Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Henry W. Burma Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1940
Creator: Burma, Henry W. (-1974)
Extent: 129.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0321
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator. Speeches and congratulatory letters on his appointment to theIowa Board of Control.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Shirley Burma in 1975.

Preferred Citation: Henry W. Burma Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Henry Burma was sheriff of Butler County from 1923 to 1937. He served four terms in the Iowa House of Representatives, from 1937-1945. During his last term, 1943-1945, he was Speaker of the House. He served on the Iowa Board of Control from 1949-1957. In 1944 he ran in the Republican primary in the race for governor, but was defeated by Robert Blue. After this, Burma returned to farming in Butler County. In his later years, he served as a probation officer in Hancock, Mitchell, Winnebago, and Worth counties before he retired.

Burma died December 8, 1974.

Made up mostly of Burma's speeches, this collection also contains some correspondence and some miscellaneous items.

Most of Burma's speeches are untitled. In the box list, those entries without brackets or parentheses are to be construed as the title of the speech, taken either from a header on the speech or from a handwritten notation on the verso of the last page of the speech, probably added later. Those entries enclosed in brackets are first lines of the speech. Those entries in parenthesis are descriptors for the contents of the file.

The speeches are assumed to be mostly by Burma, but there are some which refer to him in the third person and some which seem to be from the point of view of a woman, possibly Burma's wife. Perhaps he wrote scripts for people who were introducing him, or for his wife to use on the campaign trail.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: CLIPPINGS
Series 3: SPEECHES
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Congratulatory letters on Board of Control appointment
  • Series 2: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Obituary
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • [I get a good deal out of coming to meetings of this kind]. n.d. TMS
  • [Ladies and gentlemen of the radio audience. This is Henry W. Burma of Allison, Iowa, speaking to you in the interest of the candidacy of George Wilson for United States senator.] n.d. AMS
  • [An experience like this never came to me before; this is the first time that I had had an opportunity to see so many patrolmen at one time and in one place.] n.d. TMS
  • [Occasions like this serve to direct our attention to higher and nobler things.] TMS Lutheran Church, Cedar Falls. September 10 - 1948
  • Mock marriage ceremony, n.d. TMS
  • [An experience like this never occurred to me before]. Waterloo. September - 1941
  • [Speech delivered at Oelwein] n.d. AMS
  • [You have heard it said there is great satisfaction and comfort in knowing and realizing that we are a free people.] n.d. AMS
  • [Taking part in the laymans service several times during the absence of the pastor has been an unusual and good and helpful experience for me.] n.d. TMS
  • Speech to the Elks Club, June 14, 1943, Waterloo. TMS
  • [It gives me much satisfaction to be here and to talk to you a little while this afternoon.] The day before Thanksgiving, n.d. Address aimed at young people. TMS
  • Introduction of Governor Robert Blue. Legion Hall. AMS. April 26 - 1948
  • [Occasions like this are happy occasions: they give hope of great improvement in the history of civilization.] n.d. TMS
  • [It is most satisfying to me to be with you at the organization meeting of the United Service Women of America.] n.d. TMS
  • Business Men, Greene, Iowa. TMS. June 22 - 1942
  • [I have been assigned the job as a father, and may I say, an old soldier, to extend a Welcome Home to you service men and women.] n.d. AMS
  • [It gives me much satisfaction and it's nice to be with you at this your victory dinner.] n.d. TMS with holographic additions
  • National Defense Committee Club, AMS. September 25 - 1941
  • [When Mr. Kyle asked me to come and talk to you I was pleased.] n.d. Parkersburg, Iowa. TMS
  • [Thank you, Mr. Frudden. I am extremely happy tonite and I know you are because we are Americans, living in America and under a system of Government which is the best in the world.] Greene, Iowa. November 11 - 1939
  • Ministerial Association, Allison, Iowa. TMS. October 14 - 1942
  • [As the program was progressing I wondered when Clyde Garner and the preacher would come on with the duck.] n.d. TMS
  • The Grinnell Hymn. TMS
  • [Twenty three years ago today the first Armistice Day was observed.] n.d. TMS
  • [The observance of Armistice Day is a splendid thing because it rekindled in us the fire of patriotism.] November, n.d. TMS with holographic additions
  • Americanation Program, high school. TMS. November 12 - 1946
  • Junior/Senior banquet, Waterloo, TMS - 1941
  • [It is a splendid thing when people on occasions like this get together in a spirit of friendliness and goodwill.][Amma?]. TMS. May 24 - 1942
  • Memorial, Unity. TMS. December 17 - 1943
  • Co. Legion, Liscomb, Iowa. TMS. November 28 - 1945
  • Farm Bureau - Get Out the Vote, Waterloo, Iowa. AMS. April 28 - 1948
  • [There is something wholesome, something good about meeting of this kind.] Vilner. AMS. November 10 - 1942
  • [Its gives me much pleasure to be here and to toke to you young people this afternoon.] School speech. TMS. November 29 - 1939
  • Card of one liners
  • Flag Day, Marshalltown, Iowa. TMS. June 14 - 1948
  • Excerpts from Russel W. Davenport's poem "New York Country"
  • What Christian Education IS and What It Strives to Do, n.d. TMS with holographic additions and corrections
  • Republican Women's Club, Moody, Iowa. AMS. May 27 - 1943
  • [Comrads, Ladies, and Gentlemen, and I want to especially recognize the mothers and fathers wives and sweethearts of the men and women in the service of our Country.] n.d. TMS
  • Labor Day Dedication, Charles City, Iowa. TMS. September 6 - 1943
  • The Price of Liberty. n.d. AMS
  • [It is in the right attitude of mind that we must face the problems of crime.] n.d. TMS
  • [First I want to commend those in charge of the programme for the splendid they have supplied for this occasion.] Bristow PTA. TMS. October 3 - 1940
  • Legion - Citizenship. Hudson, Iowa. TMS. November 26 - 1945
  • [I am very glad to have the honor of being here with you good people this evening.] n.d. (He was sheriff at the time and the talk is about crime.) TMS
  • [Occasions like this are happy occasions, and it is right they are.] n.d. TMS
  • Memorial Day, Marshalltown, Iowa. TMS - 1948
  • [I was particularly impressed when I heard that the services for this day was set apart and aside to decorate the graves and honor those who have given much more for their country than those of us in attendance her(e) today.] n.d. TMS
  • [Ladies and Gentlemen of the Radio Audience: Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Governor of your great state, has been generous enough to give to me his time on the radio today - to talk to you about some of the things in which all of our people are interested.] n.d. (He was Speaker of the House at the time and talks about the upcoming legislative session.) TMS
  • [Citizens of Iowa: Our beloved nation pauses on this Memorial Day of Nineteen Hundred Forty-Four in reverent respect to the memory of the men and women who in the course of our history tendered their lives in the military and naval defense of our country and have passed to great beyond.] Memorial Day. TMS - 1944
  • [That we will win this war is not doubted by any of us.] n.d. TMS with holographic additions and corrections
  • [Iowa is intensely proud of, and owes a great deal to, her sons and daughters serving in the Nation's military forces.] n.d. TMS
  • [No organizations in America are looked upon with more respect and admiration than the American Legion and the American Legion Auxiliary.] n.d. TMS
  • [Today is Harvest Sunday, and the pastor, on the suggestion of Mr. Sturgeon the county agent, asked me to talk to you a few minutes on this Harvest Sunday.] n.d. TMS
  • [The subject which I want to talk to you about briefly has not until recently received much serious thought or attention from our people generally.] n.d. (The topic is crime.) TMS with holographic corrections
  • [This marks the twentieth anniversary of the ending of the world war, and the nation is celebrating and observing this day as a legal holiday.] n.d. TMS
  • [Iowa Friends . . . Friends and neighbors of Iowa -- stand by and give my you attention.] n.d. Radio campaign address. TMS
  • [Fellow Iowans: In a very few days the voters of Iowa will go to the polls to select their party nominees for public office.] Campaign speech for Burma for Governor, referring to Henry Burma in the third person
  • [In this present campaign in which I am a candidate for the Republican nomination for Governor of the State of Iowa it is only proper that the voters should have a look at their candidate.] n.d. TMS
  • [Ladies and Gentlemen of the Radio Audience: This is Henry W. Burma of Allison, Iowa, speaking to you in the interest of the candidacy of George Wilson for United States senator.] n.d. TMS
  • [Let's take a look at how Dewey thinks, talks and acts for Agriculture.] n.d. TMS
  • [Friends of Iowa: Only a short time remain until the Primaries on June 5th.] n.d. Introducing Henry Burma. TMS
  • [We wives of overseas veterans, especially wives of overseas veterans of World War I, thoroughly know and realize the drastic need of a good sound legislative program.] A speech promoting Burma for governor. TMS
  • [Ladies and gentlemen of the radio audience, this is Mrs. Helen Vernon speaking, Assistant Campaign Manager for the Honorable Henry W. Burma, Candidate for Governor. n.d. Discussing Mrs. Burma. TMS
  • [Fellow Iowans: In this present campaign in which I am a candidate for the Republican nomination for Governor of the State of Iowa it only proper that the voters should have a look at their candidate.] n.d. TMS
  • [Friend and Neighbors of All Iowa: This is Henry Burma speaking. I am a candidate for your approval - for Governor of Iowa - at the the Primary Election tomorrow.] n.d. TMS
  • Agriculture and Senator George A. Wilson. n.d. TMS
  • Four important reason for George Wilson's re-election. n.d. TMS
  • [Today is Armistice Dar and the Nation is observing the 20th anniversary.] n.d. TMS
  • Memorial, 1941, Bristow, Iowa. n.p. TMS
  • Facing the Future Unafraid. Clear Lake, Iowa, American Legion. TMS. May 27 - 1947
  • [Our nation pauses again on this Memorial as it has for many times in the past in reverent respect to the memory of the men and women, who in the course of our history have tendered their lives in the defense of our country and the things we stand for, and have gone to the Great Beyond.] n.d. AMS
  • [Relatives and friends, it has long been the custom among Veterans when requested to take part in and attend the last rights of a comrade.] Sunday. Vilner, Iowa. Willie Prange. April 25 - 1948
  • [When Mr. Mulder asked me to come here and talk to you ladies this afternoon, I asked Mr. Mulder what I should or could talk about.] n.d. TMS
  • [Members of the 50th General Assembly of Iowa: An experience like this never came to me before, and I don't know how I am going to get along with it.] n.d. AMS
  • [The subject that I want to talk to you about briefly, has not until recently received much serious thought or consideration from us generally.] n.d. The subject is crime. TMS
  • The Other Side. n.d. TMS
  • (Topics for speeches?)
  • [In this present campaign in which I am a candidate for the Republican nomination for Governor of the State of Iowa it is only proper that the voters should have a look at their candidate.] n.d. TMS
  • [As a member of the school Board in the absence of the President I have been asked on the part of the Board to extend to you our congratulations of your school work in Albion.] n.d. AMS
  • (Note cards for speeches?)
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Letters to Burma from C. A. Knutson; letter to George A. Wilson from Fred A. Virkus; letter from Burma to Charles F. Brannan
  • Page 9 of an address by Bert L. Zuver
  • Results of elections organized by year and (township?)
  • Transcription of a confession of P. Warren Vandervoort to the murder of his parents. TMS

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.