Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the United Nations Association of the U.S., Iowa Chapter Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1958-
Creator: United Nations Association of the U.S., Iowa Chapter
Extent: 55.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0332
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, minutes of board meetings, annual assembly programs, newsletters, financial records, environmental and model United Nations materials.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 11.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1976 by Donald M. Typer, President, United Nations Association of the United States, Iowa Division. Donations are ongoing.

Preferred Citation: United Nations Association of the U.S., Iowa Chapter Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The United Nations Association of the United States mission statement, taken from their web site:

The United Nations Association of the United States of America (UNA-USA) is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to building understanding of and support for the ideals and work of the UN among the American people. Its education, policy and advocacy programs emphasize the importance of cooperation among nations and the need for American leadership at the UN. UNA-USA is affiliated with the World Federation of United Nations Associations, which began in 1946 as a public movement for the UN. The United Nations Association of the United States of America (UNA-USA) is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to building understanding of and support for the ideals and work of the UN among the American people. Its education, policy and advocacy programs emphasize the importance of cooperation among nations and the need for American leadership at the UN. UNA-USA is affiliated with the World Federation of United Nations Associations, which began in 1946 as a public movement for the UN.

This collection contains minutes of Board of Directors meeting, annual reports, and other items having to do with the day-to-day business of the organization, as well as special programs. Donations arrive nearly every year, so this collection contains many addenda. In order to ensure the most rigorous research, it is probably best to keep this in mind.
Forum, 1964 -- 1975 (Transferred to Serials Department, February 26, 1976)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1980-1981 ADDENDUM
Series 3: 1983-1984 ADDENDUM
Series 4: MAY 1985 ADDITION
Series 5: JUNE 1989 ADDITION
Series 6: JUNE 1990 ADDITION
Series 7: 1993 AND 1995 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 2000 ADDENDUM
Series 9: 2005 ADDENDUM
Series 10: 2007 ADDENDUM
Series 11: 2007a ADDENDUM
Series 12: 2010 ADDENDUM
Series 13: 2011 ADDENDUM
Series 14: 2012 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Annual Assembly Programs (formerly Annual Meetings) - 1958-1960
  • Annual Assembly Programs - 1962-1964
  • Annual Assembly Programs - 1967-1975
  • Annual Assembly Programs - 1977-1978
  • By-laws - 1971
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1968-1976
  • Budgets and Related Materials - 1962-1975
  • Chapter Newsletter and Notes (sample) - 1971-1975
  • CIRUNA (Council on International Relations and United Nations Affairs) - 1959-1972
  • Division of Funds - Dues - 1966-1974
  • Global Pollution Symposium - 1970
  • Historical Data (including "Highlights of Year's Activities") - 1959-1970
  • The Inter Dependent, July-August - 1975
  • International Environmental Project - 1971
  • Iowa Dialogue on International Peacekeeping - 1969-1971
  • Iowa High School Contest on the United Nations - 1963-1974
  • Iowa High School Model United Nations - 1968-1974
    2 folders
  • Iowa in the World and Related Correspondence - 1967-1976
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Model United Nations: Eastern Iowa - 1967-1970
  • Iowa Model United Nations: Iowa State University - 1963-1967
  • Iowa Model United Nations: Upper Iowa - 1971
  • Iowa U.N. Letter - 1958-1964
  • Iowa World Citizen - 1973-1974
  • News Releases and Flyers - 1969-1973
  • President's Commission Hearing - 1970-1972
    2 folders
  • Projects and Special Activities - 1963-1972
  • Special Report - 1970
  • Box 3:
  • The U.N. in Your Community - A Leadership Manual - 1970
  • The United Nations - Partnership of Peoples - 1973-1974
  • Understanding the United Nations - 1970
