Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Comic Book Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-2013
Creator:
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0342
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Generally the comics in this particular collection are professionally-produced items and not mini-comics, zines, or similar sorts of amateur or self-published writings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Special Collections Floating Comic Book Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Floating Comic Book Collection consists of numerous comics acquired by Special Collections at various times and which are not attached to a particular donor or otherwise dedicated collection. Hence, they might be described as "floating". This collection is, in a sense, the equivalent of a general materials collection in a library.

The materials in this collection do not include mini-comics, zines, or similar sorts of amateur or self-published writings. (These can be found in the Floating Zine Collection.) Generally the comics in this particular collection are professionally-produced items (i.e. titles from established publishers such as Marvel or DC).
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Special Collections Floating Zine Collection, 1998-2009. 1.0 ft

Collection of assorted zines not tied to any particular donor or other collection. MsC331.

See more fandom-related collections at http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/resources/fandomresources/.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: RICK ALTMAN COLLECTION
Series 3: COLLEEN THEISEN COLLECTION
Series 4: DAVE MORICE COLLECTION

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Acme Novelty Library #9 - 11 [Fantagraphics Books] - 1998-1999
  • Acme Novelty Library #12 - 13 [Fantagraphics Books] - 1999
  • Acme Novelty Library #14 [Fantagraphics Books] - 2000
  • Acme Novelty Library #16 - 17 [Fantagraphics Books, hardcover] - 2005-2006
  • Adventure Comics #431 [DC Comics] January-February - 1974
  • The Amazing Spider-Man #583 [Marvel Comics] (March - Barack Obama on Cover) - 2009
  • Angel & Faith #1 [Dark Horse Comics] August - 2011
  • Archie At Riverdale High #2 [Archie Enterprises] September - 1972
  • Archie's TV Laugh-Out #23 [Archie Music Corp.] December - 1973
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender/Star Wars: The Clone Wars [Dark Horse Comics], Issued for Free Comic Book Day, May - 2011
  • The Avengers #369 [Marvel Comics] December - 1993
  • Baltimore/Criminal Macabre [Dark Horse Comics], Issued for Free Comic Book Day, May - 2011
  • The Big Guy and Rusty the Boy Robot #1- 2 [Dark Horse Comics], July-August - 1995
  • Bloodlines: A Tale From The Heart of Africa #1 [Epic Comics] - 1992
  • Buffy The Vampire Slayer [Season Eight] #33 [Dark Horse Comics], March - 2010
  • Buffy The Vampire Slayer [Season Eight] #36 [Dark Horse Comics], September - 2010
  • Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Riley [Dark Horse Comics], August - 2010
  • The Darkness: Confession [Top Cow Productions], Issued for Free Comic Book Day, May - 2011
  • DC Kids #1 [DC Comics], Issued for Free Comic Book Day, June - 2009
  • Dead of Night #1 [Marvel Comics], December - 1973
  • Geek-Girl #0 [Fanbabes], December - 2009
  • Girls' Love Stories #170 [DC Comics] June - 1972
  • Kid Colt Outlaw #160 [Marvel Comics] July - 1972
  • Life In Prison [Fantagraphics Books] May - 1995
  • The Life of Christ: The Easter Story [Marvel Comics] - 1993
  • Normal, Iowa #1, 2 [DEA Graphics] - 2012, 2013
  • Our Fighting Forces #154 [DC Comics] April - 1975
  • Richie Rich #108 [Harvey Comics] August - 1971
  • Richie Rich and Jackie Jokers #14 [Harvey Comics] March - 1976
  • Box 2:
  • Shonen Jump vol. 6 #10 [VIZ Media] October - 2008
  • Spider-Woman #49 [Marvel Comics] April - 1983
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Gauntlet of Death [Dark Horse Comics], Issued for Free Comic Book Day, May - 2009
  • Superboy #200 [DC Comics] January-February - 1974
  • Superman #271 [DC Comics] January - 1974
  • Superman: The Man of Steel #30 [DC Comics] February - 1994
  • Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen #161 [DC Comics] November - 1973
  • Tales From The Heart #1 - 2 [Entropy Enterprises] n.d - 1987
  • Tales From The Heart #3 - 6 [Slave Labor Graphics] - 1988-1989
  • Tales From The Heart #7 - 11 [Slave Labor Graphics] - 1990-1994
  • Tales From The Heart of Africa: The Temporary Natives [Epic Comics] August - 1990
  • Western Gunfighters #22 [Marvel Comics] May - 1974
  • Wolverine v. 2 #50 [Marvel Comics] January - 1992
  • Wolverine: Origin of an X-Man #1 [Marvel Comics, Issued for Free Comic Book Day, May - 2009
  • Wonder Woman v. 3 #9 [DC Comics] July - 2007
  • Young Love #94 [DC Comics] April - 1972
  • Series 2: RICK ALTMAN COLLECTION
  • Box 2:
  • Archie:"Fued For Thought" [Archie Publications, Inc.] vol. 1#86 May-June - 1957
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 48 "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea" - 1948/Spring 1970
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no.147 "Ben Hur" - 1957/Fall 1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no.48 "David Copperfield" - 1948/Winter 1969
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no.13 "Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde - 1946/Winter 1969
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no.11 "Don Quixote" - 1946/1969
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no.19 "Huckleberry Finn" - 1946/Summer 1970
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 18 "The Hunchbackof Notre Dame" - 1946/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 77 "The Iliad" 5 copies - 1940/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 39 "Jane Eyre" - 1947/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 9 "Les Miserables" - 1946/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 23 "The Odyssey" - 1951/1969
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 18 "Oliver Twist" - 1945/1969
  • Box 3:
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 98 "The Red Badge of Courage" - 1952/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 134 "Romeo and Juliet" - 1956/1969
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 6 "A Tale of Two Cities" - 1946/1968
  • Classics Illustrated [Gilberton Company, Inc.] no. 62 "Western Stories" - 1949/1968
  • The Adventures of Fat Freddy's Cat Book 6 [Gilbert Shelton] - 1986
  • Dirty Plotte no. 2 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] March - 1991
  • Dirty Plotte no. 3 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] December - 1992
  • Dirty Plotte no. 4 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] November - 1994
  • Dirty Plotte no. 5 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] May - 1992
  • Dirty Plotte no. 6 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] January - 1993
  • Dirty Plotte no. 7 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] September - 1993
  • Dirty Plotte no. 8 [Drawn & Quarterly Publications] February - 1994
  • Eight Ball no. 14 [Fantagraphic Books] - 1989
  • Elektra Assassin no. 1 [Epic Comics] August - 1986
  • Elektra Assassin no. 2 [Epic Comics] September - 1986
  • Elektra Assassin no. 5 [Epic Comics] December - 1986
  • Elektra Assassin no. 6 [Epic Comics] January - 1987
  • Elektra Assassin no. 7 [Epic Comics] February - 1987
  • Elektra Assassin no. 8 [Epic Comics] March - 1987
  • Good Girls no. 1 [Fantagraphic Books] April - 1987
  • Hothead Paisan no. 10 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1993
  • Hothead Paisan no. 11 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1993
  • Hothead Paisan no. 12 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1993
  • Hothead Paisan no. 13 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1994
  • Hothead Paisan no. 14 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1994
  • Hothead Paisan no. 15 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1994
  • Hothead Paisan no. 16 [Giant Ass Publishing] - 1994
  • Love and Rockets no. 1 [Fantagraphic Books] - 1982
  • Dirty Plotte no. 9 [Drawn & Quarterly]  - 1995
  • Real Girl no. 1 [Fantagraphics Books] October - 1990
  • Real Girl no. 2 [Fantagraphics Books] - 1991
  • Real Girl no. 3 [Fantagraphics Books] March - 1992
  • Real Girl no. 4 [Fantagraphics Books] September - 1992
  • Reid Fleming no. 1 [Eclipse Comics] February - 1989
  • Tank Girl no. 2 [Dark Horse Comics] July - 1993
  • Twisted Sisters [Penguin Books] - 1991
  • Series 3: COLLEEN THEISEN COLLECTION
  • Box 3:
  • Rain
  • Dungeon Masters, 01
  • Picnic
  • Extracurricular Lesson
  • Harry Potter & Weasley vol. 3
  • Invaluable Time
  • Tiger Milk
  • Harry Potter & Hermione Granger
  • Spin
  • A Place in the Sun
  • ?
  • Master and Pupil Lover
  • Popover
  • Riddle x Harry
  • +One: Harry Potter Fan Book 8: Weasley & Harry
  • Box 4:
  • Wrapper
  • Wrapper
  • Wrapper
  • Series 4: DAVE MORICE COLLECTION
  • Box 4:
  • Alien Ducklings no. 1 [Blackthorne Publishing Inc.] October - 1986
  • Ambush Bug no. 1 [DC Comics] - 1985
  • Ambush Bug no. 2 [DC Comics] - 1985
  • Archie no. 427 [Archie Comics] September - 1994
  • Batman and the Outsiders no. 12 [DC Comics] July - 1984
  • Batman no. 423 [DC Comics] September - 1988
  • Batman no. 531 [DC Comics] June - 1996
  • Batman no. 532 [DC Comics] July - 1996
  • Big [Hit Comics] - 1988
  • Brilliant Boy no. 3 [Circus Comics] May - 1997
  • Catwoman no. 17 [DC Comics] January - 1995
  • Catwoman no. 55 [DC Comics] March - 1998
  • Challenge! Chapter Four [DC Comics] February - 1986
  • Challengers of the Unknown no. 3 [DC Comics] May - 1991
  • Cosmic Boy no. 1 [DC Comics] December - 1986
  • Daredevil no. 276 [Marvel Comics] January - 1990
  • Daredevil no. 279 [Marvel Comics] April - 1990
  • Destroyer Duck no. 3 [Eclipse Comics] June - 1983
  • Flash Gordon no. 6 [DC Comics] November - 1988
  • Gumby 3-D no. 2 [Blackthorne Publishing Inc.] December - 1986
  • The Impossible Man no. 1 [Marvel Comics] August - 1990
  • Iron Man no. 258 [Marvel Comics] July - 1990
  • Iron Man no. 260 [Marvel Comics] September - 1990
  • Nightmask no. 1 [Marvel Comics] November - 1986
  • New Talent Showcase no. 7 [DC Comics] July - 1984
  • New Talent Showcase no. 9 [DC Comics] September - 1984
  • Power of the Atom no. 15 [DC Comics] August - 1989
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 5 [Marvel Comics] April - 1994
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 8 [Marvel Comics] July - 1993
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 18 [Marvel Comics] May - 1994
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 23 [Marvel Comics] October - 1994
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 25 [Marvel Comics] December - 1994
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 29 [Marvel Comics] April - 1995
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 30 [Marvel Comics] May - 1995
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 37 [Marvel Comics] December - 1995
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 38 [Marvel Comics] January - 1996
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 41 [Marvel Comics] April - 1996
  • The Ren & Stimpy Show no. 121 [Marvel Comics] February - 1993
  • Robin Red and the Lutins no. 1 [ACE Comics] November - 1986
  • Silverheels no. 1 [Pacific Comics] December - 1983
  • The Son of Satan no. 3 [Marvel Comics Group] April - 1976
  • The Spectre no. 4 [DC Comics] July - 1987
  • Speedball no. 8 [Marvel Comics] April - 1989
  • Spellbound no. 1 [Marvel Comics] January - 1988
  • Spider-man no. 89 [Marvel Comics] March - 1998
  • Stalkers no. 5 [Epic Comics] August - 1990
  • Star Wars: Crimson Empire no. 3 [Dark Horse Comics] February - 1998
  • Strange Tales no. 1 [Marvel Comics Group] April - 1987
  • Superman no. 118 [DC Comics] December - 1996
  • Superman no. 123 [DC Comics] May - 1997
  • Adventures of Superman no. 562 [DC Comics] October - 1998
  • What the--? No. 26 [Marvel Comics] - 1993
  • X-Men no. 48 [Marvel Comics] January - 1996
  • Box 5:
  • Adelita no. 41 [Editora Cinco] - 1982
  • Archi no. 1 [Archie Comics] - 1982
  • Archi no. 8 [Archie Comics]
  • Batman no. 2-1001 [DC Comics] November - 1979
  • Batman no. 2 [DC Comics]
  • Batman no. 2-1005 [DC Comics] December - 1979
  • Batman no. 2-1116 [DC Comics] February - 1982
  • Batman no. 2-1143 [DC Comics] August - 1982
  • Batman no. 2-1167 [DC Comics] January - 1983
  • Batman no. 2-1171 [DC Comics] February - 1983
  • Condorito no. 160 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 167 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 158 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 158 [World Editors, Inc.] cop. 2 - 1971
  • Condorito no. 169 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 210 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 215 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 224 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito no. 225 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito no. 231 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 240 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 242 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 248 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito no. 257 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 270 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 279 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito de Lujo no. 2 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito: Libro de Oro no. 3 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito: Libro de Oro no. 4 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito de Lujo no. 15 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito de Lujo no. 18 [Servi-Edit International, Inc.] - 1987
  • Condorito no. 144 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 155 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 157 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Condorito no. 153 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Cone el Travieso no. 3 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Cone el Travieso no. 32 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • Cone el Travieso no. 40 [World Editors, Inc.] - 1971
  • El Conejo de la Suerte no. 1 [Warner Bros Inc.] - 1982
  • Box 6:
  • Domingos Alegres no. 5 [Cayuga Productions, Inc.] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 15 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1980
  • Don Miki no. 30 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1980
  • Don Miki no. 45 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 55 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 66 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 73 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 75 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 76 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 81 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1981
  • Don Miki no. 95 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1982
  • Don Miki no. 97 [Walt Disney Productions] - 1982
  • Eres el Colmo, Charlie Brown [United Feature Syndicate, Inc.] - 1974
  • Fantomas no. 1 [?]
  • Pluto no. 38 [Walt Disney Productions]
  • Pluto no. 124 [Walt Disney Productions]
  • Historietas Disney no. 126 [Walt Disney Productions]
  • Historietas Disney no. 131 [Walt Disney Productions]
  • Larguirucho no. 11 [Editora Cinco S. A.] - 1982
  • Larguirucho no. 13 [Editora Cinco S. A.] - 1982
  • Larguirucho no. 15 [Editora Cinco S. A.] - 1982
  • Mickey no. 14 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • Mickey no. 16 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • Mickey no. 33 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • El Pajaro Loco no. 1 [Editora Cinco S. A.] - 1983
  • El Pajaro Loco [Organizacion Editorial Novaro, S. A.] - 1976
  • La Pantera Rosa y el Inspector [Organizacion Editorial Novaro, S. A.] - 1983
  • Pato Donald no. 19 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • Pato Donald no. 22 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • Pato Donald no. 22 [The Walt Disney Company] cop. 2
  • Periquita [United Features Syndicate, Inc.] - 1982
  • La Rochela [Publicaciones Seleven C. A.]
  • Samurai no. 83 [Editora Cinco S. A.] - 1983
  • Box 7:
  • Supercomic no. 1 [Organizacion Editorial Novaro, S. A.]
  • Superman no. 2-1362 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1982
  • Supercomic no. 2-235 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1982
  • Supercomic no. 2-296 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1983
  • Superman no. 2-1398 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1982
  • Superman no. 2-1428 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1983
  • Tamakun no. 33 [Editorial America, SA] - 1975
  • Tamakun no. 38-9 [Editorial America SA] - 1975
  • Titanes Planetarios no. 2-403 [DC Comics, Inc.] - 1977
  • Tio Rico no. 22 [The Walt Disney Company]
  • Tio Rico no. 25 [The Walt Disney Company] - 1990
  • Tribilin no. 124 [Walt Disney Productions]
  • La Zorra y el Cuervo [Organizacion Editorial Novaro, S. A.]

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Comic Books