Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the C.B. Baldwin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1975
Creator: Baldwin, Calvin Benham (1902-1975)
Extent: 33.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0343
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Government official and Progressive Party officer. Correspondence, subject files, speeches, clippings, tape recordings, photographs, and scrapbooks.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 32, 33; Leaflets Box 21; Leaflets, broadsides, pamphlets Box 27; Audio material Box 34

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1976 by Lillian Baldwin.

Preferred Citation: C.B. Baldwin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Calvin Benham "Beanie" Baldwin was born on August 19, 1902, in Radford, Virginia. He attended the Virginia Polytechnical Institute from 1920 to 1923. For the next five years he worked for the Norfolk and Western Railroad. In 1929, Baldwin became the manager and owner of the Electric Sales and Service Company in East Radford, Virginia.
 
With the advent of the New Deal, Baldwin became the assistant to the Secretary of Agriculture, Henry A. Wallace. He first worked with the Agricultural Adjustment Administration (AAA) and then for the Resettlement Administration. In 1937, the Resettlement Administration changed its name to the Farm Security Administration (FSA). In 1940, Baldwin took over the administration of the FSA. This controversial program distributed low interest loans to small farmers and encouraged cooperatives. Critics charged both the FSA and Baldwin with trying to communize American agriculture.
 
A supporter of the New Deal's most radical programs, C.B. Baldwin favored national health insurance, guaranteed jobs for the poor, and expanded federal housing. As attacks mounted by conservative factions became more and more frequent, he left government service in 1943 to work with the Congress of Industrial Organizations' Political Action Committee (CIO-PAC). In that capacity, he worked to secure the labor vote for Roosevelt. In 1945, CIO-PAC founded the National Citizens Political Action Committee (NCPAC). It was a liberal lobby whose membership included Communists. Baldwin became its executive vice-chairman and its driving force. Increasingly critical of Truman, Baldwin's NCPAC and other liberal organizations united to form the Progressive Citizens of America (PCA). Under Baldwin's political leadership, the PCA mounted a third party presidential challenge with nominee Henry A. Wallace, under the Progressive Party banner. At Wallace's request, Baldwin resigned his position as director of the PCA in January 1948, and became the campaign manager. Although they lost the 1948 election, Baldwin credited the campaign with moving Truman politically to the left. Baldwin remained the national secretary of the Progressive Party until its dissolution in 1955.
 
C.B. Baldwin died of cancer in 1975.

The papers of C.B. Baldwin consist of thirty-two linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1933 to 1975, documenting his career. Arranged in eleven separate series, the collection begins with a general subject file grouping. In these first eleven boxes are materials on Henry A. Wallace, the presidential elections of 1940-1948 and 1960, civil rights, Farmers Union, and correspondence. The second series is made up of speeches given by Baldwin, Wallace, and others. The third set consists of CIO-PAC materials, such as membership lists, news releases, memos, and publicity. Next is the National Citizens Political Action Committee (NCPAC) grouping. It contains notes from trips, publicity, and correspondence. Series five is made up of Progressive Citizens of America (PCA) documents. There are meeting minutes, leaflets, foreign policy papers, and information about state chapters.
 
The next group is titled Progressive Party. It is composed of papers from various conventions, fact sheets, and platform statements. The seventh series consists of three boxes relating to the U.S. Department of Agriculture. It primarily documents Baldwin's service with the Farm Security Administration (FSA). The last four sections are respectively: photographs, tape recordings, newsclippings, and scrapbooks. There are photographs of such notables as Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, Paul Robeson, Fiorello LaGuardia, Henry Morganthau, and Henry A. Wallace. The tape recordings include interviews and Baldwin's memorial service. There are twenty-nine boxes of newsclippings. These are arranged chronologically with some subject folders on such topics as the Progressive Party, PCA, and Henry Wallace. The eleventh and final series consists of three volumes of scrapbooks dating from 1945 to 1948.