  • Vista, May/June - 1970
  • Youth U.N. Conference; Student U.N. Tours - 1966-1974, 1977
  • "Big Business: Conventional Weapons" (Booklet)
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1976-1978
  • Executive Committee reports - 1961-1978
  • Newsletters and Clippings - 1964-1976
  • Only One Earth - 1969-1972
  • Quadrennial Report, Iowa Division UNA-USA, Donald M. Typer, President - 1974-1978
  • Speakers' Bureau - 1964-1976
  • "The United Nations - Partnership of Peoples" (Booklet)
  • Series 2: 1980-1981 ADDENDUM
  • Box 4:
  • Annual Assembly Minutes - 1965-1981
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1972-1980
  • Budgets and Related Materials - 1976-1978
  • "Conventional Weapons Transfer" Booklet, February 12 - 1977
  • Correspondence - 1980
  • Directory of Iowa Division - 1980
  • Executive Committee reports - 1977-1978
  • "Feeding the World: FAO and the United States" (Booklet) - 1980
  • "Highlights of Disarmament and the UN: Strategy for the United States," by Lincoln P. Bloomfield and Harlan Cleveland, February 14 - 1978
  • Impact of Development on Third World Women - 1980
  • Improving the Odds on Survival
  • Iowa Division Up to Date - 1979-1980
  • Iowans Need Full Understanding of Interdependence - Now
  • Midwest Model United Nations, General Assembly
  • Midwestern Regional Global Community Conference, Iowa City - 1981
  • Newsletter - 1979
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1968-1980
  • Planetary Citizenship - 1972-1974
  • Structure Sheet - 1976
  • UNAUSA (United Nations Association, U.S.A.) - Cedar Rapids Chapter, Vol. 4, #3, November-December - 1977
  • "United Nations Day, Iowa Youth Symposium" (Booklet) - 1979
  • Series 3: 1983-1984 ADDENDUM
  • Box 5:
  • Action Newsletter - 1962-1965
  • Americans Talk Peacekeeping - 1967-1973
  • Annual Assembly: Book - 1963-1969
  • Annual Assembly: Invitations - 1966-1977
  • Annual Assembly: Publicity - 1975-1976
  • Annual Assembly: Speaker - 1969
  • Annual Chapter Report. Budget Reports - 1966-1967, 1970-1974
  • Ballots - 1972
  • Banner Design Contest - 1970-1972
  • Biennial National Convention - 1958-1970
  • Biennial National Convention - 1973-1975
  • Board of Directors Directory - 1959-1973
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1958-1983
    2 folders
  • Burlington Chapter - 1973
  • Cedar Rapids Chapter - 1973-1976
  • Box 6:
  • Convention Delegates - 1968-1970
  • Correspondence - 1961-1979
  • "Education for Survival" - 1974
  • Educational Activities Committee - 1972-1973
  • Evaluation Committee - 1967-1972
  • Finances - 1970-1976
  • 14th Annual Conference of National Organizations - 1964
  • Governor's Committee for the United Nations - 1964-1976
  • Governor's Committee for the United Nations: Community Observances - 1959-1972
  • Governor's United Nations Day, Publicity - 1967-1976
  • High School United Nations - 1960-1972
  • History - 1962-1974
  • "History of the Cedar Rapids, Iowa United Nations Chapter UNA - USA 1945-1972," by Lorene Spohn
  • Human Rights Year - 1968
  • Box 7:
  • International Women's Year - 1974-1977
  • International Women's Year: Newspaper Clippings - 1974-1975
  • "The Iowa-American Assembly on Arms Control and Disarmament." Booklet, May 25-27 - 1962
  • "The Iowa-American Assembly on Cultural Affairs and Foreign Relations." May 17-19 - 1963
    Booklet and correspondence, 1962-1963
  • Iowa Chapter Records - 1959-1969
  • Iowa Chapter Reports - 1961-1966
  • Iowa City Chapter - 1955, 1972-1977
  • Iowa Council of Organizations for the U.N. - 1968-1976
  • Iowa Peace Center - 1966
  • Iowa Study Committee on International Peace-Keeping. Parks Committee - 1969-1973
  • Iowa Youth Advisory Committee - 1973
  • Iowa Youth Conference - 1974-1975
  • Lost Chapters. Iowa Divisions - 1965-1970
  • "Management of Global Change" - 1984
  • News Bulletins of the Conference of UN Representatives and the Council of Washington Representatives on the U.N. - 1973
  • "Nuclear Defense: What Does America Need?" Town Meetings - 1982
  • "Only One Earth." Booklet
  • Box 8:
  • Peace Groups - 1966-1968
  • Press Releases - 1975
  • Quad Cities Chapter - 1973-1974
  • Report to the Board of Directors, June 18 - 1965
  • Speakers' Bureau - 1969-1975
  • Suggestion Sheets
  • Tour - 1972
  • Travis Bill Materials - 1972
  • "The Unclaimed Birthright." Planetary film - 1973-1974
  • United Nations Anniversary Programs - 1960-1973
