Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vivian W. Johnson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1928-1962
Creator: Johnson, Vivian W. (1896-1972)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0307
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Banker of Cedar Falls, Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files regarding his banking career. Subject files include materials relating such topics as the American Bankers Association.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Johnson's papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1974 by his daughters, Patricia J. Cormaney and Sonya J. Holmes.

Preferred Citation: Vivian W. Johnson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Vivian Wells Johnson (1896-1972) was born in Hampton, Iowa. He attended the University of Northern Iowa (1915-1916) and the University of Minnesota (1916-1917). After serving in the army, Johnson went to work for the Citizens Savings Bank in Cedar Falls, Iowa. By 1928, he was an executive vice-president and director of the Citizens Security Trust and Savings Bank. From 1934 to 1939 he was with the Union Bank and Trust Company as president and director. He became president of the First National Bank of Cedar Falls in 1939 and remained there until his retirement in 1963.
 
Johnson was also a director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago for eighteen years and was on the executive committee for sixteen. He was a member of a U.S. Senate advisory committee on financial institutions as well as a member of the Capital Needs Study Committee on the Iowa State Board of Regents. Johnson was also a faculty lecturer at the University of Wisconsin School of Banking for six years.

The papers of Vivian W. Johnson consist of four boxes of manuscripts dating from 1928 to 1962. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files make up the bulk of the papers. Copies of many of Johnson's speeches before various civic, political, and banking groups, from the Cedar Falls Rotary to the National Farm Institute to the New York State Bankers Association are included. Several subject files relate to the American Bankers Association and its activities. Material from his course, "Country Bank Policy and Administration," taught at the Madison School of Banking, makes up almost half of the papers and dates from 1947 through 1955.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1928-1962
    Including letters from T.J.B. Robinson and Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Personal Material
  • Magazine ArticleS
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Photographs
  • First National Bank, Cedar Falls, 25th Anniversary
  • First National Talk, Chicago, November 28-29 - 1949
  • Group Meeting, Iowa Bankers Association, May 24 - 1950
  • Cedar Falls Lions Club, March 5 - 1951
    Including a telegram from Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Ames Agricultural School, June - 1951
  • Lincoln Speech - 1951
  • New York State Bankers Association, Syracuse Speech, October - 1952
  • Spokesman's Club, Waterloo, January 7 and November 7 - 1953, 1956
  • National Farm Institute Speech, February - 1953
    Folder 1
  • Box 2:
  • National Farm Institute Speech, February - 1953
    Folder 2
  • Cornell College Speech, April 24 - 1953
  • Cedar Falls clubs
  • Cedar Falls Rotary, August 4 - 1953
  • Cedar Falls Kiwanis, June 24 - 1954
  • Waterloo Rotary Club, April 5 - 1954
  • A.B.A. Report of the Chairman of the Research Council, April - 1954
  • Iowa City Rotary Club, May 13 - 1954
  • T.C. Speech, Teacher's College, October 8 - 1954
  • B.I.E. Day Notes, October 8 - 1954
  • A.B.A. Convention, Atlantic City, Research Council Report, October - 1954
  • A.B.A. Convention, Atlantic City, Resolutions Committee, October - 1954
  • Iowa Bankers Association, October 26 - 1955
  • Simpson College Speech, November - 1955
  • Frank Rathje Party for Hap Young, December 29 - 1955
  • Woman's Club, January 4 - 1956
  • Osage, Iowa, Group Meeting, May 23 - 1956
  • Rotary Club, May 21 - 1957
  • Iowa State Teacher's College and Rotary Club speeches
  • Ladies Night, Kappa Delta Phi I.S.T.C. (Iowa State Teachers' College), April 2 - 1958
  • Rotary Club, May 12 - 1958
  • Waterloo Lions Club, August 11 - 1958
  • American Bankers Association, Spring meeting, April 19-21 - 1959
  • Fort Dodge Rotary Club, April 11 - 1960
  • Box 3:
  • "Country Bank Policy and Administration" -- Madison School of Banking
  • Madison School of Banking - 1947
  • Madison School of Banking - 1948
  • Madison School of Banking - 1949
  • Madison School of Banking - 1950
  • Madison School of Banking - 1951
    2 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Madison School of Banking - 1952
  • Madison School of Banking - 1953
  • Madison School of Banking - 1954
  • Madison School of Banking - 1955
  • School of Banking Material (Composite)
  • Miscellaneous Manuscripts

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
American Bankers Association

Topics:
Banks and banking

Occupations:
Bankers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Falls
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches