Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James V. Gallagher Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1984
Creator: Gallagher, James V. (1933-)
Extent: 13.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0327
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his service in the Iowa house and senate. Issues range from abortion to apportionment, however Gallagher's primary interest were energy and conservation.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by James V. Gallagher at various times between 1975 and 1985

Preferred Citation: James V. Gallagher Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James V. Gallagher was born in Carroll, Iowa, on February 18, 1933. He was educated at St. Ann's Academy and attended State College of Iowa, Grand View College, and the University of Northern Iowa. He is a veteran of the Korean War. Employed as a technician by Bell Telephone, Gallagher lives with his family on fifty acres near Jesup, Iowa. He was twice elected, as a Democrat, to Iowa's House of Representatives. In 1973, Gallagher was elected to the state's sixteenth senatorial district. He remained in the Senate until 1985. He was chairman of the Senate Energy Committee and also was on the Iowa Energy Policy Council.

The papers of James V. Gallagher are made up of twenty-six boxes (13 linear feet) of manuscripts dating from 1964 to 1984. Mr. Gallagher gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in periodic installments over a decade beginning in 1975. Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence, each new addition is organized as an individual unit. Subject files and correspondence make up the bulk of Gallagher's papers. The correspondence includes letters from: Dick Clark, John Culver, Charles Grassley, Tom Harkin, Harold Hughes, Jim Leach, Ed Mezvinsky, Arthur Neu, Robert D. Ray, Neal Smith, and Lewis Warren. The subject folders cover topics ranging from apportionment to conservation, abortion to busing, and the bottle bill to the coal project. Gallagher's work on the Energy committee is well documented with minutes, reports, and correspondence, as is his involvement with the Iowa Energy Policy Council. The collection also contains material relating to the Democratic Party.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: ADDENDUM 1977
Series 3: ADDENDUM 1978
Series 4: ADDENDUM 1979
Series 5: ADDENDUM 1980
Series 6: ADDENDUM 1981
Series 7: ADDENDUM 1983
Series 8: ADDENDUM 1985

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Letter A
  • Box 1:
  • Abortion. Con changes in Iowa abortion law. Correspondence - 1973
  • Abortion. Pro changes in Iowa abortion law. Correspondence - 1973
  • Abortion. News clippings, reports, statements
  • Air pollution. Black Hawk County
    2 folders
  • Air pollution. Correspondence
  • Air pollution. News clippings, editorials
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign materials - 1968
  • Conservation Education Center. Correspondence - 1965-1973
  • Conservation Education Center. Building plans, news clippings, photographs
  • Conservation correspondence - 1968-1969
  • Correspondence [general] - 1964-1966
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence [general] - 1967
  • Correspondence [general] - 1968-1972
  • Correspondence [general], January-April - 1973
    Including a letter from Lew Warren
  • Correspondence [general], May-December - 1973
    Including letters from Lew Warren (2), James F. Schaben (3), Neal Smith, Dick Clark, Ed Mezvinsky, John Culver (2), Nicholas Johnson, and Arthur A. Neu (2)
  • Correspondence [general] - 1974
    Including a letter from Ed Mezvinsky
  • Court reform correspondence - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Letter D
  • Box 2:
  • Democratic Party - 1965-1973
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 2:
  • Education. Correspondence, newspaper clippings - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 3:
  • Governmental reorganization
    4 folders
  • Sub-Series: Letter H
  • Box 3:
  • Highways and automobiles. Correspondence, clippings - 1967-1971
  • Hoffman's [Abbie] draft card burning case. Correspondence, clippings - 1967-1968
  • Hughes, Harold. Correspondence - 1964-1974
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 3:
  • Invitations - 1965-1967
  • Iowa. 61st General Assembly thank you letters - 1964-1967
  • Iowa. 62nd General Assembly thank you letters - 1967-1969
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 3:
  • Legal pads [four]
  • Box 4:
  • Liquor on Sunday issue, public response correspondence - 1973
  • Lobbyists letters - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 4:
  • News releases and letters to the editor - 1965-1967
  • Newspaper clippings - 1964-1974
  • Sub-Series: Letter P
  • Box 4:
  • Pari-mutuel betting on race horses [bill to authorize], correspondence - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 4:
  • Ray, Robert B., inauguration - 1973
  • Box 5:
  • Reapportionment
  • Reapportionment correspondence, radio editorials - 1966-1967
  • Reapportionment newspaper clippings
  • Reciprocity correspondence, clippings - 1967
  • Report on Iowa Teachers Conservation Camp and proposed Conservation Education Center, April 30 - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Letter S
  • Box 5:
  • School bus issue, con passage correspondence - 1964-1965
  • School bus issue, pro passage correspondence - 1964-1967
  • School bus issue miscellaneous
  • School bus issue newspaper clippings
  • School bus issue postcards supporting bill
  • Sub-districting, Iowa Supreme Court decision - 1966
  • Supersonic transport correspondence - 1970-1971
    Including letters from Fred R. Harris, Jack Miller, William Proxmire (2), Hubert H. Humphrey, John V. Tunney, George McGovern, and Edmund S. Muskie
  • Sub-Series: Letter W
  • Box 5:
  • Water pollution. H.F. 412 - 1964-1968
  • Water pollution - 1968-1969
    Including correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM 1977
  • Sub-Series: Letter A
  • Box 6:
  • Air Pollution, Black Hawk County - 1969-1971
  • Appropriations, Correspondence - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 6:
  • Coal - 1973-1976
  • Collective Bargaining, Public Employees - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence, Releases, Clippings - 1966; 1971-1972
    Including letters from Dick Clark, John Culver, Harold Hughes, Ed Mezvinsky, Robert Ray
  • Correspondence [incoming] - 1973
    Including a letter from Dick Clark
  • Correspondence [outgoing] news releases, clippings - 1973
  • Correspondence (incoming, A-N) - 1974
    Including letters from Dick Clark (3), John Culver (4), Harold Hughes, Ed Mezvinsky, Arthur Neu (5)
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence [incoming, P-Y; outgoing] news releases - 1974
  • Correspondence [incoming, A-G] - 1975
    Including letters from Michael Blouin, Dick Clark (3), John Culver (3)
  • Correspondence [incoming, H-0] - 1975
    Including a letter from Ed Mezvinsky
  • Correspondence [incoming, P-S] - 1975
    Including a letter from Neal Smith
  • Correspondence [incoming, T-Z] - 1975
  • Correspondence [outgoing] - 1975
  • Correspondence [letters to editors], news releases - 1975
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence [incoming, A-M] - 1976
    Including letters from Dick Clark (7), John Culver (4), Charles Grassley
  • Correspondence [incoming, N-Y; outgoing], news releases, clippings - 1976
  • Correspondence, Releases - 1977-1978
    Including letters from Dick Clark (3), John Culver (2), Charles Grassley, Tom Harkin, Jim Leach, Neal Smith
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 8:
  • Election Records - 1964-1972
  • Energy Crisis - 1973-1975
    Including letters from H. R. Gross, Harold Hughes
  • Energy Policy Council - 1974-1975
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 8:
  • Gas price and marketing - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 9:
  • Local Funding and Budgeting Study Committee/Local Services Study Committee - 1973-1974
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Letter P
  • Box 9:
  • Personal correspondence - 1973-1974
    Including a letter from Robert Ray
  • Police Communications Review Committee - 1973-1975
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 9:
  • Railroads - 1974
  • Series 3: ADDENDUM 1978
  • Sub-Series: Letter A
  • Box 10:
  • Attorney-General Richard Turner's Opinions - 1975-1978
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 10:
  • Bottle Bill - 1975-1977
  • Bottle Bill - 1978
  • Bottle Bill, n.d.
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 10:
  • Calendar appointments - 1978
  • Coal Project - 1973-1975
  • Coal Project - 1976-1977
  • Box 11:
  • Coal Project, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 11:
  • Energy - 1973-1974
  • Energy - 1975-1976
  • Energy, January-February - 1977
  • Energy, March-June - 1977
    Including letters from Dick Clark (2), John C. Culver
  • Box 12:
  • Energy, January-February - 1978
    Including letters from Dick Clark, Charles E. Grassley, Robert D. Ray
  • Energy, March-December - 1978
    Including letter from Robert D. Ray
  • Energy, n.d.
    2 folders
  • Energy Policy Council - 1975-1978
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 12:
  • Gas Tax - 1977-1978
  • Sub-Series: Letter H
  • Box 12:
  • Handicapped Bill S.F.70 - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 12:
  • Insulation Loan Fund - 1976-1977
  • Invitations - 1975-1976
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 13:
  • Legislation sponsored by Gallagher - 1974-1975
  • Sub-Series: Letter M
  • Box 13:
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1974-1977
    Including letter from Dick Clark
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, March-December - 1977
    Including letters from John C. Culver (2)
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1978
    Including letters from Charles E. Grassley, Dick Clark
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, n.d.
  • Monitor (Wiretap) Bill - 1975-1976
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 13:
  • Natural Resources Council Reorganization, some n.d. - 1977
  • Newspaper Column-Gallagher Sez - 1975-1976
  • Sub-Series: Letter P
  • Box 13:
  • Pipeline Bill - 1973-1977
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 14:
  • Railroads - 1972-1975
  • Railroads, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Letter T
  • Box 14:
  • Transportation - 1977-1978
  • Series 4: ADDENDUM 1979
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 15:
  • Ban on Automobile Racing - 1974, 1979
  • Bicycle Trails - 1978-1979
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 15:
  • Energy Correspondence - 1975-1979
    Including letters from Robert D. Ray, Maurice Van Nostrand, Roger W. Jepsen, John C. Culver, Charles E. Grassley, Tom Tauke, and Berkley Bedell
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 15:
  • Gasoline Shortage - 1979
    Including letter from Tom Harkin
  • Sub-Series: Letter M
  • Box 15:
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1974-1978
    Including letters from Dick Clark and Lew Warren
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, January-February - 1979
    Including letters from Charles E. Grassley, John C. Culver, S.I. Hayakawa, and Terry E. Branstad
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, March-July - 1979
    Including letters from Jim Leach and Neal Smith
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 15:
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1978-1979
  • Sub-Series: Letter S
  • Box 15:
  • Share Drafts - 1978-1979
  • Series 5: ADDENDUM 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter A
  • Box 16:
  • Attorney- General Opinions and Other Correspondence with the Iowa Department of Justice 1977-1979
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 16:
  • Bike Trails, September-November - 1978
  • Bills Introduced by Senator Gallagher, some n.d. - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 16:
  • Can Deposit - 1977-1979
  • Correspondence with Federal Officials - 1977-1979
    Including John Culver and Dick Clark
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 16:
  • Invitations and Replies; calendar - 1979-1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 16:
  • Land Use - 1979-1980
  • Lobbyists' Notes; political directories, April-May - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Letter M
  • Box 16:
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1973-1980
    5 folders
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 16:
  • Newsletters - 1977-1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter T
  • Box 16:
  • Taxpayers' Rights Amendment, March-April - 1980
  • Series 6: ADDENDUM 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 17:
  • Bicycle Trails - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 17:
  • Carter/Mondale Materials - 1979
  • Coal Project - 1976-1981
  • Communications Review Committee-Minutes - 1980
  • Correspondence - 1975-1978
  • Correspondence - 1979
    Including letters from R. H. Lounsberry, Mark E. Schantz, Jimmy Carter, Edward J. Stanek, Raymond L. Kassel, Edward M. Kennedy, and David M. Stanley
  • Correspondence - 1980
    Including letters from Tom Miller, Edward J. Stanek, Jimmy Carter, Raymond L. Kassel, Mark E. Schantz, John C. Culver, Ed Campbell, Gerald Bogan, and Terry E. Branstad
  • Correspondence [incoming], some undated, January-June - 1981
    Including letters from Charles E. Grassley
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 17:
  • Energy - 1977-1981
  • Energy Policy Council, June 19-20 - 1979
  • Energy Policy Council, December 4-5 - 1979
  • Box 18:
  • Energy Policy Council, February 5 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, March 4 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, April 1 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, July 1 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, September 2-3 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, October 6-7 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, November 11 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, December 2 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, January 27 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, March 3 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, April 7 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, May 5 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, June 2 - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter F
  • Box 18:
  • Family Farm Development Act - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter H
  • Box 19:
  • Hazardous Waste - 1980-1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 19:
  • Inaugural Programs-Iowa - 1965; 1973
  • Invitations - 1979-1981
  • Iowa Federation of Labor-Voting Record of Iowa Senate - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter J
  • Box 19:
  • Joint Subcommittee on Forestry - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 19:
  • Legislation Sponsored by Gallagher - 1975-1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 19:
  • Natural Resources Subcommittee - 1977; 1979-1980
  • Newsletters - 1979-1980
  • Newspaper Clippings; press releases - 1979-1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 19:
  • Reapportionment - 1981
    2 folders
  • Reports of Interim Committees and Subcommittees of Standing Committees of the Iowa General Assembly Which Conducted Studies During the 1980 Interim
  • Sub-Series: Letter S
  • Box 19:
  • Senate Energy Committee-Minutes - 1979-1980
  • State Government-Minutes - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter U
  • Box 19:
  • United Methodist Church-Iowa Annual Conference-Legislative Issues - 1980-1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter W
  • Box 19:
  • White House-Federal, State, and Local Anti-Inflation Program - 1979
  • Series 7: ADDENDUM 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 20:
  • Budget Cuts-AFDC, Schools, January-February - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 20:
  • Capitol Restoration, March - 1982
  • Correspondence [general] - 1981
    Including letters from Charles Grassley, Roger W. Jepsen, and Robert D. Ray
  • Correspondence [general] - 1982
    Including letters from Ed Campbell, and Charles Grassley
  • Correspondence, Washington, D.C. - 1980-1983
    Including letters from Cooper Evans, Charles Grassley, Tom Harkin, and Roger Jepsen
  • Sub-Series: Letter D
  • Box 20:
  • Deposit Bill, June - 1980-1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 20:
  • Economic Recovery Tax Act - 1981
  • Energy Committee Minutes, January and March - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, Auditor's Report for Year Ended June 30 - 1980
  • Energy Policy Council, July 15 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, September 11 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, October 6 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, November 3 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, December 1 - 1981
  • Energy Policy Council, January 5 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, February 2 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, March 2 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, April 6 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, May 4 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, June 1 - 1982
  • Box 21:
  • Energy Policy Council, July 13 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, August 10 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, January 4 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, February 1 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, March 1 - 1983
  • Environmental Quality Commission Nominations, August 28 - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter F
  • Box 21:
  • Forestry, April-November - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 21:
  • Gasahol, January-March - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 21:
  • Invitations - 1981-1983
  • Iowa Coal Project - 1981-1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter J
  • Box 21:
  • Joint Session-Condition of the State, January 11 - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 21:
  • Land Use, February-March - 1982
  • Liquor Bill, April-May - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter M
  • Box 21:
  • Motor Fuel Tax-Senate File 561, May; August - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 21:
  • Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee, January-February - 1982
  • Natural Resources Committee-minutes, January 10-March 28 - 1978
  • Natural Resources Committee-minutes, January 21-April 16 - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter P
  • Box 21:
  • Product Liability Bill, December - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 21:
  • Railroads-House File 874, August - 1981
  • Box 22:
  • Reapportionment-Senate File 581, July-August - 1981
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Letter S
  • Box 22:
  • State Government Committee, January 10-April 5 - 1979
  • State Government Committee, January 15-April 18; June - 1981
  • State Government Committee, January 14-April 1 - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter T
  • Box 22:
  • Taxes, January-August - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter U
  • Box 22:
  • Uniform Bidding Procedures, September-December - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter W
  • Box 22:
  • Water, December-January - 1980-1982
  • Water Bill House File 2463, June; April - 1981; 1982
  • Water Study Joint Subcommittee-Minutes (September 27); Final Report (January) - 1982; 1983
  • Water Use Subcommittee-Final Report, December - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter Y
  • Box 22:
  • Youth Corps, February-March - 1982
  • Series 8: ADDENDUM 1985
  • Sub-Series: Letter A
  • Box 23:
  • Aerial Spray, November - 1983
  • Attorney General's Opinions, February-January - 1981-1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter B
  • Box 23:
  • Bottle Bill, October 12 - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Letter C
  • Box 23:
  • Capital Punishment, December-January - 1983-1984
  • Chiropractor Bill, March - 1983
  • Coal, February-November - 1984
    Including a letter from Neal Smith
  • Communications Review Committee, minutes and correspondence, June-April - 1983-1984
    Including letters from Tom Tauke and Charles Grassley
  • Contract and Bidding Procedures, January-December - 1982
  • Correspondence - 1979-1982
    Including letters from Terry E. Branstad, Tom Harkin, and Robert Ray
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1983
    Including letters from John Glenn and Roger Jepsen
  • Correspondence, March-December - 1983
    Including a letter from Jim Leach
  • Correspondence - 1984
  • Box 24:
  • Correspondence, n.d.
  • Correspondence, thank you letters - 1981-1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter E
  • Box 24:
  • Education, February-January - 1983-1984
  • Energy Committee, minutes - 1981-1983
  • Energy Committee, Reports of Action - 1983-1984
  • Energy correspondence, October-May - 1980-1981
  • Energy correspondence, August-March - 1981-1982
  • Energy correspondence, September-April - 1982-1983
    Including letters (2) from Tom Harkin
  • Energy correspondence, January-July - 1984
    Including letters from Berkley Bedell, Donald Hodel, Roger Jepsen, Jim Leach and Tom Tauke
  • Energy Policy Council, Auditor's Report, June 30 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, November 2 - 1982
  • Energy Policy Council, April 5 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, July 5 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, August 2 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, September 6 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, October 4 - 1983
  • Energy Policy Council, November 8 - 1983
  • Box 25:
  • Energy Policy Council, April 3 - 1984
  • Energy Policy Council, May 1 - 1984
  • Energy Policy Council, June 5 - 1984
  • Energy Policy Council, July 12 - 1984
  • Energy Policy Council, correspondence - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter G
  • Box 25:
  • Gallagher, James, desk diary - 1984
  • Governor's office, correspondence, March-March - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter H
  • Box 25:
  • Hazardous Waste, Right-to-Know, January-April - 1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter I
  • Box 25:
  • Invitations, December-March - 1983-1984
  • Iowa, State of, Telecommunications, September - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter L
  • Box 25:
  • Liquor Refund, Mini Liquor Stores, March-May - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter N
  • Box 25:
  • Natural Resources, Appropriations Subcommittee, January-April - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Letter P
  • Box 25:
  • Pari mutuel Betting, February-May - 1980-1983
  • Pipelines, April - 1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter R
  • Box 25:
  • Radioactive Compact - 1983
  • Sub-Series: Letter T
  • Box 25:
  • Taxes, July-March - 1979-1983
  • Box 26:
  • Transportation, Department of - 1980-1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter U
  • Box 26:
  • Utility Bill, January-April - 1983
  • Utility Correspondence, February-April - 1983
  • Utility Rates, November-March - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: Letter W
  • Box 26:
  • World Trade Center - 1984