Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Whitney Gillilland Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1947-1972
Creator: Gillilland, Whitney (1904-1993)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0316
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Government official. Correspondence, speeches, and materials from the Republican National Committee reflect his work in politics and government. Many of the speeches were given while he was a member of the Civil Aeronautics Board.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Whitney Gillilland in 1978.

Preferred Citation: Whitney Gillilland Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Glenwood, Iowa, Whitney Gillilland (1904-1993) was educated at Iowa State College (1921-1922) and the University of Nebraska (1923-1926). He was admitted to the Iowa and Wisconsin bar associations in 1927. Gillilland practiced law in Iowa from 1927 to 1953 and served as the Glenwood city solicitor and Mills County attorney for a time. From 1938 to 1941 he was a judge on the bench of the 15th Judicial District.
 
Gillilland was active in Republican politics both at the state and national levels. He was chairman of the Iowa State Republican Central Committee from 1948 to 1950 and was chair of Iowa's delegation to the 1948 GOP National Convention. He also served as the head of the executive committee of the Republican National Strategy Committee in 1949.
 
In 1953, Whitney Gillilland was appointed United States Assistant Secretary of Agriculture. He then became the chairman of the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission. Gillilland was a member of the Civil Aeronautics Board from 1959 to 1976, and was chairman from 1960 to 1961.

This collection is comprised of remarks, statements, speeches, and correspondence of Mr. Gillilland. Sorted roughly into these four areas, they are arranged chronologically within these groups. There is also an index to important names in the correspondence files.
 
These papers primarily document Gillilland's work on the Civil Aeronautics Board and within the Republican Party. There are news releases and news bulletins from the Republican National Committee of 1952. His speeches were delivered to such groups as the American Bar Association and the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce. Among the correspondents represented in this collection are John M. Henry, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Ben F. Jensen, Thoms E. Martin, and Harrison E. Spangler.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SPEECHES
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE
Series 4: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 5: INDEX TO IMPORTANT NAMES

  • Series 1: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland, Royal Oak, Michigan, October 8 - 1954
  • Republican Campaign Speech, Portland, Maine, October - 1954
  • Remarks of Whitney Gillilland, Chairman, Foreign Claims Settlement Commission before the Federal Bar Association of Chicago, October 11 - 1954
  • Remarks at Opening of Training Session, Foreign Claims Settlement Commission, April 1 - 1955
  • Statement before the National Convention of Disabled American Veterans at Des Moines, Iowa, August 16 - 1955
  • Remarks before Poor Richards Club, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, November 15 - 1955
  • Remarks at Fort Dodge, Iowa, September 26 - 1956
  • Remarks before 8th District, Federal Bar Association, Omaha, Nebraska, October 18 - 1956
  • Remarks on the Occasion of the 100th Anniversary of the First Congregational Church of Glenwood, Iowa, October 21 - 1956
  • Folder 2
  • Remarks before the Joint Session of the Department of Iowa, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Sioux City, Iowa, June 28 - 1957
  • Remarks before the Pentagon Chapter of the Federal Bar Association, Fort Myer, Virginia, October 14 - 1957
  • Remarks at Southwest Iowa Bar Association Meeting, Council Bluffs, Iowa, February 25 - 1958
  • Remarks before the Almas Temple Luncheon Group, Washington, D.C., July 24 - 1959
  • Article written for Federal Bar News, August 28 - 1959
  • Remarks on the Occasion of the Dedication of the New Mills County Courthouse at Glenwood, Iowa, August 29 - 1959
  • Remarks at Various Federal Bar Associations - 1959-1960
  • Remarks of Whitney Gillilland, Member, Civil Aeronautics Board, at Winston Salem, North Carolina, Piedmont Airlines, April 13 - 1960
  • Remarks To My Fellow Public Servants of the Civil Aeronautics Board, May 2 - 1960
  • Law Day Address, University of Georgia School of Law, Athens, Georgia, May 7 - 1960
  • Remarks Before the Association of Local Transport Airlines, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Printed in the Congressional Record, May 10 - 1960
  • Folder 3
  • Remarks Public Utility Law Section Panel, American Bar Association, Shoreham Hotel, Washington, D.C., August 29 - 1960