  • "United Nations Day 1972." Annual Conference Report of the Governor of Iowa's Advisory Committee on the U.N. - 1972-1974
  • United Nations Day, Iowa Youth Symposium - 1980-1982
  • United Nations Day - Posters - 1961-1965
  • United Nations Hymn - 1950
  • "United Nations on Trial in a Nuclear World" - 1984
  • The United Nations: Twenty Years, Booklet - 1965
  • War and Peace and Iowa, Booklet - 1982
  • "Work Progresses in the United Nations," August - 1965
  • World Federation of the United Nations Associations - 1965-1968
  • "The World's Food Crisis," by J.G. Staiger - 1966
  • You in Human Rights by Ethel C. Phillips - 1968
  • Series 4: MAY 1985 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Iowa-United Nations Association
  • Box 9:
  • Annual meeting - 1972-1980
  • Candidate inquiry - 1974-1976
  • Conference - 1984
  • Correspondence - 1968-1984
  • High School Contests - Correspondence - 1965-1975
  • Meeting Minutes - 1978-1984
    2 folders
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Partnership of Peoples - 1974
  • Publications
  • Reports
  • Schools and Publications Committee - 1969
  • Sub-Series: United Nations Association
  • Box 9:
  • Interdependent - 1974-1977
    (some missing issues)
  • Sub-Series: United Nations Iowa Youth Conference/Symposium
  • Box 9:
  • United Nations Iowa Youth Conference/Symposium - 1974, 1976-1978, 1980-1982, 1984
  • Series 5: JUNE 1989 ADDITION
  • Box 10:
  • "Big Business: Conventional Weapons" Seminar - 1976-1977
  • Board of Directors. Minutes - 1974-1978, 1985-1988
  • Brochure ideas - 1973
  • By-Laws, with working data - 1965-1974
  • Correspondence - 1963-1980,1985-1986
  • Dakin, Allin - 1973
  • Executive Director. Correspondence, calendars, job descriptions, etc. - 1962-1978
    including letters from Allin W. Dakin, Dick Clark, John Culver, Jim Leach and Michael T. Blouin
  • Feeding the World - FAO and the United States. Pamphlet
  • The Interdependent - 1976-1978
  • Iowa Commission on the 1979 International Year of the Child - 1978-1979
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Alerts - 1971-1974
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Brochures, undated
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Conventional Weapons Hearing Committee
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Minutes, correspondence, news clippings - 1976
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Executive Committee - 1977-1978
  • Iowa United Nations Association: President's Reports - 1963-1964, 1966-1967, 1974-1978
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Program and Planning Committee - 1975-1977
    including letters from Jim Leach and Neal Smith
  • Iowa United Nations Association: Resolutions - 1969
    including a letter from Robert Ray
  • Box 11:
  • Management of Global Change - 1984
  • National Association: Brochures, undated
  • National Association: Resolutions - 1975
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1969-1979
  • Nuclear Weapon - 1969, 1974
  • Panama Canal - 1977-1978
  • Photographs
    including photographs of Tom Riley, Dorothy Schramm, Dag Hammarskjold, Mary Louise Smith, Wiley Mayne, George Hush, Cyrus Vance, Jack Miller, Neal Smith, D. Patrick Moynihan, Adlai Stevenson, George C. Wallace, Robert D. Ray, U Thant, Virgil Hancher, Richard Nixon, John Culver, Willard L. Boyd, Dick Clark, Harold Hughes, Andrew Young, Bourke Hickenlooper, Harry Truman, Edward R. Stettinius (5 folders)
  • Program Planning - 1973-1977
  • "A Quest for World Peace - The Story of the Iowa UNA, 1953-1983," by Cecil G. Douglass
  • Schramm, Dorothy - 1964-1972
  • Stanley Foundation. Correspondence, news clippings - 1968-1975
  • United Nations Association. Communications - 1972-1975
  • United Nations on Trial in a Nuclear World - 1984
  • The World is Our Business - 1975-1976, 1988
  • Series 6: JUNE 1990 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Iowa United Nations Association
  • Box 12:
  • Annual Meeting Minutes - 1961-1962, 1964-1965
  • Board and Committee Rosters - 1962-1965
  • Board of Directors Meeting Minutes - 1961-1969
  • Chapters Committee Minutes - 1966
  • Executive Committee Meeting Minutes - 1961-1968
  • President's Report - 1964-1966
  • "Thumbnail History of the Association for the United Nations in Iowa" - 1959
  • Series 7: 1993 AND 1995 ADDENDUM
  • Box 13:
  • Annual Assembly. Minutes - 1989-1990
  • Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa - 1993
  • Brochures, pamphlets, etc. - 1981-1995
  • Correspondence - 1981-1992
    including letters from Kurt Waldheim and Javier Perez de Cuellar
  • An Earth Charter and Agenda 21 for Iowa - 1994
  • Executive Committee Minutes - 1989
  • Global Sisterhood Projects - 1990
  • Iowa Peace Directory - 1984
  • Iowa Resource Catalog - 1991
  • Meeting of the General Board. Minutes - 1989-1990
  • Minutes, Annual Assembly, Board of Directors, and Executive Committee - 1991-1995
  • Priorities '95, Anticipating the UN World Conrference on Women in Being - 1995
  • Program Reports - 1992-1995
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky: Visions and Voices for the 1990s. May 3-5 - 1990
  • Series 8: 2000 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Videotape Series
  • VHS Box 1:
  • All China Women's Federation
  • Ames Chapter Presents: "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," April - 1993
  • Human Rights in the Global Community - 1986
  • Human Rights in the Global Community
  • Human Rights in the Global Community, College of Law, University of Iowa
  • Human Rights in the Global Community, Iowa Division
  • International Colloquium #1, Decade for Women: Changes and Beyond
  • International Colloquium #2, Image of Women in Art
  • International Colloquium #4, Access to Sustainable Development
  • International Colloquium #5, Communication for a Social Change
  • Network Earth B-39, Earth Summit Special, June 6 - 1992
  • National Teleconference on the Earth Summit, February 2 - 1992
  • The Second National Teleconference on the Earth Summit, "Preparing for PrepCom IV"
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #1: Challenges and Beyond. Mary Grefe
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #2: Meeting the Nairobi Challenge: An Agenda for American Women. Carol Leimas
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #3: Print Media and Alternate Publications/Women Power in the Global Economy
  • Sub-Series: Videotape Series
  • VHS Box 2:
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #4: Access to Sustainable Development/Delivering on Promises Pt. 1. Beverly Everett
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #5: Delivering on Promises Pt.2/Access to Power Panel - Communication for Social Change
  • The U.N. Decade for Women #6
  • U.N. Touchstone International with Picco
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky, November 23 - 1987
  • Women's Human Rights and Genocide. Sarah Mehlin and Nicole Barnes/Feminist Perspective on the U.N. with Charlotte Bunch
  • Women of the World Meet at Nairobi
  • Untitled
  • Other formats - videotapes
  • Sub-Series: 35 mm
  • Box 14:
  • UNA, September - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Ampex 196
  • Box 14:
  • Human Rights in the Global Community. Large film, boxed separately
  • Sub-Series: Beta
  • Box 14:
  • Promo for teleconference
  • After warming clip/Michale Oppenheimer
  • Sub-Series: Broadcast videocassettes
  • Box 14:
  • National Teleconference on the Earth Summit #1, February 12 - 1992
  • National Teleconference on the Earth Summit #2, February 12 - 1992
  • Human rights in the global community
  • Series 9: 2005 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Alerts
  • Box 14:
  • Alerts
  • Sub-Series: Audio Cassette Tapes 1
  • ACT Box 1:
  • Human Rights Colloquium: Burns Weston - Intro Remarks, Richard Falk - 1986
  • Human Rights Colloquium: Falk (conclusion), Reisman, Farer - 1986
  • Human Rights Colloquium: Farer (conclusion), Q&A Reisman/Farer - 1986
  • Human Rights Colloquium: Amy Young (conclusion), Jonathan Fine, Networking Panel - 1986
  • Networking Panel
  • Tape 1: Opening Remarks, Stephen Lewis. April 8 - 1988
  • Tape 2: Richard Stanley, Lloyd Clark, Karen Lebacqz, Stephen Lewis. April 8 - 1988
  • Tape 3: Karen Lebacqz, Richard Caplan. April 8 - 1988
  • Tape 4: Richard Caplan (Medicine). April 8 - 1988
  • Tape 5: Alan Weinstein (Art), Joseph Ascroft (Journalism). April 8 - 1988
  • Tape 1: Ali Mazrui (The Africans: A Triple Heritage). April 9 - 1988
  • Tape 2: Chet Randolph (Agriculture). April 9 - 1988
  • Tape 3: John Lawrence (Philosophy). April 9 - 1988
  • Tape 4: Marcus Raskin. April 9 - 1988
  • Tape 5: Reactor Panel. April 9 - 1988
  • Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa
    3 tapes
  • Fatouma, the Baby Machine, Joy Morrison
  • Women of the World
  • Holstein Quest
  • Stephen Lewis
  • Women in Arts - 1998
  • Women and Children in India's Economy, August - 1990
  • UNA - Robert Ray, Cedar Rapids
  • Dr. Lydia Bond (dub) interview
  • Esquivel (1)
  • The World Summit for Children - Behind the Scenes with the World Leaders, Mary Gray - 1990
  • UN HCR Presentation
  • Stephen Lewis on the United Nations, June - 1995
  • UNA Johnson County, Reports on San Francisco June, Report on Beijing - 1995
  • Tape series, untitled (1-3, 5-6)
  • SHARP
  • Welcome Address, Mary Grefe, May - 1990
  • Bishop Dingman, August - 1983
  • Kevin Caravan, May - 1984
  • Access to Property, Deborah Fink and Linda K. Neuman
  • Print Media, Carol Rose, Carolyn Dye, and Joanne Sandler
  • The UN and Collective Security: A Field of Dreams in The New Order, Stephen Lewis - 1990
  • Irene Santiago
  • Dorothy Paul, August - 1985
  • South African women in movement for liberation, labor and community: Nowhere and Everywhere, Mary Grefe Q & A, Mona Martin, Betty Furgerson, Nomonde Ngubo
  • Niambi D. Webester
  • How Economic and Development Issues and The Impact of Communication Technology Affect Women. Tuki Javasviroj
  • Access to Sustainable Development
  • Access to Power
    2 tapes
  • Workshop - Epstein I (Arms Control)
  • Workshop - Epstein (Urguhart)
  • Dingman - Stanley
  • Weston
  • Sub-Series: Audio Cassette Tapes 2
  • ACT Box 2:
  • Weston
  • Breakout Session "Business"
  • Dingman - Stanley #4
  • Keyes - Willner et al #2
  • Weston - Sharp #3
  • Untitled
    5 cassettes
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 14:
  • Board of Directors Minutes
  • Candidate questionnaire
  • Clippings
  • Correspondence
    6 folders
  • Executive Board Meeting Minutes
  • Executive Committee Meeting
  • Sub-Series: Finance
  • Box 14:
  • Balance Sheets - 1984, 1985, 1986
  • Balance Sheets - 1985
  • Balance Sheets - 1986
  • Balance Sheets: January-June - 1991
  • Box 15:
  • Balance Sheets: June-September - 1991
  • Budgets - 1958-1966
  • Disks
  • Executive Ledgers: IHB Grant
  • Executive Ledgers - 1981?
  • Executive Ledgers - 1982?
  • Executive Ledgers - 1983
  • Executive Ledgers - 1984
  • Executive Ledgers - 1985
  • Investing
  • Tax forms
  • Treasurers' Reports
  • Reports - 1968-1975
  • Reports - 1976-1980
  • Reports - 1981-1984
  • Reports - 1984-1986
  • Year to Date - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Second miscellaneous
  • Box 16:
  • FORUM
  • "Human Rights in the Global Community." Conference
  • Program Reports: Annual Assembly - 1996
  • Program Reports: Annual Assembly - 1998
  • Program Reports: Annual Assembly - 1999
  • Program Reports: Annual Assembly - 2000
  • Sub-Series: Publications
  • Box 16:
  • For a Better World
  • The Iowa Declaration
  • A Public Hearing Seeking Innovative Solutions - 1999
  • A Social Agenda for Iowa for the 21st century - 1997
  • Society For All Ages - 1999
  • Speakers Bureau and Education Services
  • Taking On the Challenge of the Climate Change - 1999
  • Taking On the Challenge of the Climate Change, Brochure
  • The Struggle for Human Rights: the Broken Silence of Iowa Immigrants - 1998
  • The United Nations in the New Millennium: We're All In It together building a
  • UN at 50
  • Sub-Series: Reports and articles
  • Box 16:
  • Reports and articles
  • Sub-Series: Videotapes
  • Box 16:
  • 50th Anniversary of HR - Iowa City - 1999
  • Annual United Nations Association Meeting, January 15 - 1995
  • Burns H. Weston ICFRC and UNHR Community celebration 50th
  • Earth Summit Community Report. Burns Weston, Dorothy Paul, Minette Doderer, Diane Dillon-Ridgely, Gerald Schnoor. June - 1992
    2 tapes
  • Human Rights - Town Hall Meeting - 1998
  • Human Rights 98 and Beyond
  • Iowa UNA Annual Meeting, Adam Grissom. January 15 - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Videotape Series
  • VHS Box 3:
  • Iowans Walk in The Woods: Enroute To The Earth Summit, May - 1992
  • Priorities 95
  • Strategies for UN Reform, January - 1997
  • Strengthening the Role of the UN in Peacemaking and Peace Keeping , UNA Forum, Drake University, January - 1995
  • The UN at 50: Past, Present, and Future, April - 1995
  • UN on Trail In A Nuclear Age. Old Brick Forum. Burns Weston, Senator Alan Cranston, William Oassey, Wayne Moyer - 1983
  • UNA Annual Brunch - 1995
  • UNA Commercials on UN - 1997
  • UNA Meeting with Adam Grissom, UN and Children - Turning Promises into Progress, UNA - Priorities 95 with Dorothy Paul
  • UNA of Iowa, Johnson County Town Meeting, January - 1996
  • UNA of Iowa: Human Rights Day
  • Women's Conference, September 28 - 1996
  • Series 10: 2007 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: United Nations Association, Iowa Division
  • Box 17:
  • A History of Iowa's Connections to the U.N. - 2005
  • UNA publications
  • The World is Our Business
  • Iowa City Chapter: Finances and Financial Correspondence - 1979-1999
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Ames
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Burlington
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Centerville
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Clinton
  • Box 18:
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Johnson County
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Linn County
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Mahaska County
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Quad Cities Metro Area
  • Other chapters in Iowa: Sioux City
  • Sub-Series: UNICEF
  • Box 18:
  • Cards
  • Clippings
  • College Night, PTSO, City and West
  • Contents of scrapbook
  • Miscellaneous
  • Publications
  • Publicity chair - 1996-1997
  • Publicity kit
  • Volunteers
  • By year - 1994
  • By year - 1996
  • By year - 2002, 2003
  • By year - 2004-2005
  • Series 11: 2007a ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: United Nations (UN)
  • Box 18:
  • Large poster for 50th anniversary
  • National meeting materials - 1991
  • UN Publications
  • Sub-Series: Council on International Relations and United Nations Affairs (CIRUNA)
  • Box 18:
  • CIRUNA
  • Sub-Series: UN Development Programs (UNDP)
  • Box 18:
  • UNDP Publications
  • Sub-Series: World Federation of the United Nations Associations (WFUNA)
  • Box 18:
  • Publications of WFUNA
  • Sub-Series: World Food Programme
  • Box 18:
  • The Food Aid Organization of the United Nations System
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA
  • Box 18:
  • Film Library
  • Box 19:
  • Publications of United Nations Association - USA
  • Teaching materials about the UN. These materials were provided to local high schools by the Johnson County chapter
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division
  • Box 19:
  • Annual reports from local chapters
  • Board meetings - 1969-1971
  • Board meeting, January 23 - 1971
  • Board meetings - 1976
  • Conventional Arms state project - 1976-1977
  • Forum
    3 folders
  • Human Rights in the Global Community, April 4-5 - 1986
  • Materials relating to the 50th Anniversary of the UN
  • Minutes - 1965-1969
  • Miscellaneous business
    2 folders
  • Publications
  • Silent Auction
  • Speakers' Bureau
  • Stanley Foundation
  • State Assembly, May 1 - 1976
  • Treasurers' Reports - 1968, 1969
  • Box 20:
  • The UN and Children: Turning Promises into Progress
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky: Vision and Voices for the 1990s
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Johnson County Chapter
  • Box 20:
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1987
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1988-1989
    2 folders
  • Business miscellaneous - 1992-1996
    2 folders
  • Clippings, letters, and miscellaneous information - 1992-1996
    3 folders
  • Environmental concerns - 1992
  • Miscellaneous
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1983-1991
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1991
    2 folders
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1990-1994
  • Student trip Iowa City High Schools (City and West) - 1993
  • Beginning to celebrate the 50th Anniversary - 1994
  • Regional Get-Together, Sustainable Development. Davenport, Iowa, July 20-24 - 1994
  • Annual meeting - 1995
    Registration materials for local representative
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1995
  • 50th Anniversary materials - 1995
    2 folders
  • Membership - 1995
  • Programmings and clippings - 1993-1995
  • Johnson County Chapter - 1996
  • Series 12: 2010 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA
  • Box 21:
  • Alerts - 1980-1989
  • Alerts - 1990-1999
  • Alerts - 2000-2009
  • Council of Chapter and Division Presidents
  • General
  • Global Policy Project
  • "Great Decisions"
  • National Convention through - 1989
  • National Convention - 1990-1999
  • Structure
  • Student Alliance
  • Update News Alerts
  • 50th Anniversary - 1995
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division
  • Box 21:
  • Advisory Council
  • Annual Assembly - 1984-1999
  • Annual Reports - 1990-1993
  • Box 22:
  • Annual Reports - 1994-1999
  • Audits
  • Awards - 1978-1999
  • Big Business: Conventional Weapons
  • Board of Directors: Agendas - 1970-1999
  • Board of Directors: Board Planning
  • Board of Directors: Resolutions
  • Board of Directors: Updates
  • Budgets
  • Chapters
  • Chariton Valley Fundraising
  • Climate Change: Action
  • Climate Change: Environmental Excellence Awards
  • Climate Change: Environmental Protection Agency
  • Climate Change: Finances
  • Climate Change: Funding
  • Climate Change: General
  • Climate Change: Grant Proposal
  • Climate Change: Hearing - 1999
  • Climate Change: I-RENEW
  • Climate Change: Model UN Summit - 1999
  • Climate Change: Publicity
  • Climate Change: Science
  • Climate Change: Video Program and Notes
  • Clippings
  • Description
  • Downlink-Status of Women
  • Box 23:
  • Earth Chapter: Beyond Rio
  • Earth Chapter: Beyond Rio Publicity
  • Earth Chapter: Reports
  • Earth Chapter: Sponsors
  • Earth Summit - 1992
  • Executive Committee Minutes - 1970-2009
  • Executive Committee Minutes, duplicate minutes
  • Executive Director Correspondence
  • Financial-PRORATA Records
  • Forum - 1960-1999
  • General Correspondence
  • Global Resource Center Grant Proposal
  • Global Sisterhood Projects - 1991
  • Habitat II, Ames - 1996
  • Human Rights in the Global Community, April-May - 1986
  • International Roundtable on International Law, September 22-25 - 1991
  • Iowa Declaration
  • Mahaska County Fundraising
  • "Management of Global Change," May 4-5 - 1984
  • Membership
  • Box 24:
  • Midwest Public Hearing on Environment and Development, September 22 - 1991
  • Midwest Regional Student Leadership Conference - 1994
  • Model UN Video, Misc.
  • Nuclear Defense - 1982
  • Peace Directories
  • Peace Libraries
  • Priorities 95
  • Professional Ethics - 1998
  • Report Cards
  • Retreats
  • "The Role of United Nations in the Advancement of Women: Toward a Partnership World"
  • Social Agenda for Iowa: Event
  • Social Agenda for Iowa: General
  • Sponsors
  • Struggle for Human Rights: Program
  • Struggle for Human Rights: Video Transcript
  • Sustaining Fund Drive
  • UN 40th/50th Anniversaries
  • UN@50 Grant Proposal
  • UN@50 Packets
  • UN@50 Programs
  • UN Day - 1980-1989
  • UN Day - 1990-1999
  • UN Muscatine
    located in Oversized Box 1
  • Box 25:
  • UN Youth Symposium
  • United Nations and Children - 1996
  • United Nations Declaration of Human Rights 50th Anniversary
  • "United Nations on Trial in a Nuclear World," May - 1984
  • War and Peace and Iowa, October 8 - 1982
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky: General
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky: Media kits
  • Women Hold Up Half the Sky: Packets
  • "Women's International League for Peace and Freedom"
  • World Food Day
  • World is Our Business Budget
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Ames Chapter
  • Box 25:
  • Annual reports
  • Minutes/Events
  • Special Reports
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Des Moines Chapter
  • Box 25:
  • Annual reports
  • Minutes/Events
  • Newsletters
  • Special Reports
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Grinnell Chapter
  • Box 25:
  • Annual Reports
  • Minutes/Events
  • Special Reports
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Johnson County Chapter
  • Box 25:
  • Annual Reports
  • General
  • Minutes/Events
  • Newsletters
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, Linn County Chapter
  • Box 25:
  • Annual Reports
  • General
  • Box 26:
  • Minutes/Events
  • Newsletters
  • Sub-Series: UNA-USA, Iowa Division, South East Iowa Chapter
  • Box 26:
  • Annual Reports
  • General
  • Sub-Series: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  • Box 26:
  • Biosphere Reserves
  • Controversy
  • Heritage Sites
  • Sub-Series: United Nations Children Fund (UNICEF)
  • Box 26:
  • Programs in Iowa
  • Sub-Series: Videotapes
  • VHS Box 4:
  • Can America Be a Democracy and an Empire, Too?
