Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Seth Temple Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1895-1900
Creator: Temple, Seth (1867-)
Extent: 3.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0339
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Architect of Davenport, Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Malcolm Temple, executor of the Arthur Temple estate, in 1952.

Preferred Citation: Seth Temple Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Seth Temple was born in 1867 in Winona, Minnesota. After attending Winona High School, he attended the Columbia School of Mines in New York City. He received a BSc in architecture in 1892. From 1892 to 1895 he was a teacher in the school of architecture with the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. In 1896, he was awarded the Columbia traveling fellowship in architecture and during twenty months in 1895-1896 he studied in Europe. After teaching at the University of Illinois, he came to Davenport, Iowa, where he was associated with various architectural firms over the years.

This collection consists of three large wallet folders of drawings made by Seth Temple, some during his travels in Europe.
MAIN Oversize FOLIO, call number NA2600 .A4 (In Original storage)

Camp McClellan During the Civil War

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ARCHITECTURE

  • Series 1: ARCHITECTURE
  • Box 1:
  • Three large wallet folders of architectural drawings

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Temple, Seth J. (Seth Justin), 1867-

Topics:
Architecture

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Architectural drawings (Visual works)
Sketchbooks