Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Donald J. Mitchell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1968
Creator: Mitchell, Donald J. (1914-1975)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0330
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and Democratic National Committeeman from Iowa. Primarily correspondence and subject files relating to his political work for the Democratic Party.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Donald J. Mitchell papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1976 by Herbert R. Bennett and John H. Mitchell.

Preferred Citation: Donald J. Mitchell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Fort Dodge, Iowa native Donald J. Mitchell (1914-1975) graduated from the University of Iowa College of Law. In 1939, he began practicing law in Fort Dodge. He was the Fort Dodge city attorney from 1951 through 1974. Mitchell was very active in the Democratic Party. He served as the Democratic National Committeeman from Iowa for fifteen years, and was on the committee's executive board from 1963 to 1968.

The papers of Donald J. Mitchell are composed of six linear feet of correspondence, subject files, campaign memorabilia, and some material on the Knights of Columbus. The papers date from 1942 to 1968 and consist primarily of correspondence. Included are letters from such prominent figures as: John M. Bailey, Fred Biermann, Chester Bowles, Paul Butler, Steven Carter, Merwin Coad, Rudolph M. Evans, S.J. Galvin, Guy M. Gillette, John R. Hansen, Averell Harriman, Lex Hawkins, Clyde E. Herring, Mike Hogan, Harold E. Hughes, Hubert H. Humphrey, Estes Kefauver, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, John F. Kennedy, Dale Kramer, Herschel C. Loveless, Edward A. McDermott, Edward J. McManus, Jake More, Donald A. Norberg, Clark Rasmussen, Arthur Sanford, Neal Smith, Adlai Stevenson, Stuart Symington, Otha D. Wearin, Lumond F. Wilcox, G. Mennen Williams, and Leonard Wolf. The subject files relate to Democratic politics with folders about national and state conventions, committee reports, county quotas, and specific Congressional races.

Index to important names, with box numbers

Bailey, John M.: 11, 12, 13
Biermann, Fred: 4, 10
Bowles, Chester: 4, 5, 10
Butler, Paul M.: 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Carter, Steven V.: 8, 9
Coad, Merwin: 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Evans, Rudolph M.: 5, 6
Calvin, Silas J.: 2, 3, 7
Gillette, Guy M.: 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9
Hansen, John R.: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13
Harriman, Averell: 2, 5, 6
Hawkins, Lex: 2, 5, 6, 11, 12
Herring, Clyde E.: 1, 3, 4, 12, 13
Hogan, M. P.: 2, 3, 4
Hughes, Harold E.: 12, 13
Humphrey, Hubert H.: 5, 6, 10, 12, 13
Kefauver, Estes: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Kelly, Alberta Metcalf: 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13
Kennedy, John F.: 8, 9, 11
Kramer, Dale: 8
Loveless, Herschel C.: 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
McDermott, Edward A.: 3, 5, 10, 13
McManus, Edward J.: 5, 8, 9, 10, 11
More, Jake: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Norberg, Donald A.: 8, 9, 10, 11
Rasmussen, Clark: 12, 13
Sanford, Arthur: 4, 6, 7, 10
Smith, Neal: 9, 12, 13
Stevenson, Adlai: 5, 6, 7, 10
Symington, Stuart: 4, 10
Wearin, Otha D.: 3, 4, 6, 11
Wilcox, Lumond F.: 2, 3, 4, 8, 10, 11
Williams, G.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DEMOCRATIC PARTY CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: OTHER CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: DEMOCRATIC PARTY CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Webster County Democratic Party, July 20-December - 1942-1946
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More
  • Budget reports, Webster County Demorcatic Party - 1946
    Includes letters from Jake More
  • State and national Democratic literature, January 20-December 31 - 1947
    Newsletters; Includes letters from Jake More
  • State correspondence, January 8-December 31 - 1949
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, John R. Hansen
  • State and national, January 3-December 31 - 1948
    newsletters; Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, Clyde E. Herring
  • Box 2:
  • State correspondence, January 4-December 22 - 1950
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, John R. Hansen, Lex Hawkins
  • State correspondence - 1951
    Mostly post office; Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More
  • State and national convention, January 2-May 28 - 1952
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, Lumond F. Wilcox, M. P. Hogan
  • Democratic National Convention, July - 1952
  • Correspondence, June 30-July 30 - 1952
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, M. P. Hogan, Estes Kefauver, S. J. Galvin, Richard Russell, Lumond F. Wilcox, Robert S. Kerr, Averell Harriman
  • Box 3:
  • State correspondence, August 1-December 29 - 1952
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, Estes Kefauver, John Sparkman, Ed Breen
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 3-July 14 - 1953
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, M. P. Hogan, Clyde E. Herrring, S. J. Galvin
  • Correspondence, July 15-August - 1953
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, M. P. Hogan, Clyde E. Herring, Estes Kefauver, S. J. Galvin
  • Correspondence, September 1-December 31 - 1953
    Includes letters form Herschel Loveless, Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, M. P. Hogan, Estes Kefauver, S. J. Galvin, Lumond F. Wilcox, Edward A. McDermott, Otha D. Wearin, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Virgil M. Hancher
  • Democratic National Committee report, September 4 - 1953
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 2-March 31 - 1954
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, Clyde E. Herring, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Fred Bermann, Otha D. Wearin, Chester Bowles, Stuart Symington
  • State and national correspondence, April 1-June 25 - 1954
    Includes letters from Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, M. P. Hogan, Clyde E. Herring, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, John P. Hansen, Benond Young, Fred Bermann, Arthur Sanford, Steven A. Mitchell
  • State and national correspondence, July 2-September 30 - 1954
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, John R. Hansen, Stephen A. Mitchell, Arthur Sanford, Clyde E. Herring
  • State and national correspondence, October 4-December 30 - 1954
    Includes letters from Jake More, John R. Hansen, M. P. Hogan, Estes Kefauver, Stephen A. Mitchell, Lumond F. Wilcox, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Arthur Sanford
  • Box 5:
  • State correspondence, January 4-May 31 - 1955
    Includes letters from Jake More, Estes Kefauver, Lex Hawkins, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Paul M. Butler, Richard B. Russell, G. Mennen Williams
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, June 1-September 30 - 1955
    Includes letters from Jake More, Estes Kefauver, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Paul M. Butler, Orville L. Meeman, Hubert H. Humphrey, R. M. Evans
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, October 1-31 - 1955
    Includes letters from Jake More, Paul M. Butler, Averell Harriman (Harriman visit October 22)
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, November 1-December 31 - 1955
    Includes letters from Paul M. Butler, Hubert H. Humphrey, Adlai E. Stevenson
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 3-March 31 - 1956
    Includes letters from Jake More, Chester Bowles, Adlai E. Stevenson, Edward A. McDermott, Paul M. Butler, R. M. Evans, Leonard G. Wolf, Merwin Coad, E. J. McManus
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, April 3-May 31 - 1956
    Includes letters from Jake More, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Paul M. Butler, Harry S. Truman, Leonard G. Wolf, R. M. Evans, Averell Harriman, Merwin Coad
  • Box 6:
  • State and national convention, July 1-31 - 1956
    Includes letters from Jake More, John R. Hansen, Estes Kefauver, Paul M. Butler, Averell Harriman, Adlai E. Stevenson, Otha D. Wearin, R. M. Evans
  • Democratic National Convention, August 1-31 - 1956
    Includes letters from Jake More, Estes Kefauver, Paul M. Butler, Hubert H. Humphrey, Adlai E. Stevenson, Arthur Sanford
  • Convention buttons and memorabilia - 1956
    States directory; Harriman, Humphrey, Stevenson buttons and pamphlets; Donald J. Mitchell Democratic National Committee member pin
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, September 1-30 - 1956
    Includes letters from John R. Hansen, Paul M. Butler, Adlai E. Stevenson, Lex Hawkins
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, October 1-30 - 1956
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, Estes Kefauver, John R. Hansen, Paul M. Butler, Adlai E. Stevenson, Arthur Sanford, Merwin Coad (Dan W. Turner is the subject of a press release)
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, November 1-December 26 - 1956
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, Paul M. Butler, Arthur Sanford, Merwin Coad
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 2-February 28 - 1957
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, S. J. Galvin, Paul M. Butler
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, March 1-April 30 - 1957
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, John R. Hansen, Paul M. Butler, Alberta Mecalf Kelly, Merwin Coad
  • Congressional race between James Dolliver and Merwin Coad, November-July 21 - 1956-1957
    Includes The Television Code (1954), and Standards of Practice for Radio Broadcasters (1954)
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, May 1-August 30 - 1957
    Includes letters from Jake More, John R. Hansen, Paul M. Butler, Merwin Coad
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, September 3-October 30 - 1957
    Includes Dollars for Democrats solicitor's kit; letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, Paul M. Butler, Merwin Coad, Steven V. Carter, Dale Kramer
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, November 4-December 27 - 1957
    Includes House of Representatives Contested-Election Case; letters from Herschel Loveless, Jake More, Paul M. Butler, Merwin Coad, Lumond F. Wilcox
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 2-April 28 - 1958
    Includes programs of Harry S. Truman Dinner; list of CBS radio stations; letters from Jake More, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Merwin Coad, Steven V. Carter, E. J. McManus, John F. Kennedy (photocopy),
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, May 2-September 26 - 1958
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, Paul M. Butler, Merwin Coad, E. J. McManus, Donald A. Norberg
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, October 2-31 - 1958
    Includes The Voting Record, 1953-1957; TV speech of October 2; letters from Herschel Loveless, Guy M. Gillette, Paul M. Butler, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Merwin Coad, G. Memmen Williams
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, November 1-December 31 - 1958
    Includes Democratic Digest (November-December 1958); letters from Herschel Loveless, Paul M. Butler, Steven V. Carter, Leonard G. Wolf, E. J. McManus, Donald A. Norberg, Neal E. Smith
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 2-February 23 - 1959
    Includes Blue Print for Rebuilding [the Republican Party]; letters from Herschel Loveless, Paul M. Butler, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Merwin Coad, Donald A. Norberg, Leonard G. Wolf, John F. Kennedy (photocopy, regarding Kennedy's visit to Iowa City in December 1958)
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, February 24-April 8 - 1959
    Includes 1959 Democratic National Victory Dinner programs; letters from Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Paul M. Butler, Leonard G. Wolf, Donald A. Norberg
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, April 9-June 26 - 1959
    Includes letters from Paul M. Butler, M. P. Hogan, Merwin Coad, Donald A. Norberg, May Neese, John F. Kennedy (photocopy, regarding labor bill)
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, July 2-September 11 - 1959
    Includes A Man of Action, Gov. Robert B. Meyner; letters from Paul M. Butler, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Adlai E. Stevenson, Donald A. Norberg, Leonard G. Wolf, Stuart Symington, Merwin Coad
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, September 12-December 31 - 1959
    Includes letters from Paul M. Butler, Merwin Coad, Chester Bowles, Lumond F. Wilcox, Edward A. McDermott, Hubert H. Humphrey, Donald A. Norberg, Stuart Symington
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 2-March 31 - 1960
    Includes letters from Paul M. Butler, John R. Hansen, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Merwin Coad, Hubert H. Humphrey, Donald A. Norberg, Stuart Symington, Leonard G. Wolf, Arthur Sanford
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, April 1-May 30 - 1960
    Includes letters from Herschel Loveless, Paul M. Butler, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Donald A. Norberg, E. J. McManus, Fred Biermann
  • Box 11:
  • State convention resolutions, May - 1960
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, June 1-September 30 - 1960
    Includes photograph of Governor of Wisconsin, Gaylord Wilson (1960); letters from Herschel Loveless, Paul M. Butler, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, J. R. Hansen, Donald A. Norberg, Henry M. Jackson, John F. Kennedy (photocopy on John F. Kennedy For President stationery)
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, October 1-December 30 - 1960
    Includes Donald A. Norberg October 1st letter about Kennedy's domination of the TV debate; letters from Herschel Loveless, Lumond F. Wilcox, E. J. McManiss, Otha D. Wearin, G. Mennen Williams, Henry M. Jackson
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 4-December 15 - 1961
    Includes President Kennedy's Birthday Dinner program, May 27; letters from Paul M. Butler, Lex Hawkins, Merwin Coad, John M. Bailey, Donald A. Norberg
  • Convention and inauguration memorabilia - 1961
    Includes Kennedy button, ribbons, and inauguration program
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, November-June - 1962-1963
    Includes defaults by state of FHA-insured home mortgages as of December 31, 1961; letters from Clyde E. Herring, John M. Bailey, Robert F. Kennedy (original April 9, regarding invitation)
  • Correspondence and Democratic literature, January 9-December 21 - 1964-1965
    Includes draft of Report of the Committee on Resolutions and Platform, Democratic National Convention 1964; letters from Lex Hawkins, John C. Culver, Harold E. Hughes, Edward A. McDermott (September 16, 1965, announcing Ted Kennedy to speak in Cedar Rapids), Edward M. Kennedy (original May 28, 1965, invitation to attend the dedication of the John F. Kennedy Momorial Park; original December 1, 1965, regarding invitation); Robert F. Kennedy
  • Political, State, January 10-January 9 - 1966-1967
    Includes newsletter, Democratic Women's Alert (March 1966); letters from Hubert H. Humphrey, Harold E. Hughes, Lex Hawkins, John M. Bailey, Lawrence F. O'Brien, Neal Smith
  • Political correspondence, January-June - 1967
    Includes 14-page paper, College Young Democratic Clubs of America, with Viet Nam resolution that passed 10 to 3, April 24, 1966; letters from John M. Bailey, Clark R. Rasmussen, James A. Farley, Neal Smith
  • County quotas, June - 1963
  • Box 13:
  • Political correspondence, July-September - 1967
    Includes letters from Harold E. Hughes, John C. Culver, John M. Bailey, Clark R. Rasmussen, Neal Smith, Donald E. O'Brien
  • Political correspondence, October-December - 1967
    Includes 1967 manual, College Young Democratic Clubs of America; cartoon of Romney and Reagan stances on Viet Nam; letters from Clark R. Rasmussen, Neal Smith, Edward A. McDermott, Clyde E. Herring, John C. Culver, John M. Bailey, Richard J. Daley
  • Political correspondence, January-March - 1968
    Includes letters from Clark R. Rasmussen, Neal Smith, John M. Bailey, John C. Culver, Hubert H. Humphrey
  • Political correspondence, April-June - 1968
    Includes letters from Clark R. Rasmussen, Neal Smith, John M. Bailey, Hubert H. Humphrey, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, John R. Hansen
  • Political correspondence, July-December - 1968
    Includes letters from Clark R. Rasmussen, Neal Smith, Harold E. Hughes, Hubert H. Humphrey, John R. Hansen, John M. Bailey, Alberta Metcalf Kelly, Bert A. Bandstra
  • Series 2: OTHER CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 14:
  • Knights of Columbus correspondence - 1948-1949
  • Knights of Columbus correspondence - 1950
    Includes biographical program for Fort Dodge visit of Frank Leahy (Notre Dame coach)
  • Knights of Columbus correspondence - 1951-1952
  • Selective Service System, Local Board No. 95, Fort Dodge, Iowa. Correspondence - 1948-1952