  • Climate Change
  • Climate Change - 1999
    with DVD
  • Earth Summit-CNN Tape
  • Edge of History
  • Frankfort's Global Connection Demo
  • I Want to Go to School
  • International Implications of the Iraq War
  • Iowa Model UN - 1998
  • Jeanne Sowers
  • Jeanne Sowers and Katy Hansen: Terrorism
  • Jeanne Sowers: Roots of Terrorism
    with DVD
  • Linn County UNA - 1999
  • Live and Local, September 19 - 2001
  • Model UN - 1998
  • Model UN Iowa High School - 1998
    with DVD
  • Night of a Thousand Dinners - 2001
  • Night of a Thousand Dinners - 2004
  • Peacekeeping Mission
  • Ravi Nair: New Delhi
  • Ravi Nair: Universality of Human Rights - 2000
  • Struggle for Human Rights
  • UN TV Spots: Voices/Health
  • UN@50
  • Sub-Series: Videotapes
  • VHS Box 5:
  • UN 50th Anniversary
  • UN 50th Anniversary: Countdown to the Future and the World We Share
  • UN 50th Anniversary: Overview
  • UNA-USA Teleconference: Keeping the Peace
  • U.S. and the UN: Can This Marriage Be Saved
  • U.S. Committee for UNICEF: Case Statement with Kate Couric
  • UNICEF: Broadcast Unit Webclip Compilation
  • UNICEF: Myanmar Stories 4-5
  • UNICEF: Niger Water
  • UNICEF: 3-4-1 Summit
  • Walnut Creek Watershed
  • Women on Stamps
  • World Food Summit
  • 2nd National Teleconference on the Earth Summit
    2 reels
  • 3rd National Teleconference on the Earth Summit
  • 50th Anniversary: Universal Declaration of Human Rights
  • Sub-Series: Programming Disks
  • Bic-Vahn Disk I
  • Bic-Vahn Disk II
  • Computer Graphics
  • Gen Letters - 1993-1995
  • Mac-SE
  • Membership Drives/SF Drives - 1994-1996
  • Miscellaneous
  • Nicole's
  • Priorities 95 I
  • Priorities 95 II
  • Priorities 95 III
  • Social Agenda
  • Social Agenda Word-Mac
  • Summer 1991 Forum UN Day - 1991
  • Vera Gathright's Speech
  • Workshop: Women's Workshop Priorities
  • Iowa City Area Human Rights Forum - 1993
  • Sub-Series: UNA Software
  • Annual Assembly Reports - 1993-1995
  • Contributors Lists and Updates
  • Habitat II/Child Program/Beijing/Earth Summit
  • Iowa Division Fund Drives Prior to - 1993
  • Midwest Student Leadership Conference
  • Platform for Action
  • Sustaining Fund Campaign - 1993
  • Sustaining Fund - 1994
  • Sustaining Fund - 1995
  • Sustaining Fund - 1996
  • UN 50 I: Grants and Volunteers
  • UN 50 II: Letters, Lists, and Labels
  • UN 50 III: Declaration
  • Women
  • Women's Program - 1989-1992
  • Women's Program - 1995
  • Series 13: 2011 ADDENDUM
  • Iowa UNA Night of 1000 Dinners to Benefit UN Women. Announcement
  • Series 14: 2012 ADDENDUM
  • Box 28:
  • United World Federalists: Printed materials
  • United World Federalists - 1948-1950
  • United World Federalists - 1950-1963
    2 folders
  • United World Federalists: Miscellaneous
  • "The Iowa-American Assembly on Arms Control and Disarmament, May 25-27, 1962." State University of Iowa Extension Bulletin. No. 791, June 1 - 1962

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United Nations Association of the United States of America. Iowa Division

Topics:
International cooperation

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Photographs
Video recordings
Sources