Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Americans United for the Separation of Church and State Iowa Federation Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1974
Creator: Americans United for the Separation of Church and State Iowa Federation
Extent: 39.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0306
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Founded in 1947, its purpose was to preserve free, religiously neutral, democratically controlled public education, in the U.S. Comprised of correspondence, clippings, sermons, and pamphlets championing its cause.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the Iowa chapter of Americans United for the Separation of Church and State in 1974, with several subsequent addenda.

Preferred Citation: Americans United for the Separation of Church and State Iowa Federation Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Americans United for Separation of Church and State was founded in 1947 to preserve "free, religiously neutral, democratically controlled public education" in the United States. It is opposed to all governmental or tax aid to parochial schools.

The records of Americans United for Separation of Church and State consist of thirty-nine items dating from 1970 to 1974. Correspondence, sermons, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets are included, all championing their cause. There is also a reprint of a court case "ruling against tax credit parochiaid".

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Pamphlets
  • Robert J. Kosydar, Tax Commissioner of Ohio vs. Benson A. Wolmar: the Federal Coutr ruling against tax credit parochiaid on December 29 - 1972
    Reprinted by Americans United
  • Sermons by Kenneth Metcalf and Roger Brooks
  • Stationery sample

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Church and state