Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Raymond W. Baxter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956
Creator: Baxter, Raymond W. (1896-)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0348
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Chairman of the Iowa Stevenson for President Committee in 1956. Campaign and convention materials, correspondence and newspaper clippings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated by Harry Baxter, 1976

Preferred Citation: Raymond W. Baxter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Raymond Willard Baxter was born on April 20, 1896, in Chicago, Illinois. He graduated from Lane Tech in Chicago in 1914 and from the Winona College of Agriculture in 1917. After leaving the military at the end of W.W.I, Baxter entered the business world. He was the Iowa manager of the Beach Wickham Grain Company until 1925. That was the year he left to establish the grain brokerage firm of Schoff and Baxter. He became its sole owner in 1945. He was also a director of A.D. Hayes Company and Soya Beans, Inc.

Baxter was also active in civic affairs in Burlington, Iowa. He was president of the Burlington Rotary Club as well as serving as the city's postmaster from 1936 to 1943. Baxter was very involved in Democratic Party politics, at both the state and national levels. He was the Democratic county chairman and a delegate to the Democratic National Conventions in 1932 and 1952. In 1956, Baxter was the chairman of the Iowa Stevenson for President Committee.

The papers of Raymond W. Baxter are comprised of 124 items related to his work for the Iowa Stevenson for President Committee in 1956. In addition to campaign and convention materials, there are newspaper clippings and correspondence. There are letters from Frederick E. Biermann, Steven V. Carter, Silas J. Galvin, Guy M. Gillette, Michael P. Hogan, Edward A. McDermott, and Arthur Sanford. Given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Harry Baxter in 1976, these papers are open for research. Information on the literary rights is available in the repository.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: IOWA STEVENSON FOR PRESIDENT COMMITTEE
Series 2: OTHER CAMPAIGN MATERIALS

  • Series 1: IOWA STEVENSON FOR PRESIDENT COMMITTEE
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign and convention materials - 1956
    21 items
  • Correspondence - 1956
    Including letters from Guy M. Gillette, Arthur Sanford, Steven V. Carter, Edward A. McDermott, Fred Biermann, Mike Hogan, and S. J. Galvin (90 items)
  • Newspaper clippings - 1956
    13 items
  • Series 2: OTHER CAMPAIGN MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign materials from Elaine Baxter, married to Harry Baxter, for her campaign for Iowa Secretary of State - 1986

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1900-1965

Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)
Iowa Stevenson for President Committee

Genre/Form of Materials:
Clippings (Information artifacts)