Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Janet Pressley Piper Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1939-1988
Creator: Piper, Janet Pressley (1902-1997)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0308
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Janet Pressley Piper was a poet, scholar, professor, and wife of Edwin Ford Piper. This collection is comprised mostly of self-published manuscripts, along with some correspondence.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection is a gift of Janet Pressley Piper starting in 1987 and continuing until 1995.The collection was augmented by her estate after her death in 1997. Norman Sage, a member of the English faculty at the University of Iowa and proprietor of the Maecenas Press, also contributed to this collection.

Preferred Citation: Janet Pressley Piper Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Janet Pressley was born in 1902 in Nebraska. She received an undergraduate degree in English from the University of Nebraska in 1922 and an M.A. in Philosophy in 1923, also at the University of Nebraska. In 1927 she married one of her poetry teachers, Edwin Ford Piper, who was some thirty years older than she. Edwin was a member of the English faculty at the University of Iowa in the early years of the twentieth century, when the New Humanists were displacing the more formal poets of an older generation. Edwin and Janet, who was a graduate student in the department, were caught up in this conflict and Janet believed it contributed to her husband's early death of a brain hemorrhage. Several of the manuscripts in the collection deal with this phenomenon. Feeling unwelcome at the University of Iowa after she received her Ph.D., Janet moved to Texas where she took up a position at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville in 1942. She was to remain in this position for thirty years where, according to Dr. David S. Gallant in his introduction in Behind This Mortal Bone: Poems 1920-1938 . . . she became a legendary figure among her students and colleagues. Her intellectual brilliance, acumen and training based upon vast reading in several languages made her renowned among the large number of people with whom she came in contact. (p.3) She apparently attempted suicide in 1949 and her son put her under the treatment of Dr. Hauser, who used electric shock therapy on her. This incident alienated her from her son. She died in Huntsville in August 1997.
 
Norman Sage's Maecenas Press published her Behind This Mortal Bone in 1990. In the early 1980s Janet wrote to him, enclosing poems. Mr. Sage donated these letters and poems, and they form part of the collection.
 
She read widely and her writings, including letters, are filled with literary allusions, citations, and suggested readings. She could argue a point intelligently and convincingly. Nevertheless, her poetry did not find a national publisher. Most of her works are self-published and a great many of them are bound manuscripts.

Janet Piper apparently wrote poetry almost compulsively. Her correspondence as well as literary and social criticism are oftentimes expressed in poetry.The collection consists of poetry and correspondence. There are six notebooks and one folder of what one would probably call collage poetry. She has collected items from the press, mostly New Yorker cartoons, and photocopied them, sometimes several to a page, and then typed a poem in response to the item. Due to the nature of the cartoons, these comprise mostly social commentary, oftentimes making literary references. Her correspondence, as well as sometimes being written in poetry, usually includes poetry as attachments. Some of her letters are essays or include long discursive essays. Included in the collection are bound manuscripts that comprise most of her books. Most of these items are photocopies.

Series 4 contains a poem index that has been provided by the Sam Houston State University and is recreated here with their gracious permission. It is not current and her latest books are not indexed here. Their holdings do not completely overlap with that of the University of Iowa, but it was thought worthwhile to reproduce this index in the finding aid.

The index is organized by poem title - book - page number. Not all listings have a corresponding page number. Below is the book key to the finding aid:

AEL: An Examinded Life
BMB: Behind This Mortal Pone
CAS: Conversations and Soliloquies
FOS: In Fervor of Sun
FOSAP: In Fervor of Sun and Perspectives
LW: Last Words
LWR: Last Words Revised (UI does not have this title)
SS: Skyscapes
Copy refers to a holding at Sam Houston State which is not available at the University of Iowa. Copies may be available from the Special Collections Department of Sam Houston State University.
See the Papers of Edwin Ford Piper, MsC0040

Sam Houston University also has a Janet Piper collection that is not online. This collections contains the names of individual poems (see Poem Index, below.)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: WRITINGS
Series 4: POEM INDEX

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Clippings, including obituary
  • Photographs
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Letter to Sandra Costich, Associate Director of The American Scholar. July 13 - 1987; 1981
    Attached is an essay titled Gorham Munson in Iowa City
  • Correspondence with David Diercks. Sometimes written in verse or with accompanying poems
    Photocopies
  • Edwin Ford Piper correspondence, mostly from publishers. 10 letters
    Photocopies
  • The Edwin Ford Piper Memorial Scholarship Fund. May, June, July - 1981
    Photocopies
  • Letter to Edwin Ford Piper, II (June 26), revised (January 20), and annotated (July 8) - 1955; 1958; 1987
    TMS, photocopy
  • Miscellaneous correspondence, May 18.; to Julia [Class?] , May 10, and one from Dorothy - 1939; 1988
    Iincluding a letter from Charles Burns of Look Magazine sending condolences on Edwin's death
  • Poems sent to Norman Sage. - 1980-1981
    3 folders. Combination of handwritten, typed, and photocopied materials.
  • Jean Wylder. May-July - 1973
    Correspondence to and from. Includes an essay on her time at the University of Iowa and the struggles within the English department. Mostly original typescript.
  • Series 3: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Note: All are bound photocopy manuscripts unless otherwise noted
  • All Sorts of Things and Weather
  • Antiphony
  • Behind This Mortal Bone
  • Conversation and Soliloquies
  • Conversation and Soliloquies: Reading Notes
  • An Examined Life
    Two copies
  • A Familiar Compound Ghost Reconstituted: Two Poems
  • A Familiar Compound Ghost Reconstituted and A Familiar Compound Ghost: The History of a Lost Manuscript
  • In Fervor of Sun
  • Late Word: Poems, 1976
  • A Life in Pictures
  • Miscellaneous poems
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • A New Yorker Scrapbook: The Very Rich Hours (and Hours and Hours and Hours) of Janet Piper. Volumes I-VI. Photocopied cartoons and covers from the New Yorker magazine, with poems added. Bound in cardboard covers, with one folder of unbound materials
    Photocopies
  • Proposed introduction to Conrad Aikin Critical Recognition, 1914-1981: A Bibliographical Guies, by Catherine Harris. This introduction was apparently not used because it does not match the Introduction in the published copy of the book (Garland Publishing, Inc., 1983). That Introduction is not credited, so presumably Harris wrote it. Includes correspondence with Harris.
