Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Watchers of CIS Collection of Highlander Fan Materials

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1985-1997
Creator:
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0333
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of fannish materials, particularly fanzines, relating to the Highlander media franchise of movies and television shows.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated by Samantha "The Goddess" Lynn in October 2009. They were processed in the same month.A small additional accession was donated by Lynn in November 2010.

Preferred Citation: Watchers of CIS Collection of Highlander Fan Materials, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists of various fannish materials relating to the Highlander media franchise of films and television shows. Most of the material consists of print masters and copies of The Prize, a newsletter produced by the fan group Watchers of CIS. There is a complete run of this newsletter, from 1994-1997 [Neither an issue #13 nor #26 were ever produced.]. (Note that Prize editor Samantha Lynn whimsically assigned false dates to most issues, until winter 1996. This was a tongue-in-cheek reference to the frequent use of flashbacks on Highlander: The Series. However, the first issue can be dated to January 1994, and the subsequent issues run accordingly.)

Much of the remaining material consists of miscellaneous Highlander-related material assembled by Lynn during her time as an active fan of Highlander: The Series, including publicity materials, merchandise catalogs, news clippings, and materials from the Watchers of CIS. There are also some print items produced for Highlander fan conventions.

Historical Note: The Highlander media franchise is comprised of the original film, Highlander, released in 1986, together with four film sequels, two television series (the first, Highlander: The Series, forms the bulk of fannish interest in the franchise), an animated movie, an animated television series, and numerous novels and comic books. Since the franchise's inception in 1986, it has garnered an intense cult following.

The first film introduced the basic mythology of the Highlander universe. Christopher Lambert played Connor MacLeod, a 16th-century Scottish warrior who discovers that he is an Immortal. Immortals are certain individuals scattered throughout the world and history who, once killed violently, are reborn and live forever. However, Immortals can be killed by decapitation, and the Rules which bind the Immortals oblige them to confront each other and battle to the death. The beheading of an Immortal results in the release of energy called "the Quickening", which is absorbed by the victorious Immortal.

Eventually, so goes the saga's mythos, the few remaining Immortals on Earth will be irresistably drawn together into an event called "the Gathering", at which they will battle until one is left. As the film's famous tagline has it, "There can be only one." The Immortal who ultimately triumphs wins The Prize - that is, ultimate, transcendent knowledge and understanding.

Highlander dealt with Connor's gradual understanding of his Immortal nature, helped along by his teacher/mentor Ramirez, a fellow Immortal played by Sean Connery. Connor trains with Ramirez as a warrior, but his wife's death from old age (though Connor, of course, has not aged) embitters him and he wanders the world through the subsequent centuries. In 1985 Connor is drawn to the Gathering, which occurs in New York City. The first film ends with Connor's triumph over the evil Immortal The Kurgan and his attainment of the Prize. (At the time, the producers of the movie were not considering the possibility of sequels.)

Though the film did poorly in the United States, it garned enough profits abroad to inspire a sequel, Highlander II: The Quickening, released in 1991. The film was harshly received by critics and viewers alike, but nonetheless another sequel (Highlander III: The Final Dimension) was released in 1994. However, real fannish interest in the franchise began to coalesce with the introduction of a television spinoff of the movie series, Highlander: The Series, which was syndicated from 1993-1998. The series starred Adrian Paul as Duncan MacLeod (a fellow clansman of the movies' hero Connor), an Immortal attempting to live quietly in the present day until he is drawn back into "The Game", that is, the ongoing struggle between Immortals to destroy each other and leave one standing alone. Throughout the series' six seasons, the show varied between Duncan's present-day battles and his adventures in his previous 400 years of Immortal life across the world. The show garnered general critical acclaim, and fans were drawn to both the complex mythos of the show and to Paul's portrayal of Duncan.

