Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the W. H. Goodrich Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966-1977
Creator: Goodrich, W. H. (1914-)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0351
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Republican party official. Subject files relating to Republican politics in Iowa and the nation, especially the 1976 election.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by W.H. Goodrich in 1977.

Preferred Citation: W. H. Goodrich Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William H. Goodrich (1914- ) was president and general manager of W.H. Goodrich, Inc. He was formerly president of Northwest Iowa International Harvester Dealers and director of the Chrysler Dealers' Association of Iowa and Nebraska. Outside of his business interests, W.H. Goodrich has been active in Republican politics at both the state and national levels. He has served as the state finance chairman of the Republican Party in Iowa, he was a delegate to the 1976 Republican National Convention, and was a regional coordinator of delegate operations for President Gerald R. Ford in 1976.

The papers of W.H. Goodrich consist of 1.5 linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1966 to 1977. They are all related to his work for the Republican Party. Four folders are related specifically to his home area of Humboldt and Webster Counties in Iowa. Much of the collection concerns the 1976 election, with materials relating to the national convention, finances, and the national committee. Correspondence with President Ford is found throughout the papers, as well as letters from Wiley Mayne, Robert D. Ray, and William J. Scherle.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign handbooks and other materials - 1976
  • Commissioner of elections reports - 1973-1975
  • Contributions by county
  • Correspondence - 1966-1976
    including letters from Wiley Mayne, William J. Scherle, Mary Louise Smith, and Nelson A. Rockefeller
  • County finance chairmen - 1976
  • Ford committee - 1976
  • Humboldt County precinct caucuses - 1974
  • Humboldt County Republican convention - 1974
    including letters from Robert D. Ray, Wiley Mayne and William J. Scherle
  • Humboldt County Republican Party - 1974
  • Iowa Republican Party materials - 1976
  • National campaign - 1976
  • President Ford Factbook - 1976
  • Box 2:
  • Republican National Committee - 1972-1976
  • Republican National Convention - 1976
    including a letter from Robert D. Ray
  • Republican National Convention delegates from Iowa - 1976
  • Republican National Convention delegates from Kansas - 1976
  • Republican National Convention delegates from Missouri - 1976
  • Republican National Convention delegates from Nebraska - 1976
  • Republican National Convention delegates from Tennessee - 1976
  • Box 3:
  • Republican National Finance Committee - 1976
  • Sixth District Chairman election - 1974
  • Speeches
  • State Finance Committee - 1973-1976
  • State finance reports - 1975-1976
  • State Republican Party materials - 1972-1977
  • Box 4:
  • Thank you letters for contributions - 1976-1977
  • Voter turnout - 1976
  • Webster County Republicans - 1972