Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jo Stidger Stong Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1958-1967
Creator: Stong, Jo Stidger (1903-1974)
Extent: 368.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0309
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Keosauqua, Iowa, lawyer and Iowa Highway Commissioner. Correspondence, maps, expense vouchers, etc. relating to the Iowa Highway Commission along with material concerning various dam projects along the Des Moines River.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photograph in Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Jo Stong papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by his widow in 1974.

Preferred Citation: Jo Stidger Stong Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jo Stidger Stong (1903-1974) was born in Pittsburg, Iowa. He was the younger brother of Iowa author, Phil Stong of State Fair fame. Jo Stong graduated from high school in Keosauqua and went on to attend Drake University where he earned his law degree. Returning to Keosauqua, Stong joined a law practice. He later became the senior partner in the firm of Stong and Dorothy.
 
Jo Stong was mayor of Keosauqua for many years. He was instrumental in the building of the Van Buren County Memorial Hospital in 1951. He helped form and was president of the Van Buren County Development Association. His activities were not limited to just Keosauqua or even Van Buren County. Stong was a member of the Iowa Highway Commission from 1957 to 1963. He was also active in the Boy Scouts of America and served as a member of the national executive board.

The papers of Jo S. Stong relate to his work on the Iowa Highway Commission, with correspondence, expense vouchers, maps, etc. There are also folders relating to various dam projects and the related flood control issues along the Des Moines River between 1958 and 1969. Finally there are genealogical materials about the Stong family.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Stong Family Genealogical Materials
    3 photographs
  • Obituaries for Jo S. Stong - 1974
  • Bert Faulkner -- Dam File - 1958
  • Dam Project - 1959-1964
  • Dam Project - 1965
  • Dam Project - 1966-1969
  • Iowa Highway Commission - 1960-1962
  • Iowa Highway Commission - 1963-1967
  • Iowa Highway Commission, Five Year Plan - 1962-1967
  • "National Charter, Constitution and By-Laws"Expenses -- Iowa Highway Commission, July-July - 1959-1963
  • Maps -- Iowa Highway Commission

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Highway Commission

Topics:
Dams
Flood control

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Keosauqua
United States -- Iowa -- Van Buren County