Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Fanzines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-2013
Creator: Fanzines
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0331
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Special Collections Project Archivist Jeremy Brett began assembling this collection in early 2009. Individual donors include: Lisa Ahne, Sabrina Margarita Alcantara, Jackie Batey, Jeremy Brett, Ned Brooks, Ben Castle, Jon Cone, Jenna Freedman, Tony Hunnicutt, Kevin Kooyman, Anita Michel, Alex Pickett, Sapphira Sayre, Kelsey Smith, Jami Sailor Thompson, Mike Toft, Professor Rachel Williams and her Fall 2009 Art Education First-Year Seminar class at the University of Iowa, Fred Woodworth, and a number of anonymous zinesters.

Preferred Citation: Fanzines Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Historical Background

The term "zine" (derived from the word "fanzine") refers generally to an small, informal, non-professionally produced publication. By their very nature zines are hard to define exactly, but distinguishing common characteristics of zines include a small circulation (sometimes via subscription but often distributed informally among interested parties) and a raison d'etre that stresses free expression over profit.

Zines are graphic expressions of their authors' social, cultural, and political interests and concerns. They are creative outlets devoted to individual and idiosyncratic self-expression. A zine can be about pretty much anything: politics, music, sex, gender relations, sports, pop culture - the list is virtually endless. As Julie Bartel, author of From A to Zine (2004) , notes:

"Zines are about diversity, creativity, innovation, and expression. As a group, zines deliberately lack cohesion

of form or function, representing as they do individual visions and ideals rather than professional or corporate

objectives. With zines, anything goes. Anything. They can be about toasters, food, a favorite television show, thrift

stores, anarchism, candy, bunnies, sexual abuse, architecture, war, gingerbread men, activism, retirement

homes, comics, eating disorders, Barbie dolls - you name it."


Zines have a long and storied tradition as instruments of social and political change, as cultural relics, and as outlets for expression by underground or marginalized populations. The first zines in America arguably were the many political broadsides produced prior to and during the American Revolution, the most famous of these being Common Sense (1776) by Thomas Paine. Throughout the 18th and 19th centuries authors, essayists and political activists rejecting or rejected by the mainstream media as it then existed self-published their own opinions and creative works (a famous literary example from Britain would be that of the Bronte siblings - Charlotte, Branwell, Emily, and Anne - who as children wrote and "published" numerous stories of their imaginary literary worlds). Zines began to flower with the late 19th-century development of the "amateur press association" movement, in which groups of amateur printers obtained their own personal printing presses and created small magazines as products of their hobby.

Zines first really entered the cultural milieu as a specific and noticeable phenomenon in the 1930s, when the emerging science fiction fan community started creating "fanzines" as forums for their own stories and opinions on published and broadcast SF works. Fanzines became popular tools used by geographically disparate fans to communicate with one another before the emergence of the Internet in the 1990s. Zines are still primarily associated with science fiction fandom today because of their immense and ongoing popularity among fans. Special Collections has a number of collections consisting of fanzines and works of fan fiction from a number of different media properties.

The zine was taken up in the 1970s by the burgeoning punk music movement as a method of expressing its disdain for the mainstream music and social scenes. The punk movement favored a strong anti-establishment, anti-corporate music way of life, and members created zines devoted to bands and artists who shared their worldview and were overlooked by standard publications and media outlets. Zines became an additional way for punk music fans and artists to circumvent "the system". The popularity of zines was helped along during this decade by the advent of the increasing availability of cheap photocopying (and, starting in the 1980s, the personal computer.)

Following in the footsteps of punk, members of the emerging 1990s "riot grrrl" underground feminist movement - an amorphous melding of female-driven music, concern with the complexities of female identity, and a new consciousness of institutional, social and cultural sexism - adopted zines as forums for their own forms of self-expression. Riot grrrl zines often moved beyond the music itself and concerned themselves with feminist political and social issues such as discrimination, sexual abuse, eating disorders, and concerns over body image.

Many zines are marked by stories of intensely personal experiences relating to these issues, which reinforce the traditional concept of the zine as a uniquely individual creation, a truly DIY (Do-It-Yourself) product born directly out of the author's personal vision and unmarked by editors, publishers, reviewers or any outside parties.

Zines, although to some degree superceded by the arrival of blogs, continue to thrive today as methods of personal expression in print, and as places for exploration of new social issues, including environmentalism, consumerism, and globalization. Many, however, continue to devote themselves to more "traditional" subject matter - i.e. underground music, radical politics, or science fiction and fantasy fandom.

The Fanzines Collection consists of numerous zines acquired by Special Collections at various times and which are not attached to a particular donor or otherwise dedicated collection. This collection is, in a sense, the equivalent of a general materials collection in a library.

The zines in this collection constitute a wide variety of subjects and concerns. Many are perzines, that is, "personal" zines that describe the author's own experiences, thoughts and feelings. Others are anthologies of stories or poetry, or consist of comic or other types of art. Still other zines are designed as outlets for political or social expression. Many zines encompass more than one type or style, reflecting the fluidity of the zine as a product of creative endeavor.

This collection was previously known as the Floating Zine Collection.

The box list, below, is organized by series. Folder titles are listed for each box. Folders which house multiple issues display those titles indented.
ATCA Periodicals and Zines Collection. Bulk dates: 1960 - 1980. 75+ ft. This ATCA collection brings together journals, newspapers, zines, and similar formal and informal periodicals that are art-related or have artistic merit. The range of subjects is broad and include political and cultural issues, gender and sexuality questions, as well as music, film, poetry, and religion. MsC779.

BERGUS, NICK AND LAURA. Bergus Zine Collection, 1978-2002. 13.5 ft. Zines collected by Nick and Laura Bergus documenting avant garde and popular music in the 1980s and 1990s. MsC834.

JOHNSON, BRENT. The Brent Johnson Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop Collection, 1990-2005. 5.5 ft.

Collection of zines and other small press publications assembled by Johnson, an Iowa City native who operated the Iowa Killed Buddy Holly Small Press and Zine Shop in Iowa City. MsC 319.

PUBLIC SPACE ONE. Public Space ONE Zine Collection, 1977-2008. 2.2. ft. Collection of zines donated by Iowa City-based art and performance venue Public Space ONE. Many zines relate to anarchist or radical politics, and many zines are from Iowa City-area authors. MsC370.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS. Special Collections Floating Comic Book Collection, 1971-2010. 0.4 ft.

Collection of assorted comic books not tied to any particular donor or other collection. MsC342.

STEWART, SEAN. Sean Stewart Zine Collection, 1986-2009. 1.0 ft.

Collection of zines dealing with a wide variety of subjects, themes, and creative styles, collected by a Baltimore-based zine writer, editor and reviewer. MsC 353.

WOLFE, SARAH AND JEN.Sarah and Jen Wolfe Collection of Riot Grrrl and Underground Music Zines, 1991-1998, 2003. 6 ft.

Collection of amateur publications arising primarily from the feminist riot grrrl movement of the 1990s, together with numerous zines documenting various independent/underground music scenes. MsC 878.

ZINE MACHINE. Zine Machine Collection, 2001-2009. 0.8 ft. Collection of zines taken from the Zine Machine, a repurposed vending machine in the University of Iowa Main Library that distributes zines to interested parties. Many of the zines are local to Iowa City in origin. MsC885.

See more fandom-related collections at http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/resources/fandomresources/.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2014 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • 6 x 6
  • 6 x 6 #15 (Spring) - 2008
  • 6 x 6 #20 (Spring) - 2010
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly Vol. 12: No. 4 (Winter) - 1995-1996
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly Vol. 13: No. 2 (Summer) - 1996
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly Vol. 13: No. 3 (Autumn) - 1996
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly Vol. 14: No. 2 (Summer) - 1997
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly
  • 2600: The Hacker Quarterly Vol. 16: No. 1 (Spring) - 1999
  • After the Fall (n.d.)
  • After School: Special! #1/2 - 2008
  • All Out Pointless, Random and Mundane Stew #2 (October) - 2009
  • Alphabetical Odor: World Salad Anthology - 2008
  • Annabelle Frumbatt: A Gastronomically Ghastly Tale - 2002
  • Anon, Good Nurse! (n.d.)
  • Art Missive (Spring) - 2004
  • Ataxia Overdrive - 2005
  • Atlas of Childhood (April) - 2010
  • Awkwardly Put #1-10 [bound] - 2007-2009
  • Badaboom Gramophone #3 - 1998
  • Box 2:
  • Bananafish #1-4 [bound] - 1994
  • A Beat Too Long - 2002
  • Best Zine Ever!
  • Best Zine Ever! #3 - 2004
  • Best Zine Ever! #4 - 2005
  • Best Zine Ever! #5 - 2006
  • Bewildered Bisexual (October) - 2008
  • Beyond Gallery Walls and Dead White Men (May) - 2003
  • Black Carrot #3 [two copies] (n.d.)
  • Black Pearl (n.d.)
  • BOB #1 (n.d.)
  • Bound to Struggle: Where Kink and Radical Politics Meet #3 (n.d.)
  • Brain Food
  • Brain Food #16 - 2010
  • Brain Food #17 - 2011
  • Brain Food: Special #2 - 2012
  • Breakfast With Earl #9 (n.d.)
  • Build Your Own Boyfriend
  • Build Your Own Boyfriend #1 (October) - 2004
  • Build Your Own Boyfriend #2 - 2008
  • Carousel Memories - 2001
  • Catharsis Eight
  • Catharsis Eight: Stories #22 (November) - 2007
  • Catharsis Eight: Journal #22 (November) - 2007
  • Cereal Boxes and Milk Crates: Zine Libraries and Infoshops are NOW (n.d.)
  • Chasing Dreams - 2010
  • Chemical Ways - 1997
  • Chord Easy
  • Chord Easy [first edition] - 2003
  • Chord Easy [second edition] - 2006
  • Clowns Make Good Watchdogs - 2002
  • Collage As Cultural Practive - 2005
  • Comixville #1 (Spring) - 2002
  • Box 3:
  • Communicating Vessels
  • Communicating Vessels #21 (Fall-Winter) - 2009-2010
  • Communicating Vessels #22 (Fall-Winter) - 2010-2011
  • Conduit
  • Conduit #1 (n.d.)
  • Conduit #2 - 2005
  • Contemporary Dude Theory (n.d.)
  • Crap Hound #7 - 2007
  • Croq #12 [two copies] (Summer) - 2010
  • Cultor-Sore #15 (August) - 2003
  • Dark Cloud Comin' - 2009
  • Day of Reconin #5 (n.d.)
  • De Facto
  • De Facto #1 (Summer) - 2009
  • De Facto #2 (Summer) - 2010
  • De Facto #3 (August) - 2011
  • Desensitized
  • Desensitized #2 (May) - 2008
  • Desensitized #3 (August) - 2008
  • Dicks Say the Funniest Things - 2009
  • DIY Guide #2 (n.d.)
  • Dog's Breakfast #1 (n.d.)
  • Dog Stories - 2000
  • Doris #19 - 2002
  • Dream Whip #12 (n.d.)
  • Duplex Planet
  • Duplex Planet #140 - 1996
  • Duplex Planet #141 - 1996
  • Duplex Planet #142 - 1996
  • Duplex Planet #147 - 1997
  • Duplex Planet #148 - 1997
  • Duplex Planet #149 - 1998
  • Duplex Planet #150 - 1998
  • Duplex Planet #151 - 1998
  • Duplex Planet #152 - 1998
  • Duplex Planet #153 - 1999
  • Duplex Planet #155 - 1999
  • Durable Goods #27 - 2010
  • Durable Goods
  • Durable Goods #48 - 2011
  • Durable Goods #49 - 2011
  • Durable Goods #50 - 2011
  • Durable Goods #51 - 2011
  • Durable Goods #60 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #61 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #62 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #63 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #64 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #65 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #66 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #67 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #68 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #69 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #70 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #71 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #72 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #73 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #74 - 2012
  • Durable Goods #75 - 2012
  • DV8 #1 - 1994
  • Box 4:
  • The East Village Inky
  • The East Village Inky #26 (February) - 2005
  • The East Village Inky #41 (May) - 2009
  • The East Village Inky #47 (May) - 2011
  • The East Village Inky #50 (June) - 2012
  • The Electric Screening Room #15 (n.d.)
  • Everybody Get Up #4 - 2009
  • Extranjero
  • Extranjero #5 (Spring) - 2006
  • Extranjero #6 (Autumn) - 2006
  • EZLN Communiqués
  • EZLN Communiqués #2 (January/March) - 1998
  • EZLN Communiqués #3 (April/July) - 1998
  • The F-Bomb #2 (n.d.)
  • Facebook (Fall) - 2009
  • Falling Can Be Deadly: Ten Foot Rule (January) - 2008
  • Feedback
  • Feedback #3 (n.d.)
  • Feedback #12 - 2012
  • Feme'ninete #1 - 2007
  • Feminine Vengeance
  • Feminine Vengeance #1 - 2009
  • Feminine Vengeance #2 - 2009
  • Feminine Vengeance #3 - 2010
  • Feminine Vengeance#4 - 2010
  • Feminine Vengeance#5 - 2010
  • Feminine Vengence #6 - 2011
  • The First Day of the Rest of Our Lives - 2001
  • Flame Diaries (Fall) - 2009
  • The Fool
  • The Fool #3 (Fall) - 2002
  • The Fool #4 (Fall) - 2003
  • The Fool #5 (Summer) - 2008
  • For My Sisters (Spring) - 2011
  • For the Clerisy Vol. 9: No. 44 (January) - 2002
  • Frankie Comics #1 - 2014
  • Free Voices
  • Free Voices #7 (April/May) - 2012
  • Free Voices #8 (Summer) - 2012
  • Funwater Awesome #3 - 2009
  • Future Fantasteek!
  • Future Fantasteek! #7 (July) - 2009
  • Future Fantasteek! #8 (February) - 2010
  • Box 5:
  • Future Fantasteek! #9 (July) - 2010
  • Future Fantasteek! #10 (February) - 2011
  • Future Fantasteek!
  • Future Fantasteek! #11 (July) - 2011
  • Future Fantasteek! #12 (February) - 2012
  • The Garlic Press
  • The Garlic Press Vol. 2: No. 1 (February) - 2002
  • The Garlic Press Vol. 2: No. 3 (April) - 2002
  • A Gentrification Reader [second edition] (n.d.)
  • Gideon #3 (June) - 2002
  • Girl Turnin Queen: And Other (Broken) Love Stories - 2010
  • Grimhaven (n.d.)
  • Grund Lit Zine #5 - 2009
  • Grundig
  • Grundig #1 (n.d.)
  • Grundig #2 (January) - 1996
  • Happy Birth Cake Lighthouse Dropkick a Monkey
  • Happy Birth Cake Lighthouse Dropkick a Monkey #1 - 2008
  • Happy Birth Cake Lighthouse Dropkick a Monkey #2 - 2008
  • Hark! Hark! (n.d.)
  • The Heart is Also a Furnace - 2005
  • Hope Enough? (n.d.)
  • How to Start to Think About Learning to Draw Comics - 2006
  • How2 Zine #1/2 (n.d.)
  • How to Turn a Comon [sic] Electronic Device Into Your Ticket to Free Long Distance (n.d.)
  • The Hungover Gourmet
  • The Hungover Gourmet #8 - 2004
  • The Hungover Gourmet #11 - 2009
  • Hymn California - 2008
  • I Dreamed I Was Assertive
  • I Dreamed I Was Assertive #11 - 2007
  • I Dreamed I Was Assertive #12 - 2008
  • I Hate This Part of Texas #4 - 2002
  • I'll Show You the Sky (Fall) - 2009
  • I'm Not Creepy, Now Get Over here (Fall) - 2009
  • Imaginary Life #6 (August) - 2006
  • The Inner Swine Vol. 9: No. 1 (March) - 2003
  • Box 6:
  • It Goes On the Shelf
  • It Goes On the Shelf #30 (November) - 2008
  • It Goes On the Shelf #31 (November) - 2009
  • It Goes On the Shelf #32 (November) - 2010
  • It Goes On the Shelf
  • It Goes On the Shelf #33 (November) - 2011
  • It Goes On the Shelf #34 (November) - 2012
  • It Goes On the Shelf #35 (November) - 2013
  • Jaded Hipsters Dig Whiskey Sours - 2003
  • Jelly Cake #3 - 2008
  • Jelly Cake: Season 2
  • Jelly Cake: Season 2 #1 (n.d.)
  • Jelly Cake: Season 2 #2 - 2011
  • Jelly Cake: Season 2 #3 - 2012
  • Jelly Cake: Circle Hills - 2013
  • Jen(ny) Ambular #1 (February) - 2010
  • Kersplebedeb Catalog - 2004
  • Kizzy #1 - 2009
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #23 (November) - 2008
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #24 (July) - 2009
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #25 (May) - 2010
  • Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #26 (December) - 2010
  • Law & Authority #4 (n.d.)
  • Lazy Boy (n.d.)
  • Leeking Ink #25 (January) - 2002
  • Let Them Eat Oven Browner (n.d.)
  • Letters From the War Years - 2003
  • Liberated Images: The Subversive Culture of Collage and Zines [exhibit brochure] - 2004
  • Likes/Dislikes: Some Things Lacey Prpic Hedtke Thinks About (n.d.)
  • A Little Guide to Truing Bike Wheels - 2004
  • Living Proof #3 - 2004
  • Lost and Found Times
  • Lost and Found Times #38 (May) - 1997
  • Lost and Found Times #40 (June) - 1998
  • Lost and Found Times #41 (November) - 1998
  • Lost and Found Times
  • Lost and Found Times #43 (November) - 1999
  • Lost and Found Times #44 (June) - 2000
  • Lost and Found Times #45 (November) - 2000
  • Love the Slain - 2010
  • Lower East Side Librarian
  • Lower East Side Librarian (December) - 2008
  • Lower East Side Librarian (December) - 2009
  • Lululand #3-4 (n.d.)
  • Box 7:
  • Mamaphiles - 2003
  • The Match!: A Journal of Ethical Anarchism
  • The Match!: A Journal of Ethical Anarchism #102 (Winter) - 2004-2005
  • The Match!: A Journal of Ethical Anarchism #108 (Spring) - 2010
  • MC Press
  • MC Press #1 (September) - 2012
  • MC Press #2 (October) - 2012
  • MC Press #3 (October) - 2012
  • Mermaids Against Misogyny
  • Mermaids Against Misogyny - 2013
  • Mermaids Against Misogyny - 2013
  • Mermaids Against Misogyny - 2013
  • Mermaids Against Misogyny - 2013
  • The Metamorphosis of Miss Badass Peacock & Kizzy
  • The Metamorphosis of Miss Badass Peacock & Kizzy - 2010
  • The Metamorphosis of Miss Badass Peacock & Kizzy - 2010
  • The Metamorphosis of Miss Badass Peacock & Kizzy - 2010
  • The Metaphor of the Hustle - 2006
  • Mezcolanza #16 (November) - 2009
  • The Military Strategy of Women and Children - 2003
  • Miss Badass Peacock and the Phoenix - 2009
  • Molly: A Pop Culture Zine #1 (June) - 2004
  • Mondragora #30 - 2001
  • Moon Treatise #2 (n.d.)
  • Moonlight Chronicles #20 - 1996
  • Murder Can Be Fun
  • Murder Can Be Fun #17 - 1996
  • Murder Can Be Fun #18 - 1997
  • The Muse, the News, & the Noose - 2010
  • Music (Fall) - 2009
  • My Evil Twin Sister #2 - 1995
  • Box 8:
  • Negative Capability
  • Negative Capability #4 - 2004
  • Negative Capability #5 - 2011
  • No!: I Was Talking with AO for Five Hours and All I Got Was This Crappy Title (Fall) - 2009
  • No Better Voice #1, Truckface #9 [bound] - 2000
  • No Better Voice
  • No Better Voice #29 (March) - 2005
  • No Better Voice #32 - 2006
  • No Gods. No Dungeon Masters. (n.d.)
  • No More Women for Me! - 2002
  • Notes on Anarchism [Noam Chomsky, author] (n.d.)
  • Oblivious Nation Zine #26A (April/May/June) - 2007
  • Overground Literature Distribution Catalog - 2005
  • Paranoid
  • Paranoid #1 - 1990
  • Paranoid #3 - 1990
  • The People I Love Best #3 - 2009
  • Permanent Ink
  • Permanent Ink #8 (n.d.)
  • Permanent Ink #11 (Summer) - 2008
  • PersuAsian #21 (Summer) - 2004
  • Phoenix: An Anthology of New Vietnamese & Australian Creative Works - 2002
  • Piss Clear
  • Piss Clear #2.2 (August) - 1996
  • Piss Clear #2.3 (September) - 1996
  • Practicing for Solitude - 2002
  • PTBH! Zine #7 (n.d.)
  • The Puny Whipster #5 (n.d.)
  • A Queer and Trans Fat Activist Timeline - 2011
  • Rattletrap #1 (February) - 2006
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #61 (April/May) - 2011
  • Razorcake #62 (June/July) - 2011
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #63 (August/September) - 2011
  • Razorcake #64 (October/November) - 2011
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #65 (December/January) - 2011/2012
  • Razorcake #66 (February/March) - 2012
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #67 (April/May) - 2012
  • Razorcake #68 (June/July) - 2012
  • Box 9:
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #69 (August/September) - 2012
  • Razorcake #70 (October/November) - 2012
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #71 (December 2012/January 2013) - 2012-2013
  • Razorcake #72 (February/March) - 2013
  • Razorcake #73 (April/May) - 2013
  • Razorcake #74 (June) - 2013
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #75 (August 1) - 2013
  • Razorcake #76 (October 1) - 2013
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #78 (February/March) - 2014
  • Razorcake #79 (April 1) - 2014
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #80 (June 1) - 2014
  • Razorcake #81 (August 1) - 2014
  • Razorcake
  • Razorcake #83 - 2014
  • Reading Log - 2009
  • Recluse Zine
  • Recluse Zine #3 (August) - 2001
  • Recluse Zine #5 (February) - 2002
  • Recluse Zine #6 (May) - 2002
  • Recluse Zine 9 (Summer) - 2003
  • Remembering the Real Dragon: An Interview with George Jackson (n.d.)
  • Rescue the Word - 2001
  • Resist #42 (July) - 2001
  • Revolution Summer - 2008
  • Rhizoma
  • Rhizoma #1 - 2005
  • Rhizoma #2 - 2005
  • Rise (November) - 2009
  • Ruffsketch
  • Ruffsketch #2 (n.d.)
  • Ruffsketch #3 (n.d.)
  • Box 10:
  • Scientific Dinosaur
  • Scientific Dinosaur #2 (May) - 2003
  • Scientific Dinosaur #3 (Fall) - 2003
  • SemiBold
  • SemiBold #8 - 2002
  • SemiBold #9 - 2003
  • The Shadow
  • The Shadow #37 (January) - 1995
  • The Shadow #38 (May/June) - 1996
  • The Shadow #39 (September-November) - 1996
  • The Sheridan Cartoon Artist's Magazine [SCAM] (October) - 1987
  • Show Me the Money!
  • Show Me the Money! #30 (Fall/Winter) - 2009
  • Show Me the Money! #31 (Winter/Spring) - 2010
  • Show Me the Money! #32 (Spring/Summer) - 2010
  • Show Me the Money!
  • Show Me the Money! #33 (Fall/Winter) - 2010
  • Show Me the Money! #34 (Spring/Summer) - 2011
  • Show Me the Money!
  • Show Me the Money! #35 [two copies] (Fall/Winter) - 2011
  • Show Me the Money! #36 (Winter/Spring) - 2012
  • Show Me the Money!
  • Show Me the Money! #37 (Summer/Fall) - 2012
  • Show Me the Money! #38 (Winter/Spring) - 2013
  • Side A: The Music Lover's Graphic Novel - 2006
  • Sinister Wisdom
  • Sinister Wisdom #47 (Summer/Fall) - 1992
  • Sinister Wisdom #58 (Winter/Spring) - 1998
  • Slingshot
  • Slingshot #87 (Summer) - 2005
  • Slingshot #93 (Winter) - 2007
  • Slingshot #94 (Summer) - 2007
  • Slushpile #4 (n.d.)
  • Smile, Hon, You're in Baltimore! #6 - 2004
  • Snowbound #2 - 1999
  • Speak Out! #6 (September) - 2002
  • Sports (Fall) - 2009
  • Stay Free!
  • Stay Free! #13 (April) - 1997
  • Stay Free! #14 (January) - 1998
  • Stay Free! #15 (Fall/Winter) - 1998
  • Stay Free! #16 (Fall/Winter) - 1999
  • Box 11:
  • Stay Free!
  • Stay Free! #17 (July) - 2000
  • Stay Free! #18 (May) - 2001
  • Stay Free! #19 (Spring) - 2002
  • Stay Free! #20 (Fall) - 2002
  • Stay Free!
  • Stay Free! #21 (Fall) - 2003
  • Stay Free! #22 (Spring) - 2004
  • Stay Free! #23 (October) - 2004
  • Stay Free! #24 (Spring) - 2005
  • Stay Free! #25 (Fall) - 2005
  • Stay Free! [Best of Stay Free!, 1993-1995] (September) - 1996
  • Stealing Babies - 2002
  • Survival Without Rent (n.d.)
  • Sweet Childish Days, That Were As Long As Twenty Days Are Now (Fall) - 2009
  • Syndicate Product Sampler 2010 (September) - 2010
  • Take Magazine (Spring) - 2005
  • Take Your Licks! - 2003
  • Take Care #3 (n.d.)
  • Tall Corn
  • Tall Corn #1 (Summer) - 2006
  • Tall Corn #2 (August) - 2012
  • Tazewell's Favorite Eccentric
  • Tazewell's Favorite Eccentric #7 - 2008
  • Tazewell's Favorite Eccentric #8 - 2008
  • Teaching Information Literacy With Zines: 21 July 2011, Sine Library Day - 2011
  • Tenacious: Art and Writings from Women in Prison #18 (Fall) - 2009
  • Thumbs Down Comics #4 1/2 (n.d.)
  • Thongs, Jail and Cracks (Fall) - 2009
  • Tight Pants #10 (n.d.)
  • Tiki: Girl Without a Cause #7 (n.d.)
  • Tongues Magazine #3 - 2003
  • Toothpaste #3 - 1971
  • Box 12:
  • Towards A Less Fucked Up World: Sobriety and Anarchist Struggle (n.d.)
  • Twelve Poems (n.d.)
  • Twisted Times #19 - 1996
  • We Flood Through: My Personal Account, Prose and Poetry, Shutting Down the World Trade Organization Ministerial Meeting - 1999
  • Weed This! (Spring) - 2010
  • We'll Never Have Paris (Spring) - 2010
  • What's the Big Idea?
  • What's the Big Idea? #1 - 2009
  • What's the Big Idea? #2 - 2009
  • Whisky Fueled Tales…from the Graves and Beyond (Fall) - 2009
  • Whoosh!
  • Whoosh! #1 (November) - 2008
  • Whoosh! #2 (October) - 2009
  • Why You Should Support the Arts in K-12 Schools - 2010
  • Without A Trace (n.d.)
  • Word Salad: A Journal of Mental Health #2 - 2004
  • The Wreckless Press #2 - 2009
  • You Don't Get There from Here
  • You Don't Get There from Here - 2006
  • You Don't Get There from Here #12 - 2009
  • You Don't Get There from Here #18 (November-January) - 2010-2011
  • Your Secretary #2, Heaven Street [bound] - 2010
  • Your Secretary #3, Identify This! [bound] - 2010
  • Your Secretary #4, There Is No Magnificent Creature [bound] - 2010
  • Zapatista Encuentro: Documents from the 1996 Encounter for Humanity and Against Neoliberalism - 1998
  • Zeek: A Jewish Journal of Thought and Culture (Fall/Winter) - 2003
  • Zenophobes: A Collaborative Zine About Fears (n.d.)
  • A Zine (Fall) - 2009
  • Zine Librarian Zine #2 (Winter) - 2003
  • Zine Librarian Zine #3 - 2009
  • Zine Masters of the Universe [exhibit brochure] - 2013
  • Zines at the University of Iowa Libraries - 2011
  • Box 13:
  • Black Rock Gazette - 1996
  • Series 2: 2014 ADDENDUM
  • Box 13:
  • Defacto #4 (Summer) - 2014
  • Drawings in 5 Lessons #1, 2 - 1972
  • Dream Whip 15, n.d.
  • Show Me the Money #39 (Summer/Falll/Winter/Spring) - 2013-2014
  • Show Me the Money #40 (Summer/Fall/Winter) - 2014

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Zines and the Amateur Press
Comic Books