The popularity of the series inspired two movie sequels (Highlander: Endgame (2000) and Highlander: The Source (2007)), a brief spinoff television series (Highlander: The Raven, 1998-1999), an Internet-only Flash animation series (The Mythos Chronicles, 2001), an anime film (Highlander: The Search for Vengeance, 2007), and numerous novels and comic books.
For other fannish collections, many of which contain materials relating to Highlander: The Series, please consult the Fandom-Related Collections subject page.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CONVENTION MATERIALS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: FANZINES
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: CONVENTION MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • The Gathering 1 - 2 Denver, CO - 1994-1995
    Program Books
  • The Gathering 3 Denver, CO - 1996
    Program Book, Fan Convention Report
  • Syndi-Con San Francisco, CA - 1995
    Program Book, Fan Convention Report
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Lynn, Samantha - 1994-1996
  • McAsh, F. Braun (Fight Director, Highlander: The Series) - 1996
  • Series 3: FANZINES
  • Box 1:
  • Cashiers Du Cinemart #4, #6, undated
  • Different Drummer November - 1993
    [Quantum Leap]
  • The Fifth Chronicle, vol. 1 - 1996
  • Glenfinnan Chronicle, #1-2, September-December - 1994
  • Peace: The Adrian Paul Fan Club #1-3, May-November - 1994
  • Peace: The Adrian Paul Fan Club #4-6, February-August - 1995
  • Peace: The Adrian Paul Fan Club #7-8, November-February - 1995-1996
  • The Prize #1: Collector's Edition ("February 1642")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #2: Down the Long Hard Road ("March 1970")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #3: Paris is Lovely in Springtime ("April 1783")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #4: A-Maying We Will Go ("May 1959")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #5: Deep Thoughts ("June 1899")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #6: 9 Thermidor ("July 1794")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #7: Surely You Can't Be Sirius ("August 1816")
    Print Master and Copies
  • Box 2:
  • The Prize #8: Blue Light Special ("September 1744")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #9: Danse Diabolique ("October 1629")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #10: Dust in the Wind ("November 1991")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #11: Another Year Over ("December 1914")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #12: Haggis Time (January 1995)
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #14: A Candle ("February 1592")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #15: Sex and Violence ("March 1957")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #16: Mayhem Is Our Business ("April 1805")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #17: Darling Buds, We Aint ("May 1592")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #18: This Issue Has No Title ("June 1909")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #19: Once More Into the Breach ("July 1968")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #20: Wonderful Things ("August 1921")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #21: I'd Like to Thank the Academy ("September 1937")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #22: Swords Against Property ("October 1872")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #23: Come Back Here You Blasted Bird ("November 1635")
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #24: The Big Finish ("December 1911")
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #25: Thanks for the Memories, Winter - 1996
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Prize #27: Deep Cover, Summer - 1996
    Print Master and Copy
  • Box 3:
  • The Prize #28: Viscous Rumors, Fall - 1996
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #29: Signs and Portents, Winter - 1997
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #30: The Old Song and Dance, Spring - 1997
    Print Master and Copy
  • The Prize #31: Cheat Sheet, Summer - 1997
    Print Master and Copies
  • The Quickening, vol. 2 #1 - 4 - 1994-1995?
  • The Quickening,
  • vol. 3 #1 - 3, Winter-Indian Summer - 1995
  • vol. 3 #4/vol. 4 #1, Fall/Winter - 1995-1996
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 3:
  • Advertisements for Zines and Fan Clubs - 1994
  • Articles from Media Magazines re: Highlander: The Series - 1994-1996
  • Articles from Military/Weapons Magazines re: Highlander: The Series - 1996
  • Awards and Contests - 1994, 1996
  • Clipped Articles, Highlander-related - 1993-1996
  • Excerpt from Novelization of Highlander - 1985
  • Highlander 18 Month Calendar, July-December - 1998-1999
  • Highlander FAQ, produced by Watchers of CIS - 1994
  • Box 4:
  • Highlander Merchandise Catalogs, undated
  • "Immie" Awards (Watchers of CIS) - 1994
  • Information Package on Highlander: The Series, from Davis-Panzer Productions - 1994
  • Interview with Adrian Paul (by Linda Knights), undated
  • Lynn, Samantha - Private Press Materials [Woodhull and Desmoulins Press] - 1994
  • Miscellany, undated
  • Editor's Choice Award (Watchers of CIS) - F. Braun McAsh - 1996
  • Online Discussions and Interviews [Transcripts] - 1994-1995
  • Publicity Materials for Highlander: The Series and Highlander III: The Sorcerer - 1994
  • Timeline of Highlander Events (through Highlander: The Series Episode 36, compiled by Watchers of CIS), undated
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 4:
  • Assorted Publicity and other Photos, undated
  • Fan Club Photos, Adrian Paul, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Fandom-Related Collections
Film & Television Writing and Directing
Study of Theatre Arts and Popular Culture