  • Remembering Matthew Arnold and Other Poems
    Two different copies
  • A Selection of Poems for Julie Ann Claus
    Two different copies
  • Skyscapes
  • Thoughts and Afterthoughts
  • The University of Iowa Writers' Workshop in Retrospect: A Repository of Relevant Writing.
  • Series 4: POEM INDEX
  • Sub-Series: A
  • 1988 The September Debate - Copy
  • A City on the Hill - LWR - 53
  • A Cry in the Dark - Copy
  • A Damp December in Texas, 1992 - SS - 26
  • A Democratic Society - LWR - 48
  • A Dirge - Copy
  • A Documented Dying - Copy
  • A Dying Animal - CAS - 60
  • A Fear - Copy
  • A Grave Among the Immortals - Copy
  • A Grief Without a Pang - Copy
  • A Kind of Benediction - Copy
  • A Kind of Triumph - Copy
  • A Life-Time Supply - Copy
  • A Modest Manifesto - Copy
  • A Note from Leyden - Copy
  • A Piece of Cake - Copy
  • A Proposal - CAS - 35
  • A Psychic Transformation - LWR - II
  • A Remedy - Copy
  • A Reminder - SS - 28
  • A Reply - Copy
  • A Takeover - LWR - 54
  • A Thinking Reed - CAS - 61
  • A Vision - Copy
  • A Way of Life - Copy
  • A Withered Daffodil (After Ben Jonson) - Copy
  • Abdomenal - Copy
  • Acorn falls, the milkweed sails away - BMB - 146
  • Advancement of Learning - CAS - 132
  • Addendum - Copy
  • Advice to the Newborn - Copy
  • Advise - Copy
  • After Lives, "The Pathography Perplex" - Copy
  • After Snowfall - BMB - 63
  • After Virtue: A Study in Moral Theory: A Review - AEL - 51
  • Against the Voice of the Age - BMB - 80-81
  • Age of Criticism - CAS - 153
  • Age of Criticism - AEL - 69
  • Alien and Expatriate? - LWR - 26
  • Alien Bird - BMB - 111
  • Alienation - CAS - 66
  • Alienation - Copy
  • Alone - Copy
  • Although my thought lies in my open hand - BMB - 147
  • Always the mist and rain have had high power - BMB - 144
  • Amateur - CAS - 8
  • Amateur and Scholar - Copy
  • Ambiguity of Beauty - CAS - 116
  • Ambition - CAS - 148
  • Ambivalence - Copy
  • American Strategy - CAS - 107
  • An Explanation - Copy
  • And a Postscript - LWR - 73
  • And After Bear the Rose - FOS - 24
  • And After? - Copy
  • And daffodils have drunk sunny dew - BMB - 143
  • And Gladly Teach - AEL - 93
  • And No Birds Sing - SS - 23
  • Anecdote - Copy
  • Animal Kingdom - LWR - 39, 40
  • Anniversary (1902-198?) - AEL - 18
  • Anodynes - CAS - 140
  • Anodynes - AEL - 92
  • Answer - Copy
  • Ant and I, The - Copy
  • Anticipation - BMB - 136
  • Anti-Dante - AEL - 63
  • Antinomies - CAS - 145
  • Antinomies - AEL - 17
  • Antithesis - Copy
  • Apocalypse - BMB - 11
  • Apologia Pro Vita Sua - Copy
  • Apology (for Eleanor Clark) - Copy
  • Appeal - FOS - 8
  • Appraisals - Copy
  • Appropriations of Ezra Pound - CAS - 108
  • Approximation - BMB - 107
  • April Twenty-fifth - Copy
  • Ars Poetica - CAS - 114
  • Artist - Copy
  • Artist and Anchor Persons - CAS - 154
  • As Angels in Some Brighter Dreams - FOS - 86
  • As In time swift-gathered floods - BMB - 86
  • As Wave the Sun - FOS - 85
  • Aspiration - Copy
  • Astronauts - CAS - 122
  • Attempt at Explanation - LWR - 87
  • Aubade - Copy
  • Author's Note - Copy
  • Autre Temps, Autres Moeurs - AEL - 77
  • Ave atque Vale - CAS - 74
  • Awakening - FOS - 133-134
  • Awakening - FOSAP - 135-136
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Babel Confounded - AEL - 127
  • Ballad I, II - FOS - 140
  • Ballad I, II - FOSAP - 142-143
  • Ballad I, II, III - LW - 68-71
  • Balm to the mind - BMB - 94
  • Bards if Passion and of Mirth 1, 2 - CAS - 86-87
  • Baroque - AEL - 72
  • Basics - Copy
  • Battle of the Books - Copy
  • Be assured! Be comforted! - BMB - 110
  • Beauty, Truth, and Goodness - CAS - 115
  • Before I Wake - Copy
  • Behind This Mortal Bone - CAS - 94
  • Behold the Lie - FOS - 118
  • Behold the Lie - FOSAP - 119
  • Benediction - LWR - 77
  • Benediction (1928-1970) - BMB - 163
  • Bent Twig - AEL - 19
  • Betrayal - CAS - 67
  • Betrayal - FOS - 9
  • Better Late Than Never - Copy
  • Beyond Freedom and Dignity I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX - LW - 23-34
  • Bias - Copy
  • Bible Story - Copy
  • Bicentennial I, II - FOS - 164-165
  • Bicentennial I, II - FOSAP - 169-170
  • Bicentennial I, II, III, IV - LW - 47-55
  • Biografiends - CAS - 90
  • Birthday Poem - Copy
  • Blinded - SS - 31
  • Bliss of Solitude, The (For Charles and Mary De Shazo) - Copy
  • Body - CAS - 55
  • Body and Soul 1, 2 - Copy
  • Bond-Servant 2 - Copy
  • Bonfire - BMB - 95
  • Bonus - CAS - 49
  • Bottom Line - CAS - 37
  • Bottom Line - AEL - 59
  • Bottom Line, The - LWR - 55
  • Bow, The - Copy
  • Brotherhood of the Wasp - CAS - 99
  • Builder - A Tribute - Copy
  • Burden of Mortality Vladimir Horowitz in Moscow - AEL - 28
  • Burning Fountain, The - Copy
  • Bush, Quayle, and the Anti-Abortionists - Copy
  • By Any Other Name - AEL - 73
  • By Love Alone - FOS - 19
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Calumny! - Copy
  • Canticle I, II - FOS - 31-32
  • Chacun a son Gout 1, 2, 3 - CAS - 20
  • Chanson - BMB - 89
  • City on a Hill - LW - 56
  • Class and Underclass - CAS - 96
  • Classical Politics - AEL - 58
  • Clean Wound that Cuts the World - FOS - 93
  • Clinical Notes 1 Emphysema - Copy
  • Close Reading 1, 2 - Copy
  • Coffee Hour (for H.M.) - BMB - 82
  • Cogito - CAS - 127
  • Collected Edition - Copy
  • Colloque Intime - BMB - 43
  • Commitment I, II - FOS - 121-122
  • Commitment I, II - FOSAP - 122-123
  • Communication - Copy
  • Communion - CAS - 1
  • Company Manners - CAS - 64
  • Compensation of Age - AEL - 39
  • Confession 1, 2 - Copy
  • Conquest - CAS - 69
  • Conquistador - FOS - 108-109
  • Conquistador - FOSAP - 109-110
  • Consciousness and its Contents - CAS - 117
  • Consensus 1, 2, 3, 4 - CAS - 62-63
  • Conservation of Energy - Copy
  • Contents of Consciousness, The - Copy
  • Contradictory Chorus - CAS - 118
  • Contrition of Age - AEL - 45
  • Conversation and Soliloquies - CAS - 12
  • Coping 1, 2 - Copy
  • Corollary - CAS - 110
  • Cosmic Egg, Origin of the Universe, and End of the World - LWR - 63
  • Cosmic Perspectives - LWR - 44
  • Couch Potato - Copy
  • Counsel in April - BMB - 70
  • Cowardice - Copy
  • Creativity - CAS - 28
  • Creativity - LWR - 16-19
  • Creature Comfort I, II, III, IV - FOS - 142-147
  • Creature Comfort I, II, III, IV - FOSAP - 145-150
  • Creatures and Creations - CAS - 82
  • Crime - Copy
  • Crime in the Snow - FOS - 114-115
  • Crime in the Snow - FOSAP - 115-116
  • Critics and Scholars - Copy
  • Cultural Change 1, 2 - AEL - 85-87
  • Curiosa Felicitas - Copy
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Damnation - Copy
  • Dark - BMB - 100
  • Dark Ages - AEL - 49
  • Dawn - Copy
  • Dawn Walk - BMB - 64
  • Dawn: Through A Glass Darkly - SS - 25
  • Day Labor - Copy
  • Daybreak - CAS - 44
  • Daybreak - AEL - 23
  • Daybreak 1, 2 - SS - 32, 33
  • De Mortuis Nil Nist - Copy
  • De Senectute - AEL - 38
  • Dead Thoughts - CAS - 120
  • Dear Rabbit - Copy
  • Death of God, The - SS - 22
  • Death's Large Democratic Fingers - BMB - 98
  • Debt - FOS - 124
  • Debt - FOSAP - 126
  • Debt, The - LWR - 81
  • Debts - Copy
  • Decent Drapery of Life - AEL - 82
  • Declaration of Independence - AEL - 75-76
  • Decree - Copy
  • Dedication - BMB - 137
  • Dedication to the Intellectual Life - BMB - 115
  • Defeat - Copy
  • Defiance - Copy
  • Democratic Capitalism - LWR - 49
  • Departure - Copy
  • Depravity - AEL - 78
  • Depth and not the Tumult of the Soul - FOS - 120
  • Depth and not the Tumult of the Soul - FOSAP - 121
  • Description and Classification 1, 2, 3, 4 - CAS - 4-7
  • Despair - Copy
  • Destination - AEL - 56
  • Deus Absconditus - LWR - 65
  • Devil in New England - FOS - 160-163
  • Devil in New England - FOSAP - 165-168
  • Diagnosis - BMB - 74
  • Dialectic I, II, III - BMB - 72-73
  • Dialogue - Copy
  • Dilemma - CAS - 100
  • Diminution - Copy
  • Dirge - Copy
  • Discount - CAS - 51
  • Disorientation - CAS - 11
  • Disposal: Toxic Waste - AEL - 31
  • Dissipation of Engery - Copy
  • Dissolution - CAS - 78+
  • Distance - Copy
  • Distinction - LWR - 20
  • Divinity and Art - Copy
  • Dover Beach Again - BMB - 161
  • Downwar Flight - BMB - 106
  • Drama of Consiousness
  • Dream I lately walk within - BMB - 33
  • Dregs - Copy
  • Druids and Dryads - SS - 3
  • Sub-Series: E
  • E pur si mueve! - Copy
  • Early Snow - BMB - 18
  • Early Spring-Full Moon - BMB - 42
  • Earth Song - LWR - 31
  • Earth Song I, II, III - LW - 79-81
  • Earth-Rise - LWR - 61
  • Economies and the Ego - BMB - 116
  • Ecstasy - CAS - 29
  • Elementary Logic - BMB - 71
  • Emblems - Copy
  • En Garde - CAS - 57
  • En Voyage - CAS - 73
  • English Language - Copy
  • Envy - CAS - 50
  • Ephemerae - Copy
  • Epigraphs -Copy
  • Epilogue - AEL - 124-126
  • Epitah for "modernism" in Literature and Literary Criticism - AEL - 48
  • Epitaph (Archibald MacLeish 1892-1982) - Copy
  • Eros and Psyche I, II - FOS - 105-107
  • Eros and Psyche I, II - FOSAP - 106-108
  • Essence and Substance: An Examined Life (In Memory and Harley Burr Alexander) - Copy
  • Essential Explanations -LWR - 85, 86
  • Et Tout Le Reste Est Litterature - AEL - 34
  • Eternal Recurrence - CAS - 123
  • Eternal Recurrence - AEL - 114
  • Eternal Verities - CAS - 131
  • Ethic and Aesthetic - LWR - 21-25
