Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dexter Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1904-1954
Creator: Dexter Company
Extent: 20.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0344
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Washing machine manufacturing company in Fairfield, Iowa. Corporate records, financial reports, correspondence, patents, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 14.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University by the Dexter Company in 1958.

Preferred Citation: Records of the Dexter Company, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Dexter Company was founded in 1894 in Dexter, Iowa, by R.D. Hunt and L.V. Gaines. This washing machine manufacturing company moved to Fairfield, Iowa, in 1904. In 1936, it entered into partnership with the Ohio firm that manufactured the Nash-Kelvinator. Philco purchased the Dexter Company in 1954, at which time the company had just begun to manufacture clothes dryers as well as washing machines.

The records of the Dexter Company date from 1904 to 1954, and document the company's history up to the time that it was bought by Philco. Approximately twenty linear feet of records, housed in some seventeen boxes, make up the collection. Corporate reports, financial statements, patents, advertising, correspondence, and stockholders agreements combined with legal papers, contracts, auditor's reports, and payroll registers give a fairly complete picture of this company's activities up to the mid-1950s.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL A-O
Series 2: PATENT MATERIAL
Series 3: PATENT INFORMATION
Series 4: GENERAL P-W
Series 5: LEDGERS

  • Series 1: GENERAL A-O
  • Box 1:
  • Advertising, Philco - 1951-1953
  • Annual Corporation on Reports - 1925-1926
  • Annual meetings, Board of Directors' Meetings, Financing - 1935-1943
  • Annual reports - 1050-1052
  • Appliance Manufacturing Company - Board of Directors' Minutes, Correspondence, etc. - 1949-1952
  • April I Stock - 1929
  • Bank of America National Trust and Savings Association, Dexter file - 1951-1955
  • Bank Statements - 1929-1944
    Four folders
  • Box 2:
  • Bank Statements - 1944-1952
    Two folders
  • Board of Directors' Meetings, annual meetings, list of stockholders of record - 1913-1919
  • Board of Directors' Minutes, Appliance Manufacturing Company, including transfer of part ownership to Dexter from Nash-Kelvinator interests - 1939-1952
  • Box 3:
  • Board of Directors' Minutes, Appliance Manufacturing Company, including reference of Nash-Kelvinator stock sale to Dexter interests - 1943-1951
  • Board of Directors Minutes, Appliance Manufacturing Company and merger of Appliance Company with Dexter Company - 1952-1953
  • By-laws, Directors' meetings 1929-1936 and Sales records - 1920-1949
  • Capital stock tax, ca - 1918-1921
  • Certificate of stock - 1923, 1926, 1931, 1941
  • Contracts, ca - 1925-1938
  • Contracts, adjustments, and agreements - 1925, 1926, 1932, 1934, 1938-1942
  • Contracts and agreements, ca - 1928-1939
  • Box 4:
  • Copies of stockholders' financial statements - 1929-1951
  • Cow Case, Charles H. Gage - 1929-1931
  • The Dexter Company and Appliance Manufacturing - 1947-1953
    Five folders
  • Dexter-Appliance Consolidation - 1952
  • Dexter Decals
  • Dexter - History. Finances including some Hunt family history - 1936-1938, 1948, 1952
  • The Dextergram,┬áVolume 15 Number l, March - 1933
  • Domestic Laundry Cross-Licensing Agreement - 1935
  • Box 5:
  • Domestic Laundry Cross-Licensing Agreement - 1935-1936
  • Financial Statements, Dexter and Appliance - 1940-1953
    Twenty-four folders
  • Formal offer for Prima MFG Company sent to Hoswell, October - 1935
  • R.D. Hunt's file - 1928-1930
  • Box 6:
  • Kelvinator interest in Alliance - 1943-1946
  • License contracts, Grinnell, Iowa, Washing Machine Company - 1909-1911, 1915-1916, 1918, 1922-1923
  • List of Dexter stockholders who received dividends of $500.00 or more - 1929-1930
  • May, stock information - 1923-1929
  • Maytag License contract - 1917-1918