 
Important correspondence can be found throughout the entire collection. There are letters from: Will W. Alexander, Paul H. Appleby, Charlotta A. Bass, Elmer A. Benson, Anita McCormick Blaine, Jo Davidson, W.E.B. Dubois, Elinor Gimbel, Vincent W. Hallinam, Robert E. Hannegan, Moss Hart, Lyndon B. Johnson, Frank Kingdon, Fiorello LaGuardia, Fulton Lewis, Vito Marcantonio, Henry Morgenthau, Dorothy Parker, James G. Patton, Claude Pepper, Gifford Pinchot, Eslanda and Paul Robeson, Franklin D. and Eleanor Roosevelt, Fred W. Stover, Glen Taylor, Theodore O. Thackrey, Rexford G. Tugwell, Henry A. Wallace, and Alexander F. Whitney.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SPEECHES
Series 3: CIO-POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (CIO-PAC)
Series 4: NATIONAL CITIZENS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NCPAC)
Series 5: PROGRESSIVE CITIZENS OF AMERICA (PCA)
Series 6: PROGRESSIVE PARTY
Series 7: U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: TAPE RECORDINGS
Series 10: NEWS CLIPPINGS
Series 11: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Appleby, Paul - 1942
  • Arizona Wallace for President Committee - 1948
  • Atomic Energy - 1945-1946
  • Baker, John - 1943
  • Baldwin, C.B.: Address Book
  • Baldwin, C.B.: Appointment to Administrator of Farm Security Administration - 1940
  • Baldwin, C.B.: Appointment to Area Director of Economic Operations for Italy (3 folders) - 1943
  • Baldwin, C.B.: Correspondence, including letters from Adlai Stevenson, George McGovern, and Edward Benson (2 folders) - 1939-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Baldwin Correspondence: MA, MI, MN, MT, MO, Personal, PA - 1937-1946
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Democratic National Committee - 1944-1946
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Letter to C. Holifield. December 22 - 1947
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Letter to PM; Reprinted in The Nation. December 28 - 1947
  • Baldwin Correspondence: "Open Letter to President Truman"; Reprinted in New Republic - 1945
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Churchman Award Dinner - 1945
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Dinner Invitations, including letters from D. Parker - 1944-1952
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Farewell Dinner, New Orleans Restaurant - 1943
  • Baldwin Correspondence Fiftieth Birthday Dinner, including letters from E. Benson - 1952
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Fiftieth Birthday Dinner Arrangements, including a letter from W.E.B. DuBois - 1952
  • Baldwin Correspondence: Fiftieth Birthday Dinner, Regrets - 1952
  • Box 3:
  • Baldwin Interviews - 1965-1968
  • Baldwin Obituaries - 1975
  • Baldwin Old Westbury lectures - 1971-1974
  • Baldwin Political Profiles - 1943-1975
  • Baldwin Sponsoring Activities and Memberships - 1947-1948
  • Baldwin, C.B. and Elmer Benson: Washington Appointments. May - 1945
  • Benson, Elmer: Correspondence (3 folders). May - November - 1945
  • Benson, Elmer Reception, including a letter from G. Pinchot. Washington - 1945
  • Blaine, Anita McCormick - 1947-1949
  • Box 4:
  • Blaine, Anita McCormick, including letters from H.A. Wallace - 1948-1950
  • Cable to French Political Leaders re: Wallace Visit - 1947
  • Committees - 1944
  • Civil Rights Rally, including mimeograph speeches and letters from Henry Wallace - 1949-1950
  • Wallace, W.E.B. DuBois, and Paul Robeson
  • Chapin, Henry. "The Independent Voter Wants In" - 1944
  • Conference of Independent Groups - 1946
  • Conference of Progressives: Chicago Meeting - 1946
  • Conference of Progressives: Continuation Committee, including letters from Paul Robeson and Fiorello LaGuardia - 1946
  • Conference of Progressives: coordinating Committee Meeting - 1946
  • Conference of Progressives: Washington, D.C. Meeting - 1947
  • Conference on Housing, Buenos Aires - 1939
  • Congress of Progressives: Designation of Committee on Action Meeting - 1946
  • Congressional Hearings - 1942-1945
  • Box 5:
  • Daniels, Jonathan - 1973
  • Delaware Wallace for President Committee
  • Democratic National Convention - 1944
  • Downes, Olin, including a letter from Henry A. Wallace - 1948-1952
  • Durr, Virginia - 1945-1951
  • Economic Notes: Labor Research Association - 1955
  • Election of 1940 - 1940
  • Election of 1944; Letters of Congratulations - 1944
  • Election of 1948 - 1948
  • Election of 1960 - 1960
  • Fair Employment Practices Committee, including a letter from Eleanor Roosevelt - 1944-1945
  • Farmers Union - 1944-1945
  • Farmers Union Album, including letters from Franklin D. Roosevelt and Henry A. Wallace - 1935-1939
  • The First Round. Thank you letters, including letters from Lyndon B. Johnson, J.W. Gwynne, and K.M. LeCompte - 1945
  • Foreign Economic Administration: Proposed Organization - 1943
  • France, Clemens J. - 1943
  • Hannegan, Robert - 1946-1947
  • Inaugural Invitation List - 1944
  • Independent Citizens Committee of the Arts, Sciences and Professions: National Citizens
  • Political Action Committee (ICCASP - NCPAC). Joint Convention - 1946
  • Box 6:
  • ICCASP-NCPAC. Merger of Budgets - 1946
  • ICCASP-NCPAC-CIOPAC: Coordinating Committee - 1946
  • ICCASP-NCPAC-CIOPAC: Coordinating Meeting - 1946
  • Independent Progressive Party of California, including speeches of Henry A. Wallace - 1947-1948
  • Independent Progressive Party of California, Correspondence - 1951-1954
  • Independent Voters of Minnesota, including a photograph of a Wallace Rally - 1947
  • Jackson, Gardner - 1938-1940
  • Lewis, Fulton Jr. - 1950
  • Luscomb, Florence. "Progressive Movements and What They Did To Me" - 1957
  • Miscellaneous Pamphlets - 1943-1953
  • National Committee to Abolish the Poll Tax - 1945
  • National Farmers Union - 1951-1952
  • National Wallace for President Committee, including speeches of Henry A. Wallace and K. Van Order (3 folders) - 1947-1948
  • Box 7:
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Administration Committee - 1948
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Chicago - 1948
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Executive Committee - 1947
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Invitations and Replies - 1948
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Press - 1948
  • National Wallace for President Committee, Steering Committee - 1948
  • "The New Deal-It Worked"--Graphs
  • Nonpartisan Association For Franchise Education, Inc. - 1945
  • Olson, Orville - 1945-1946
  • Peace Committees and Conferences - 1946
  • People's Progressive Party of Florida - 1948
  • Box 8:
  • Press Editorials - 1948
  • Press Editorials, Radio - 1946-1948
  • Press Editorials, The Frederick-Clinton Report - 1948
  • Radio, RV, Press - 1952
  • Robeson, Eslanda and Paul - 1950-1952
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor, including letters from G. Pinchot - 1940-1959
  • Roosevelt Campaign (4 folders) - 1944
  • Roosevelt Memorials - 1945-1947
  • Senate Hearing on Reduction of Nonessential Federal Expenditures, Baldwin Testimony - 1942
  • Box 9:
  • Stalin: A Copy of an Open Letter from Henry A. Wallace to Stalin - 1948
  • Taylor, Glenn H.
  • Thackrey, Theodore O. - 1948-1952
  • Thackrey, Theodore O., Daily Compass - 1951-1952
  • Thatcher, M.W. - 1936-1974
  • Thatcher, M.W.: Correspondence, including a letter from E. Benson - 1938-1975
  • Thatcher, M.W.: Interview by C.B. Baldwin - 1965
  • Truman, President Harry S. - 1945
  • Tugwell, Rexford G. - 1937-1943
  • Box 10:
  • Tugwell, Rex. Farewell Dinner - 1937
  • Union for Democratic Action - 1944
  • United Citizens Council - 1945
  • Wallace Organization - 1949-1950
  • Wallace, Henry A. (5 folders) - 1944-1965
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Fact Sheet on Independent Candidacy
  • Wallace, Henry A.: International Forum Tour - 1949
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Letter to President Truman reprinted in New Republic. September 30 - 1946
  • Box 11:
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Letter To: List of Signers
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Luncheons, including letters from V. Marcantonio and Estes Kefauver - 1947
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Nomination for Secretary of Commerce - 1945
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Peace Tour - 1949
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Scroll, including letters from L. Adamic, R. Tugwell, E. Benson, F. LaGuardia, F. March, A. Copland, J. Davidson, F. Kindon, H. Keller, H. Morgan and M. Bethune (2 folders) - 1947
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Tours - 1947-1948
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Western Trip (2 folders) - 1947-1948
  • Walsh, J. Raymond - 1947
  • Washington and You. Newsletter - 1955
  • Washington (D.C.) Committee for Wallace - 1948
  • Whitney, A.F. - 1946
  • Series 2: SPEECHES
  • Box 12:
  • Baldwin, C.B. (4 folders) - 1944-1953
  • Bass, Charlotta - 1952
  • Hallinan, Vincent - 1952
  • Marcantonio, Vito - 1952
  • Miscellaneous Pamphlets - 1944-1945
  • Roosevelt, Franklin D. September 23 - 1944
  • Wallace, Henry A. May - September - 1947
  • Box 13:
  • Wallace, Henry A., including letters from Henry A. Wallace (5 folders) October - September - 1947-1948
  • Box 14:
  • Wallace, Henry A., including letters from Henry A. Wallace (5 folders). October - 1948-1950
  • Speeches and Correspondence--Unidentified Fragments
  • Series 3: CIO-POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (CIO-PAC)
  • Box 15:
  • General material - 1944-1946
  • Battle Page Material - 1944
  • CIO Membership Lists - 1943-1945
  • Dies Committee - 1944
  • Election et seq., including letters from G. Pinchot - 1944-1945
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation - 1944
  • Financial Information - 1944
  • Grant Case - 1944
  • Inter-Office Memos (2 folders) - 1944-1945
  • Leaflets, Pamphlets and Broadsides - 1943-1946
  • Box 16:
  • Leaflets, Pamphlets and Broadsides - 1943-1946
  • Legalities of Political Contributions - 1943-1944
  • Meeting. April 5 - 1945
  • Membership and Mailing Lists - 1944-1949
  • News Releases, including a photograph of T.E. Dewey, L. Weinstock and M.J. Quill in 1939 (2 folders) - 1937, 1943-1944
  • Objectives
  • Opinion Polls - 1944
  • Pamphlet No. 2 Acknowledgments - 1944
  • Personnel - 1944-1945
  • Personnel: Detailed Qualifications - 1944
  • Personnel: Letters of Recommendation - 1943-1945
  • Personnel: Recommended for PAC and Other Appointments, including a letter from E. Benson - 1944-1945
  • Platforms - 1944
  • Posters - 1944
  • Box 17:
  • Publicity (2 folders) - 1944-1945
  • Publicity Against PAC, including photographs of opposition billboard advertising - 1944-1945
  • Racial Issues - 1944
  • Radio (2 folders) - 1944
  • Speakers Manual - 1944
  • Stamps "Votes Are Weapons on the Home Front"
  • Voter Registration - 1944
  • Washington, D.C. - 1944-1945
  • Women's Division - 1944
  • Write Today. Newsletter - 1944
  • Series 4: NATIONAL CITIZENS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NCPAC)
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 18:
  • General Material - 1945-1948
  • Action Required - 1945
  • Action Memo - 1946
  • Administrative Committee - 1945-1946
  • Sub-Series: Benson and Baldwin Trip
  • Box 18:
  • Addresses For Mailing List - 1945
  • Appointments - 1945
  • Expenses - 1945
  • Letters Sent Before Trip - 1945
  • People Contacted - 1945
  • Report - 1945
  • Sub-Series: Benson and Baldwin Trips To
  • Box 18:
  • Bismarck, North Dakota - 1945
  • California, including a manuscript from E. Benson - 1945
  • Denver, Colorado - 1945
  • Helena, Montana - 1945
  • Milwaukee, Wisconsin - 1945
  • Minneapolis, Minnesota - 1945
  • Oregon and Washington - 1945
  • St. Louis, Missouri - 1945
  • Salt Lake City, Utah - 1945
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 19:
  • By-laws - 1946
  • Contributions - 1944
  • Correspondence - 1945-1946
  • Executive Committee, including a letter from G. Pinchot - 1944-1945
  • Leaflets, Broadsides, and Pamphlets, including Roosevelt campaign songs - 1943-1946
  • National Executive Committee Membership - 1944-1945
  • News Releases (3 folders) - 1944-1946
  • Political candidate Endorsements, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1945-1949
  • Political Guide: The Journal of Political Action Techniques
    1945-1946
  • Program - 1945
  • Publicity - 1944-1945
  • Radio FM - 1945-1946
  • Religious Associates - 1946-1948
  • Statement. December 5 - 1945
  • Steering Committee - 1945-1946
  • Steering Committee Minutes - 1945-1946
  • Series 5: PROGRESSIVE CITIZENS OF AMERICA (PCA)
  • Box 20:
  • PCA - 1947
  • Administration Committee - 1947
  • Background. Newsletter - 1947
  • Board and State Directors Meeting. Chicago - 1947
  • Board Meetings (2 folders) - 1946-1948
  • By-laws - 1947
  • Chicago Stadium Mass Meeting, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Coal Miners' Meeting - 1947
  • Connecticut Chapter, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Crisis Meeting, including speeches of J. Davidson and Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Dinner for Henry Wallace, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Domestic Policy - 1947
  • Box 21:
  • Executive Committee, including a letter from G. Pinchot - 1947-1948
  • Executive Committee Meeting. December 15 - 1947
  • Executive Committee Meeting Notes in Shorthand - 1947-1948
  • Fact Sheets - 1947
  • Foreign policy - 1947
  • Leaflets, pamphlets and Broadsides - 1947
  • Lobby day - 1947
  • Maryland Chapter, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Massachusetts Chapter, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace and photographs - 1947
  • Box 22:
  • Military Lend Lease Program for Greece and Turkey, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • New Jersey Independent Citizens League, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace and a photograph of Henry Wallace, Albert Einstein, Paul Robeson and F. Kingdon - 1947
  • New York State Chapter - 1947-1948
  • Officers - 1947-1948
  • Pennsylvania Chapter, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Press Releases - 1947
  • Program - 146
  • Progressive Counter-Attack Rally, including speeches of Paul Robeson and L. Horne - 1947
  • Report on PCA and NCPAC Activities - 1947
  • Resignations, including a letter from J. Davidson - 1946-1948
  • Box 23:
  • Rhode Island Chapter - 1946-1948
  • Second National Convention, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1948
  • Program - 1948
  • Southern California Chapter, including a speech of K. Hepburn - 1947
  • State Committees - 1945-1948
  • Wilson (Luke) Memoranda and Correspondence from Washington, D.C. - 1947-1948
  • PCA and Progressive Party : Correspondence, including letters from Henry A. Wallace and M. Hart - 1944-1951
  • Series 6: PROGRESSIVE PARTY
  • Box 24:
  • Administration Committee (2 folders) - 1948-1952
  • Budget for Abundance - 1950
  • Civil Rights Rally, including mimeograph speeches and letters from Henry Wallace - 1949
  • Comments on National Candidacies - 1952
  • Founding Convention, including campaign songs (3 folders) - 1952
  • Founding Convention Committees - 1948
  • Founding Convention Platform - 1948
  • Founding Convention Press Accreditation Materials - 1948
  • Founding Convention Press Releases - 1948
  • Box 25:
  • Founding Convention Proceedings, Sessions 1-3 - 1948
  • Founding Convention Proceedings, Sessions 4-5 - 1948
  • Founding Convention Proceedings Speeches, including speeches by Henry A. Wallace, R. Tugwell, Fred Stover, J. Gitt, C.P. Howard, G. Taylor, C.B. Baldwin, and E. Benson - 1948
  • Second Convention Mimeo Letters and Press Releases - 1950
  • Second Convention Preliminary Arrangements - 1950
  • Second Convention Program - 1950
  • Second Convention Resolutions Committee - 1950
  • Second Convention Speeches, including speeches of W.E.B. DuBois, E. Benson, E. Gimbel, Henry A. Wallace, and Paul Robeson - 1950
  • Third Convention, including campaign songs - 1952
  • Third Convention Committees - 1952
  • Third Convention Delegate's Kit - 1952
  • Third Convention Floor Plans - 1952
  • Box 26:
  • Third Convention Interviews - 1952
  • Third Convention Panels - 1952
  • Third Convention--part of the Proceedings - 1952
  • Third Convention Platform: accepted Resolutions - 1952
  • Third Convention Platform: Rejected Amendments - 1952
  • Third Convention Platform: Special resolutions - 1952
  • Third Convention: Preliminary Arrangements - 1952
  • Third Convention: Press Releases - 1952
  • Third Convention: Speeches, including speeches of V. Marcantonio, W.E.B. Dubois, Paul Robeson, c. Bass, Vivian Hallinan, E. Robeson - 1952
  • Third Convention: State Directors' Memos - 1952
  • Third Convention: Statements and Fact Sheets - 1952
  • Correspondence with the White House - 1951-1955
  • Dissolution - 1955
  • Election Material - 1951-19523
  • Executive Committee - 1948-1949
  • Fact Sheets (2 folders) - 1949, 1951
  • Box 27:
  • Financial Information - 1947-
  • Korea - 1948-1952
  • Leaflets, Broadsides and Pamphlets, including campaign songs from 1952 (2 folders) - 1948-1949, 1951-1954
  • Legislative Bulletin - 1953-1954
  • McGarran-Wood Bill - 1950
  • Mundt Bill - 1948-1950
  • National Committee Correspondence - 21952
  • National Committee Meetings Minutes - 1948
  • Box 28:
  • National Committee Meeting Minutes (4 folders) - 1948-1955
  • National Committee Officers and Members - 1948-1951
  • National Subcommittee on the Negro Vote - 1949-1950
  • Newsletters - 1951-15-952
  • Peace, including a letter from P. Robeson - 1950-1955
  • Platforms - 1948
  • Platform and Campaign - 1952
  • Press - 1950
  • Radio - 1948-1950
  • Rules of Organization - 1948
  • State Organization - 1949-1950
  • Washington State - 1951-1952
  • Series 7: U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
  • Box 29:
  • CD of the memos in Box 29
  • Agricultural Adjustment Administration, Personnel - 1933
  • C.B. Baldwin Memoranda - 1935-1936
  • Combined Food Board Meeting - 1943
  • Farm Security Administration, including letters from Franklin D. Roosevelt and Lyndon B. Johnson(5 folders) - 1937-1942
  • Box 30:
  • CD of the contents of Box 30
  • Farm Security Administration, including letters form Franklin D. Roosevelt (3 folders) - 1943-1945
  • Farm Security Administration Annual Reports - 1941-1947
  • Farm Security Administration Conference at Capon Springs - 1940
  • Farm Security Administration Congratulatory Letters - 1933-1943
  • Farm Security Administration Documentary Photography Program
  • Farm Security Administration Legislation - 1937-1941
  • Farm Security Administration National Defense Migration hearing - 1941-1942
  • Box 31:
  • CD of the contents of Box 31
  • Farm Security Administration Personal - 1936-1943
  • Farm Security Administration Personnel - 1933-1943
  • Farm Security Administration Regional and District Supervisors - 1943-1944
  • Farmers Home Administration - 1965
  • Resettlement Administration, including letters from H. Morgenthau Jr., Henry A. Wallace, and Franklin D. Roosevelt (2 folders) - 1933-1936
  • Resettlement Administration Report and Recommendations on Key Positions - 1935-1936
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 32:
  • Artwork
  • Election Night - 1948
  • First Black United States Senators
  • Miscellaneous Duplicate Photographs
  • Buenos Aires Housing Conference, United States Delegation - 1939
  • Democratic National Convention - 1944
  • Farm Conference, Chicago. September - 1948
  • Independent Citizen's Committee of the Arts, Sciences, and Professions (ICCASP)
  • Keep America Free Rally. October - 1947
  • Miscellaneous Wallace Groups. April-June - 1948
  • National Federation of Grain Cooperatives, Washington. April - 1965
  • National Citizens' Political Action Committee
  • National Wallace for President Committee Conference, Chicago. April - 1948
  • National Wallace for President Headquarters - 1948
  • National Conference of Social Work, Atlantic City, New Jersey - 1948
  • Political Workshop: Co-chairs
  • Rent Control Delegation, Albany, New York - 1947
  • PCA: Arts, Sciences and Professions Division Luncheon, Seattle, Washington
  • Progressive Citizens of Chicago: PCA, Chicago - 1947
  • PCA Founding Convention - 1946
  • PCA Leaders
  • PCA: Massachusetts
  • PCA: Pennsylvania
  • PCA: Washington School for Political Action - 1946
  • Progressive Party Candidates - 1948-1952
  • Progressive Party Founding convention, Chicago. June - 1948
  • Progressive Party, Second Convention, Philadelphia. July - 1948
  • State Organization. Independent Progressive Party of Nevada - 1948
  • Peoples Party of Connecticut - 1947-1948
  • Progressive Party: Illinois
  • Progressive Party: Massachusetts - 1948
  • Progressive Party of Michigan - 1948
  • Progressive Party of Missouri - 1948
  • Progressive Party: New Jersey - 1948?
  • Progressive Party: Ohio
  • State Organization: Pennsylvania
  • State Organization: Texas - 1948
  • State Organization: Washington - 1948
  • People: A - C
  • Alexander, Will
  • Baldwin, C.B.
  • Bowles, Chester. Dinner - 1946
  • Bass, Charlotta
  • Box 33:
  • People: D - H
  • Davidson, Jo
  • Downes, Olin
  • Durr, Virginia
  • Hallinan, Vincent and Vivian - 1952
  • Hellman, Lillian
  • Hillman, Sidney
  • People: I - P
  • Imbrie, James
  • Lamont, Corliss
  • Marcantonio, Vito - 1948
  • Meade-Lehman Dinner. October - 1946
  • Morgenthau, Henry - 1946
  • Mostel, Zero
  • Patton, James
  • Pepper, Senators George and Claude
  • Perkins, Thelma Dale
  • People: R
  • Robeson, Eslanda and Paul
  • Roosevelt, Franklin D.
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor Roosevelt Memorial Dinner
  • Roosevelt Memorial Dinner - 1946
  • People: T - V
  • Taylor, Glenn
  • Van Orden, Katherine
  • Wallace, Henry A.
  • People: W
  • Wallace, Mrs. Ilo
  • Whitney, A.F.
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Tours and Rallies: C - I
  • California: Wallace Day, Los Angeles - 1947
  • Idaho: Wallace Tour. May - 1948
  • Illinois: Wallace Rally, Chicago Stadium - 1947
  • Illinois: Wallace Rally, Moline - 1948
  • Illinois: Wallace Rally, Rock Island - 1948
  • Illinois: Wallace Rally, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Chicago - 1948
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Tours and Rallies: K - M
  • Kansas: Wallace Tour. May - 1948
  • Maryland: Baltimore Wallace for President - 1948?
  • Wallace Rallies: Massachusetts - 1947
  • Michigan: Wallace Rally, Detroit - 1948
  • Wallace Tour: Minnesota. February - 1948
  • Missouri: Wallace Rally, St. Louis
  • Box 33a:
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Tours and Rallies: N
  • New York: $100.00 Plate Dinner, New York City
  • New York: Wallace Rally, Brooklyn - 1948
  • New York: Wallace Rally, Madison Square Garden. March and September - 1947
  • New York: Wallace Rally, Madison Square Garden. May - 1948
  • New York: Wallace Rally, New York City, Yankee Stadium - 1948
  • Pennsylvania: Wallace rally, Philadelphia. September - 1947
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Tours and Rallies: P - W
  • Pennsylvania: Wallace Rallies, Pittsburgh - 1947-1948
  • Virginia, Richmond - 1948
  • Washington: Henry A. Wallace Speaking at University of Washington - 1948
  • Wisconsin: Wallace Rally, Milwaukee - 1947
  • On the Set of "Farmers and Defense": U.S. Department of Agriculture Studio. August 4 - 1941
  • Series 9: TAPE RECORDINGS
  • Box 34:
  • Audio cassette tape and 3 CDs. Baldwin, C.B.: Memorial Service (A.D. Black). June 9 - 1975
  • 5" reel-to-reel tape. Interview, largely on Glenn Taylor. August 12 - 1970
  • Audio cassette tape. Interview with Bob Pratt
  • 5" reel-to-reel tapes (2). Lader, Lawrence (W.W. Norton Publisher). On Radical Movements. May 28 - 1974
  • 5" reel-to-reel tapes (3). Walton, Dick. July 17 - 1974
  • Series 10: NEWS CLIPPINGS
  • Box 35:
  • Clippings - 1934-1935
  • Clippings - 1938
  • Clippings (8 folders)
    1940-1946
  • Box 36:
  • Clippings (6 folders) - 1946-1947
  • Box 37-38:
  • Clippings - 1947-1948
  • Box 39-54:
  • Clippings - 1948
  • Box 55:
  • Clippings - 1949-1952
  • Box 56:
  • Baldwin, C.B.: Appointment to Area Director of Economic Operations for Italy (3 folders) - 1943
  • Baldwin, Lillian
  • CIO-PAC - 1944
  • Columnists and Editorials (6 folders) - 1947-1948
  • Box 57:
  • Columnists and editorials (4 folders) - 1948
  • Daily News: Battle Page - 1944
  • Box 58:
  • Democratic National Convention (3 folders) - 1944
  • Election Guide - 1954
  • Hallinan, Vincent and Charlotta Bass - 1952
  • Lewis, Fulton Jr: Radio Broadcast: Favorable - 1949
  • Lewis, Fulton Jr.: Radio Broadcast: Neutral - 1949
  • Lewis, Fulton Jr.: Radio Broadcast: Unfavorable - 1949
  • Box 59:
  • Miscellaneous Newspapers - 1944-1950
  • NCPAC: School for Political Action - 1946
  • National Guardian - 1948-1958
  • Sub-Series: PCA
  • Box 59:
  • PCA (3 folders) - 1946-1947
  • Box 60:
  • Connecticut Chapter, including a speech of Henry A. Wallace - 1947
  • Convention (2 folders) - 1946, 1948
  • Detroit - 1947
  • Maryland - 1947
  • New Jersey - 1947
  • New York: PCA Politics - 1947
  • Pennsylvania - 1947
  • The Progressive Citizen - 1947-1948
  • Rhode Island Chapter - 1947
  • St. Louis, Missouri - 1947
  • Washington State - 1947
  • Sub-Series: Progressive Party
  • Box 60:
  • The Citizen - 1948
  • Box 61:
  • Convention (5 folders). July - 1948
  • Box 62:
  • Convention (4 folders). July - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 62:
  • Roosevelt, Franklin: Obituaries - 1945
  • Box 63:
  • San Francisco Daily People's Word - 1947
  • Taylor, Glenn - 1948
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture (2 folders) - 1933-1943
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture: Farm Security Administration - 1938
  • Sub-Series: Henry A. Wallace
  • Box 63:
  • Wallace, Henry A. - 1963
  • California - 1947
  • Candidacy - 1947
  • Cartoons - 148
  • Madison Square Garden Rally (2 folders) - 1947
  • Maryland, Baltimore - 1947
  • Massachusetts - 1947
  • Boston - 1947
  • Box 64:
  • Minnesota - 1947
  • Minnesota Trip - 1948
  • Missouri, St. Louis - 1947
  • Ohio - 1947
  • Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh - 1947
  • Resignation from Department of Commerce - 1946
  • Resignation from Progressive party
  • Rhode Island Chapter - 1947
  • Western Trip (4 folders) - 1945, 1947-1948
  • Series 11: SCRAPBOOKS
    Shelved in Oversized
  • Women for Wallace - 1948
  • Scrapbook I - 1945-1948
  • Scrapbook II - 1946