  • Ethic and Aesthetic I, II - FOS - 123
  • Ethic and Aesthetic I, II - FOSAP - 124-125
  • Even Jove - FOS - 52-53
  • Even the Swan - Copy
  • Even These - Copy
  • Evidence, The - Copy
  • Evolution - CAS - 149
  • Excursions Among Ambiguities - CAS - 104
  • Excursions in Ambiguity - Copy
  • Exhortation - LWR - 83
  • Exile - CAS - 77
  • Exiles and Gath -CAS - 98
  • Exorcism - LW - 1
  • Exorcism - LWR - 27, 28
  • Explanation - Copy
  • Exploration and Discovery - Copy
  • Explosion of "The Challenger": Postcript - AEL - 99
  • Explosion of the Spacecraft "Challenger": In Memoriam - AEL - 97-98
  • Exposition - Copy
  • Extension of Tiem 1, 2 - Copy
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Fable of the Critics I, II - LW - 61-64
  • Faites Vos Jeux - CAS - 68
  • Fall: Status Quo Ante - Copy
  • Fame - Copy
  • Fame and Fortune - CAS - 80
  • Fame and Fortune - CAS - 95
  • Farewell Address to the Body - Copy
  • Favored Nation - Copy
  • Fear No More the Heat of the Sun - LWR - 75
  • Fear No More the Heat of the Sun - LW - 82-83
  • February: East Texas - LW - 84
  • Fell of Dark, The - CAS - 78
  • Fellowship of the Very Old - Copy
  • Fiction - Copy
  • Fin de Siecle - Copy
  • Final Hour - AEL - 122
  • Final Metaphor - FOS - 198
  • Final Metaphor - FOSAP - 205
  • Finalities - CAS - 70
  • Finalities - AEL - 11
  • Fireweed - Copy
  • First Fall, The - Copy
  • Five Poems - LWR - 68-72
  • Flight From Philosophy - CAS - 128
  • Flowers - BMB - 84
  • Food - Copy
  • For Edwin Ford Piper - BMB - 126
  • For Edwin Piper (From Paintrock Road) - BMB - 53
  • For Elizabeth Atkins (1891-1962) - BMB - 131
  • For Hartley Burr Alexander I, II, III, IV - BMB - 127-130
  • Forces of Good and the Forces of Evil - AEL - 80
  • Forecast - Copy
  • Foreign Language - Copy
  • Fortunate Failure, The - Copy
  • Foster Daughters In Memory of Hartley Burr Alexander - Copy
  • Freedom of Speech - AEL - 52
  • Free-Fall - LWR - 62
  • Fresh Spring in all Her Green Completed - FOS - 94
  • Frigates and Books - CAS - 72
  • From "Self Dependence" (Matthew Arnold) - Copy
  • From Loves Awakened Root - FOS - 99
  • From Tomorrow on to Yesterday - BMB - 199
  • From Yeats to Yeats - CAS - 90
  • Funeral Urn - AEL - 2
  • Furies, The - Copy
  • Futility - Copy
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Gardener - Copy
  • Gender of Poetry 1, 2 - Copy
  • Genesis of a Poem - Copy
  • Genius - Copy
  • Gentleman in the Dust Coat - AEL - 70
  • George F. Kennan - CAS - 157
  • Ghosts - AEL - 121
  • Gift, The - LWR - 13-15
  • Glass House - BMB - 65
  • Gleanings - Copy
  • Goals - Copy
  • God and Money - Copy
  • Golden lads and Girls I, II - LW - 72-73
  • Golden Mean, The - Copy
  • Good Society, The - LWR - 47
  • Goodby and God Bless You! - Copy
  • Grand Strategy - Copy
  • Gratitude - FOS - 11
  • Gray Curtain - SS - 17
  • Great Best, The - Copy
  • Great mountains, desert, ocean, like a dream - BMB - 159
  • Greatness Thrust Upon Them - AEL - 79
  • Greeks Bearing Gifts - FOS - 147x
  • Greeks Bearing Gifts - FOSAP - 152
  • Green Thought in a Green Shade - FOS - 102-103
  • Green Thought in a Green Shade - FOSAP - 103-104
  • Grief - AEL - 119
  • Grief - BMB - 25
  • Grouse and the Goshawk - CAS - 146
  • Guided Imagery - CAS - 54
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Hallucination - Copy
  • Hands - BMB - 30
  • Harbinger - BMB - 45
  • Hard Knots - CAS - 135
  • Haunted Lover - FOS - 113
  • Haunted Lover - FOSAP - 114
  • Hazards - Copy
  • Hear, O Love - BMB - 22
  • Heaven's Atmosphere - Copy
  • Helen Vendler (Scholars, Writers, Critics, and Professors) - Copy
  • Hellas - Copy
  • Helpful Hings 1, 2 - Copy
  • Here is a weight of lovelines to bear - BMB - 141
  • Heredity - LWR - 32
  • Heredity and Environment - I, II - BMB - 117
  • Heredity and Environment - I, II, III, IV - FOS - 125-128
  • Heredity and Environment - I, II, III, IV - FOSAP - 127-130
  • Heritors - Copy
  • Hermit Thrush, The - Copy
  • Heroes and Hero-Worship - LWR - 35-38
  • Heroes and Hero-Worship I, II, III, IV, V - LW - 42-46
  • Hide and Seek - Copy
  • Holism: or Who's in Charge - Copy
  • Holy Days? - Copy
  • Homage to Texas - CAS - 113
  • Homeless, The - Copy
  • Honest Confession - Copy
  • Hooly Blisful Martir - Copy
  • Hope - CAS - 65
  • How Many Miles to the Millennium - AEL - 113
  • Hubris - Copy
  • Human Condition vs. Classical Tradition - AEL - 57
  • Humanities - LWR - 45
  • Hurricanes - Copy
  • Hymn - CAS - 40
  • Hymn to Morpheus - Copy
  • Hypothesis - CAS - 150
  • Sub-Series: I
  • I Am Afraid - BMB -16
  • I am like a Worshipper - BMB - 14
  • I am not a tree - BMB - 52
  • I Await that Hour - FOS - 78-79
  • I don't know this Stranger - BMB - 13
  • I Have Lived, I Have Preened - CAS - 160
  • I knew the sound of its dark coming - BMB - 13
  • I know that for a breathless Space - BMB - 12
  • I Shall Bend my Head - BMB -41
  • I think there will be music on earth - BMB - 154
  • I will look once more on the haw tree - BMB - 108
  • Identity - BMB - 38
  • Idle Curiosity - SS - 14
  • I'll Tell You How The Sun Arose - SS - 34
  • Illusion - BMB - 112
  • Imminence - CAS
  • Immorality - Copy
  • Immortal Contruct - AEL - 129
  • Immortals - AEL - 30
  • Imperative - Copy
  • In Challenge: Not Defense - Copy
  • In Heaven and Earth I, II, III, IV - FOS - 67-72
  • In Lieu of Courage - AEL - 41
  • In Memorium: Jessie Newell Montgomery (1891-1991) - Copy
  • In Moderation - Copy
  • In Praise - LWR - 76
  • In Praise of Dictionaries and Their Makers - Copy
  • In the Interest of Truth - CAS - 32
  • In the Last, the Inntermost Abyss - FOS - 13
  • Inconsistency - Copy
  • Indecent Drapery - AEL - 83
  • Indecision - Copy
  • Indentured - Copy
  • Independence Day - Copy
  • Ingrate - BMB - 67
  • Inquire of the Closing Rose - FOS - 64
  • Inquisition - BMB - 114
  • Insouciance - Copy
  • Inspiration - Copy
  • Introvert - BMB - 68
  • Inventing Chinese Poetry - Copy
  • Invictus - Copy
  • Inward Eye, The - Copy
  • Iowa Poet - Copy
  • Isolation - Copy
  • It is as Though our Spirits Comprehended - FOS - 2
  • Sub-Series: J
  • J'Accuse 1, 2, 3 - Copy
  • Job Redivivus I, II - FOS - 152-153
  • Job Redivivus I, II - FOSAP - 157-158
  • John Adams - LWR - 33, 34
  • John Donne - Copy
  • John Sununu - CAS - 158
  • Joie De Vivre - CAS - 46
  • Joie De Vivre - AEL - 68
  • Juggernaut - Copy
  • Sub-Series: K
  • King Fraud - LW - 57-59
  • King Fraud - LWR - 51, 52
  • Knowledge and the Image of Man - Copy
  • Knowledge is like a vast and ancient grove - BMB - 155
  • Knowledge of Good and Evil - FOS - 129-130
  • Knowledge of Good and Evil - FOSAP - 131-132
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Lady - LWR - 41-43
  • Lament - AEL - 120
  • Lament for those Lost on Land - FOS - 119
  • Lament for those Lost on Land - FOSAP - 120
  • Language of Theory and the Language of Poetry - CAS - 15
  • Last Journey - Copy
  • Last Questions - Copy
  • Last Things - SS - 24
  • Late or Soon - FOS - 30
  • Later Leda - FOS - 110-111
  • Later Leda - FOSAP - 111-112
  • Leaders, The - LWR - 46
  • Legacy - CAS - 93
  • Legacy of Greece - AEL - 117-118
  • Legendary Lovers I, II, III - FOS - 40-42
  • Length of Days - AEL - 10
  • Length of Days - CAS - 45
  • L'Esprit s'addresse a L'Ame - BMB - 90
  • Lessons of Age 1, 2 - Copy
  • Let Them Try Art - Copy
  • Letter to V - Copy
  • Libido Sciendi - Copy
  • Life - Copy
  • Light Verse on Dark Subjects - Copy
  • Lilies of the Field - CAS - 79
  • Little Elegy - AEL - 128
  • Little Parables I, II, III, IV, V - FOS - 174-180
  • Little Parables I, II, III, IV, V - FOSAP - 181-187
  • Lo, He Comes! - Copy
  • Lonely Death - CAS - 94
  • Long Pursuit - AEL - 95
  • Long Trek, The - Copy
  • Loss - Copy
  • Lovely and Illusionary - BMB - 24
  • Lovers who Must Say Farewell - FOS - 80-81
  • Loves Image - FOS - 95
  • Love's Missal Through Today - FOS - 66
  • Love's Mystery I, II, III, IV - FOS - 33-37
  • Low Key - SS - 27
  • Lullaby - FOS - 5-6
  • Lusts of the Flesh - Copy
  • Lyric Impulse, The - Copy
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Magnolia Bloom - FOS - 166
  • Magnolia Bloom I, II - FOSAP - 171-173
  • Mainstream - CAS - 92
  • Mainstream America - LWR - 56
  • Marchen - Copy
  • Mark of Cain - AEL - 101
  • Mark Van Doren and the dialogues - LW - 37-39
  • Market Place, The - Copy
  • Marriage Poems I, II, III - FOS - 54-56
  • Mass and the Elite - CAS - 97
  • Matin - BMB - 37
  • Mea Culpa (For Elisabeth Wittman) - BMB - 133
  • Meaning and Being - Copy
  • Meaning and the Moon I, II - LW - 12
  • Meaning of Evolution - LW - 12
  • Meaning of Evolution, The - LWR - 57
  • Meditation - CAS - 38
  • Meditation - BMB - 91
  • Meditation on Ideas of Good and Evil - AEL - 65
  • Meet Mr. Eliot - CAS - 162
  • Meeting (for Margaret) - Copy
  • Melodrama - BMB - 79
  • Memorial Day: May 26, 1986 - AEL - 100
  • Memory - CAS - 139
  • Mens Sana In Corpore Sano - CAS - 34
  • Message - FOS - 10
  • Message and Messenger - Copy
  • Message is the Message - CAS - 163+
  • Metamorphisis - LWR - III
  • Metamorphoses - CAS - 14
  • Metaphor - Copy
  • Microcosmography - FOS - 89
  • Mind and the Machine - CAS - 137
  • Miracle - FOS - 90-91
  • Mirage with Music - FOS - 104
  • Mirage with Music - FOSAP - 105
