  • Monozine #7: Spring - 2000
    [Todd Lesser, ed.]
  • Murder Can Be Fun #17-18 - 1996-1997
    [John Marr, auth.]
  • Narc! #3 undated
    [Chauncy Goldstein, ed.]
  • Negative Capability #4 - 2004
    [Josh Saitz, ed.]
  • Nowhere to Park, undated except four issues: July, Fall, Spring, Fall - 2002, 2005, 2006
    8 unnumbered issues
  • Object Lesson #1-2 undated
    [M. Despairagus, auth.]
  • Offi #3: Fall - 2008
    [Chris Kiss, auth.]
  • Ohno! The Robot #10 undated
    [Chrix Morix, auth.]
  • Opuntia #53.1A: January - 2004
    [Dale Speirs, ed.]
  • Orga[ni]sm #1: Summer - 2004
    [Gianni Simone, ed.]
  • Over The Edge, June - 2004
    [David, auth.]
  • Plotz Notes #16 undated
    [Barbara Kligman, auth.]
  • The Pornographic Flabbergasted Emus #1-7: June-September - 2002-2003
    [Wred Fright, auth.]
  • rAttle and bOOm #2: June - 2004
    [Jane, auth.]
  • Razorcake #29: December/January, #39: August/September, #43-44: April/May-June/July - 2005-2006, 2007, 2008
    [Gorsky Press, pub.]
  • Razorcake #45-48: July/August-February/March - 2008-2009
    [Gorsky Press, pub.]
  • Razorcake #49: April/May, #51-52: August/September-October/November - 2009
    [Gorsky Press, pub.]
  • Reading Log, 2 issues - 2003-2004, 2006
    [Celia Perez, auth.]
  • Resist #35-36 - 1999
    [Carpool Lane Industries, auth.]
  • Rev. Richard J. Macklin's Book of Letters #13, #15 - 2000, 2001
    [Rich Macklin, ed.]
  • Richard Hugo House's Zine Archives and Publishing Project Pamphlet, undated
  • Roadkill #1: undated, #2-4: October-December - 2008
  • Rock Out!: Ideas on Booking DIY Shows, undated
    [Megan Wells, auth.]
  • Rocks and Blows #2-3: February-July - 2006
    [David Frank, auth.]
  • Roots and Wings #1-2: October-January - 2007-2008
    [Celia Perez, auth.]
  • The Saddam and Armitage Show, June - 2004
    [R. John Xerxes, auth.]
  • The Scrap Music Review #1 undated
    [Christoph Meyer, auth.]
  • Scatological Think Cap #3 undated
    [Josh Bowron, auth.]
  • The Secret Files of Captain Sissy #5 - 2005
    [Andy Cornell, auth.]
  • Secret Mystery Love Shoes #1: Summer, #2-4 undated - 2002
    [Maria Goodman and Androo Robinson, auth.]
  • Seagull, June - 2004
  • See How Pretty, See How Smart #2-4 - 2004-2005
    [Sean McCarthy and Craig Taylor, ed.]
  • Shark Week #2 undated
  • The Sherri Miller Story, undated
  • Shopping for Alice, December - 2007
  • Sisu #3: August - 2004
    [Johanna, auth.]
  • Skate Tough You Little Girls, Winter - 2004-2005
    [Celia Perez, auth.]
  • Skatedork #4: Fall/Winter - 2000
    [Stephen Voss, ed.]
  • Skunk's Life #22 undated
    [DB Pedlar, ed.]
  • Smile, Hon, You're in Baltimore! #8 - 2006
    [William P. Tandy, ed.]
  • smilingdisease: a guide to public stickering, undated
    [Scott, auth.]
  • Snackbar Confidential #7 undated
    [Willard Dribbleman, auth.]
  • So What? #5 undated
  • Soft Smooth Brain #4 undated
  • Spunk #1: Autumn, #3: Autumn - 2003, 2004
    [Aaron Tilford, ed.]
  • SPX 2005 Program Guide
  • Standing Behind Me #3-4 undated
  • Standing Up...And Stepping Forward, Spring - 2003
    [Jay Pinka, ed.]
  • Summer Girl #1: June - 2007
    [Maria Almaguer, auth.]
  • Support, October - 2002
  • Sure #6: February - 2009
    [Kane Sure, ed.]
  • Teenage Death Songs #15: May - 2003
    [Tennessee Jones, auth.]
  • The Ten Page News #26: Summer, #32: Spring - 1999, 2003
    [Owen Thomas, pub.]
  • That Girl #11 - 2001?
    [Kelli Callis, auth.]
  • There Are No Bears In New Mexico - 2001
    [Josh Redd Sanchez, auth.]
  • Things You Never Said, undated
    [Jon Delz, auth.]
  • This is Still America #1 undated
    [George, auth.]
  • Time Enough At Last: A Reading Log - 2004
    [A.J. Michel, auth.]
  • True Tales of the World's Worst Teaching Assistants - 2008
  • 28 Pages Lovingly Bound With Twine #13 undated, #2: May - 2002
    [Christoph Meyer, auth.]
  • The U-Haul Adventures, August - 2004
    [Mike Faloon, auth.]
  • Underpanting, undated
    [Matt Wiegle, auth.]
  • Box 3:
  • Urban Bikage Assault, undated
  • Urinal Gum #6-7: August/September-October - 2008
  • Verbicide #12: Winter, #14: Summer/Fall - 2005
    [Jackson Ellis, ed.]
  • Vengeance At Cackling Mountain - 2005
    [Shawn Cheng, auth.]
  • Vote Longstreth! #1 - 2005
    [Alec Longstreth, auth.]
  • The Voyage of Sackacementa, undated
    [chumpire173, auth.]
  • Warm Socks, undated
    [Brandt Schmitz, auth.]
  • Weirdness Before Midnight #5 undated
    [Dave Szurek, ed.]
  • Welcome To Flavor Country #13-14: February-May, #17: April - 2008, 2009
    [Kurt Morris, auth.]
  • What Manner of Beast - 2009
    [John Borchard, Jr., auth.]
  • Wherewithal #3 - 2006
    [Emerson Dameron, auth.]
  • White Meat, undated
    [Camille Cruz, auth.]
  • Women's Self-Defense: Stories and Strategies of Survival #1 - 2002?
    [Ariel Clemenzi, ed.]
  • Wrestling Then and Now #136: August - 2001
    [Evan Ginzburg, ed.]
  • Xerography Debt #14: June, #19: April, #25: April - 2004, 2006, 2009
    [Davida Gypsy Breier, ed.]
  • Yuck! - 2003
    [Kevin Buchanan and Stephanie Scarborough, auth.]
  • Zine World #14-15: Winter-Spring, Supplement to #20 undated, #24: January - 2000-2001, 2007
    [Jerianne Thompson, ed.]
  • Zisk #5: Spring - 2002
    [Mike Faloon, ed.]

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Zines and the Amateur Press
Comic Books