Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Commercial Documents Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1837 - 1954
Creator:
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0347
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Stock certificates, bonds, and other financial documents.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Commercial Documents Collection was donated by Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth W. Rendell. The donor of the 2003 addendum is unknown.

Preferred Citation: Commercial Documents Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Commercial Documents collection includes a large number of illustrated stock certificates, most issued by railroads and dating from the 1840s into the early 1900s. Many are engraved with images of early locomotives or other railroad scenes. Most are blank certificates; few have any indication of ownership. The 2003 addendum includes information about various currencies, including a clipping about a three dollar bill issued in Iowa City in 1858.

Alphabetical Listing of Railroads Appearing in the Commercial Documents Collection

See also the 2007 addendum. The ledger book contains stock prices, but not the actual certificates.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2003 ADDENDUM
Series 3: 2007 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1
  • 1. Acceptance Banking Corporation, stock certificate - 1931
  • 2. Adelphia Bank & Trust Company, stock certificate - 1929
  • 3. Bay Ridge Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 4. Beech Creek Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 5. Beech Creek, Clearfield & Southwestern Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 6. Buffalo Thousand Islands & Portland Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • 7. Cairo, Vincennes & Chicago Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 8. Canadian Southern Railway Company, second mortgage bonds - 1870
    5 bonds
  • 9. Carthage & Adirondack Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 10. Carthage, Watertown & Sackets Harbor Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • 11. Central Dock & Terminal Railway Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • 12. Central Union Station Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 13. Chicago & Canada Southern Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 14. Chicago, Indiana, & Southern Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1900
    2 certificates
  • 15. Chicago, Indianapolis, St. Louis Short Line Railway Company, stock certificate - 1900
  • 16. Cia Mexicana De Petroleo La Esperanza, S.A., stock certificate - 1914
  • 17. Cincinnati & Indiana Railroad Co., stock certificate, undated
  • 18. Cincinnati & Southern Ohio River Railway Co., stock certificate - 1880
  • 19. Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton Railroad, stock certificate and bond certificate - 1860
    2 stocks and 3 bonds
  • 20. Cincinnati, Indianapolis, St. Louis, & Chicago Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    5 certificates
  • 21. Cincinnati, LaFayette & Chicago Railroad Co., stock certificate - 1870
    2 certificates
  • 22. Cincinnati Northern Railroad Co., stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 23. Cincinnati, Sandusky & Cleveland Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    5 certificates
  • 24. Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 25. Cleveland & Erie Railroad, stock certificate, undated
    3 certificates
  • 26. Cleveland & Toledo Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1850, 1854, 1860
    6 certificates
  • 27. Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway Company, gold bond - 1900
    3 certificates
  • 28. Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapolis Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1880
    4 certificates
  • 29. Cleveland, Painesville & Ashtabula Railroad Company, mortgage bond and stock certificate - 1850-1860
    3 bonds and 3 certificates
  • 30. Columbus, Hope & Greensburg Railroad, stock certificate - 1880
  • 31. Columbus, Springfield, Cincinnati Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 32. Cornwall Bridge Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • 33. D. M. Osborne & Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 34. Detroit, Delray & Dearborne Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1900
  • 35. Detroit, Monroe, Toledo Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1850
    3 certificates
  • 36. District of West Philadelphia, stock certificate - 1853
  • 37. Dolgeville & Salisbury Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 38. Dunkirk Allegheny Valley Pittsburgh Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1870
  • 39. Dunkirk Warren & Pittsburgh Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 40. Erie & North East Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1850
    2 certificates
  • 41. Erie & Ohio Railroad, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 42. Fame Mutual Insurance Company, stock certificate - 1856
  • 43. Fulton Chain Railway Company, stock certificate - 1900
  • 44. Geneva, Corning & Southern Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    4 certificates
  • 45. Gosudarstvennii, 500 ruble note [?]
  • 46. Grand River Valley Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 47. Harrison Branch Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 48. Holbart Branch Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 49. Hooverhurst & South Western Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1900
  • 50. Illiana Coal Company, stock certificate, undated
    3 certificates
  • 51. Indiana, Illinois & Iowa Railroad Company, stock certificate & mortgage gold bond - 1890-1900
    2 certificates, 1 bond
  • 52. Iron City Land Company, stock certificate - 1871
  • 53. Junction Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1870
  • 54. Kanawha & Michigan Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    3 certificates
  • 55. Kanawha & West Virginia Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 56. Keystone Cooperative Banking Association, stock certificate - 1929
  • Folder 2
  • 57. Lake Erie, Alliance & Wheeling Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 58. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Company, gold bond certificate, undated
    7 certificates