  • Mirror Image - CAS - 3
  • Misanthropist - AEL - 66
  • Misappropriation of Ezra Pound 1, 2 - CAS - 109
  • Miserere Domine - CAS - 16+
  • Miserere Domine - AEL - 27
  • Mobilization of the Sages - Copy
  • Mock-Heroic - BMB - 85
  • Modernism - Copy
  • Mood - Copy
  • Moonshine on the Rocks I, II, III, IV - FOS - 149-151
  • Moonshine on the Rocks I, II, III, IV - FOSAP - 153-156
  • More Appropriations - CAS - 111-112
  • Morning - SS - 29
  • Mortal Essence - Copy
  • Mother of God, The - Copy
  • Motives and Motifs - CAS - 102
  • Mountains over Persia I, II - LW - 35-36
  • Mulier Sapiens I, II, III, IV - FOS - 167-170
  • Mulier Sapiens I, II, III, IV - FOSAP - 174-177
  • Music at the Close - CAS - 83
  • My Acquaintance With Poets - Copy
  • My Contribution - LWR - 67
  • My Native Tongue - Copy
  • My Soul's Face - BMB - 44
  • Mystique of the Unicorn Reborn at Marcus - Copy
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nature and Art - SS - 15
  • Necessity - Copy
  • Negative Capability - CAS - 85
  • Neurosis - Copy
  • New Patriotism: or Peer Pressure - AEL - 74
  • Newer Euphuism - AEL - 54
  • News that stays News - CAS - 159
  • Night Piece - BMB - 113
  • No Man's Land - CAS - 75
  • No priest absolves as surely as the past - BMB - 160
  • No Winter Landscape - FOS - 22-23
  • No world could be more lovely than ours - BMB - 142
  • Nostalgia - Copy
  • Not Before The Servants - Copy
  • Not in a Dream of Paradise - FOS - 82
  • Not In Galilee - FOS - 3
  • Not Marble - CAS - 81
  • Not Marble - AEL - 8
  • Notes - Copy
  • Not-Quite Posthumous Life, The - Copy
  • Now as blue evening pales - BMB - 156
  • Now in an April morning after rain - BMB - 140
  • Now while the wine is untasted - BMB - 62
  • Sub-Series: O
  • O Sole in Whom my Thoughts Find all Repose - FOS - 83-84
  • O Sun Invisible - FOS - 88
  • O Unknown Powers - FOS - 132
  • O Unknown Powers - FOSAP - 134
  • O Weave White Garlands - BMB - 12
  • Obession - Copy
  • Obituary - Copy
  • Obsequies - AEL - 7
  • Odd Antiphony - LW - 13
  • Odd Antiphony - LWR - 30
  • Old Gospal Hymn - Copy
  • Old Locals - LW - 14
  • Old Locals, The - LWR - 29
  • Old People I, II - LW - 3-4
  • Old People I, II - LWR - 1
  • Old-Fashioned Song - FOS - 25
  • Olive Tree - BMB - 32
  • On Growing Old-Matthew Arnold - AEL - 36-37
  • On Not Meeting Edna Millay (for W. Martin) - Copy
  • On Sex Education - Copy
  • Ontogeny Recapitulates Phylogeny (On a Newborn Baby Sleeping) - Copy
  • Open Conspiracy - AEL - 53
  • Optimal Condition - Copy
  • Optimism - Copy
  • Or Even Babies? - Copy
  • Ora Pro Nobis - BMB - 17
  • Origins - Copy
  • Osteoporosis 2 - Copy
  • Our Lady - Copy
  • Our Native Language - Copy
  • Our Native Tongue - Copy
  • Out of Harm's Way - SS - 18
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Painted Veil - AEL - 81
  • Palliative - Copy
  • Parable: The Shattered Web - AEL -13
  • Participant - Copy
  • Parturition - Copy
  • Past and Present - AEL - 62
  • Pastime - Copy
  • Pastoral - BMB - 105
  • Pathology Perplex - CAS - 90
  • Patterned Web - AEL - 3
  • Peace Without Price - FOS - 87
  • People vs. Public - Copy
  • People whose pure tongue I do not speak - BMB - 153
  • Personal Relations - Copy
  • Perspective: Cosmic or Comic - LWR - 59
  • Philosopher? - Copy
  • Philosophers and Cave Dwellerse - Copy
  • Pilgrimage - AEL - 4
  • Planetary Ecology: Genesis-Yes? Apocalypse? No. - AEL - 109-112
  • Planetary Music - AEL - 104-108
  • Plastic Art - CAS - 16
  • Plays Many Parts - Copy
  • Pleasures of the Imagination - CAS - 21
  • Plutocrat - CAS - 2
  • Poem As a Safe Place - CAS - 25
  • Poem For My Ninety-second Birthday - Copy
  • Poem For Your Birthday - FOS - 50-51
  • Poem Not for Music - FOS - 20-21
  • Poems-Not quite Posthmous - Copy
  • Poems for Ruby - Copy
  • Poems for the New Year - AEL - 20-22
  • Poetic Technique - Copy
  • Poetry of Appearances: How Things Look 1, 2, 3 - Copy
  • Political Process - LWR - 50
  • Politics Farewell - Copy
  • Polluters - AEL - 55
  • Pope and the Virigin - Copy
  • Population Explosion - LW - 60
  • Population Explosion - LWR - 66
  • Portrait - BMB - 39
  • Portrait of the Mind - Copy
  • Post Script - Copy
  • Postscripts - CAS - 136
  • Prairie Poet - Copt
  • Prayer - CAS - 101
  • Prayer - AEL - 130
  • Prayer - BMB - 120
  • Precursor Cursed - Copy
  • Predecessors, Et Cetera, Amy Clampitt - Copy
  • Preface - Copy
  • Premature Burial - AEL - 33
  • Presiding Deity - SS - 4
  • Price of Longevity, The - Copy
  • Principals and Politics - CAS - 36
  • Prisoner - Copy
  • Prognosis - BMB - 75
  • Proof of Love I, II, III - FOS - 96-98
  • Prophet With Honor 1, 2 - Copy
  • Prophets and Prophecy - Copy
  • Protective Integument - Copy
  • Protest - FOS - 14
  • Prothalamion I, II, III - FOS - 76-77
  • Provisional Reply - Copy
  • Psychomachis or the Blight of the Precursor - Copy
  • Public Address - Copy
  • Pulverized Mythology - Copy
  • Pursuit of Happiness - CAS - 48
  • Pursuit of Happiness - AEL - 94
  • Pursuit of the Muse - BMB - 78
  • Pygmies vs. Dwarfs: The Great Debate - Copy
  • Sub-Series: Q
  • Quandary - BMB - 76
  • Quatrains - LW - 5-8
  • Query - Copy
  • Query Eight - Copy
  • Query Seven - Copy
  • Question, The - Copy
  • Questions, The - Copy
  • Quod Erat Deomonstration - Copy
  • Sub-Series: R
  • R.I.P. - Copy
  • Raison D'Etre - AEL - 67
  • Rallying the Troops - CAS - 106
  • Reality vs. Fantasy (For Dorothy) - Copy
  • Realms of Being - CAS - 121
  • Realms of Being - LWR - 58
  • Reasons for Writing - LWR - 12
  • Recalling Whitman - Copy
  • Recurring Dream of Evil Portent - BMB - 99
  • Recycled - Copy
  • Red and the Black - Copy
  • Redskin of Paleface? - CAS - 24
  • Reflections on Immortality - FOS - 171-173
  • Reflections on Immortality - FOSAP - 178-180
  • Reflections on Immortality - LW - 74-75
  • Relativity - CAS - 125
  • Release - Copy
  • Religious Residue - Copy
  • Remedy - LWR - 88
  • Remembered Spring (For Lee Andrew Weber) - BMB - 132
  • Reprieve - AEL - 89
  • Requiescat - CAS - 84
  • Reservoirs of Mount Helicon, The - Copy
  • Residium - BMB - 46
  • Residual - CAS - 119
  • Resolution - Copy
  • Responsibilities of the Artist - CAS - 119
  • Responsibility for Poetry - CAS - 13
  • Retrospect I, II, III, IV, V - FOS - 57-61
  • Return - FOS - 135-137
  • Return - FOSAP - 137-139
  • Revelation - Copy
  • Rewards - Copy
  • Rite de Passage - Copy
  • Robert Frost and the Better Half of Poetry - Copy
  • Rock 'n Roll 1, 2, ,3 - CAS - 17-19
  • Rock, the Sea, and the Gull - FOS - 138-139
  • Rock, the Sea, and the Gull - FOSAP - 140-141
  • Rock, the Sea, and the Gull - LW - 65-67
  • Romantic Nostalgia - AEL - 64
  • Roots of American Order - AEL - 71
  • Sub-Series: S
  • S.D.I. - CAS - 152
  • Sagacity - BMB - 15
  • Salvage - Copy
  • Salvation - CAS - 43
  • Sanctity of Bigotry - CAS - 163
  • Sand Waste - BMB - 123
  • Say not the struggle Naught Availeth - Copy
  • Schopenhauer and the Porcupine - Copy
  • Sea Change 1, 2 - Copy
  • Second Childhood - Copy
  • Second Death - CAS - 89
  • Second Death - AEL - 90
  • Second Sight I, II, III, IV, V - FOS - 43-47
  • Second Thought - BMB - 77
  • Self Dependence 1, 2 - CAS - 58-59
  • Self-Sufficiency - CAS - 56
  • Shadow - BMB - 83
  • Shaping Force of Love - FOS - 15
  • Shifting Mist - CAS - 155
  • Silence - CAS - 71
  • Silenced - Copy
  • Silver Skies - SS - 16
  • Since Even Leaves - BMB - 26
  • Sing-Along - AEL - 46
  • Singer to Singer I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII - FOS - 189-197
  • Singer to Singer I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII - FOSAP - 196-204
  • Sisters - BMB - 40
  • Skoal! - Copy
  • Sky Babies - SS - 9
  • Skywatch 1, 2 - SS - 12, 13
  • Sleep-Walker - AEL - 5
  • Slightly Grudging Praise - Copy
  • Smog - Copy
  • So is this mearge banquet spread - BMB - 47
  • So Let It Be - Copy
  • So Much you are Offered - BMB - 54
  • Social Order - AEL - 50
  • Soliloquy - CAS - 153
  • Sometimes I come upon you Unaware - BMB - 138
  • Song (When I am Old) - BMB - 19
  • Song (Lady for a Little Day) - BMB - 27
  • Song for a Masque - BMB - 31
  • Song-Love is not a Gift - FOS - 26
  • Songs Before Winter I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII - BMB - 101-104
  • Songs for a Spinet I, II, III - BMB - 28
  • Space-Time - Time-Space - Copy
  • Spinning Sight - FOS - 48-49
  • Sports as a Unifying Element - CAS - 33
  • Spring Song - Copy
  • Spunk - Copy
  • Stanzas Written in Dejection, Near Houston - Copy
  • Star Wars - CAS - 151
  • Star Wars - AEL - 103
  • State of the Nation - CAS - 30
  • Status Quo - CAS - 47
  • Status Quo-Ante - CAS - 88
  • Stigmata of Poetry - Copy
  • Still Life-Chrysanthemums - FOS - 141
  • Still Life-Chrysanthemums - FOSAP - 144
  • Strange Gods in Greece - FOS - 154-159
  • Strange Gods in Greece - FOSAP - 159-164
  • Stranger - FOS - 101
  • Strategic Retreat - Copy
  • Stricken Deer - CAS - 147
  • Strife Divine, The - Copy
  • Stump Speech - CAS - 9
  • Style and Authenticity in Postmodern Poetry - CAS - 103
  • Subjectivity - Copy
  • Submission - SS - 30
  • Success - CAS - 52
  • Suds - SS - 10
  • Suicide Machine, The - Copy
  • Suitable Attire - Copy
  • Summa - AEL - 123
  • Summa - FOS - 199
  • Summa - FOSAP - 206
  • Summa Showers - SS - 11
  • Summit - AEL - 102
  • Summons - FOS - 4
  • Sun Draws the Rose, The - FOS - 63
  • Super Collider - CAS - 133
  • Survival or Success - CAS - 53
  • Suspense - SS - 21
  • Sycophants - Copy
  • Sub-Series: T
  • T.S. Eliot in 1988 - Copy
  • Task - Copy
  • Test - Copy
  • Testament - AEL - 14
  • Thanksgiving I, II - Copy
  • Theocracies - Copy
  • Theodicy - CAS - 42
  • Theodicy - AEL - 60
  • Theodicy - AEL - 61
  • They also Serve - LW - 40-41
  • This afternoon an infant comes to call - BMB - 151
  • This afternoon I have had too much to say - BMB - 151
  • This Corruptible - AEL - 12
  • This Edge of Shadow I, II - FOS - 100
  • This is the little picture of the world - BMB - 152
  • This World's Defeat - FOS - 75
  • Thorny Hedge shuts close my heart - BMB - 36
  • Thought Caught on the Wing - CAS - 138
  • Thoughts - Copy
  • Threatening Weather - SS - 20
  • Three Cheers for Prettiness - Copy
  • Three Lives: A Non-fiction Novel in Verse - Copy
  • Through flushed and flowering spring - BMB - 149
  • Throughout the cycling year - BMB - 121-122
  • Time and Tempo - Copy
  • Time-lag or Plus Ca Change - CAS - 31
  • Tired Rabbit, The - Copy
  • To a Pot-Professional and Certain Professor-Critics I, II - BMB - 96-97
  • To an Acquaintance - BMB - 134
  • To charm your ear is now my priviledge - BMB - 157
  • To My Colleagues-Past, Present, and Future-In English Deparments Everywhere - AEL - 32
  • To the Poor Loveless Ever-Anxious Crowd - BMB - 158
  • Toll - Copy
  • Tortuous, tormented, tortured, the descent - BMB - 158
  • Touchstones - CAS - 27
  • Touchstones - 29
  • Tragic Dialogue - Copy
  • Transubstantiation - BMB - 66
  • Travel Guide - SS - 5
  • Treachery - CAS - 144
  • Treason Defined - FOS - 116
  • Treason Defined - FOSAP - 117
  • Trial, The - Copy
  • Tribute to John Updike - CAS - 161
  • Twelve Quantrains - LWR - 2-4
  • Two Poems - CAS - 10
  • Two Poems For Jeane Kirkpatrick - Copy
  • Two Woman (For Elizabeth Atkins and Louise Pound) - Copy
  • Tryanny of Greece - CAS - 130
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Ulmus Americana - LWR - 74
  • Ulmus Americana I, II - LW - 76-78
  • Unacknowledged Legislators - Copy
  • Unequal Contest - LWR - 89
  • Universal Mind - LWR - 60
  • Until - Copy
  • Upbeat - CAS - 91
  • Urania - AEL - 26
  • Uses of Poetry - CAS - 22
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Valentine - FOS - 38-39
  • Valiant - AEL - 9
  • Values - CAS - 126
  • Vanity - AEL - 9
  • Varieties of Religious Experience 1, 2, 3 - Copy
  • Verbal Behavior - LWR - 5-11
  • Verbal Behavior I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX - LW - 15-22
  • Verbal Defiance - Copy
  • Verification - CAS - 23
  • Very Old, The - Copy
  • Vesper - BMB - 21
  • Virtue - Copy
  • Virtues Forced Upon Us - CAS - 41
  • Virtues Forced Upon Us - AEL - 84
  • Visitant Visited - BMB - 69
  • Vista - SS - 7, 8
  • Vocabulary - Copy
  • Vocation - AEL - 116
  • Vortex - Copy
  • Vorticism I - Copy
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Wagner, The - Copy
  • Waking Dream - BMB - 49
  • Wall of Fire - AEL - 25
  • War and Cease-Fire - Copy
  • Watching the horses from a neighboring field - BMB - 145
  • Weather Report - SS - 19
  • Week in Rock, The - Copy
  • Weeping Philosopher - The - Copy
  • Welcome Song - FOS - 65
  • What does it "Mean" to be - SS - 1-2
  • What If - CAS - 124
  • What is Beauty - BMB - 10
  • What is I, II, III - FOS - 16-18
  • What Price Old Ladies? - Copy
  • What Then? - CAS - 39
  • What We Learn - Copy
  • What We Read - CAS - 142
  • What We Write - CAS - 141
  • When I Have Fears - AEL - 42
  • White Flowers - AEL - 91
  • Why Pretend? - LWR - 64
  • William Gass and Humphrey Carpenter's A Serious Character - CAS - 105
  • Wind! Listen! (The Linden Flower) - FOSAP - 113
  • Wind: Listen (The Linden Flower) - FOS - 112
  • Winter Bound - BMB - 118
  • Wisdom of Age - AEL - 44
  • Wisdom: The Beginning Of - Copy
  • Withered Rose - AEL - 6
  • Without Honor - Copy
  • Woman of Thebes - FOS - 7
  • Women I, II, III, IV, V - FOS - 181-188
  • Women I, II, III, IV, V - FOSAP - 188-195
  • Word - AEL - 16
  • Word, The - LWR - IV
  • Words About Death - BMB - 20
  • World Enough and Time - FOS - 73-74
  • World Without End - Copy
  • Worldy Goods - Copy
  • Wound and the Bow - AEL - 43
  • Writer's Workshop Inspiration - CAS - 26
  • Wynken, Blynken, and Nod - CAS - 129
  • Sub-Series: Y
  • You are my flower of youth - BMB - 139
  • Your sudden piercing cry sounds in my ears - BMB - 150
  • Sub-Series: Z
  • Zero Gravity - Copy

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.