  • Memo and correspondence - 1953
  • Minutes of Board of Directors, corrected list of common stockholders, and certificate of amended articles - 1919-1929
  • Minutes of Board of Directors, annual meeting, and more - 1929-1932
  • Original articles of incorporation, related correspondence, amendments and revised by-laws - 1913-1939
  • Original stock certificate book - 1911-1912
  • Box 7:
  • Outgoing correspondence: R.D. Hunt to W.H. George and L.O. Gaines - 1911-1912
  • Outline for an Analysis Engineering Company of Operations and Management, Wolf Management Engineering Company
  • Series 2: PATENT MATERIAL
  • Box 7:
  • Apex Electrical Company patents - 1935-1937
  • Baker Spinner Design - F.M. & Company - 1938
  • Barnes & Reinecke - double tub design and Alliance Ware, Inc., February - June - 1945
  • Misses Barrett & Barrett, Washington, D.C. - 1939
  • Beam Manufacturing Company, patent and royalty agreement - 1950-1954
  • Behan patent - N.L. Etten Chamberlain Corp. - 1935-1936
  • Bendix infringement - 1949-1950
  • Bendix type washers - 1937, 1939
  • R.S. Blough - 1937-1938, 1940, 1953-1954, 1956
    Three folders
  • Brass wringer gears(Universal Castings Corp.), April - July - 1945
  • Cast iron wringer gears, May - July - 1945
  • Chartered Institute of Am. Inventors, patent file - 1933-1934, 1936-1937
  • Commissioner of Patents - 1932-1938, 1943-1944
  • Series 3: PATENT INFORMATION
  • Box 8:
  • Current patents - 1911, 1928, 1929, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1943-1945, 1948-1953
  • Information on clothes dryers - 1925, 1929, 1930, 1932, 1933, 1935
  • C. Dietz - Pat. no. l, 786, 705 (see Tefft & Tefft) - 1932
  • Dishwashers - 1931-1933, 1936
  • Irving Dunn - Chas. E. Mehlhope - 1928-1932
  • Vernon Dunn - gear assembly patent no. 11,187 (see Tefft & Tefft) - 1935-1937
  • Dunn patent reissues - 1950
  • Vernon Dunn - rollstop mechanism no. 83,289 (see Tefft & Tefft)
  • Box 9:
  • Electric Household Utilities Corp. royalty -- lift-off ironers - 1937
  • William Fuhr, 4919 Lake Park Ave., Chicago, Ill. - 1944
  • William George - Chas. E. Mehlhope - 1922, 1923, 1925
  • 1922, 1923, 1925 - 1938
  • Hainsworth Hydraulic Washer - 1936-1937
  • Harry La Rue - 1937
  • Lawnmowers - 1932-1935
  • Lovell-Chamberlain Toggle Release - Infringement - 1949
  • Box 10:
  • Maytag infringement file - 1943-1947
  • Maytag suit - 1932, 1935-1936, 1938-1939
  • Maytag - Synder - 1917-1918, 1932-1933, 1938-1939
  • Chas. E. Mehlhope - 1923-1932
    Two folders
  • Misner patent - 1937
  • National Household Devices Co., Howard W. Power, patents - 1931
  • Box 11:
  • New wringer, - 1933-1934, 1940
  • New wringer designs - 1942, 1945
  • New wringers patents file - 1932-1933, 1940
  • Opinion re: infringement by subscribers to the Domestic Laundry Cross-Licensing
  • Agreement of patents owned by APEX Electrical Manufacturing Company, May 14 - 1936
  • Parker, Carlson, Pitzner & Hubbard, patent lawyers, Chicago - 1934-1937, 1939, 1940
    Six folders
  • Patch Washing Machine Design - 1944-1945
  • Box 12:
  • Patent arrangements: Carlson, Pitzner, Hubbard & Wolfe; Charles Woodin - 1949
  • Patent file - 1934
  • Patents - 1936-1953
    Two folders
  • Patents and ideas on other washing machines - 1932-1933, 1936-1937
  • Patents - ironer - 1932 - 1934, 1936
  • Patents - miscellaneous - 1931-1936
  • Patents received for our consideration - 1934-1935, 1937
  • Patents: trademark for Haag and Dexter - 1941-1946
  • Permo Products Co. - Flanders Ironing Machine - 1934-1935, 1937
  • Delbert Rizor - drain hose nozzle (see Tefft & Tefft) - 1935-1936
  • James P. Shea patent
  • Watkiss Stoke - Salt Lake City - 1932, 1937
  • Super Century gear unit - 1939-1940
  • W.D. Tappon, patent service - 1936-1937, 1939, 1941
  • Box 13:
  • Tefft & Tefft - patents - 1932-1944
    Four folders
  • Timer drawings (R.H. Jordan) - 1950-1954
    Three folders
  • Trademark Reflex - 1939-1941, 1943
  • Trademarks - 1949
  • Weaver patent - Martin E. Anderson (Electric Household Utilities Corp.) - 1937
  • D.M. Wenger - patent file - 1931-1932, 1934-1937
  • Box 14:
  • L.L. Wise patent - 1940
  • Wringer rolls, May - June - 1945
  • Series 4: GENERAL P-W
  • Box 14:
  • Philco - 1952-1954
  • Photographs and advertising, ca - 1948-1951
  • Proxy statement and exhibits - 1953
  • Purchaser's agreement F.H.A., Iowa Des Moines National Bank and Trust Company - 1935
  • Rainbow Contract - 1929-1935, 1940
  • Sales records - 1920-1949
  • Schedules on forecasts and automatic program, automatic production - 1953-1954
  • C.L. Schmidt & Co. - 1929
  • Securities and exchange Commission Reports - 1936-1940
  • Signed receipts of stockholders who permitted holding up their last 1929 dividend check until in January 1930
  • Specifications for the construction of an addition to the foundry - 1950
  • State permit to increase capital stock; amendment to articles of incorporation; new articles of incorporation - 1929
  • Box 15:
  • Stockholders, including Philco transfer - 1948-1954
  • Stockholders' dividend orders - 1930-1932-1935
  • Transfer of Dexter stock in cases of estates - 1926-1927
  • Trundle Engineering Company Reports - 1950-1951
  • Weekly Time Book - 1914
  • Wolf Management Engineering Company - 1948-1949
    Two folders
  • Series 5: LEDGERS
  • Sub-Series: Materials originally listed in Box 16 and Box 17.
  • In storage:
  • Common stockholder records: index A -- K, L -- Z, grouped by year - 1929-1942
  • Common stockholder records - 1942-1954
    Indices with common stockholder records index.
  • Unboxed materials
  • Certified list of Holders of Common Stock of the Dexter Company - 1929-1954
    Seventy-one volumes
  • Sub-Series: Ledgers with assigned item numbers.
  • In storage:
  • 18. Minutes of Board of Directors, May 28, 1913 - May 16, 1919 with trial balance, 1915
  • 19. Journal - 1923-1928?
  • 20. Journal: Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Record of Checks and Drawn, Bank Balances, Reserves, etc. - 1928-1933
  • 21. Journal - 1934-1939?
    Item not listed on original finding aid.
  • 22. Journal: Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Record of Checks Drawn, Bank Balances, etc. - 1939-1944
  • 23. Journal (Machine) - 1945-1954
  • 24. General Ledger Transfer Binder: Investments Records, Inventories, Fixed Assets, Accounts Receivable and Payable, Payroll Summaries, etc. - 1923-1950
  • 25. General Ledger (Machine) Book No. 1 - 1945 or 1954? -1955
  • 26. General Ledger (Machine) Book No. 2 - 1951-1954
  • 27. Cash Receipt Journal - 1945-1954
  • 28. Cash Receipt Journal - 1952-1954
  • 29. Cash Register - January 1945 - January 1954
  • 30-31. Invoice Registers - 1945-1954
    Two volumes
  • 32. Factory Payroll Register - January 1945 - January 1951
  • 33: Foundry Payroll Register - January 1940 - January 1951
  • 34-36: Sales Journal - 1945-1954
    Three volumes
  • 37: Auditors Recommended Year-End Entrie - 1923-1951
  • 38: Auditors Recommended Monthly Bank Reconciliations - 1944-1954
  • 39-42. Common Stock Transfer Records - 1929-1956
    Four volumes
  • Sub-Series: Appliance Manufacturing Company - Ledgers with assigned numbers continued
  • In storage:
  • 43: Board of Directors' Minutes of Appliance Manufacturing Company, Alliance, Ohio - 1936-1942
    Articles of incorporation, certificate from Corporation and Securities Commission
  • 44-47: General Ledgers - 1936-1952
    Four volumes
  • 48: Journal Entry Sheets, Book # l, - September 1936 - December 1948
  • 49: General Journal, Book #2, Appliance Manufacturing Company - January 31, 1949 - January 31, 1954
  • 50: Payroll Summaries, Appliance Manufacturing Company - 1937-1944
  • 51: Cash Receipts, Appliance Manufacturing Company - January 1942 - September 1946
  • 52: Accounts Payable, Appliance Manufacturing Company - October 1941 - January 1946
  • 53: Machine Ledger, Sales Journal - January 2, 1950 - October 24, 1954
  • 54: Cash Received and Cash Disbursement and Purchase Journal - January 1950 - August 1954

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Washing machine industry

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Fairfield

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses