Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Clarence W. Moody Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1965
Creator: Moody, Clarence W. (1892-1967)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0326
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor and publisher of the Burlington Hawk-Eye, civic leader. Newspaper clippings, correspondence, speeches, etc., concerning the newspaper and the Burlington, IA area, with information on the Great River Road Project of the 1960s.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mrs. Moody gave her late husband's papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1975.

Preferred Citation: Clarence W. Moody Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Clarence Wilber Moody was born in Skidmore, Missouri, on September 24, 1892. His family moved to Kansas when he was twelve years old. In 1906, Moody began his newspaper career with the Ottawa Herald as a carrier. He stayed with the paper until 1927 working as reporter, city editor, and finally an advertising manager. His next job was as the advertising manager at the Chaute Tribune. He became the publisher of this newspaper in 1933. Moving to Iowa, Moody purchased the Burlington Hawk-Eye Gazette in 1941 and became its editor/publisher. Active in Burlington community affairs, he was director of the Burlington Chamber of Commerce and president of the Burlington Community Chest. Clarence Moody died in 1967.

The papers of Clarence W. Moody are comprised of 210 items relating to the Burlington area or the Hawk-Eye Gazette and are arranged alphabetically, then chronologically. This small collection is made up of subject files and speeches. Topics include the River Road Project and trips to Alaska, Europe, and South America taken by Moody that he wrote about for the newspaper. Other files include his speeches, correspondence, materials relating to Burlington history, editorials, and clippings.
Sons of the American Revolution, MsC 266

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BURLINGTON AND THE HAWK-EYE GAZETTE

  • Series 1: BURLINGTON AND THE HAWK-EYE GAZETTE
  • Box 1:
  • Alaska Materials - 1940-1949
  • Alaska trip: News clippings - 1949
  • Burlington Hawk-Eye: Commemorative newspaper - 1960
  • Burlington Hawk-Eye: Commemorative newspaper: Photographs
  • Crusade for Freedom (Radio Free Europe) - 1950-1960
    Includes photographs
  • Editorials, articles
  • European trip: News clippings, articles - 1954
  • European trip: Newspaper clippings - 1958
  • Lane Bryant Awards: Correspondence - 1959
  • Revolutionary War Soldier's Graves in Iowa: Correspondence - 1957-1965
  • River Road Project: Commemorative stamp. First day covers and cacheted covers
  • River Road Project: Commemorative stamp. News clippings
  • River Road Project: News clippings
  • River Road Project: Photographs
  • River Road Project: Publicity
    2 folders
  • Sons of the American Revolution: Correspondence - 1959-1965
  • South America articles - 1952
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches - 1932-1957
    2 folders
  • Large package containing photostatic copies of documents relating to the Sons of the American Revolution materials and also a commemorative issue of the Burlington Hawk-Eye's "History of Burlington"