Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Elliott M. Ruben Amateur Press Association Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-2009
Creator: Ruben, Elliot M. (1916-2009)
Extent: 30.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0336
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Amateur journalist and member of a number of amateur press associations. Bundles of apa publications, apa official journals, correspondence, official apa documents, and Ruben's childhood efforts at printing.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Ruben Collection was received in October 2009 from Elliott Ruben's widow Loretta Ruben of Rockville Centre, New York. The transfer was faciliated by Heath Row, now of Los Angeles, CA.

Preferred Citation: Elliott M. Ruben Amateur Press Association Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Elliott M. Ruben was born in New York on September 10, 1916. From an early age he was interested in the world of amateur printing - his earliest publication in this collection is Elliot M. Ruben's Puzzle Book, dating from 1926. Ruben was an early member of the American Amateur Printing Association, which he first joined in September 1937. He was also a member of several other nationwide amateur journalism organizations, including the National Amateur Press Association, the United Amateur Press Association of America, and the Amalgamated Printers Association.

Ruben received the 1937 AAPA Laureate Award Honorable Mention for his short story "Christmas Gift". Among his other ajay publications is the small zine Random Thoughts, which he produced for AAPA starting in 1963.

Elliott Ruben died in New York City on July 7, 2009. He was survived by his wife Loretta.

This collection consists of a number of different materials relating to Elliott Ruben's interests in amateur journalism ("ajay") and his membership in a number of amateur press associations ("apas").

The materials in Series I consist of 'bundles' of publications sent to apa members at regular intervals. In most apas, members submit copies of their publications to an Official Mailer (or Editor, who then collates the materials into 'bundles' and sends them to the membership so that each member has a copy of whatever publication the other members choose to print and distribute. The Ruben Collection organizes its bundles alphabetically by the name of the apa, and thereunder chronologically by the date sent. Oversize materials from each bundle have been unfolded and placed behind the smaller materials in the bundle - in folders that have bundles with oversize materials, these large and unfolded materials serve as the boundary between individual bundles. The Ruben Collection contains bundles for several apas - the Amalgamated Printers Association (APA), the American Amateur Press Association (AAPA), the National Amateur Press Association (NAPA), and the United Amateur Press Association of America (UAPA)- that cover the decades from the 1930s through the early 2000s.

Series II consists almost entirely of the official organizational publications issued by the apas listed above. Series III contains various ajay publications (zines, flyers, advertisements, handbills, and other examples of amateur printing) that arrived at the University of Iowa unattached to any particular bundle. Many of these items probably come from members of the UAPA, for which the original envelopes long since disintegrated. These items are arranged alphabetically by the title of the publication. Also contained in this series are several cooperative publications (annual anthologies of ajay items) produced by various apas.

Series IV consists of correspondence sent to Ruben from many of his friends in the ajay world, as well as official materials produced by the apas of which he was a member

Series V contains Ruben's childhood publications, created by Ruben from the ages of 10-16.
GERINGER, LAUREN, 1908-1992. Lauren Geringer Papers, 1919-1992. 1.75 ft.

Iowa City printer and author. The bulk of the collection is comprised of monthly bundles from amateur press associations during 1990 and 1991, including the Amalgamated Printers Association, the National Amateur Press Association, and Peat's press. Items from Geringer's Press, clippings about Geringer, a miscellaneous collection of samples of printing, and several editions of his small journal, People Watcher make up the remainderof the collection. MsC 847.

HORVAT, M. The M. Horvat Collection of Genre Apazines, 1943, 1945, 1958-2002.

A collection of science fiction, fantasy, mystery and other genre "apazines" (informal publications similar to newsletters or fanzines, and published by fan groups called Amateur Press Associations, or "apas"). MsC825.

MILLER, GUY. Guy Miller Amateur Printing Collection, 1934 - 1989. 0.8 ft.

Collection of amateur print publications, most dating from the early and mid 20th century. MsC 881.

ROW, HEATH. Heath Row Amateur Press Association Collection, 1934-2010. 2.0 ft.

Zine writer and editor, and member of multiple amateur press associations. Includes apa publications, apa official organs, and assorted loose ajay publications. MsC 364.

TURNEPSEED, WILLAMETTA, 1909-1989. Papers of Burton Jay Smith and Willametta Turnepseed, 1941-1944. 0.8 ft.

Correspondence, chiefly love letters, between amateur printers Smith and Turnepseed, together with a few additional materials, including copies of their co-edited Literary Newsette. Many of Smith's letters document his activities training as a navigator in the United States Army Air Force, 1943-1944. MsC868.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: APA BUNDLES
Series 2: APA OFFICIAL ORGANS
Series 3: ASSORTED AJAY PUBLICATIONS
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE AND OFFICIAL APA MATERIAL
Series 5: ELLIOTT M. RUBEN'S CHILDHOOD PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: APA BUNDLES
  • Sub-Series: Amalgamated Printers Association
  • Box 1:
  • May - 1972
  • September-November - 1975
  • December - 1975
  • January-April - 1976
  • May-August - 1976
  • September-December - 1976
  • January-March - 1977
  • April-July - 1977
  • August-December - 1977
  • January-March - 1978
  • April-June - 1978
  • July-September - 1978
  • October-December - 1978
  • July-September - 1979
  • October-December - 1979
  • January-March - 1980
  • Box 2:
  • April-June - 1980
  • July-September - 1980
  • October-December - 1980
  • January-March - 1981
  • April-June - 1981
  • July-September - 1981
  • October-December - 1981
  • January-March - 1982
  • April-June - 1982
  • July-September - 1982
  • October-December - 1982
  • January-March - 1983
  • April-June - 1983
  • July-August - 1983
  • September-November - 1983
  • Box 3:
  • December-February - 1983-1984
  • March-May - 1984
  • June-August - 1984
  • September-November - 1984
  • December-February - 1984-1985
  • March-May - 1985
  • June-August - 1985
  • September-November - 1985
  • December-March - 1985-1986
  • April-June - 1986
  • June (2)-September - 1986
  • October-December - 1986
  • December (2)-March - 1986-1987
  • April-May - 1987
  • July-August - 1987
  • Box 4:
  • October-December - 1987
  • January-March - 1988
  • April-June - 1988
  • July-September - 1988
  • October-December - 1988
  • January-March - 1989
  • April-June - 1989
  • July-September - 1989
  • October-December - 1989
  • January-March - 1990
  • April-June - 1990
  • July-September - 1990
  • October-December - 1990
  • Box 5:
  • January-March - 1991
  • April-June - 1991
  • July-September - 1991
  • October-December - 1991
  • January-March - 1992
  • April-June - 1992
  • August-September - 1992
  • October-December - 1992
  • January-March - 1993
  • April-June - 1993
  • July-September - 1993
  • October-December - 1993
  • Box 6:
  • January-February - 1994
  • March-May - 1994
  • June-August - 1994
  • September-November - 1994
  • December-March - 1994-1995
  • April-June - 1995
  • July-September - 1995
  • October-December - 1995
  • January-March - 1996
  • April-June - 1996
  • July-September - 1996
  • October-December - 1996
  • Box 7:
  • January-March through September-October - 1997-1999
  • Box 8:
  • November-December - 1999
  • Sub-Series: American Amateur Press Association
  • Box 9:
  • January-March - 1939
  • May - 1939
  • Bundle [Exact Month Unknown], Early - 1945
  • Bundle [Exact Month Unknown], Early - 1946
  • Bundle [Exact Month Unknown], Early or Mid - 1946
  • May-August - 1946
  • July-December - 1947-1948
  • February - 1949
  • April - 1949
  • June - 1949
  • July - 1949
  • December - 1949
  • April Mailing-June - 1961-1963
  • Box 10:
  • July through January-March - 1963-1964
  • April-June through January - 1964-1969
  • January-March - 1974
  • Box 11:
  • April-June through January-February - 1974-1978
  • January-March - 1979
  • Box 12:
  • April-June through April-June - 1979-1983
  • Box 13:
  • July-September through July-September - 1983-1984
  • Box 14:
  • October-December through July-September - 1986-1990
  • Box 15:
  • October-December through January-March - 1990-1994
  • Box 16:
  • April-June through July-September - 1994-1997
  • Box 17:
  • October-December through October-December - 1997-1999
  • January-February - 2001
  • February - 2009
  • Sub-Series: National Amateur Press Association
  • Box 17:
  • June-September through July-September - 1965-1966
  • Box 18:
  • October-December through October-November - 1966-1967
  • February-March/April through October - 1968
  • December - 1968
  • January-April through November-December - 1969
  • January-March through January-March - 1974-1975
  • Box 19:
  • April-June through January-March - 1975-1979
  • Box 20:
  • April-June through October-December - 1979-1982
  • Box 21:
  • January-March through October-December - 1983-1986
  • Box 22:
  • January-March through October-December - 1987-1990
  • Box 23:
  • January-March through July-August - 1991-1994
  • May-August - 1997
  • Sub-Series: United Amateur Press Association of America
  • Box 24:
  • Various Publications - 1932-1933
  • Various Publications - 1934
    2 folders
  • May - 1935
  • June - 1935
  • November - 1935
  • December - 1935
  • Various Publications - 1935
    2 folders
  • January-April - 1936
  • June - 1936
  • September - 1936
  • December - 1936
  • Various Publications - 1936
  • March - 1937
  • Box 25:
  • June - 1937
  • Fall or Winter - 1937
  • Various Publications - 1937
  • March - 1938
  • May - 1938
  • August - 1938
  • Various Publications - 1938
  • January - 1939
  • May - 1939
  • January or February - 1965
  • Series 2: APA OFFICIAL ORGANS
  • Box 26:
  • The Amateur Journalist (United Amateur Press Association of America): October - 1904
  • The Amateur Journalist (American Amateur Press Association) - 1937-1939
    Except September/October through November/December '38
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1940, 1941-1942
    Except October-December '40 and August-September
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1943-1944, 1945
    Except vol. 8 #2 and vol. 9 #6
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1946-1947, 1948
    Except vol. 12 #3
  • The Amateur Journalist: vol. 13 #4-5, vol. 15 #1, vol. 16 #1 - 1949, 1950, 1951
  • The Amateur Journalist: vol. 16 #6, vol. 17 #1, vol. 17 #2 and #6, vol. 18 #1, vol. 19 #1 - 1952, 1953, 1954
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960
    Includes: September and October '56, September '57, September '58, November/December '59, #5/6 and November/December '60
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1961, 1962-1963
    Except January/February and March/April '61
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1964-1967
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1968-1971
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1972-1973, 1974-1975
    Except July '73
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979
    Except July '76, January-March and November '77, March-May and September '78, September '79
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1980-1983
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1984-1987
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1988, 1989-1991
    Except July '88, and July-September '91
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1992-1993, 1994, 1995
    Except March '94
  • The Amateur Journalist - 1996-1997, 1998, 1999
    Except September '97, January and May '98, and July '99
  • The Amateur Journalist: January-March, January-September - 2000, 2004
  • APA Journal (Amalgamated Printers Association): February-April and March - 1963, 1964
  • The Fossil [Official Organ of the Alumni of Amateur Journalism]: #154, #158 July - 1957, 1958
  • The Fossil [The Fossils, Inc., Historians of Amateur Journalism]: January, July, October - 1990, 1997
  • The Fossil [The Fossils, Inc., Historians of Amateur Journalism]: January, January-October, July - 1998, 1999, 2000
  • Fossilbed #12, November - 1998
  • National Amateur (National Amateur Press Association): July, March - 1914, 1927
  • National Amateur: December, December, June-December - 1945, 1946, 1947
  • National Amateur: September, March - 1953, 1954
  • National Amateur: September-December, March through June - 1987, 1988-1990
  • National Amateur: September through September - 1990-1992
  • National Amateur: December through June - 1992-1994
  • United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America): November, September - 1905, 1909
  • United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America): June through June - 1932-1936
  • United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America): September through December - 1936-1938
  • United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America): August, December, May, December through September - 1945, 1946, 1946-1947
  • United Amateur (United Amateur Press Association of America): January-February, July/August-September, January/February - 1965, 1967, 1968
  • Series 3: ASSORTED AJAY PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 27:
  • A - 1937-1997
  • Apa Wayzgoose - 1978, 1997
  • B - 1965-1998
  • C -- D - 1933-1993
  • E -- F - 1963-1995
  • The Gator Growl [Lee Hawes, author] - 1946-1947, 1955, 1962, 1968
  • The Griddle [Sheldon Wesson, editor] - 1941-1947, 1993
  • G -- I - 1933-1996
  • Ink Cahoots [AAPA Cooperative Annual]: #1-8 - 1973-1980
  • Ink Cahoots [AAPA Cooperative Annual]: #9-16 - 1981-1988
  • Ink Cahoots [AAPA Cooperative Annual]: #18-25 - 1990-1997
  • Ink Cahoots [AAPA Cooperative Annual]: #26-29, #33-34 - 1998-2001, 2005-2006
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #3-7 - 1957-1961
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #9-14 - 1963-1968
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #15-20 - 1969-1974
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #21-26 - 1975-1980
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #27-32 - 1981-1986
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #33-37 - 1987-1991
  • It's A Small World [Cooperative Annual]: #38-41 - 1992-1995
  • J -- L - 1942-2000
  • M - 1937-1999
  • N -- O - 1933-1993
  • P -- R - 1933-1999
  • Siamese Standpipe [Sheldon and Helen Wesson, authors]
  • #1-5: April-October - 1942
  • #7-10: April-September - 1943
  • Siamese Standpipe: #11-19: Fall-August - 1943-1947
  • Siamese Standpipe
  • #24-25: Autumn-Christmas - 1953
  • #27-28: Spring-May - 1954
  • Box 28:
  • Siamese Standpipe
  • #30-31: September-Christmas - 1954
  • #34-37: Christmas-July - 1957
  • Siamese Standpipe
  • #38-39: Christmas-February - 1957-1958
  • #41: September - 1961
  • S - 1945-1987
  • Treasure Games [Amalgamated Printers Association Cooperative Annual]: #5-9 - 1975-1979
  • Treasure Games: #10-14 - 1980-1984
  • Treasure Games: #15-16, 18-19 - 1985-1986, 1988-1989
  • Treasure Games: #20, 24, 27-28 - 1990, 1994, 1997-1998
  • Box 29:
  • T -- V - 1946-1981
  • W -- Y - 1950-1959
  • Assorted Printed Products, various dates
    3 folders
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE AND OFFICIAL APA MATERIAL
  • Box 30:
  • Ballots -- AAPA - 1962, 1980-1995
  • Conference Tag -- AAPA - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1933-1957
  • Correspondence - 1958-1964
  • Correspondence - 1965-1998
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Correspondence, Official -- AAPA - 1949-1981
  • Correspondence, Official -- Other Apas - 1937, 1967-1968
  • Documents, Official -- AAPA - 1962-1973
  • Series 5: ELLIOTT M. RUBEN'S CHILDHOOD PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • The Amateur Journalist
  • Volume 1:1-4: April, October-December - 1932
  • Volume 1:5-6: January, March - 1933
  • Volume 2:1-2: July-August - 1933
  • The Vigorous Boy #1: August - 1932
  • Box 2:
  • Baseball Score Book April - 1928
  • Current Inventions Volume 1:1: August - 1927
  • Current Science Volume 1:2: September - 1927
  • Elliot M. Rubens Puzzle Book: Volumes 2, 4 (undated), 5-8, 9 (undated) - 1926
  • Flight Bulletins Volume 1 - 1927
  • The Journalistic News
  • Volumes 1-2: September - 1932
  • Volumes 3-4: November-December - 1932
  • Laugh A Bit: A New Joke Magazine Volume 1:1: July - 1927
  • The Path for Boys
  • Volume 1:1-12: February-January - 1927-1928
  • Semi-Annual #1: June - 1928
  • Volume 2:1-5: July-November - 1928
  • Path for Boys Quarterly Volume 1:1: Winter - 1928
  • Radio Broadcast
  • Volume 1:1: August - 1930
  • Volume 1:3-4: January-February - 1931
  • Volume 2:1-2: September - 1931
  • Volume 2:3: October - 1931
  • Radio Program Weekly
  • Volume 1:1-12: April-July - 1930
  • Volume 2:1: July - 1930
  • Volume 2:3: July - 1930
  • "Volume 1:2": September - 1930
  • "Skippy," by Percy L. Crosby Volume 1:1: December, no year given
  • Talkies Volume 1:2-3: September 16-23 - 1928
  • Television Quarterly Volume 1:1: Summer - 1928

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Zines and the Amateur Press