Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Josiah Bonney Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1841-1856
Creator: Bonney, Josiah (1817-)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0305
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Secretary of State of Iowa . Correspondence and photographs.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Josiah Bonney Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Josiah Bonney was born February 14, 1817 in Steuben County, New York. His father died the following summer and soon after that his mother moved to Tioga County, New York. At the age of fourteen he went to Elmira, New York, where he clerked in the dry goods business for about four years. In the fall of 1838 he emigrated west, where he settled about three miles from Keosauqua, Iowa. There he engaged in the mercantile business. In 1840 he was elected sheriff and thereafter he held many positions, including County Clerk, State Legislator, Secretary of State, Commissioner for the Improvement of the Des Moines River, and steward of the poor farm. On May 20, 1841, he was married to Orpha F. Stannard. They had six children: Mary J., Anna A., Arma F., Orpha, Estella R., and C. Hinman.

This collection consists of correspondence and photographs. The correspondence is organized chronologically and ranges in date from1848 to 1856.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Transcript of 1821 letter of Edward Bates upon the north boundary of the State of Missouri - 1841
    Transcript made January 10
  • Correspondence - 1848
  • D. R. Sparks, December - 1848
  • Josiah [Merritt?], December - 1848
  • J. B. [Winn?], December - 1848
  • David Drake, December - 1848
  • Spalding H. Phelps, December - 1848
  • J [T?] Abrahams, December 15 - 1848
  • Charles Baldwin, December - 1848
  • Charles Baldwin, December 24 - 1848
  • [Curtis?], December 29 - 1848
  • Howell & Cowles, January 6 - 1849
  • Woodhead, January 19 - 1849
  • George Nightingale, January 19 - 1849
  • Thomas M. [Isett?], January 24 - 1849
  • Charles Corken, January 30 - 1849
  • P. M. Casacy, January 31 - 1849
  • E. M. Jones, February 7 - 1849
  • J. Butler, February 7 - 1849
  • Samuel J. Bayard, February 12 - 1849
  • Howell & Cowles, February 16 - 1849
  • John M. Roos, February 16 - 1849
  • J. W. and R. B. Ogden, February 22 - 1849
  • P. M. Casady, February 23 - 1849
  • Palmer - 1849
  • B. [Ristin?], March 1 - 1849
  • William Wallbridge, March 1 - 1849
  • A. L. Bonney, March 3 - 1849
  • Gideon Willson - 1849
  • J. W. Ogden, March 8 - 1849
  • J. Clark, March 9 - 1849
  • H. Benton, Jr., March 23 - 1849
  • J.W. [Webber?], March 26 - 1849
  • James Sloan, April 2 - 1849
  • L. A. [Munoz?], April 9 - 1849
  • Curtis [Robinson?], April 16 - 1849
  • J. Francis Crawford. Chicago, April 21 - 1849
  • A. H. [Haskell?], May 2 - 1849
  • S. [Rainey?], May 10 - 1849
  • [Benthart?], May 3 - 1849
  • John [G?] Stein, May 3 - 1849
  • W. Weatherford, May 8 - 1849
  • Elisha Cutler, Jr., May 15 - 1849
  • Jacob Butler, May 22 - 1849
  • A. H. [Haskell?], May 27 - 1849
  • J. W. McManaman, June 3 - 1849
  • Hugh W Sample, June 4 - 1849
  • Seth Richards, June 25 - 1849
  • Henry B. Notson, July 14 - 1849
  • Ed Haren, July 23 - 1849
  • Samuel McNutt, July 30 - 1849
  • W. H. Lyons, August 20 - 1849
  • H. M. Shelby, August 22 - 1849
  • Amos Harris, August 31 - 1849
  • William Thompson, September 24 - 1849
  • Charles P. James, September 27 - 1849
  • George Nightingale, September - 1849
  • John [Rousell?], October 17 - 1849
  • S. Scott, October 23 - 1849
  • William Thompson, October 31 - 1849
  • John D. Mitchler, November 1 - 1849
  • George Jones, November 2 - 1849
  • M. H. Clark, November 5 - 1849
  • H. H. Barker, November 9 - 1849
  • K. C. Knapp, November 19 - 1849
  • Matthew Cresswell, November 20 - 1849
  • Jon. M. Whitaker, November 28 - 1849
  • A. Harris, November 30 - 1849
  • [J?] Williams, December 5 - 1849
  • William Steele, December 6 - 1849
  • Miscellaneous
  • Quit claim deed: E.D. & Elsa Briggs and L.A. & P. I. Webber, January 12 - 1856
  • Correspondence, R. Spaulding, n.d.
  • Print of Thomas H. Benton
    In connection with R. Spaulding letter
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Arma Bonney Baldwin
  • Orpha Bonney
  • Mrs. Orpha F. Bonney
  • George Baldwin McKibben, age 9 years, December - 1897
  • Methodist choir - 1904
  • Estelle B. Walker
  • Helen Walker age 17
    In rose colored wool merovingian dress made by E. B. W. [Estelle B. Walker?]
  • W. M. and Estelle B. Walker at Bonney View - 1918
  • William Walker, November 15 - 1846

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bonney, Josiah H., 1817-1887

Occupations:
County clerks
Secretaries of State (State governments)

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Keosauqua

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Correspondence
Photographs