  • 59. Lake Shore Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 60. Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • 61. Lewiston Suspension Bridge Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 62. Little Falls & Dodgeville Railroad company, stock certificate - 1900
    2 certificates
  • 63. Louisville, Jeffersonville Bridge Company, stock certificate, undated
    3 certificates
  • 64. Mahoning Coal Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 65. Meadow Brook Crushed Stone Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 66. McKeesport & Belle Vernon Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 67. Merchants Dispatch Transportation Company, stock certificate - 1871
  • 68. Michigan Central Railroad Company, goals bond and mortgage certificate, undated
    11 bonds and 5 certificates
  • 69. Michigan Midland & Canada Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 70. Michigan Southern & Northern Indiana, stock certificate - 1850
    4 certificates
  • 71. Mt. Holly, Lumberton & Medford Turnpike Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 72. National Bank of Wilmington & Brandywine, stock certificate - 1880
  • 73. National Stockyard Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 74. New Jersey Junction Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 75. New York & Northern Railway Company, stock certificate - 1880
    7 certificates
  • 76. New York & Ottawa Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 77. Niagara Falls Branch Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 78. Northern Indiana Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1850
    3 certificates
  • 79. Northern Liberties Railroad, loan bond - 1851
  • 80. Northern Refrigeration Car Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 81. Northern Refrigerator Line, Inc., stock certificate, undated
  • 82. North River Construction Company, stock certificate - 1888
  • 83. Ontario Pacific Railway Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 84. Owego Water Works, stock certificate - 1883
  • 85. Peoria Eastern Railway Company, stock certificate - 1890
    2 certificates
  • 86. Phelps Motor Car Corporation, stock certificate, undated
  • 87. Philadelphia, City of, bond - 1856, 1870, 1891
    3 certificates
  • 88. Philadelphia County Loan, bond - 1837
  • 89. Pine Creek Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 90. Pittsburgh & Connellsville Railroad Company, mortgage certificate - 1858
  • 91. Pittsfield & North Adams Railroad, stock certificate, undated
  • 92. Plymouth, Kankakee & Pacific Railroad Company, mortgage bond, undated
  • 93. Richmond, District of, bond - 1847
  • 94. Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 95. Roselle & South Plainfield Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 96. St. Joseph, South Bend & Southern Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1901
  • 97. St. Lawrence & Adirondack Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
    3 certificates
  • 98. Schoolcraft & Three Rivers Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 99. Scranton & Northeastern Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1800
  • 100. Streator & Clinton Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 101. Susquehanna & Clearfield Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 102. Swan Creek Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 103. Syracuse, Chewango & New York Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 104. Syracuse, Geneva & Corning Railway Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 105. Syracuse, Ontario & New York Railway Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 106. Syracuse & Utica Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 107. Toledo & Ohio Central, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 108. Toronto, Hamilton & Buffalo Navigation Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 109. Utica & Schenectady Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1840-1850
    4 certificates
  • 110. Wallkill Valley Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
    2 certificates
  • 111. Ware River Railroad Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 112. West Branch Coal Company, stock certificate, undated
  • 113. West Philadelphia Water Works, bond - 1853
  • 114. West Shore & Ontario Terminal Company, stock certificate - 1880
    2 certificates
  • 115. Western Transit Company, stock certificate - 1880
  • 116. Whitewater Railroad Company, stock certificate - 1890
  • Series 2: 2003 ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings and currencies
  • "Three-Dollar Bills -- Iowa City Issued them in 1858." Iowa City Press Citizen, April 26 - 1961
  • "Fred Marckhoff Prepares Study on Nebraska Notes." Coin World, - 1962
  • Weissbuch, Ted. "'Florence Money': A Case Study in Wildcat Banking." Numismatic Scrapbook, September - 1962
  • Central Bank of Bolivia, 1000 Bolivianos - 1945
  • Confederate States of America, 5 Dollars - 1864, 1954
    reprinted reproduction
  • Hungarian Fund, 1 dollar - 1852
  • Hungarian (?) Certificates, 1, 2, 5 Forint. - 1800-1899
    reproductions
  • Bank of Florence (Nebraska). 1,2,3, and 5 dollars
  • Easton Branch Rail Road Corporation, stock certificate - 1855
  • Series 3: 2007 ADDENDUM
  • Box 2:
  • Ledger book with stock and bonds
  • Atchison Union Depot and Ry. Co.
  • Apishapa Coal Mining Co.
  • Burlington Cedar Rapids and Not. Ry. Co.
  • Chicago and Southwestern Ry.
  • Chicago Kansas & Nebraska Ry. Co.
  • Colorado Fuel Co.
  • Chicago Rock Island and Pacific
  • Chicago Union Transfer Co.
  • Central Trust Co. of New York
  • Des Moines and Fort Dodge Ry. Co.
  • El Reno Storage and Compress Co.
  • Gowrie Northwestern Ry. Co.
  • Kankakee & Seneca RR. Co.
  • Keokuk and Des Moines Ry. Co.
  • Kansas City & Topeka Ry. Co.
  • Kansas City Times Newspaper
  • Keokuk Union Depot
  • Kansas City Northwestern Ry. Co.
  • Leavenworth Depot and Ry.Co.
  • Minneapolis & Des Moines Ry. Co.
  • Pueblo Union Depot RR Co.
  • Rock Island & Peoria Ry. Co.
  • St. Joseph Stock Yard Co.
  • St. Joseph Union Depot Co.
  • St. Joseph & Iowa RR Co.
  • Union Elevator Co. Council Bluffs
  • Union Stock Yards Co., Topeka
  • United States Trust Co. New York
  • Union Pacific Ry. Co.
  • United States Bonds
  • Wisconsin Minnesota & Pacific Ry.Co.
  • Western Coal Mining Co.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.