Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Clyde Edsel Herring Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1964
Creator: Herring, Clyde Edsel (1915-1976)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0310
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and member of the Interstate Commerce Commission. Correspondence, subject files, speeches, etc. all relating to his service with the Interstate Commerce Commission.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Herring gave his papers to the University of Iowa in 1974.

Preferred Citation: Clyde Edsel Herring Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Clyde Edsel Herring (1915 -- 1976) was born in Des Moines, Iowa, the son of former Governor and U.S. Senator Clyde L. and Pearl S. Herring. He received his B.A. degree from the University of Iowa in 1937 and his law degree from Drake University in 1940. He was admitted to the Iowa Bar that same year. A reserve officer since 1937, he was accepted into active duty in 1941. He served as with the 168th Infantry, 34th Division in the European Theater of Operations during W.W.II. In 1943 he was taken as a prisoner in Tunisia and spent until May, 1945 in Prisoner of War camps in Europe.

Returning to Iowa after the war he entered into a private law practice in Des Moines. In 1947 he was appointed Assistant County Attorney for Polk County. He resigned this post in 1949 to become a district supervisor for the U.S. Bureau of the Census. In 1950, he was elected County Attorney for Polk County. In 1954, he was the unsuccessful Democratic candidate for Governor. He was a delegate to the 1956 Democratic National convention. Herring was appointed to the Interstate Commerce Commission in 1959, by President Eisenhower. He served on the Division of Operating Rights and the Division of Rates and Practices. He remained there until 1964 when he was succeeded by Virginia Mae Brown. After leaving government service, Mr. Herring opened his own law firm in Washington, D.C. Clyde E. Herring died of a heart attack at the age of sixty-one.

The papers of Clyde E. Herring consist of four boxes of manuscripts dating from 1959 to 1964, which document his service on the Interstate Commerce Commission. The four linear feet of materials are arranged (for the most part) chronologically. Subject files and carbons of outgoing letters make up the collection. These files reflect both personal events such as his first swearing in ceremony as well as commerce commission business. The business files include topics ranging from the Railroad Transportation Institute to the Iowa Motor Truck Association or from the American Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association to the Intercoastal Lumber Association. Many of his speeches and addresses are also included in the papers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • "Swearing in ceremony," August-September - 1959
    including letters from Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Thomas E. Martin, Charles B. Hoeven, Ben F. Jensen, Fred Schwengel, Herschel C. Loveless, and Guy Gillette
  • Movers and Warehousemen's Association, Miami, FL, March 5 - 1960
  • Railroad Transportation Institute, April 12 - 1960
  • Western Association of Railway Attorneys. Chicago Club, April 26 - 1960
  • Local Cartage National Conference. New York, NY, April 27 - 1960
  • Traffic Club of Newark, NJ, May 2 - 1960
  • Private Carrier Conference, Inc., Atlanta, GA, May 17 - 1960
  • District No.1 Chapter, Associationn of IC.C Practitioners. Boston, MA, June 8 - 1960
  • American Short Line RR Association, 47th annual meeting. Green Bay, WI, October 3 - 1960
  • Transportation Week in the Niagara Frontier. Buffalo, NY, October 24 - 1960
  • Extra-Provincial Carriers' Conference. Toronto, Canada, November 21 - 1960
  • Tri-State Traffic Club. Fort Madison, IA, February 7 - 1961
  • Box 2:
  • Delta Nu Alpha transportation fraternity. Cuyhoga Falls, OH, April 12 - 1961
  • 32nd annual meeting of the Associations of ICC, May 25 - 1961
  • Conference with chairman Shoniker, Ontario Highway Transport Board, June 2 - 1961
  • Iowa Motor Truck Association. Cedar Rapids, IA, September 8 - 1961
  • National Petroleum Refiners Association, Atlantic City, NJ, September 14 - 1961
  • Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association. November 8 - 1961
  • Chicago chapter Association of ICC. Practitioners. Chicago, IL, December 8 - 1961
  • Intercoastal Lumber Association. New York, NY, January 22 - 1962
  • National Tour Brokers Association annual conference. Chicago, IL, January 28 - 1962
  • Board of Governors meeting -- Regular common Carrier Conference. New Orleans, LA, February 15 - 1962
  • Eastern Industrial Traffic League. April 12 - 1962
  • Bowling Green State University. May 2 - 1962
  • National Tank Truck Carriers. Bel Harbour, FL, May 23 - 1962
  • New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners. June 22 - 1962
  • Iowa Motor Truck Association. September 14 - 1962
  • Box 3:
  • Fifteenth annual meeting of the Common Carrier Conference -- Irregular route. New Orleans, LA, March 1 - 1963
  • Delta Nu Alpha. Grand Rapids, MI, April 8 - 1963
  • American Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association. Booklets on Transportation Trends. April 22 - 1963
    2 folders
  • Chamber of Commerce forum luncheon -- National Transportation Week. Tulsa, OK, May 16 - 1963
  • Clyde E. Herring: Reappointment. September-May - 1963-1964
    including letters from Lawrence O'Brien
  • Clyde E. Herring: Reappointment. September-May - 1963-1964
    including letters from James E. Bromwell, Lister Hill, Stuart Symington. Report of Proceedings on Walrath reappointment and Brown appointment to ICC
  • "Valedictory address" Private Carrier Conference -- Fifth annual mid-year meeting. New Orleans, LA, May 21 - 1964
  • Box 4:
  • Carbons of outgoing letters, September-August - 1959-1963
    2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Pleadings before the Interstate Commerce Commission - 1966-1976
    16 loose documents
  • Published findings and reports of the Interstate Commerce Commission. - 1963
    Miscellaneous reports compiled into two bound volumes.
  • Obituary - 1976

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States. Interstate Commerce Commission

Topics:
Transportation
Transportation