Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Milton Monroe Reigelman: Collection on The Midland

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1973
Creator: Reigelman, Milton Monroe
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0329
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collector and scholar. Chiefly correspondence assembled in preparing his A Study of the Midland Magazine: 1915-1933 (1973) and The Midland: a Venture in Literary Regionalism (1975).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Milton Reigelman in 1981.

Preferred Citation: Milton Monroe Reigelman: Collection on The Midland, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The John Towner Frederick papers (MsC513)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: RESEARCH

  • Series 1: RESEARCH
  • Box 1:
  • Letters from Midland contributors to Reigelman
  • August Derleth
  • John A. Beadle
  • R. W. Borst
  • Benjamin Appel
    attached: 2 xeroxed copies of letters from Frederick to Appel
  • Harry Hartwick
  • Howard M. Jones
  • Thomas Duncan
  • Paul Corey
  • Albert Halper
  • James Hearst
  • Irving Brant
  • Karen J. Bauman
    archivist, State Historical Society of Wisconsin
  • Copy of letter from Reigelman to Derleth
  • Marquis W. Childs
  • James T. Farrell
  • Loren Eiseley
  • MacKinlay Kantor
  • James M. Smith
    archivist, State Historical Society of Wisconsin
  • Harry Nash Smith
  • John G. Neihardt
  • Harold G. Merriam
  • Advertising and other printed material from Midland: 19 pieces - 1917-1932
    Also contains some undated pieces
  • General
  • Letters of Walter J. Muilenburg and others of his family
    5 original letters
  • 14 copies of newspaper and magazine articles
  • 1 copy of letter of Frederick to McCorison
    Original at University of Notre Dame
  • Correspondence between Frederick--Reigelman - 1971-1973
    7 letters: 5 letters from Frederick, 2 from Reigelman
  • August Derleth--Frederick letters - 1931-1935
    46 letters (originals at Wisconsin State Historical Society)
  • Letters from Frederick to
  • Donald Davidson: 3 letters, February 1-April 4 - 1924
    Originals at Vanderbilt University
  • Harriet Monroe: 7 letters - 1918-1930
    Originals at University of Chicago
  • Lowery C. Wimberly: 6 letters - 1930-1940
    Originals at University of Nebraska
  • 1 original letter from Joseph G. Svoboda (University of Nebraska) to Reigelman, May 23 - 1972
  • Midland collection at Notre Dame (xeroxed copies of letters, articles)
  • 31 pieces - 1915-1932
  • 7 pieces, undated
  • Jessup papers at University of Iowa (xeroxed copies)
  • 21 pieces - 1916-1931
  • 1 piece, undated
  • H.L. Mencken--Frederick letters (xeroxed copies--2 originals are Frederick's; rest are New York Public Library's)
  • 29 letters: 3 letters of Mencken's, 26 letters of Frederick's - 1919-1942
  • 1 biography sheet on Frederic, up to ca. 1923
  • Letters of Sherwood Anderson and Raymond Weeks--Frederick (xeroxed copies--original Anderson's in Newberry Library--original Week's at University of Missouri)
  • 15 letters: 10 letters to Weeks, 5 letters to Anderson - 1918-1944
  • Frank Luther Mott's papers (xeroxed copies--originals owned by Mildred Mott Wedel)
  • 7 letters - 1917-1927
  • 2 pieces, undated
  • Frederick to John Beadle letters (xeroxed copies--originals owned by John Beadle)
  • 24 letters - 1930-1936
  • H.G. Merriam--Frederick letters (xeroxed copies--originals at University of Montana)
  • 43 letters: 27 letters of Frederick's, 14 letters of Merriam's, 2 miscellaneous letters - 1928-1938
  • Marie Gilchrist--Frederick letters (xeroxed copies--originals owned by Marie Gilchrist)
  • 22 letters: 21 letters from Frederick, 1 original letter [Gilchrist-Reigelman, June 24, 1971] - 1920-1931
  • Father Leo Ward--Frederick letters (xeroxed copies--originals at Notre Dame in Ward papers)
  • 19 letters: 12 letters of Ward's, 7 letters of Frederick's - 1930-1932