  • Remarks in the Frontier Room, Storz Brewing Company, Omaha, Nebraska, September 13 - 1960
  • "Omaha's Share in the Air" Remarks before Omaha Rotary Club, September 14 - 1960
  • Remarks as Member of Panel, "Practical Problems of Practice Before Government Agencies," Annual Convention Federal Bar Association, September 17 - 1960
  • Remarks at Aviation Safety Press Briefing, Cosmos Club, Washington, D.C., September 30 - 1960
  • Remarks in Commemoration of Bonanza's Conversion to All Jet-Powered Aircraft, Terrace Room, Desert Inn Country Club, Las Vegas, Nevada, November 18 - 1960
  • Remarks at Advent Noonday Service, Church of The Epiphany, 1317 G Street, NW, Washington, D.C., November 30 - 1960
  • Remarks at National Transport Policy Conference, George Washington University, Washington, D.C., December 9 - 1960
  • Folder 4
  • Remarks, Panel Program, Administrative Law Section, Bar Association of the District of Columbia, March 14 - 1961
  • Remarks at the Dedication of the New Municipal Airport, Rochester, Minnesota, August 19 - 1961
  • Remarks (Panel - Conflict of Interest), Federal Bar Association Annual Convention, Mayflower Hotel, September 15 - 1961
  • Remarks before the Regional Airport Study Committee, "The Concept of the Regional Airport," Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles, California, November 3 - 1961
  • Remarks at the Special Anniversary Observance Commemorating One Year of Southern Transcontinental Air Service from Houston, Sheraton-Lincoln Hotel, Houston, Texas, June 11 - 1962
  • Remarks, Panel on Administrative Conference of the United States, Denver, Colorado, October 30 - 1962
  • "The Case of Old Drum," Lawyers' Club, Washington, D.C., February 27 - 1963
  • "Two Tools of the Civil Aeronautics Board," Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, National Lawyers Club, April 18 - 1963
  • Remarks at International Aviation Club Luncheon Meeting, Hamilton Hotel, Washington, D.C., May 23 - 1963
  • Remarks at FBA Breakfast, American Bar Association Convention, Chicago, Illinois, Palmer House, August 14 - 1963
  • Remarks, Delta Theta Phi Law Fraternity, George Washington University Law School, Washington, D.C., October 4 - 1963
  • Graduate School Safety, Oklahoma City, November 8 - 1963
  • "What Is A Good Lawyer?" Toastmasters, January 26 - 1965
  • "Uncle Sam, Incorporated," Toastmasters, April 6 - 1965
  • Folder 5
  • Remarks Before Air Freight Forwarders Association, Americana Hotel, New York City, April 9 - 1965
  • Remarks before the Chicago Management Council, Eastern Air Lines, Incorporated, April 14 - 1965
  • Panel Discussion Participation, "Administration of the Civil Aeronautics Act with Respect to Coordination of Unlike Modes of Transportation," Second Workshop Conference on Coordinated Transportation, The American University, May 27, 28, & 29 - 1965
  • Remarks at the Third Inter-American Aviation Law Conference, "The Role of the Civil Aeronautics Board in Licensing Foreign Air Carriers," University of Miami Law Center, Miami, Florida, March 22, 23, & 24 - 1966
  • Remarks at Eastern Air Lines Management Council, "What Does the Civil Aeronautics Board Have To Do with Airlines?" Miami, Florida, March 24 - 1966
  • Remarks at the Fifth Inter-American Travel Seminar, Caracas, Venezuela, "Air Transportation, International Tourism, and Economic Development," September 26-28 - 1966
  • Panel Discussion Participation, "Administration of the Federal Aviation Act with Respect to Coordination of Unlike Modes of Transportation" (A 1966 Supplement), Fifth Workshop Conference on Coordinated Transportation, The American University, Washington, D.C., November 30-December 1, 2 - 1966
  • Folder 6
  • "Competition as an Element of the Public Interest," Institute of Air and Space Law, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, March 3 - 1967
  • "Opportunities, Unlimited," Career Seminar, Iowa City, Iowa, April 8 - 1967
  • Remarks at the Inter-American Bar Association, Fifteenth Conference, San Jose, Costa Rica, "The Warsaw Convention - Recent Developments," April 10-15 - 1967
  • "The Little Blue Book," Remarks at Association of Local Transport Airlines Spring Meeting, Phoenix, Arizona, April 13-14 - 1967
  • Panel Appearance, "Sections 402 and 1108(b) of the Federal Aviation Act," The Second International Air Systems Seminar, International Aspects of Air Transportation, The American University, Washington, D.C., June 20 - 1967
  • "Government's Role in the Stimulation of Airfreight," Remarks at the First International Air Freight Symposium, Stanford University, Stanford, California, July 21 - 1967
  • Folder 7
  • "The Lawyer as a Public Administrator," Remarks at Federal Bar Association National Convention, San Francisco, California, July 26 - 1967
  • "Air Cargo Comes to the Smaller Community," Remarks at Modern Marketing Through Air Cargo Forum, Delta Air Lines, Incorporated, Regency Hyatt House, Atlanta, Georgia, October 12 - 1967
  • Panel Participation, "Possible Impact of Department of Transportation on Air Transport" 21st Air Transport Management Institute, The American University, October 16-27 - 1967
  • "The US Civil Aeronautics Board - Its Functions and Structure," Remarks, First Air Transport Course, The University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida, October 30 - 1967
  • "Bilateral Agreements," Remarks at the Second International Conference "Freedom of the Air" Institute of Air and Space Law, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, November 3 & 4 - 1967
  • Remarks at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Commuter Airlines, Hotel America, Washington, D.C., January 15 - 1968
  • "1967 In Retrospect" Remarks at the Fifth Inter-American Aviation Law Conference, University of Miami Law Center, Miami, Florida, April 24, 25, & 26 - 1968
  • "A Department Store for Transportation," Remarks before the World Air Cargo Marketing Forum, Houston, Texas, May 23 - 1968
  • "How About Piedmont Airlines?" Remarks at the Dedication of Piedmont Airlines Headquarters Facility, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, October 25 - 1968
  • "The U. S. Civil Aeronautics Board - Its Functions and Structure," Remarks, Second Air Transport Course, The University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida, October 29 - 1968
  • Folder 8
  • "Youth Fare Case," Remarks before the Association of Local Transport Airlines, New York, New York, May 19 - 1969
  • "The Sturdiness of Frontier Airlines," Remarks at the Dedication of Frontier Airlines Operating Base at Stapleton International Airport, Denver, Colorado, April 8 - 1969
  • "Specially Prepared Spots," Remarks at the 23rd Air Transport Management Institute, The American University, Washington, D.C., October 22 - 1969
  • Remarks at the American Airlines Annual Meeting of Regional Vice Presidents and City Managers, Executive House, Washington, D.C., November 13 - 1969
  • "How Flying Gets Better," Remarks at the Annual Meeting of the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce, Shreveport, Louisiana, December 4 - 1969
  • "Emerging Patterns in the Regulation of Local Air Carriers," Remarks at the 81st Annual Convention of National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, Hilton Hotel, Denver, Colorado, October 9 - 1969
  • Remarks - Trial Examiners' Conference, Williamsburg, Virginia, December 12 - 1969
  • Box 2:
  • Folder 9
  • Remarks at the Christening Ceremony of Pan Am's 747, Dulles International Airport, January 15 - 1970
  • Remarks at the "Seminar for State Travel Agents" at General Mitchell Field, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, March 2 - 1970
  • Statement before the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council: Study Group on Legal Aspects of Intermodal Transportation, Washington, D.C., May 5 - 1970
  • Statement at the 1970 Western Conference of Public Service Commissions, Anchorage-Westward Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska, May 25 - 1970
  • Article, "Confidence in the Future," Flight Magazine, June - 1970
  • Remarks "Development of Governmental Regulation Over Aviation, Participation in Air Transportation Law Committee Program at the Federal Bar Association Annual Meeting, Shoreham Hotel, Washington, D.C., September 17 - 1970
  • "The Relationship of the Civil Aeronautics Board to Environmental Problems," Remarks at the Twenty-fourth Annual Air Transport Management Institute, The American University, October 12 - 1970
  • "Number Two," Remarks before the Houston Chamber of Commerce, Houston, Texas, November 12 - 1970
  • "Captives of Industry?" Address at Braniff International Airlines Management Club, Dallas, Texas, November 16 - 1970
  • Folder 10
  • "Youth Fares - Chapter Two," Remarks before the Association of Local Transport Airlines, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, September 30 - 1971
  • Article, "The Role of the Civil Aeronautics Board in the Development of the Domestic Air Carrier Route System," Notre Dame Lawyer, Volume 47, no. 1, October - 1971
  • "Fair Fares," Remarks before the Management Club of United Air Lines, Chicago, Illinois, November 2 - 1971
  • Remarks at the Annual West Coast Meeting of Air Freight Forwarders Association, Los Angeles, California, January 27 - 1972
  • "How the Air Transport System Came About," Remarks prepared for delivery in Iowa, September - 1972
  • Remarks prepared for Airlines Seminar, Burnham & Company, New York, New York, December 5 - 1972
  • Remarks before Seaboard World Airlines Management Club, JFK International Airport, Jamaica, New York, "Some Observations about: SEABOARD and the C.A. Board," January 10 - 1973
  • "CHANGES," Remarks at Ceremonies Marking Deliveries of DC-10 Series 30 Convertible Freighter Aircraft to Overseas National Airways & Trans International Airlines, Long Beach, California, April 17 - 1973
  • Remarks before Douglas Aircraft Company Management Club, Edgewater Hyatt House, Long Beach, California, April 18 - 1973
  • "Board Order 73-4-98, and Other Doctrine," Remarks at Spring Quarterly Regional Meeting, Association of Local Transport Airlines, Fairmont Hotel, San Francisco, California, May 23 - 1973
  • Folder 11
  • "The Certiorari-Type Review," Remarks at the American Bar Association Conference of Administrative Law Judges, Appellate Judges Conference, and Section of Administrative Law, Shoreham Hotel, Washington, D.C., August 3 - 1973
  • Annual General Meeting of the Caribbean Travel Association, Aruba, Netherlands, Antilles, September 12-15 - 1973
  • Responses by Whitney Gillilland, Vice Chairman, for the Board, following presentation of award by the National Aviation Club, CAB Night, Washington, D.C., November 14 - 1973
  • Remarks at the Formal Opening of Pan Am's New Terminal at JFK Airport, New York, December 5 - 1973
  • "Airfreight Development," Remarks at the 2nd Annual Air Freight Development Day, Sheraton Harbor Island Hotel, San Diego, California; Presented by Air Freight Motor Carriers Conference in cooperation with Air Cargo, Incorporated and Air Transport Association of America, March 5 - 1974
  • "Alexander Is A Swoose," Remarks at American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Symposium on CAB Ratemaking Process, Washington, D.C., April 23 - 1974
  • Remarks at the World Trade Week Celebration, Sheraton Inn-Airport, Portland, Oregon, May 21 - 1974
  • Remarks before the North Texas Commission, Dallas/Fort Worth Airport, June 11 - 1974
  • Remarks before the Annual Conference, National Council of Physical Distribution Management, Marriott Hotel, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania October 18 - 1974
  • Remarks at the Fall Meeting of the NDTA Military Airlift Committee, Headquarters of the Flying Tiger Line, Incorporated, 7401 World Way West, Los Angeles International Airport, California, November 7-8 - 1974
  • Folder 12
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland, Chairman, War Claims Commission, Before the Subcommittee on Independent Offices Appropriations of the Committee on Appropriations, House of Representatives, January 8 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, Relative to S. 373 and H.R. 2681, 83rd Congress, January 25 - 1954
  • Statement Before A Special Subcommittee of the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, 83rd Congress, Second Session, on S. 2420, April 14 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, United States House of Representatives, Subcommittee on War Claims and Trading with the Enemy Act, on H.R. 9094 and Related Bills, 83rd Congress, June 7 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on War Claims and Trading with the Enemy Act of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, on the Bill, H.R. 7711, June 16 - 1954
  • Statement Before the House Appropriations Subcommittee for Independent Offices, June 30 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Committee on Government Operations, House of Representatives, on Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1954, June 28 - 1954
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland, Acting Chairman, Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States, Appearing Before the House Independent Offices Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee of the Committee on Appropriations, United States Senate, 83rd Congress, Second Session, July 8 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Senate Committee on Appropriations, July 10 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, on Proposed Claims Settlement Program Under the Litvinov Assignment, July 14 - 1954
  • Statement Before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, March 22 - 1955
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Appropriations, United States Senate, June 14 - 1955
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on General Government Matters, House of Representatives, June 30 - 1955
  • Statement Before the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, July 8 - 1955
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on the Trading with the Enemy Act, Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, November 29 - 1955
  • Folder 13
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on General Government Matters, House of Representatives, February 17 - 1956
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on Independent Offices and General Government Matters, United States Senate, April 23 - 1956
  • Statement Before the Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Constitutional Rights, United States Senate, May 31 - 1956
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, June 7 - 1956
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on General Government Matters, House of Representatives, February 27 - 1957
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, March 5 - 1957
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, August 8 - 1957
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on General Government Matters, House of Representatives, January 15 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, March 13 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, April 16 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Independent Offices and General Government Matters, Committee on Appropriations, United States Senate, April 28 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, June 19 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Subcommittee on Foreign Economic Policy, House of Representatives, July 9 - 1958
  • Statement Before the Committee on Appropriations, United States Senate, April 10 - 1959
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, April 16 - 1959
  • Statement Before the General Government Matters Subcommittee, Committee on Appropriations, House of Representatives, April 30 - 1959
  • Statement Before the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, May 20 - 1959
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on International Claims, Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, May 29 - 1959
  • Folder 14
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee for Deficiency Appropriations for Independent Offices, House of Representatives, June 16 - 1959
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Trading with the Enemy Act, Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, June 18 - 1959
  • Statement Before the Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on Commerce and Finance, House of Representatives, July 29 - 1959
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland, Chairman, Civil Aeronautics Board Before the Subcommittee on Transportation and Aeronautics of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, November 15 - 1960
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Administrative Practice and Procedure of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, December 1 - 1960
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Aviation of the Senate Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, February 20 - 1961
  • Statement Before the Legislative Committee, State of Hawaii, April 6 - 1961
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, August 16 - 1961
  • Statement Before the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service, United States Senate, October 21 - 1969
  • Statement Before the Military Airlift Subcommittee of the Committee on Armed Services, House of Representatives, February 5 - 1970
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Transportation and Aeronautics of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, April 14 - 1970
  • Statement Before the Committee on the District of Columbia, United States Senate, May 19 - 1970
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Transportation and Aeronautics of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, June 22 - 1970
  • Statement Before the Subcommittee on Military Airlift of the Committee on Armed Services, House of Representatives, 91st Congress, Second Session, June 24 - 1970
  • Statement Before the Airlift Panel of the Special Subcommittee on Transportation Committee on Armed Services, House of Representatives, November 30 - 1971
  • Folder 15
  • Speech Before the Tacoma Chapter of the Federal Bar Association, November 24 - 1960
  • Remarks of Whitney Gillilland Before the Chambers of Commerce in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Kotzebue, Kodiak, Kenai, Juneau, and Ketchikan, Alaska, December 1 - 1967
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland Before the Subcommittee on Transportation and Aeronautics committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, June 19 - 1972
  • Statement of Whitney Gillilland Before the Subcommittee on Aviation, Committee on Commerce, U.S. Senate, June 12 - 1972
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • December-February - 1947-1949
    Correspondents include: Gwynne, John W.; Henry, John M.; Hickenlooper, Bourke B.; Jensen, Ben F.; LeCompte, Karl M.; Martin, Thomas E.; Morris, James B.; Plock, Richard H.; Schramm, Dorothy D.; Spangler, Harrison E.; Taft, Robert A.
  • December-February - 1947-1949
    Correspondents include: Gwynne, John W.; Hall, W. Earl; Henry, John M.; Jensen, Ben F.; Martin, Thomas E.; Spangler, Harrison E.; Taft, Robert A.
  • December-February - 1947-1949
    Correspondents include: Beardsley, William S.; Henry, John M.; Jensen, Ben F.; Martin, Thomas E.; Morris, James B.; Plock, Richard H.; Rupe, W. S.; Spangler, Harrison E.; Stassen, Harold E.; Stewart, David W.
  • December-February - 1947-1949
    Correspondents include: Hall, W. Earl; Henry, John M.; Murphy, Thomas C.; Nelson, David T.; Plock, Richard H.; Rupe, W. S.; Schramm, James S.; Spangler, Harrison E.
  • December-February - 1947-1949
    Correspondents include: Beardsley, William S.; Blue, Robert D.; Gwynne, John W.; Schramm, James S.
  • Box 4:
  • March -November - 1949-1952
    Correspondents include: Henry, John M.; Hickenlooper, Bourke B.; Mayne, Wiley E.; Murphy, Thomas C.; Schramm, Dorothy D.; Schramm, James S.; Spangler, Harrison E.
  • March -November - 1949-1952
    Correspondents include: Lundy, Hugh W.; Nye, Frank T.
  • March -November - 1949-1952
    Correspondents include: Beardsley, William S.; Gillette, Guy M.; Goodwin, Robert K.; Gross, H. R.; Hall, W. Earl; Henry, John M.; Hickenlooper, Bourke B.; Hoeven, Charles B.; Jensen, Ben F.; LeCompte, Karl M.; Martin, Thomas E.; Morris, James B.; Taft, Robert A.; Talle, Henry O.
  • March -November - 1949-1952
    Correspondents include: Beardsley, William S.; Goodwin, Robert K.; Gross, H. R.; Gwynne, John W.; Henry, John M.; Hickenlooper, Bourke B.; Hoeven, Charles B.; Jensen, Ben F.; LeCompte, Karl M.; Martin, Thomas E.; Plock, Richard H.; Taft, Robert A.; Talle, Henry O.
  • March -November - 1949-1952
    Correspondents include: Goodwin, Robert K.; Gross, H. R.; Henry, John M.; Hoegh, Leo A.; Houghton, Dorothy; Wittenmeyer, Charles E.
  • Box 5:
  • December-January - 1952-1953
    Correspondents include: Henry, John M.; Hickenlooper, Bourke B.; Schramm, James S.; Stassen, Harold E.; Turner, Dan W.
  • Series 3: REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE
  • Box 5:
  • New Releases, August-November - 1952
  • New Bulletins, September-October - 1952
  • Series 4: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 5:
  • Obituary, May 19 - 1993
  • Series 5: INDEX TO IMPORTANT NAMES
    The numbers following names provide reference to box number: folder number(s)
  • Box 1:
  • Beardsley, William S., 3:3, 5; 4:3, 4 
  • Blue, Robert D., 3:5 
  • Gillette, Guy M., 4:3 
  • Goodwin, Robert K., 4:3, 4, 5 
  • Gross, H. R., 4:3, 4 
  • Gwynne, John W., 3:1, 2, 5; 4:4 
  • Hall, W. Earl, 3:2, 4; 4:3
  • Henry, John M., 3:1, 2, 3, 4; 4:1, 3, 4, 5; 5:1
  • Hickenlooper, Bourke B., 3:1; 4:1, 3, 4; 5:1
  • Hoegh, Leo A., 4:5
  • Hoeven, Charles B., 4:3, 4
  • Houghton, Dorothy, 4:5 
  • Jensen, Ben F., 3:1, 2, 3; 4:3, 4
  • LeCompte, Karl M., 3:1; 4:3, 4
  • Lundy, Hugh W., 4:2 
  • Martin, Thomas E., 3:1, 2, 3; 4:3, 4
  • Mayne, Wiley E., 4:1 
  • Morris, James B., 3:1, 3; 4:3
  • Murphy, Thomas C., 3:4; 4:1
  • Nelson, David T., 3:4 
  • Nye, Frank T., 4:2 
  • Plock, Richard H., 3:1, 3, 4; 4:4
  • Rupe, W. S., 3:3, 4
  • Schramm, Dorothy D., 3:1; 4:1 
  • Schramm, James S., 3:4, 5; 4:1; 5:1
  • Spangler, Harrison E., 3:1, 2, 3, 4; 4:1 
  • Stassen, Harold E., 3:3; 5:1
  • Stewart, David W., 3:3
  • Taft, Robert A., 3:1, 2; 4:3, 4
  • Talle, Henry O., 4:3, 4
  • Turner, Dan W., 5:1
  • Wittenmeyer, Charles E., 4:5

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Republican National Committee (U.S.)
Republican Party (Iowa)
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )
United States. Civil Aeronautics Board

Topics:
Aeronautics
Airlines

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches