Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James Cutler Milliman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1865-1917
Creator: Milliman, James Cutler (1847-1933)
Extent: 28.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0350
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Student at U of I, Civil War soldier, Lt. Governor of Iowa. Photographs and letters written about the University of Iowa, Harrison County, Iowa and New York.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1977 by Laura H. Freeman.

Preferred Citation: James Cutler Milliman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A native of New York, James Cutler Milliman was born on January 28, 1847. His mother died when he was but two years old and at the age of nine he left home and began working for his room and board. He enlisted in the 46th New York Volunteer Infantry when he was eighteen. Mustered into service in September 1864, he was wounded during the siege of Petersburg on September 30, 1864. Milliman was shot in his left arm, an injury which required amputation four inches above the elbow resulting in his medical discharge in December of the same year.
 
In 1865, Milliman (along with his father and brothers) moved to Iowa, settling in Harrison County. For two years he attended the University of Iowa and was a member of the Irving Institute before financial problems forced him to quit. Returning to Harrison County he taught school for the next two years. This led to the position of County Recorder which he held for eight years. In 1884, he established a real estate and abstract office in Logan, Iowa. He also served as the town's mayor for six years. He was elected as a Republican representative to the 25th General Assembly. From 1898 to 1902, Milliman was Iowa's Lieutenant Governor. In his later years, James Cutler Milliman moved to California. He died in Santa Monica in 1933.

The papers of James Cutler Milliman consist of twenty-eight items dating from 1865 to 1917. Photographs and letters written to Annie Maria Hayden Whitney make up the collection. Milliman had worked for the Haydens before enlisting in the army, and he maintained a correspondence with their daughter. These letters discuss the University of Iowa, Harrison County and Logan, Iowa, and Saratoga County and Edinburg, New York.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Letters to Annie Maria Hayden Whitney
  • Photographs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Geographic Names:
United States -- New York -- Edinburg
United States -- Iowa -- Harrison County
United States -- Iowa -- Logan
United States -- New York -- Saratoga County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs