Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lester L. Kluever Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-1970
Creator: Kluever, Lester L. (1920-1991)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0338
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state representative and attorney. Correspondence, political files relating to elections and campaigns, and subject folders with topics ranging from apportionment to liquor laws document his legislative service.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Lester Kluever in 1976.

Preferred Citation: Lester L. Kluever Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lester Luverne Kluever (1920-1991) was born on a farm near Atlantic, Iowa. He earned his B.S. degree in business administration from the University of Iowa in 1947. In 1950, he completed his law degree at Iowa. He entered into a legal practice, Kluever & Van Ginkel, in his hometown. Lester L. Kluever was a Republican member of the state legislature from 1956 to 1970. He belonged to numerous professional, civic, and charitable organizations including the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, the Atlantic Chamber of Commerce, the American Legion, and the Farm Bureau. Kluever died of a heart attack at the age of seventy.

The Lester L. Kluever collection is arranged alphabetically by subject, and chronologically within each subject. Materials document his political career and include correspondence, subject files, and election materials. The correspondence is divided into categories such as letters from constituents, letters concerning specific legislative sessions or issues, letters requesting favors or information, etc. Notable correspondents include Robert D. Ray, William J. Scherle, Jack Miller, and Ben F. Jensen. Some folders are strictly political in nature, dealing with the Republican Party, elections, and campaign issues. The vast majority of this collection, however, is made up of subject files relating to legislative issues ranging from apportionment to liquor laws and public utilities to pari-mutuel betting.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: POLITICAL CAREER

  • Series 1: POLITICAL CAREER
  • Box 1:
  • Anita Lake - 1960-1965
  • Anita Road - 1963
  • Annual Sessions - 1968
  • Appropriations - 1963-1965
  • Assessments of property tax - 1963-1964
  • Bills introduced - 1957
  • Bills introduced or handled - 1965
  • Bills introduced or handled - 1967
  • Bills: miscellaneous - 1965
  • Bills: miscellaneous - 1967
  • Box 2:
  • Bills: summary - 1961
  • Blood test - 1961
  • Board of control - 1966
  • Board of Regents - 1960-1968
  • Bowling Bill - 1965
  • Budget - 1962-1966
  • Bus Ride Bill for Private Schools - 1963-1971
  • Campaign - 1966
    Including a letter from Robert D. Ray
  • Check Bill - 1967
  • Cities and Towns (League of Iowa Municipalities) - 1964-1967
  • Civil Service - 1967
  • Box 3:
  • Commerce Committee - 1965
  • Community College - 1967
  • Comptroller - 1961-1965
  • Conservation - 1966-1967
  • Conventions: State and Presidential - 1962-1968
  • Court Study Committee - 1967
  • Dairy Bill: HF 203, SF 120, F 404, - 1963-1965
  • Daylight Savings Time - 1965
  • Deer Hunting Bill - 1965
  • Doves - 1963-1967
  • Box 4:
  • Educational TV - 1966-1967
  • Election Contest - 1959
  • Election Contest - 1967
  • Electoral College Reform - 1961
  • Exira-Davids Creek Flood Control Project - 1965-1968
  • Fair Employment Laws - 1962-1963
  • Farm Bureau - 1966-1967
  • Firearms - 1965
  • Floor Leader - 1962
    Including letters from William J. Scherle and Marvin W. Smith
  • Fraternals and Mutuals - 1963-1965
  • Gas Tax Increase - 1964-1965
  • Government Reorganization - 1967
  • Guthrie County Lake - 1963
  • Industrial Loan Bill
  • Insurance Bills - 1965
  • Iowa Good Roads Association - 1962-1967
  • Iowa-Nebraska Boundary Dispute Committee - 1960-1964
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa State Education Association - 1964-1967
  • Iowa Taxpayers Association - 1961-1969
  • IPERS - 1967
  • Judiciary Committee - 1965
  • Judiciary Committee - 1967
    Including a letter from Clyde E. Herring
  • Labor - 1962-1969
    2 folders
  • Legalizing Acts - 1965
  • Legislation - 1957-1959
  • Legislation - 1961-1963
  • Box 6:
  • Legislation - 1969
  • Letters: Cass County - 1970
  • Letters from constituents - 1959-1960
    Including a letter from T. J. Frey
  • Letters from constituents - 1961
  • Letters from constituents - 1960-1967
    Including letters from Harold E. Hughes, Melvin D. Synhorst, B. B. Hicklenlooper, Jack Miller, John R. Hansen, and Norman A. Erbe
  • Letters from constituents - 1963-1964
  • Box 7:
  • Letters from constituents - 1967
    3 folders
  • Letters from constituents - 1969
    2 folders, including a letter from Donald E. Johnson
  • Letters from constituents: Liquor - 1959
  • Letters from constituents: Liquor - 1963
  • Box 8:
  • Letters from others - 1959-1964
    3 folders, including letters from Jack Miller, Ben F. Jensen, and Lew Warren
  • Letters, 1965 Session
    2 folders
  • Letters, 1967 Session
    Including a letter from William J. Scherle
  • Letters, 1969 Session
  • Letters - 1970
  • Letters: Seeking office, speakers - 1963-1966
    Including two letters from William J. Scherle
  • Letters to be answered - 1963
    Including a letter from Ben F. Jensen
  • Box 9:
  • Letters to be answered and information for constituents - 1965-1966
    Including a letter from Charles E. Grassley
  • Liquor by drink - 1963
  • Lobbyists
  • Meat Imports - 1964
  • Mentally Retarded - 1966
  • Nursing Homes - 1965
  • Obituary - 1991
  • Opticians Bill - 1967
  • Optometrists - 1960-1967
  • Outdoor Advertising - 1961-1965
  • Parimutuel Horse Racing - 1965-1967
    2 folders
  • Personal Property Tax - 1967
  • Platforms: Republican Party - 1964-1968
  • Polls - 1967
  • Primary Law in Iowa - 1969
  • Box 10:
  • Probate Code
  • Proportionate Sharing: Education - 1965-1967
  • Public Instruction - 1960-1963
  • Public Safety - 1966-1967
  • Public Utilities - 1964
  • Questionnaires - 1965-1967
  • Rabies Control Bill - 1963-1964
  • Reapportionment
    3 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Reapportionment
  • Reapportionment - 1969
  • Redistricting: Senate and Congressional - 1958-1961
  • Republican Party - 1949-1966
  • Savings and Loan - 1965
  • Schools - 1968-1969
  • Session - 1961
  • Session - 1969
  • Sex Education - 1969
  • Box 12:
  • Shoplifting Bill - 1961
  • Shoppers Guide Bill - 1967
  • Sifting Committee - 1967
  • Sunday Closing Law - 1963-1965
  • Tax Bills - 1965-1966
  • Tax Study Committee - 1966-1967
  • Tire Studs - 1965-1967
  • Utilities Bill - 1961-1967
    2 folders
  • Vocational Rehabilitation - 1960-1965
  • Vocational Rehabilitation - 1967
  • Water Pollution - 1966
  • Ways and Means - 1961-1965
  • Webster City Gas Bill - 1965
  • Western Iowa State College - 1970